FOCUS LUMBER BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): FLBHD (5197)

0.415 - 0.415

17 people like this.

10,232 comment(s). Last comment by mkmk 4 weeks ago

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2016-08-23 17:08 | Report Abuse

company margin dropping under serious price pressure from customer

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 17:09 | Report Abuse

whats with all this margin bullshit...he has so much money...he cannot top up with more deposit meh?

rubbish..

newbie4444

1,264 posts

Posted by newbie4444 > 2016-08-23 17:11 | Report Abuse

How about Xinquan? Why also drop a lot since KYY also own it?

Eric Fong

1,196 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2016-08-23 17:12 | Report Abuse

Rm1.40 can buy for dividend...

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-08-23 17:17 | Report Abuse

Fairy tale has ended. This is no more Cinderella, just an ordinary girl

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-08-23 17:20 | Report Abuse

Icon sifu, this type of results veli bad meh?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-08-23 17:22 | Report Abuse

Report say sell

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-08-23 17:25 | Report Abuse

I didn't say bad. I say it is an ordinary girl.

Posted by younginvestor92 > 2016-08-23 17:26 | Report Abuse

no matter undervalued or overvalued...reduced profit for 40% = Sell.... bye guys.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-08-23 17:26 | Report Abuse

Tp 1.2-1.3

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 17:27 | Report Abuse

by the way...there is no cinderella too Icon...
we only many rosmah around..he he he..

jasonor

1,004 posts

Posted by jasonor > 2016-08-23 17:39 | Report Abuse

lol.. where is rosmah now?

5,863 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-08-23 17:41 | Report Abuse

Harapan

Ku2016

52 posts

Posted by Ku2016 > 2016-08-23 17:49 | Report Abuse

very bad QR ....tp <1.10

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 17:54 | Report Abuse

actually the price of logs is moving higher and higher...
if coupled with a strengthening RM...may see zero profit.

Flb seems struggling with competitions despite demand being there.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-08-23 18:03 | Report Abuse

El nino stir up the log cost.

hornbill

822 posts

Posted by hornbill > 2016-08-23 18:08 | Report Abuse

let see tomorrow.

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-08-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

Those hoping for dividend may need to think twice. If business not good, how to give same amount of dividend?

Posted by VenFx > 2016-08-23 18:14 | Report Abuse

I love to buy at below 1.15

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2016-08-23 18:35 | Report Abuse

I like the maximum pessimism here. A good sign

MuttonCurry

1,192 posts

Posted by MuttonCurry > 2016-08-23 18:36 | Report Abuse

look like this counter kena sodomized ... continue tomolo kah ?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 18:39 | Report Abuse

ohh...never use public wording as a good specimen for analysis...

if not we will become Cipek Teh here:

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/cpteh/102775.jsp

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/cpteh/102780.jsp

cant believe..despite claiming as a teacher ....even after the results are out...he makes decision based on public perceptions! What a f**cking fool..

Posted by VenFx > 2016-08-23 19:09 | Report Abuse

He got a family to feed ma, Wakaka ...

Posted by clarencebak > 2016-08-23 19:13 | Report Abuse

Maximum pessimism is utilised only if fundamentals remain unchanged. The falling of share price has more to do with fundamentals than sentiments, such as unfavourable forex, minimum wage hike, increment of log price, loss of tax benefit.

khuen

231 posts

Posted by khuen > 2016-08-23 19:18 | Report Abuse

After reviewing the Q2 result, below are some of the points i discovered:

1) Gross profit reduced from 29.3% to 23.8% due to increase in log's price,
2) Tax rate increased from 9.4% to 23.6% due to no more double deduction tax incentives,
3) Forex loss of RM 0.24mil (2016Q2) compared forex gain of RM 1.15mil (2015Q2),

If we compare both quarters using the PAT without forex and apply same tax rate, the PAT is reduced from RM 5.8mil to RM 4.8mil which is RM 1.0mil due to reduced in gross profit which is RM 2.1mil.

So, the result is not very bad from my point of view.

cytew

1,608 posts

Posted by cytew > 2016-08-23 19:29 | Report Abuse

I totally agreed with you, I am buying

khuen

231 posts

Posted by khuen > 2016-08-23 19:35 | Report Abuse

Purchase of other investments using cash of RM 44.7mil means it has been transferred to money market fund with interest rate of around 3.61% per annum which is not bad since the cash was useless to be kept in bank and unable to found any cheap acquisition yet.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 19:42 | Report Abuse

Qtrly results - how important it is?

I think we can simplify and likened 'stock market' to the scenario of driving a car (stock) with multiple lanes....and its almost fully filled (jammed) with different cars...and there are no dedicated fast lane or slow lane... overall speed being an analogy to the returns one can get from a particular stock investment.

(Strategy 1) sticking to your lane and choosing a lane randomly (diversification) may only make you reach at an average speed of all these cars...i.e return at cost of equity...talking about large distant of travels during raya break jam to hometown!

(Strategy 2) if you keep changing lanes depending on which is more free-flowing you may make it faster than others...or you may get into an accident.

Strategy No 2 is high risk high reward (above cost of equity) with lots of effort...with the competitive advantage depending on "how good you are" at predicting correctly which lane is more free flowing than others...based on "your skills of judging from the front mirror"..i.e the quarterly results...

A good car (strong balance sheet with a cheap price vs value) may help...but to beat others...nothing beats the front mirror - the latest quarterly results coupled with the skills studying the latest financial statement and its narrations carefully.

