ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-24 15:49 | Report Abuse

news is probably reflection of money return from Lippo for their earlier investments from what i see. with it too, plugs the diarrhea that was suppose to be the venture in Indonesia. let's hope Riady of Lippo don't pull any stunts! :)

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-24 16:00 | Report Abuse

earlier valuation of 2.62 now becomes 2.76 if the money of US$250mn is returned. investors are to buy below 2.76 for a safety of margin

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 16:00 | Report Abuse

For now AK n his nominee will keep buying to push up price back to 3.00 plus , after New Year or Election , it might syn to market price , mah .....

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-24 16:03 | Report Abuse

lol, up to 3++ then i sure unload somemore!

khairul

8 posts

Posted by khairul > 2012-10-24 16:20 | Report Abuse

increase quickly, more and more.....

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 16:34 | Report Abuse

Someone bought BIG lots at 2.86 , another few cents for 2.90 n then home to 3.00 soon , pray pray ...................... AK is pray pray & spray spray to fr his employee, LOL

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 16:35 | Report Abuse

Few more steps 2.90 ................. another BIG chunk bought 2.88

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 16:42 | Report Abuse

3.00 is very close, active buying within last 1/2 hr between 2.86 to 2.88 n pumping hard to close off 2.90 !!!!!!!!!

bvc100x

74 posts

Posted by bvc100x > 2012-10-24 17:01 | Report Abuse

who buy now, beware. this is a very dangerous position. for an ipo that drop first day; for a big brand stock drop 10% in ipo; for all others fundamental things; for those advertisement in newspaper. beware! it is more safe and secure buying genting.

khairul

8 posts

Posted by khairul > 2012-10-24 17:02 | Report Abuse

can be 4.30 but higher than 4.30...today is very slow..

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-24 17:04 | Report Abuse

Guys....as per my theory this morning:

......"close at 2.90 -3.00 today...contra player phasing out...panic seller have tone down...PNB and the rest collecting to average...got to pay good divident because election comming...astro got to sponsor election fund...EPF maybe in already....MIDF comment very positive and reliable...non contra player will get very good premium...:"

Today close at 3.89...AK wants to motivate Astro staff...Tomorrow will be better...maybe close between 3.15 to 3.20...

ECM--3.09 (HOLD)
OSK--3.37 (HOLD)
MIDF--3.40 (HOLD)
TA--maintain at 3.53 (HOLD)

Good Luck to all

Posted by millionaire > 2012-10-24 17:06 | Report Abuse

don't expect tp 4.30, sell, take profit for abalone 1st, if u r full time trader

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-24 17:11 | Report Abuse

Keep buying n support astro share movement up more further....rise again rm3.40...support astro staff...

nizarwan

10 posts

Posted by nizarwan > 2012-10-24 17:18 | Report Abuse

no way man....

Posted by millionaire > 2012-10-24 17:19 | Report Abuse

sell Astro, buy Airasia, tomorrow one down one up, play the game smartly

khairul

8 posts

Posted by khairul > 2012-10-24 17:20 | Report Abuse

up to u.... astro is big company....i say yes for astro..

nizarwan

10 posts

Posted by nizarwan > 2012-10-24 17:21 | Report Abuse

i agree... astro tipu punya...when already make profit, the counter close like previously....no w2ay to support this counter.....

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-24 17:22 | Report Abuse

Go astro...

khairul

8 posts

Posted by khairul > 2012-10-24 17:22 | Report Abuse

and say yes for PM.... and AK..

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-24 17:23 | Report Abuse

29 nov will enter to FTSE..

nizarwan

10 posts

Posted by nizarwan > 2012-10-24 17:25 | Report Abuse

it is not syariah counter man.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-24 17:39 | Report Abuse

@millionaire, that's how it works. If we can just get a bit ahead of the crowd with both buying and selling, we're set. Those guys who bought yesterday - they did very well. And also those with UEMLand - they did even better. Especially with the warrants. Now AirAsia has changed position with Astro, with the former under a gloomy cloud. But that's how a trader makes money i.e. by buying at a lower level and then unloading when the crowd rushes in.

Posted by millionaire > 2012-10-24 17:43 | Report Abuse

learning from EPF, mat, the way corporate players making money

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 17:50 | Report Abuse

Ah yo yo , as I said , just jump against the Kangaroo direction you will pick up yr minimum margin if not much more in most sequence lah , don't blink blink ah

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-24 17:55 | Report Abuse

@fadhlullah, some people claim they can time the market with technical analysis. I'm not so sure. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. It's the same with gut feeling, unscientific as it is. There's no sure-fire way to time it, in my opinion. So we'll have to do the next best thing - do our homework with research, discussion, some TA, make a decision... and then wait.

The "wait" part is crucial. Sometimes when we are lucky, a counter goes up immediately after that. And after we sell, it then goes down. But often, our trades might not work immediately so this is where the waiting part comes in. If we have done our homework, we must then remain committed to it i.e. in not wavering and sell to cut loss just because it had gone down a few sen. Unless if some variable had changed - new information of business problems, general market changing etc.... fundamental reasons.

From my observation and experience, often, the main factor that separates one who makes a profit from the market and another who makes losses over a given period of time is that the former has patience; the ability to sit down and wait things out. The latter who lacks this would think he's `missing the action' because his counter isn't performing (and comparing it to the star-of-the-week). So he sells at a loss just to buy something else. And there's no guarantee the following trade will be profitable immediately. A few weeks later, his previous counter finally wakes up whereas his newer trade doesn't go anywhere. So he sells to buy something new... again.

Actually that was also how I was some years ago. Would have made profits with my selections (which were well researched)... *if only* I had waited instead of selling at a loss just so I can buy other counters.

