ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 10:38 | Report Abuse

Listed last Friday and with very big volume traded. That means the contra players from that day will have to pay up tomorrow. If they don't and haven't already sold, there would be forced selling of course. For traders, maybe it's more prudent to wait until the dust settles first as @Chyleglat Thomas suggests...?

hw0706

819 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2012-10-23 10:41 | Report Abuse

frankly speaking astro need to think a way to have more subscriber. in sarawak i think a lot of us have dish isyead of subscribe to ASTRO. the enforcement do not catch at all.

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-23 10:43 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the timely reminder MC!
Will exit when i meet my target for today :)

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2012-10-23 10:45 | Report Abuse

MC, good advice.

keanfee

70 posts

Posted by keanfee > 2012-10-23 10:49 | Report Abuse

do u think this stock will go 2.600?

hw0706

819 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2012-10-23 10:50 | Report Abuse

anything can happen the best is below 2.00

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2012-10-23 10:51 | Report Abuse

the 2.00 mark is possible considering no support from huge funds

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-23 10:56 | Report Abuse

1.50 i will buy. 50% discount ma

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 10:56 | Report Abuse

Just an armchair guess and idle strategy. But you never know with a high-volume counter like this. It takes just a bit of momentum to turn things the other way. At the moment we are seeing a big struggle of both the buying and selling forces where *it seems* as if there is very strong support at this level. I'm tempted to jump in. After all, this is an almost 30 sen discount over the IPO. But, as seen yesterday when it "appeared" to have stabilised at 2.90, the possibility of a slide is always there. Looks can be deceiving.

tky1027

1,113 posts

Posted by tky1027 > 2012-10-23 11:01 | Report Abuse

Jz verified with a friend that working in Astro. Staff do not have any special price and they are buying at RM 3 as well.

Most of them holding much lots on hand so for me, rebound will happen...

Posted by shahnaz1975 > 2012-10-23 11:02 | Report Abuse

yep it should .... otherwise all the staff will cursing AK

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 11:02 | Report Abuse

Mat... Good luck..

Posted by shahnaz1975 > 2012-10-23 11:03 | Report Abuse

hopefully can closed at 2.90 today

keanfee

70 posts

Posted by keanfee > 2012-10-23 11:05 | Report Abuse

hopefully today will go 2.600

Melvin G

601 posts

Posted by Melvin G > 2012-10-23 11:14 | Report Abuse

Carry too much people, hardly rebound ar

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-23 11:14 | Report Abuse

LOL!
One man's meat is another man's poison... how true in this case!

my guestimates still hold true for today... sideways movement within range 2.71 - 2.77.

Even with high volatility, there's money to be made.... to the victor the spoils of war!

Melvin G

601 posts

Posted by Melvin G > 2012-10-23 11:21 | Report Abuse

Astro was in the stock market before and they are earning so much at that time being, so they make it Privatization company because they dun want to share their profits with share holders. Now they are back for public listing at such a high pricing zone, guess what ?

They gonna slaughter you all! Good luck to those holder!
Pray hard.. "Prey" hard..

Posted by Mr Ziet Army > 2012-10-23 11:22 | Report Abuse

will close at 2.70

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-23 11:27 | Report Abuse

astro staff bought at 3.00..Got to top up short fall for the 100% financing...pity them...heard that big guns in astro is doing something....cornerstone investors collecting...already make money after short selling....i think worth the the risk to collect some...after all it is 30% discount sale....cheers...

nkaru

Posted by nkaru > 2012-10-23 11:44 | Report Abuse

new in the market need advise.

Ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by Ledzepp > 2012-10-23 11:55 | Report Abuse

Assuming you buy at 2.70 (if you can get it), that's 0.30 below IPO or a discount of 10% (and that's not counting the brokers fee). That is not 30% discount!

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 12:04 | Report Abuse

@Melvin G, cynical comment but there's a lot of truth. It's not just with Astro but also Maxis. Why did they privatise them previously? Because it was to the major shareholders' advantage.

In companies like these, the interests of minority shareholders aren't seriously considered. Our votes, even when combined, would never be near enough. That's the cold, hard fact. Like it or not, we are in it just for the ride with absolutely no control over the direction. I had read a post from a few years ago somewhere (can't remember - was it Malaysia Finance at Blogspot?) - the major shareholders had gotten Astro and Maxis on the cheap side. Now they have gotten these counters back on KLSE... at a big profit, of course.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 12:08 | Report Abuse

@nkaru - Advice about what specifically? If you are looking for tips about the various counters, you will get A LOT. And for free too. But they might not actually work out as the writers had enthusiastically promoted:-) For now, I'd suggest that you just read the posts and comments, follow the popular counters and get a feel of things. Good luck!

