Zai Zai

584 posts

Posted by Zai Zai > 2017-08-31 13:24 | Report Abuse

Surf Rider is trend follower.
ed seykota is the master of this kind of skill

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-08-31 13:29 | Report Abuse

Hi icon sifu. How are you performing so far? I did not follow your stock calls but most of them seems to be not performing well. What went wrong? And how should readers trade in this case? Tq for explanation in advance.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-08-31 13:33 | Report Abuse

long time no see icon8888's posting must give a like one

pputeh

698 posts

Posted by pputeh > 2017-08-31 13:33 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon8888 for a very interesting and informative article. Many of us I think have been doing this without being able to describe & put it into perspective as u have written & explained it so well in words. Unconsciously I have being doing this but not realizing the 3 different actors(Angler, Drift Wood and Surf rider). My 3 stocks die die hold since 2012 ......Aeon Credit, Panamy and Nestle. Sold off some like Petronas Gas, Axitia & Digi. Thanks for the article

Posted by probability > 2017-08-31 13:43 | Report Abuse

when your capital size becomes big..you have to evolve accordingly to different strategies...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-08-31 13:45 | Report Abuse

read my article carefully lah, it already answers all your questions

Flintstones Hi icon sifu. How are you performing so far? I did not follow your stock calls but most of them seems to be not performing well. What went wrong? And how should readers trade in this case? Tq for explanation in advance.
31/08/2017 13:29

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2017-08-31 13:45 | Report Abuse

it is great thank you so much

Posted by casualplay888 > 2017-08-31 14:07 | Report Abuse

This is a very good article which is very easy to understand, however it will take long time to accumulate the experience for proper
implementation.

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-31 14:42 | Report Abuse

i tot icon sifu will disclose his portfolio...mana tau only got water la, wood la, fire la... =(

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-31 14:43 | Report Abuse

but still gooding article. alex like

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-31 14:47 | Report Abuse

So Icon, your CIMB is mid term or long term?

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2017-08-31 14:52 | Report Abuse

icon8888 how about ekovest it should be shorter than wce

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-08-31 17:01 | Report Abuse

Beware of right issues for wce around the corner. Last Monday Agm confirmed that there will be doing right issues @RM0.80. Black swan takes place for drift woods

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-08-31 17:02 | Report Abuse

Icon Sifu, what should we do with carepls? Sell or buy more to average down?

SALAM

1,024 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-08-31 17:09 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon for exploring the investment philosophy and strategy of successful portfolio management for the benefits of this forum. As successful strategy is not static, it has to evolve with time, as pointed out by Probab. It is dynamic. Looking for short term fortune or quick bucks in the stock market is always risky and unsustainable,as pointed out many a time by many sifus (90% ends in utter failure, 10% only managed to scraped through). No way we could turn the market into a casino (put one, take two or put one give two)
Syabas, Icon, you opened the mindset of many newbies or even oldies.
Happy Merdeka !!

5,743 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2017-08-31 17:19 | Report Abuse

Bro icon still the best... Happy holidays......s

11,046 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-08-31 17:35 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 always writes very good article.
He talks with facts and figures.
I like to read his articles.

Good work.

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-31 17:45 | Report Abuse

Agreed!

probability when your capital size becomes big..you have to evolve accordingly to different strategies...
31/08/2017 13:43

ongkkh

219 posts

Posted by ongkkh > 2017-08-31 22:33 | Report Abuse

Hello Icon, how to find Rosmah comment again? he use different ID?
2nd, you totally didnt keep any big cap(real portfolio)?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-08-31 22:37 | Report Abuse

7. The best investors in the world make on average between 10 and 15%.
We already know because of the above that you are probably not going to be among the best. So, if you pick some stocks and passively hold them maybe you’ll earn half that: 7%. Are you happy with that? Then fine. But given the volatility in the market I don’t think thats a good enough return for most people.
Look,some people are good. And some people should invest. But most shouldn’t.
8. The other people who make money only hold for 1/trillionth of a second.
Some trading firms set up their operations right next to the buildings with the computers that process all the trades on the exchanges.
They then pay for high speed cables to go right into these exchanges so their trades get their before yours. These guys make a lot of money in the markets by getting in the middle of every bid-ask faster than anyone else can.
Its a race to the bottom but billions are made. So we see now the way to huge wealth is to either trade in millionths of a second or to hold huge blocks of your net worth in one stock for years. This is not a good strategy for 99.9% of people.
9, Well, what about daytrading?
A lot of people claim to do that successfully. They are lying.
Please see my article “8 Reasons Not to Daytrade”. I got a lot of criticism after that. People wanted to show me their tax returns to show me how good they daytraded. Get lost, punks. Some people make millions playing the violin also.
Doesn’t mean the other six billion people on the planet should perform in Carnegie Hall. In any case, we’re talking about investing in stocks. Not scalping like a little kid with eight terminals in front of him. And guess what, even the best daytraders in the world with twenty year track records go broke sometimes.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-08-31 22:40 | Report Abuse

New generation investment is very different since after the introduction of Internet and online trading
They are investing in better and better computer hardware so they can make the best deal faster than anyone else
Investing is only getting faster and faster
:)

SALAM

1,024 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-08-31 22:42 | Report Abuse

Big cap are already on the plateau la..hard to grow only waiting to tip over and rot,unlike youngster ,full of vision and energy

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-08-31 22:42 | Report Abuse

Bitcoin is trading at faster speed than anything else that is traded in this world
Forex, commodity, gold, etc you can name it
:)

flairline

29 posts

Posted by flairline > 2017-09-01 09:53 | Report Abuse

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-09-01 17:32 | Report Abuse

Good article to share...

Oil refining stocks surge on fear of disruption in supply

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/60318653.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Posted by VenFx > 2017-09-01 20:46 | Report Abuse

BRO Icon8888 ,

I have always look around for an article about The Porfolio Management.
Well, thank you for share with us for such fine one.

Thanks again here.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-09-01 20:51 | Report Abuse

Hope icon8888 bro,

would write another piece of fine article on how to

Earn Ourself a Free Stock' and in contrarian

"How To Make a Strike Back From a Losser Stock"

THANKS ON ADVANCE , BRO .

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-09-02 12:34 | Report Abuse

This article seem like appear before

Have read it before this

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2017-09-04 17:11 | Report Abuse

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-09-04 22:28 | Report Abuse

Icon8888's core holding is cresbld as declared by him. Very slow this stock.

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-09-04 22:30 | Report Abuse

Airasia was declared core holding of his when it was traded around Rm1.60. Can crashbld repeat the airasia's feat?

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-09-22 12:38 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 Sifu missing already kah? Or he has changed his ID?

sell

2,429 posts

Posted by sell > 2017-09-22 12:47 | Report Abuse

After this blog out his stocks jump very high so can boast?

abang_misai Icon8888 Sifu missing already kah? Or he has changed his ID?
22/09/2017 12:38

sell

2,429 posts

Posted by sell > 2017-09-22 12:50 | Report Abuse

Supermax Icon8888 cut loss?

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-09-22 14:19 | Report Abuse

His Supermx in trouble

Acon888

144 posts

Posted by Acon888 > 2017-10-12 23:20 | Report Abuse

Icon went hiding already?

Posted by RenegadeMaster > 2017-10-24 16:39 | Report Abuse

Thanks for this Icon8888. Missing you over at the Airasia forum. Then again, believe me, nothing but absolute rubbish over there for a while now.