387 comment(s). Last comment by limko1 2016-02-12 17:22

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 10:36 | Report Abuse

You still think it is just about the English skills? What about the effort put in? No need thinking, planning, thinking, execution, being smart and realistic. Such lazy work enough? Who teach them that?

Is this bolehland mentality not alarming?

<They need help, not to be turned away just because of insufficient English proficiency./.>

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:37 | Report Abuse

what do you expect to get from Uncle Koon by circling him like a fly ? hope that he can dole out a few hundred Ringgits to you ? Come to Uncle Icon, I will give you something if you do a good job shining my shoes... come on

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:38 | Report Abuse

no matter how bad the so called bolehland mentality, it beats blindly defending the rich while stepping on the poor

I am talking about you, just in case you don't get it

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:36 AM | Report Abuse

You still think it is just about the English skills? What about the effort put in? No need thinking, planning, thinking, execution, being smart and realistic. Such lazy work enough? Who teach them that?

<They need help, not to be turned away just because of insufficient English proficiency./.>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 10:38 | Report Abuse

icon...you write a few articles that shake the market don't turn you into superman, remember that.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:40 | Report Abuse

you say you have a son in university

I think he will be ashamed if he sees his dad sucking eggs in front of everybody

man up Mr Desa, grow some backbones

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:41 | Report Abuse

I don't need to write articles, I can spend the rest of my life circling you like you circle Uncle Koon like a fly circling a pile of shxt

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:38 AM | Report Abuse

icon...you write a few articles that shake the market don't turn you into superman, remember that.

Posted by pokoknangka > 2016-01-14 10:41 | Report Abuse

want to help, help. don't want to help, don't help. simple as that.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:42 | Report Abuse

ask anybody in i3 whether Icon has treated them such a harsh way ? only paperplane and optimus prime earns that privilege

you are the third one

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:43 | Report Abuse

yup, don't dole out a few hundred Ringgits and throw your weight around

Posted by pokoknangka > Jan 14, 2016 10:41 AM | Report Abuse

want to help, help. don't want to help, don't help. simple as that.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

icon
I don't know what is your agneda with Mr Koon and I don't need to know.
And I am speaking my mind here, cannot ah? Its a damn good thing that Uncle Koon shares with us those letters to shake up society at large about the truly deplorable state of affairs with our Education system and even of parenting in Malaysia today.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:50 | Report Abuse

these are kids, they need help

the education system failed them, resulting in their poor English skills, but many have kind souls, talents and unlimited potential to do good.

not to be mocked at and written off

last time when I was young, my England not good also

now my England still not good

but I have a bit of honour lah, I don't simply side with the rich and powerful like eunuch serving an emperor

I can understand you do it in office, at least your get a promotion by end of the year

what do you expect to get from cyber buttering ? for chirst sake..

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:36 AM | Report Abuse

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 10:53 | Report Abuse

So far, I have truly enjoyed reading every article, every letter from Mr Koon, cannot ah?
I can even smell and detect the deep sense of honesty , of sincerity in Mr Koon's writings, cannot ah?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:53 | Report Abuse

I have nothing against Uncle Koon

I speak out when I don't agree with him. I praise him when he did something good

I do have an issue with you though

Just cannot stand people buttering the rich and powerful without any regard to principle

make me sick lah...

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:48 AM | Report Abuse

icon
I don't know what is your agneda with Mr Koon and I don't need to know.
And I am speaking my mind here, cannot ah? Its a damn good thing that Uncle Koon shares with us those letters to shake up society at large about the truly deplorable state of affairs with our Education system and even of parenting in Malaysia today.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 10:54 | Report Abuse

Can...... you like to suck eggs, who am I to say no ?

I like to voice out against you, cannot ah ?

I like to hammer you, cannot ah ?

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:53 AM | Report Abuse

So far, I have truly enjoyed reading every article, every letter from Mr Koon, cannot ah?
I can even smell and detect the deep sense of honesty , of sincerity in Mr Koon's writings, cannot ah?

master_tan

690 posts

Posted by master_tan > 2016-01-14 10:56 | Report Abuse

these letters shouldn't be published in public forum like this. Uncle Koon may just highlight the situation that he observed from the letters that he received, but not just simply publish everything in front of public. This will not help the students.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 11:01 | Report Abuse

You guys talk as if it is only lack of English skills that is the issue here.
Those letters written by those youths are just not good enough from every aspect. These are laughable efforts that should never be send out.
It should do them a lot of good to shame them into submission. I hope they are reading my comments here.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 11:02 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon is far from honest and sincere, but he is not a crook either

the best way to see him is a businessman. He doesn't mind doing good, but when the opportunities come, he doesn't mind making a killing as well

he doesn't intend to destroy, but when things turned sour, he is not going to bail you out either. In fact, he will step on your shoulder to climb over the wall to escape

my rating for Uncle Koon is neutral. I don't see him evil, but don't buy the idea of him as a saint as well (unlike you who treats him as a God)

you really need to have some back bones, I can't imagine how awful a person you are in office, must have been playing office politics big time...

