224 comment(s). Last comment by kcchongnz 2019-10-12 17:29

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:13 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 13, 2019 7:09 PM | Report Abuse X

why worry so much? my children tells me, his manager say his salary $ 8 k a month, got zero savings......just enough to pay for his BMW and house......
=============

I told this story in the context....don't over worry, when young....future earning power is more important than how much u can save.......

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:32 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 13, 2019 7:09 PM | Report Abuse X

why worry so much? my children tells me, his manager say his salary $ 8 k a month, got zero savings......just enough to pay for his BMW and house......
=============

I told this story in the context....don't over worry, when young....future earning power is more important than how much u can save.......

My god!
Your son's manager just earn 8K a month?
Just imagine how much your son is earning now?
4k?
5k?
6k?
7k?

Like father like son.
Only god can help your son buying his first propert in Klang Valley.
He can't rely on his father to give financial assistance.........

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:33 | Report Abuse

Is he still staying in rented room?

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:41 | Report Abuse

I thought your son is CFA.
Be a stock analyst, later has chance to elevate to fund manager.

If his boss only make 8k a month, it will take him 30 years to get salary up to 30k.
By then 30k salary is really peanuts........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:43 | Report Abuse

d by ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:32 AM | Report Abuse

Only god can help your son buying his first propert in Klang Valley.

=========

my son bought a unit in Cheras, without my help.....his salary about $ 5k..........its under construction. He says he want to B& B it......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:47 | Report Abuse

ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:41 AM | Report Abuse

==========

my son is part 1 CFA only.........He has discontinued his CFA for the time being.....My wish for him, to be CFA by 30 ....still got time.

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

PR1MA apartment?
Even that it cost 300k in Cheras area.
300k loan installment is about 1500 per month.

You must be joking with PR1MA home your son wants to go for AirB&B?
Better stay himself and get a gf.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:41 AM | Report Abuse

Be a stock analyst, later has chance to elevate to fund manager.

If his boss only make 8k a month
=========

that story above is from my daughter manager.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:50 | Report Abuse

yeah think it is about $ 300k +..........now, still under construction so no installments yet. Next to MRT......good buy or not?

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:50 | Report Abuse

Looks like your daughter also earning peanuts?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:52 | Report Abuse

ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:48 AM | Report Abuse

You must be joking with PR1MA home your son wants to go for AirB&B?
=======

next to MRT......can B&B I think

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:53 | Report Abuse

y ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:50 AM | Report Abuse

Looks like your daughter also earning peanuts?
=======

just started work.....fresh graduate $ 5 k............same as brother already......

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:54 | Report Abuse

With CFA Part 1, I doubt he can get 5k salary.
Is he ACCA?

Posted by SharehlderOppression > 2019-05-14 10:56 | Report Abuse

Keep up the good work Kcchongnz.
I am also a big advocate on the concept of margin of safety.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-14 10:56 | Report Abuse

Unker I don't need CFA or ACCA, give me another 2 years I sure earn even more than your son or daugther.

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 10:57 | Report Abuse

Buy good share cheap.
This is what I learn from kcchongnz.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 10:59 | Report Abuse

y ks55 > May 14, 2019 10:54 AM | Report Abuse

With CFA Part 1, I doubt he can get 5k salary.
Is he ACCA?
========

he third year already.....daughter start already $ 5k......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 11:02 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 14, 2019 10:56 AM | Report Abuse

Unker I don't need CFA or ACCA, give me another 2 years I sure earn even more than your son or daugther.
========

me? I think stock market analyst is best job in the world for the young ones.

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 11:06 | Report Abuse

Starting pay for fresh graduate can never be 5k.
Not even a lawyer, an accountant, engineer or doctor.

3 years after admitted to bar may get 5k or higher, surely not accountant.
3 years after houseman may get 5k in government hospital as MO.

Until now I cannot figure out what profession come with starting pay 5k in Malaysia......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 11:22 | Report Abuse

aiyoyo....my daughter rejected two other options for starting pay $ 5k............but she is exceptional....mostly around $ 3k......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 11:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by ks55 > May 14, 2019 11:06 AM | Report Abuse

Until now I cannot figure out what profession come with starting pay 5k in Malaysia......
========

u will be surprised as I was surprised......its not a profession....she is a business graduate.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-14 11:25 | Report Abuse

not really

I was one before

Posted by qqq3 > May 14, 2019 11:02 AM | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 14, 2019 10:56 AM | Report Abuse

========

me? I think stock market analyst is best job in the world for the young ones.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 11:25 | Report Abuse

instead of asking what profession , u should ask which companies pay $ 5 k as starting salary?

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 11:26 | Report Abuse

Probably she may be recruited by my son.
My son empowered to take in Senior Manager up to 15k monthly salary.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 11:27 | Report Abuse

osted by Icon8888 > May 14, 2019 11:25 AM | Report Abuse

not really

========

why not? people pay u to learn....some more got big meat and big fish for lunch very often.......