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 12:11 | Report Abuse

Wow words of wisdom...

samuel

659 posts

Posted by samuel > 2012-10-23 12:12 | Report Abuse

Why buy Astro while AirAsia is on the up trend?

richchong

Posted by richchong > 2012-10-23 12:16 | Report Abuse

Mat Cendana is a good adviser, i like yr comments

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 12:17 | Report Abuse

Why buy air asia when thh is on the up trend, and much cheaper?

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-23 12:26 | Report Abuse

Recently (June 2012), a friend of mine quoted one of her clients (in his early 70's) comment:-

He said,"I have lost a fortune trading cheap stock for more than 20 odd years - I lost every year; however, I have rebuilt my capital and trade only good and expensive counters since 2010 and recovered all my lossess in merely 2 years."

How true? very true...Just buy DIGI, TM and Tenaga, sure win..I follow..he is right..sure win...because they never really go down...up all the ways

richchong

Posted by richchong > 2012-10-23 12:26 | Report Abuse

Astro critical support 2.70. break then next support will be 2.55

Posted by Ahmadi Agus > 2012-10-23 12:28 | Report Abuse

Adoi sakit sapa2 yg melanggan Astro melalui MITI. Saham dahlah jatuh,interest bank pulak nak kena bayar..kesian

samuel

659 posts

Posted by samuel > 2012-10-23 12:29 | Report Abuse

@pirate: anything except buying this counter!

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-23 12:32 | Report Abuse

@ sameul UEMLAND...2.00 short term

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-23 12:34 | Report Abuse

All the way down after the break, man..all the way i am afraid...wow

MCWONG

402 posts

Posted by MCWONG > 2012-10-23 12:44 | Report Abuse

keep drop until 2.55

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 13:09 | Report Abuse

@richchong, just take care not to fully swallow whatever I may comment here without due diligence and comparing notes with others here. Sometimes my comments might sound very convincing. But that's only because I'm somewhat convinced of something. HOWEVER, they might not be correct, accurate or actually happen.

What we can do here is to give opinions, share experiences and try to benefit from the gained knowledge and insights to do better in the stockmarket. It's always a risk and we have heard of many horror stories of people losing a lot of money. But I know for a fact that it's definitely more than possible to also make significant profits through the KLSE.

The beauty of it is that it's so extremely SIMPLE: "Sell higher than the price you bought." The counters don't really matter - heck, even a PN17 company can make you significant money (TH Heavy when it was at 0.39 comes to mind). So, how do we sell higher? Timing, of course. How do we time it right? Ah, this one I don't really know - "simple" doesn't automatically mean "easy":-)

Posted by Gary Ljsiaw > 2012-10-23 13:18 | Report Abuse

Astro is just so-so for trading (was poor last listing for investing). Is difficult to convince long term investors with their history. Current political environment doesn't help too (remember the alleged censor of certain foreign news services?).

Posted by Mr Ziet Army > 2012-10-23 13:22 | Report Abuse

the good investor is the one who knows when to buy n when to sell

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-23 13:46 | Report Abuse

Support Ziet Army

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-10-23 13:46 | Report Abuse

RM2.70 is support if violated the ppl who buy at RM3 itself is willing to lose(aaa cut lose can be use aa????IPO also can also cut lose???)...then LUCIFER merge from ASTRO...

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 13:50 | Report Abuse

If support @ 2.70 breached the run forrest runnnnnnnn.....

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 13:51 | Report Abuse

*then

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-10-23 13:54 | Report Abuse

Mayan prophecy about the APOCALYPSE is true for KLCI...wakakakaka!!

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-10-23 13:55 | Report Abuse

pengajaran dari ASTRO,JANGAN MAIN IPO TAK PATUH SYARIAH!!hahahaha

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-23 13:59 | Report Abuse

dont wait until 2.70 broke, run now. wait at 1.50 wahahaha

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-10-23 14:01 | Report Abuse

RM1.50 IS TO CRUEL LAA TO SAID KAWAN...

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2012-10-23 14:13 | Report Abuse

AK no support meh

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-23 14:15 | Report Abuse

AK only support 47. know why?

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2012-10-23 14:18 | Report Abuse

why?

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-10-23 14:22 | Report Abuse

AK47 la... Hahaha...

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-23 14:24 | Report Abuse

lol, rich AK47 = a gun used by terrorist!!