ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 18:34 | Report Abuse

Good story , shirley1 ............ ha ha

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 18:55 | Report Abuse

Shares movement fr selective Directors , interesting and might further stimulate price comes 2morrow , standby for selective players ......

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 19:50 | Report Abuse

@ongtkong, the cornerstone investors who sold - if I'm not mistaken, they had bought at about the same price of 3.00. Why are they selling at a loss? I had read that some are foreign hedge funds.

From what I know of them (and that's only through reading about them, not knowing their operations firsthand), they aren't in the same category as institutional investors like our EPF, or CALPERS the California public employees retirement fund (a financial mammoth, but have done poorly in the past few years) etc. These hedge funds are huge risk takers with an almost gambler mentality and approach who are into something to either win big or lose big.

With Astro, they feel that it's not going to make quick returns soon. Rather than wait like the typical institution, they are the number one proponents of the "cut loss early" rule. Lost money, BUT for them, their capital is now freed from Astro and could be used for something else. If their next investment is a good one, then the losses from Astro can be recovered. If it's a very good one, they will also be in the plus.

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 19:54 | Report Abuse

I believe it is almost std template for funds manager to adopt +/- 15% margin !!

Posted by Mr Ziet Army > 2012-10-23 20:12 | Report Abuse

means that they wont be locked up for a longer period.that's it!

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-23 20:12 | Report Abuse

@Taugeh, I still remember what you had said about UEM Land some weeks ago when it suffered a sharp drop. I knew you were right and I should have acted. At the very least, bought some of its call warrants. But I didn't, which is unfortunate for me. In mitigation, I think it's because I already had other positions then - AirAsia, FGV, JCY... would not have been prudent to take on more trades (fortunately, all went along quite well). But still, I keep thinking about that (UEM Land) and how it had rebounded.

jlrh8122

48 posts

Posted by jlrh8122 > 2012-10-23 21:19 | Report Abuse

Guess big players disposing tt resulted quite significant drop

ladahitam

578 posts

Posted by ladahitam > 2012-10-23 21:31 | Report Abuse

big guns buying moral support for staff, loan from ak...

Director / Chief Executive Officer of the Company of her dealing in the shares in the Company outside Closed Period, details of which are set out below:-

Date of Transaction

Consideration*

Number of Shares Acquired / (Disposed)

Number and Percentage held post transaction

23 October 2012

2,600,000 (representing 0.05% of the total issued and paid up share capital)

Name of Principal Officer

Date of Transaction

Consideration*

Number of Shares Acquired / (Disposed)

Number and Percentage held post transaction

Tan Wei Ming

22 October 2012

200,000 (representing 0.003% of the total issued and paid up share capital)

Henry Tan Poh Hock

23 October 2012

700,000 (representing 0.01% of the total issued and paid up share capital)

Liew Swee Lin

23 October 2012

590,000 (representing 0.01% of the total issued and paid up share capital)

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 21:33 | Report Abuse

NY market opening with dropped again and Euro markets by enlarge dropped since Mon , maybe ASTRO might hit 2.70 this week ????????????????? Let's pray pray EPF come in soon or maybe not to some !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-10-23 21:41 | Report Abuse

Islamic fund cant buy dis stock bcas not under syaariah so epf fund not sure whether bind by this rule or not

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-10-23 21:42 | Report Abuse

Anyway kesian ke astro punya staff pun ken a margin call

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-23 21:43 | Report Abuse

unless they have discount, or not buy if smart, else really pity them

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 21:45 | Report Abuse

Haslinda fr Bloomberg doing a great job for Mysia as good venue for Islamic investments , more foreign investors slowly stepping in n maybe ASTRO might catch their eye at 2.70 , ha ha

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-23 22:05 | Report Abuse

the big boys already start collecting at 2.70, 2.71,.2.72......I believe PNB still holding and will start collecting to average their investment...if EPF start to come in the upside will start showing tomorrow...most investment house is positive on Astro upside...on the other note Astro big guns is planning something to help astro employees who are suffering to cover the share financing shortfall...by the way EPF invest in both shariah and non shariah counters...e.g..EPF is 100% shareholder of MBSB...and shareholders of RHB Bank to name a few...