(Strategy 3) The ultimate strategy is of course having the business knowledge and competitive advantage..and its future earnings predictability..

I think the current financial ratios has less significance (almost nil) in deciding the future of the price movement...as there are many financial analyst around to price the stocks correctly. Well, you even get the stock price moving to its correct price before the results are out - example PetronM.

If you cannot implement Strategy 3, then you are left with Stategy 2 only - i,e the latest quarterly results if you plan to have returns higher than cost of equity....with less diversification.....

If you think you not skilled enough using strategy 2 & 3....then you may need to diversify a lot and use the financial ratios to protect the downside perhaps and be satisfied with returns matching Cost of equity.

Victor Tan

117 posts

Posted by Victor Tan > 2016-08-23 20:02 | Report Abuse

Focus Lumber is one of the few shares in the market with strong fundamentals and discipline management. Double deduction in tax is just a short term subsidy and their performance have been consistent even in this quarter and maybe even surpassing 2014 sales despite changes in external environment. Good signs are FLB P/E have almost reach rock bottom giving all potential buyers now a good earnings per dollar investment. I don't understand the panic here. It is not like plastic is replacing lumber. With gradual decrease in supply of wood, prices will adjust along the supply chain eventually.

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-08-23 20:04 | Report Abuse

The comments from @probability yesterday, 23/8 before the quarter results announcement - turns out to be really savvy. Appreciate his and a few other peoples' opinions on FLB. They help us make better decisions.

mbs7633

325 posts

Posted by mbs7633 > 2016-08-23 20:25 | Report Abuse

where's chong1957? already cut loss? lose 13 cents, sigh.

cytew

1,608 posts

Posted by cytew > 2016-08-23 20:29 | Report Abuse

Cut loss traders are actually cut gain traders too. Ever since you become a skilled TA traders on stocks,you are almost fated that you will never make big in stock investment over times......do you agree on this statement ? You are welcomed to give reasons for your choice of answer....

newbie4444

1,264 posts

Posted by newbie4444 > 2016-08-23 20:30 | Report Abuse

New minimum wage start 1st July. How will it impact FL Bhd Sep'16 QR?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 20:33 | Report Abuse

cytew...how about value trader?
I beg to differ on long term investment for good returns...its not like you are a hen to sit on an egg...and it will eventually hatch to produce a sexy chick?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 20:35 | Report Abuse

what mechanism does time gives...to pressure the price to go up in the future if its not now? Give me a logical explanation...i am here to listen...and give my views

YLR33

299 posts

Posted by YLR33 > 2016-08-23 20:36 | Report Abuse

newbie4444, very good question

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 20:50 | Report Abuse

though empirical evidence of financial ratios as a predictor (via correlation) of long term returns...

i am interested on what is the underlying mechanism?

i see the greatest mechanism that is taking effect...is none other than the 'speculation using these ratios itself'.

i want to see how it relates to predicting the future earnings...and when i say earnings...these earnings should be sufficiently high that it drives the price beyond average return of equity. Anyone can enlighten?

Chanzeryl

78 posts

Posted by Chanzeryl > 2016-08-23 21:11 | Report Abuse

So many ppl just got exported to holland...

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-08-23 21:15 | Report Abuse

to make my question more precise...how does current or historical ROIC...or current P/B...has anything to do with predicting future earnings improvement? Keyword here - improvement

mean reversion? ha ha ha...
is that a magic mechanism?

unless due to a change in the divident payout...or some factors that clearly shows that your earnings going forward is going to be way better than the TTM... i dont see how a price can go up.

so...quarterly results is KING of all information - i.e most crucial.
If not it would not have shaken the price like an earth quake..

Vanness

34 posts

Posted by Vanness > 2016-08-23 21:44 | Report Abuse

Agreed with probability. Probability, did you buy any Flbhd?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-08-23 21:55 | Report Abuse

Heart attack

Posted by prescott2006 > 2016-08-23 21:56 | Report Abuse

Got faith, buy. No faith, bye. Easy. No need keep writing to convince people to agree with ourselves. After all, it's your own money.

Vanness

34 posts

Posted by Vanness > 2016-08-23 22:07 | Report Abuse

prescott2006 yeah right. But i had a heart attack this afternoon. Wanted to sell at rm1.67, just a few seconds later, the bid went down to rm1.57. Too quick.

Posted by prescott2006 > 2016-08-23 22:43 | Report Abuse

No need panic, it's normal. If really wants to sell, wait few more days, all people calm down and the price is stabilized then just sell.

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-08-23 22:55 | Report Abuse

Sell.... will come below 1.00 ?

Posted by iamsoonoob > 2016-08-23 23:04 | Report Abuse

no more dividend payout policy from this company ever again?

kwang2209

259 posts

Posted by kwang2209 > 2016-08-23 23:18 | Report Abuse

I think the management are trying to offset the tax expenses and lower profit margin by other investment..It's not sufficient to cover it all but if FLBHD has made the 10% share buy back , it may be can be a goodway to minimize the effect of lower profit margin and tax expenses issue.

It's just my personal view

Yun Kai

211 posts

Posted by Yun Kai > 2016-08-23 23:19 | Report Abuse

surprisingly the LIN HAO YU is acquiring the shares now.

Yun Kai

211 posts

Posted by Yun Kai > 2016-08-23 23:23 | Report Abuse

KEEP SELL PLEASE :)

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-08-23 23:27 | Report Abuse

Sell ?? 50c ?