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 10:53 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 11:04 | Report Abuse

see ? you totally lack independent thinking. Uncle Koon ask you to bark, you bark, ask you to bite you bite

In Japansese occupation time, you will be the first one to cross over to help the Japs

I am very sure about that

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 11:01 AM | Report Abuse

You guys talk as if it is only lack of English skills that is the issue here.
Those letters written by those youths are just not good enough from every aspect. These are laughable efforts that should never be send out.
It should do them a lot of good to shame them into submission. I hope they are reading my comments here.

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-14 11:15 | Report Abuse

I think if a person is getting 10 A's and English is as per that quality...my realistic reason (normalized/majority - does not apply to all ya) is because they went to Chinese school...

Suggest the title of this article to be changed accordingly..

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 11:22 | Report Abuse

yeah, cover up every thing....even cover up your wife face and your daughter face in public la.
such conservative thinking like yours belongs to the world of the Imams.

<Posted by Tomm > Jan 14, 2016 11:07 AM | Report Abuse

I say it again, it's bad taste to ridicule poor students who came to Mr Koon for help! >

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 11:24 | Report Abuse

what? You think I must bark at Mr Koon just because you asked me to bark?
Don't be so ridiculous la you.

< Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 14, 2016 11:30 PM | Report Abuse

see ? you totally lack independent thinking. Uncle Koon ask you to bark, you bark, ask you to bite you bite >

Posted by Wakong141242 > 2016-01-14 11:25 | Report Abuse

I dont blame the students. They hv tried their best to do well in exam. These are all the result of our education system. Even our minister think our local university is at par with university of Oxford.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 11:26 | Report Abuse

ok, at least you acknowledge that you can bark...

good doggie...

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 11:24 AM | Report Abuse

what? You think I must bark at Mr Koon just because you asked me to bark?
Don't be so ridiculous la you.

Posted by What The Hiak > 2016-01-14 11:27 | Report Abuse

True true. Never tell kids what you want... As long as they are doing the right thing, please guide and support them.. Anything in this world pun can have big achievement la, like king of eating hotdog in 5min.

So many failure parents here... diu. Explain to them la why their decision is wrong. They didn't even know they were wrong. So far those who shoot kuat kuat their essays, already explained where went wrong?

Poor cannot go overseas or any corner in this world? See, start limiting their mind.. Poor cannot choose to become doctor? 70% of my doctor friends were poor shit la last time... Be a guide la, teach them how to achieve it.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 11:29 | Report Abuse

yes, help them, don't step on them

Posted by What The Hiak > Jan 14, 2016 11:27 AM | Report Abuse

True true. Never tell kids what you want... As long as they are doing the right thing, please guide and support them.. Anything in this world pun can have big achievement la, like king of eating hotdog in 5min.

So many failure parents here... diu. Explain to them la why their decision is wrong. They didn't even know they were wrong. So far those who shoot kuat kuat their essays, already explained where went wrong?

Poor cannot go overseas or any corner in this world? See, start limiting their mind.. Poor cannot choose to become doctor? 70% of my doctor friends were poor shit la last time... Be a guide la, teach them how to achieve it.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:37 | Report Abuse

I think the candidate who deserve the scholarship is the one who got the study but didn't manage to get the scholarship from the government and they need to depend on alternative like private scholarship, private scholarship isn't come cheap anyway

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:40 | Report Abuse

If the requirement is so harsh that will be a burden to many student and why the need to be so picky about the person who deserves it? You can save hundreds of thousands but in the expense of wasting both time and efforts.
Is the money spent on education is outweighted by the value itself?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 11:42 | Report Abuse

whole bunch of hypocrites here.
I rather spend time with Mr Koon than with this bunch of hypocrites and nonsense.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 11:44 | Report Abuse

you are actually the biggest hypocrite I have ever seen

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 11:42 AM | Report Abuse

whole bunch of hypocrites here.
I rather spend time with Mr Koon than with this bunch of hypocrites and nonsense.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:44 | Report Abuse

I believe there is plenty of candidates didn't get scholarship sponsored by government they choose to leave this country and become a pengkhiatnat

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:47 | Report Abuse

Every year I could read the same news
Who made 1X As in higher education didn't get their seat on any public university
It become a norm to me to accept it.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:49 | Report Abuse

But they want to study medicine
What they get is marine science and what they said women cannot study marine science they are not prepared to be a adventurous career
So women cannot study engineering it is very dangerous will become tomboyish
And cannot be a good wife material

3,721 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-14 11:50 | Report Abuse

Not only CPI got inflation, what is more alarming for our education system now is we have hyperinflation in Grade.