Posted by kuntauasli > 2012-10-24 17:58 | Report Abuse

this stock will move up inshaAllah..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 18:00 | Report Abuse

Mat, bottom line we "rainbow" ingredients , meaning acute; knowledge; common sense ; positive & brave" lah , ha ha ......... similar "economist" expert in the past !!!!

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 18:02 | Report Abuse

And then u also hv small selective of individual like to talk like "cat & dog" or some even talk like " JUerk" , ha ha LOL LOL

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-24 18:43 | Report Abuse

Mat, think wait can work for fundamental stock, may not be able to work on penny stock. once some penny stock dropped, it will give the person a chance to dream it will come back and become long term investor with no return. think astro is not a penny stock, believe as long as a person still in share market, win or lose.. the game is not over yet :)

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-24 19:03 | Report Abuse

shirley, a bit off-topic from your comments actually -- Maybe we should have a re-think and re-definition of this term of "penny stock". Technically, by BSKL's definition, it's anything and everything that's under 1.00. With investors, it's loosely used and vague - some people refer to BSKL's definition, some think of penny stocks as "those that are speculative" (and are often of lesser quality).

However, there are many counters that are by definition "penny stock" but are of quality. The one that comes to mind immediately is Perisai, before it broke the 1.00 barrier. JCY, despite the sharp fall, is actually of some quality. And what about Scomi? Penny stock by definition but you certainly put them in the same class as Cybert & company.

Anyway, sometimes waiting might not work with some of the so-called quality counters and blue chips. That's especially when you had bought something near its high, and then it goes down. There's no guarantee it will reach its former lofty height again, that's the problem. As I mentioned in the earlier comment, there's no sure-fire method or counter here.

And back to the main point as first stated by @millionaire, penny or quality, I'd say it's the TIMING of it all that counts the most. And it's something that we won't know for sure whether we've gotten right until later. During the times that we don't (which will happen time and again for us), the next-best thing to do is wait.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-24 19:08 | Report Abuse

Mat, noted. Thanks

Posted by ganesonm > 2012-10-24 19:28 | Report Abuse

dear friends be pro in giving oppinion if not make new investors like me be panic

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 19:33 | Report Abuse

ganeson, why r u panic !! Is only personal point of view n surely u r more than capable to select the bit that is useful or meaningful n the rest just like reading a newspaper , lah ............ living on other people knowledge is very dangerous !!!!

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-24 19:39 | Report Abuse

Congratulation to all ASTro winners..very good indeed.ah..nice job..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 19:45 | Report Abuse

Can't wait to cash my 3rd round profit and also stand-by to hop back for 4th round too .................... ahyo very complex spreadsheet needs to update , lah !!!

super911

300 posts

Posted by super911 > 2012-10-24 19:47 | Report Abuse

Ganeson, we are in a information overloaded age. So there are many useless people, talk and say useless stuff. Just like those that said they want to buy astro at rm1.5. Therefore, your filtering skill must be strong.

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 19:52 | Report Abuse

super911, totally agreed n indeed those live in their own world , so-called La La Land at 1.50 per sq ft , mah , ha ha

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-24 19:53 | Report Abuse

Ganeson, mat is rite, my definition of penny stock is diff from him. There are diff type of players in the market. if have the ability to time market... why not ?

Posted by ganesonm > 2012-10-24 19:58 | Report Abuse

thank for ur replys friends i must learn alot

vincent27

614 posts

Posted by vincent27 > 2012-10-24 20:12 | Report Abuse

i just wish it back to rm3 so i can have breakeven

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 20:56 | Report Abuse

Vincent, don't worry b happy, lah, RM3 will b back over short term period , so b patient n relax ........... AK n his muppets hv to stimulate back to base ASAP to restore faith n confident n bear in mind AK n Najib is kaki too n it doesn't looks good for election or foreign investors , blah blah lah

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-24 21:19 | Report Abuse

have a sweet dream...we will support ASTRO 4 TOMORROW... KEEP GOING TO 3.40

catch22

48 posts

Posted by catch22 > 2012-10-24 21:30 | Report Abuse

Any Astro staff here, any updates on margin call for those who took loan?

jlrh8122

48 posts

Posted by jlrh8122 > 2012-10-24 21:52 | Report Abuse

It shd be ok for long term....coz it's dividend counter

keanfee

70 posts

Posted by keanfee > 2012-10-24 22:11 | Report Abuse

tmr will drop.

Lucky888

35 posts

Posted by Lucky888 > 2012-10-24 22:14 | Report Abuse

Rich gained billion, but those bought Astro with margin loan suffered.

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 22:16 | Report Abuse

keanfee, why drop 2morrow ??? Or u just fancy it DROP , ha ha

Lucky888

35 posts

Posted by Lucky888 > 2012-10-24 22:17 | Report Abuse

The trend looks 19th those sell in huge volumn gained billion, might bought in huge volumm ysterday, estimated another terrible fall if huge sell ..depends the yesterday buyer greedy or not, as closed RM2.89 today had gained few billion..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-24 22:22 | Report Abuse

FYI, the last 45 mins prior to closing tons of shares bought between 2.86 to 2.89 , so think deep what could be the effect for the morning , lah ..........

Lucky888

35 posts

Posted by Lucky888 > 2012-10-24 22:30 | Report Abuse

The facts top mgmt of Astro buy in low price below $2.7x (sound like they r hero to help the Astro staffs???) but Astro staffs with margin loan buy @ RM3 + interest for loan..

Today closing not much buy volumm,definately tmrw wont up much,if those huge buyers let go in huge volumn price might drop under RM2.85.