Posted by Hashim Hassan > 2012-10-23 22:22 | Report Abuse

tomorrow will be alot of forceselling because alot of greedy poorstupied people is plying contra..so to all richclever person must know what to do..easy money is waiting .

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 22:31 | Report Abuse

Indeed anyone playing Contra with no holding power is more than idiot , I think !! Just like catching sharp knife with no protection , loh ..............

Posted by Mr Ziet Army > 2012-10-23 22:46 | Report Abuse

lets see tomorrow another indication wether it will break lower than 2.70 or rebound to at least closed in green.if tomorrow still red, i bet that no more hope on this stock.u have to decide either wanna stay for a longer period until u get u money back or find the right time to exit. good investors are losing interest on this stock n will stay away until they find the direction where it will go. ok guys! wish u all the best n be rational when making your decision!

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 22:50 | Report Abuse

BIG TQ Mr Z, wise words indeed ! I got my glove & hook on , ha ha LOL

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-23 23:17 | Report Abuse

Pity astro staf...have to top up for short fall...how about those dont have fund?? Maybank n cimb give 100% financing...now they have to top up 20% of the financing amount...pity them...

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-23 23:23 | Report Abuse

Mat Cendana, thanks for the clarification. I thought these ppl were give special IPO price.

If they are selling at a loss, then maybe can consider to buy some as investment.

There is an article regarding the compensation for Astro. I wonder this news will be a catalyst for the price to move up.

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/214186.jsp

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-23 23:28 | Report Abuse

Mat Cendana, those bought on Friday will only be subject to force-selling on Thursday (T4). OSK is doing that, not sure of other broker.

catch22

48 posts

Posted by catch22 > 2012-10-23 23:29 | Report Abuse

Great evening to everyone.....glad to know hive of chats still going on here at this hour...

catch22

48 posts

Posted by catch22 > 2012-10-23 23:32 | Report Abuse

Morning, sea of red then green till sunset....my 2 cent worth

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 23:38 | Report Abuse

So, US$250m awarded !! Does it goes directly to AK ??????

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-23 23:54 | Report Abuse

CEO of astro Dato' Rohana was alloted 2500 lot that cost her RM 7.5 million. For sure she financed this purchase. At current price her paper loss is rm 700k without intrest. I wonder whether she is still in the office or searching for AK. Shareholders of astro (AK and his gang) sold 1044 million shares netted RM 3.132 billion for this IPO. Rohana should claim from him for the paper loss.

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-23 23:57 | Report Abuse

Oh oh she is in trouble , hope not , ha ha

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 00:02 | Report Abuse

@ My friend, Mat Cendena,

From your posts, i've learned that You have done great on a lot of trades. I am impressed.

As for this UEMLAND, actually still can buy some, it is heading towards 2.00-2.06 for the next couple of weeks based on the positive news posted these few days. Buy early in the morning and sell after 4 or 5 cents gain.

For a 10,000 share day trade. buy @1.93 and

sell @1.95 - make 110 net;
sell @1.96 - make 210 net;
sell @1.97 - make 310 net;
sell @1.98 - make 410 net.
Good money for a day work.

I am pretty sure it will go up again..regards

ledzepp

372 posts

Posted by ledzepp > 2012-10-24 00:03 | Report Abuse

Looking at the above, she in fact average down, bought 100,000 at 2.72 today. Don't know whose paying though

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-24 00:19 | Report Abuse

Now there's another factor to consider although this one might affect most counters and not just Astro. The markets in Europe suffered a sharp fall with some more than a 2% drop. The US is down too with the Dow Jones at -232 or 1.7% at their noon. Will have to wait and see how our own market reacts to these.