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 11:43 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > May 14, 2019 11:24 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by ks55 > May 14, 2019 11:06 AM | Report Abuse

========

u will be surprised as I was surprised......its not a profession....she is a business graduate.

Fresh business graduate with starting pay 5k in Malaysia?

VC sure cannot, that profession need extensive exposure.

Management Consultant with Big 4 MBBA? Surely unlikely because they only recruit from elite universities from UK and US with 3 rounds of interviews with real life problem solving. Fresh graduate never qualify for that.

Oil Trader/ Commodity Traders like Big Oil companies and trading house like Glencore? What experience she has coming to trading?

Investment Bankers like Goldman Sachs, JP Morgans, or with Khazanah, Temasik, DBS ?
She must come with 7 seven years to get a chance for interview.

Surely I have exhausted my idea, except she become gf of businessman like YB YBY...........instant billionaire.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-14 11:46 | Report Abuse

you learn nothing technical from the job

you are basically a reporter whose articles read by investors instead of the public

after a few years, you will realise you stagnate in accumulating knowledge

I faced same problem

so I switched to Investment Banking

in one year, I learned 3 years what I learnt as analysts

Posted by qqq3 > May 14, 2019 11:27 AM | Report Abuse

osted by Icon8888 > May 14, 2019 11:25 AM | Report Abuse

not really

========

why not? people pay u to learn....some more got big meat and big fish for lunch very often.......

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-14 11:48 | Report Abuse

Not gonna be a stock analyst, I'll update you guys soon. Stock analyst not interesting enough

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 11:50 | Report Abuse

Not easy to move from back office/ middle office to front office in IB.....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-14 11:50 | Report Abuse

an analyst can give broad statements about the companies he covers, but he doesn't have the depth to go further to discuss corporate finance - the details and impact of rights issue, restructuring, mergers and acquisitions, proper valuation techniques (nobody is there to point out whether they are right or wrong, but in IB, whatever valuation you do has to be sanctioned by accounting firm, etc. So you do the real thing)

I know, because I have done both

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 11:55 | Report Abuse

Look at Public Anal-lists, really their report laugh die me........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 12:00 | Report Abuse

fresh out of college, let them learn at their own pace...what people takes out of their job is up to them.....

u read their outputs....mostly very shallow one....I actually prefer to read quarterly results from the source documents than read research reports.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-14 12:02 | Report Abuse

exactly my point

Posted by qqq3 > May 14, 2019 12:00 PM | Report Abuse

u read their outputs....mostly very shallow one....I actually prefer to read quarterly results from the source documents than read research reports.

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 12:05 | Report Abuse

Want to go for article with substance, go to kcchongnz's blog......

3,845 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2019-05-14 12:06 | Report Abuse

That is why I am here.............

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 12:52 | Report Abuse

y Icon8888 > May 14, 2019 12:02 PM | Report Abuse

exactly my point
==========

my son's explanation is ...they got rules to follow and mostly just want to hunt in the middle of the pack...CYA, u know lah......but for their institution clients, they provide better service than what is available to the retail side.

Those who hunt at the edges lives a very dangerous life......dangerous and short tenure. Hunt in the middle is just perfect for them.

Most of those who gets sacked are those who hunt at the edges , none ever gets sacked for wrong calls if they hunt in the middle.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-14 13:02 | Report Abuse

analyst job very troublesome one

for bloggers like me, I can just change my mind and revise my earning projection (pursuant to changes of circumstances)

analysts can't

every time before they make changes to their earning projections, they need to change their financial model

and the financial model is supposed to be very detailed and comprehensive

so analysts are always very slow in reacting to changes

they spent most of their time begging PLCs to divulge more info so that they can build up a professionally done financial model

that consumes most of their time and energy

and also tie them down

as such, they have insufficient time for the really creative task of stocks discovery

that is why bloggers are now far ahead of analysts in making interesting calls

this is especially the case with the advent of Information Age whereby the public can directly access bloggers by clicking their mouse instead of waiting for IB to fax or email them the research reports

in other words, analysts are becoming dinosaurs and being outgunned by other more talented amateurs

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-14 13:05 | Report Abuse

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > May 12, 2019 10:50 PM | Report Abuse
I learned all my FA report from KCChongnz.
I also learned cash flow from KCChongnz.
I strongly recommend all newbies to learn this basic FA from this good and responsible sifu ... KCChongnz.
My performance is so good because I learn my FA from KCChongnz.
Without good KCChongnz's guidance, I believe I will not make so much money.
Likewise, Mr Koon made so much money in 2015 because of my help.
Indirectly, without learning FA from KCChongnz, Mr Koon also will not make so much money in 2015.
I only give my due respect to those who really help me.
Thank you again Mr KCChongnz.
Your student.