How many all A's students during the 70's?
How many all A1 student in 2000? If I can remember correctly, all A1 students in 2000 total 207, all given JPA scholarship regardless race and family background. That was the first batch (entering universities in UK, US and Australia in 2002/3) of our elite students that opened the eyes of every host countries' university. Most of them graduated with first class honors, or passed with merits/distinctions for the medical courses. Just go and find out how many did enter Oxbrigde?

Now come 2010 on wards, how many all 1A's student coming out from SPM? How many are getting CGPA 4.0 from matriculation classes? In tens of thousands!

I was made to understand there are two Normal Distribution Graphs applied to our SPM and STPM exam. Putting all the top students (JPA sponsored students were housed in same premises and sitting for same exam) under one roof, and you will have no difficulty to differentiate the real all 1A's students from the lesser standard all 1A's coming from second Normal Distribution Graph......

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:54 | Report Abuse

I don't mind if the brain drain is to continue for the rest of the decade

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:56 | Report Abuse

The smartest kids choose to leave what is left now is bunch of disqualified to leave and deal with what the government thrown at them

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 11:58 | Report Abuse

Do you what problem is the world now?
The dumb species choose to reproduce non stop and the smart species choose to exact extinction

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 12:00 | Report Abuse

Can you ask the dumb ass to stop making more baby because they mass producing social problem

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 12:11 | Report Abuse

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > Jan 14, 2016 11:58 AM | Report Abuse

Do you what problem is the world now?
The dumb species choose to reproduce non stop and the smart species choose to exact extinction

Answer : The smartest breed are the white americans! They help Japan and China to become smarter and industrialized! Unfortunately these white americans are fast becoming endangered breed! Other breed are only good at copying the whites, without the whites, the rest of the species simply reduce to 12 years old!

This is so true, newer breeds now enjoy and copy from other hardwork left by the elite.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 12:14 | Report Abuse

Basically what is left is now is kid who is ISiS recruits and many social problem

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 12:20 | Report Abuse

changing the topic, I think the best place to be educated in Malaysia is Sunway. I can't speak for the others because I have no experience with the others.
But as a parent, I am very satisfied with Sunway.
I write this in the hope I may reach some parents because this is the admission application season.
Furthermore, Sunway has a huge range of Scholarships. Really top top students should not have worries about money matters and even mid range students should be able to get by with the partial scholarships and PTPTA loans.
A lot of the problems is actually lack of information and lack of proper advice and proper guidance.
Its a good start that Mr. Koon talks about options other than medicine.
When people stays flexible, face reality, work hard to get all the facts, there are solutions to problems. When people are stubborn and blind, not flexible, adamant, they are digging their own graves. This is the advice from Mr Koon and from me.

Stay flexible, look at options, consider alternatives, weight the pros and cons.

...and Sunway is not a bad option at all. They even have plenty of non degree options too and people should consider.

Sunway foundation is also an extremely attractive alternative to Form 6 and A levels.

Thanks for reading. You can also advice other parents.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 12:26 | Report Abuse

The white are not the smartest

The highest IQ is in north Asia, according to a research carried out by kwailo

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > Jan 14, 2016 11:58 AM | Report Abuse

Answer : The smartest breed are the white americans! They help Japan and China to become smarter and industrialized! Unfortunately these white americans are fast becoming endangered breed! Other breed are only good at copying the whites, without the whites, the rest of the species simply reduce to 12 years old!

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 12:32 | Report Abuse

you are right! i m north asian.

wakakakaka

Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 14, 2016 12:26 PM | Report Abuse

The white are not the smartest

The highest IQ is in north Asia, according to a research carried out by kwailo

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-14 12:48 | Report Abuse

no need to think too much, just take care of our wallets first (I mean make money ethically, don't shoot me, ok, LOL)

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 12:50 | Report Abuse

you go stay in taiwan hk and come back here and tell me how moronic is bolehland ppls.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 12:52 | Report Abuse

playing the racial card already, Mr Icon?

We want to talk about the importance of learning English, you want to talk about IQ of Chinese.

you a politician? Mr Icon?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 13:14 | Report Abuse

tomm....

compared you with me...I make sure both my children excels in English. Although having both parents speak English is a sure advantage, I also gave them the added advantage of having English lessons even before going to kindergarten and continuing until they finish Standard Six.
No need to play the race card, just do what gives them a head start.

More parents should follow my example.

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-14 13:38 | Report Abuse

死爱脸的老头。。。。。。

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 13:50 | Report Abuse

We have severely lacking of qualified teacher
Some culture treat teacher career as a spare tyre and they despise teacher
They told their kid to grow and become doter and it is shame to family if they become teacher
Low pay and high work loads
The smartest kid grow up to become doter
The left over become teacher
So the roots of poor education simply due to its culture bias