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 00:22 | Report Abuse

You are right, Mat..Tomorrow will be an interesting day...really..I have standby 268k cash to shot..hopefully can get a big bird..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 00:26 | Report Abuse

Join the club BIG Bird ha ha

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 00:29 | Report Abuse

@Mat

Looks like DRBHCOM will be a good trading counter tommorow. DRBHCOM is going to sell its HICOM to MMC corp for 565 Millions? sounds great to me..

Posted by Han Da Deh > 2012-10-24 00:31 | Report Abuse

Look's like FGV....

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 00:38 | Report Abuse

FGV will go further down, brother, no doubt about it for next few weeks..Plantation (Palm oil) sector is not doing well in the short term even with the export taxes cut..not suprise to see it goes down to 4.00 next June..wow

buybackma

790 posts

Posted by buybackma > 2012-10-24 00:41 | Report Abuse

Normally, staff will be given a discount from the IPO price. So, they won't be part of the loser. Correct or not guys???

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 01:05 | Report Abuse

No lah..since when you see ASS THROW gives discount?

Posted by Hashim Hassan > 2012-10-24 06:59 | Report Abuse

i think AK is useing all trick pushing to the lowest price and collect back to make astro to privatise again..I ll stil wait for rm 2 and jump in with what ever saving I had...even under my pillow..

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-24 07:15 | Report Abuse

for guys who still believe and madly in love with astro this are some figures for you (report by osk)

FY2013 FY2014 FY2015

revenue 4177m 4368m 4906m

profit 399m 407m 446m

dividend (%) 1.9 2 2.1

PE 39 38 34

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-24 08:07 | Report Abuse

those in love with ak counter, maxis is an alternative :)

matrix109

201 posts

Posted by matrix109 > 2012-10-24 08:11 | Report Abuse

let see today, I have been told *k Syndicate will push further down today.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-24 08:20 | Report Abuse

those hate ak, can consider Digi :)

buybackma

790 posts

Posted by buybackma > 2012-10-24 08:25 | Report Abuse

Astro and it's cronies for sure knew regarding the compensation as mentioned in today's newspaper, that's why they pushed the price down so retailers esp. contrarian run away. The above news brings profit to Astro and make investors confident with Astro. If not where AK want to put his face esp. to our PM and country. Hopefully Astro's price will be pushed up today for! hopefully...smiles...

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-24 08:32 | Report Abuse

DA2 TU..... ASYIK MENAKUTKAN ORANG NAK INVEST JE... CUBE ARI NIE PLAN RAMAI2 PUSH KAN HARGA ASTRO UP...MESTI NAIK BALIK.... TIME ASTRO DROP, KORANG KUTUK KAW2...TGGU MASA NAIK MESTI KORG PUJI AK KAW2...SABAR LA.... BE PATIENT IN TRADING....

HarryChin

171 posts

Posted by HarryChin > 2012-10-24 08:53 | Report Abuse

Buying in coming?

HarryChin

171 posts

Posted by HarryChin > 2012-10-24 08:53 | Report Abuse

but too late

terbatal

42 posts

Posted by terbatal > 2012-10-24 08:55 | Report Abuse

hope climb up to 3.00, at least get back the modal lorrr

mcd123

244 posts

Posted by mcd123 > 2012-10-24 08:56 | Report Abuse

I was told The Edge dated 21 Sept reported that Astro's Cornerstone Investors are subject to locked-up period of 3 months.
Why there is sudden changed in policy. Can anybody verify this.

mysaham

304 posts

Posted by mysaham > 2012-10-24 08:56 | Report Abuse

Astro will go up one day. maybe after 2 years. refer to Maxis, remember how long it stay at rm5.20- rm5.50. Today, what is the price.close to RM7.

Invest wisely. If you believe with this company, stay invested.

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-24 09:00 | Report Abuse

on a slightly positive note, please read this article:
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/214186.jsp

maybe they will prop the stock up with the USD$250m they got from the court case they just won??

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-24 09:10 | Report Abuse

midf analyst say buy at 2.77..Target 3.40....