You see that is the joy of a teacher. I have student like OTB who has made very good return from the stock market, much more than what his teacher does. OTB is not the only one, there are many more.

I have students who are now fund managers, working in institutions or just in their own, and investing on their own for people in Bursa, Singapore, Hong Kong, USA and making very good returns. Yes, very good return, over 100% return in two years but now less because of the trade war, but still average 80% in three years. They are better than than teacher, and earn more than their teacher.

Of course not everyone of my student made money so far, but I strongly believe, in the long run, following the right path and process of investing, all of them will earn satisfactory return over the long run.

Knowledge wise, I also have many who are very good in real life investing, and they have gone further in investment knowledge and security analysis, and better and more than what their teacher knows.

That is the joy of a teacher.

Thanks OTB for his kind words.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 13:27 | Report Abuse

well...that is how it is .

analysts work within their assign companies/ sector.....its like medicine also lah. Too much specialization, can only treat the symptoms based on their areas of specialization.

u don't go looking for interesting stuffs outside your area.

specialised doesn't mean they know more than what is announced. Companies also under strict Bursa rules about what can be divulged to analysts and what cannot.

a lot of analyst projections also just tembak lah....often no basis one., end result is the same whoever do it.....all based on emotions .

in any case, analysts cover established companies....u want to cover the small caps.........small caps mainly tembak saja......what else can u do with small caps? small caps FA fly here fly there and go with the wind. Projections just tembak and companies are not supposed to give u more than what is announced.

companies got company rules, analysts got analysts rules.

bloggers got no rules......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 13:30 | Report Abuse

kc.......coaching is a billion dollar industry....no harm if the whole billion $ industry is closed down.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 14:00 | Report Abuse

bloggers got no rules......it is the objective of bloggers / coaches / subscription services to create excitement.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 14:25 | Report Abuse

a correction.....daughter manager says when he was making $ 8 k a month.....also no savings because his BMW always breaks down...............now, earning substantially more......

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 14:26 | Report Abuse

happy and positive.....miracles happen.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-14 15:23 | Report Abuse

earn 8k / month drive BMW, really need to be happy and positive for miracles, or else really default on auto loan payment...

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-14 15:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > May 12, 2019 11:21 PM | Report Abuse

Strong endorsement by otb.
(clap)
KC
How much do you charge for the whole course?
investbullbear@gmail.com
I would love to receive your eBook. Thanks.

3iii, you will get one eBook from me.

Regarding your question, here is a reply,

[Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Jun 24, 2015 08:53 AM | Report Abuse
I want to give credit to Kcchongnz, he is the best FA Sifu, I learned the most from him. I had paid a lot of money to attend many FA courses, at the end I learned the most is still from him. I am a proud person, I will not appreciate you unless you are very good.
To be honest, I am not that good until I learn up FA from him. I had been making a lot of money in last 3 years especially 2014 despite market crash.
I was called up by a company which provide TA and FA teaching in the market, this company charged the fee > Rm 10,000 for the full course.
Mr Ooi, since you are a good friend of KC Chong, please tell him not to spoilt the market to charge so cheap in his course.
Likewise, Mr Ooi, you also should not spoilt the market too.]

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 16:04 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > May 14, 2019 3:23 PM | Report Abuse

earn 8k / month drive BMW, really need to be happy and positive for miracles, or else really default on auto loan payment...

=======

when I was working my basic pay was $ 12k > 20 years ago......final pay much much...I was driving BMW, My monthly expenditure is $ 10 k minimum.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-14 16:11 | Report Abuse

happy and positive.....miracles happen

12,990 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-05-14 17:03 |

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-05-14 17:05 | Report Abuse

Investment Banker or Management Consulting is some of the best when it comes to learning.

If you want to be an analyst, work for a fund, those are more fun.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-14 17:51 | Report Abuse

Posted by Choivo Capital > May 13, 2019 4:19 PM | Report Abuse
Thumbs up to OTB.
Mr Kc, is the only one here where, i actually read all his post in i3.
I have to thank him also for saving me from my foolishness, when i first joined i3, and hand itchy everyday trade left trade right.
Nothing wrong with trading, i just no skill and it don't suit me. KC help me realize it sooner and save me money.

Posted by SharehlderOppression > May 14, 2019 10:56 AM | Report Abuse
Keep up the good work Kcchongnz.
I am also a big advocate on the concept of margin of safety.

Posted by ks55 > May 14, 2019 12:05 PM | Report Abuse
Want to go for article with substance, go to kcchongnz's blog......
That is why I am here...........

Just to re-post here to keep me motivated, and hopeful write more to guide those who wish to build long-term wealth.

Thank you very much for the kind words; Choy, Sharehlderoppression, and others whom I have missed.