611 comment(s). Last comment by EngineeringProfit 2020-02-28 21:45

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-02-09 11:38 | Report Abuse

I'm grateful for having a charismatic and passionate PM Tun Mahathir.

He loves his job so much that he will take all necessary steps to keep visions of his ideal Malaysia alive. Make Malaysia great again with 3rd National Car, unlike useless PM6 who only knows how to build MRT when you already have LRT & Monorail.

He is such a powerful figure, that no past or present foe is able to dethrone him. He even advises economic superpowers like USA, telling her President to resign!

He has a squeaky clean background, never being charged with financial scandal involvements, unlike Najib!

He is also a man of his word, always repeating his promise of handing over the reins to his long-time acquaintance Anwar!

Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer. He even went to a conference with UMNO and PAS, watching Pakatan's enemies closely!

LONG LIVE THE GODFATHER OF MALAYSIA!

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 12:41 | Report Abuse

.......so-called charismatic butmore like a simpleton pakpandir of the 21st century who imagines better STEM-centric workforce by changing language.......

.....as though it will be a permanent solution and no flip-flop after a year or two.

Mastering STEM has to come from the heart. Start from young- teach, cultivate and encourage curiosity using Socratic method. Emphasis of lessons in school must strictly be based on evidence-based truth only, keeping personal beliefs and delusions at bay. The youngs must be nurture to be capable of think out-of-the-box to challenge anything conventional or traditional, hence navigate confidently and independently out of Plato Cave to achieve significant breakthrough in their life subsequently - to survive in this era of IR 4.0 and beyond.

At the end, be grateful that his efforts are all nonstarters, and nothing changed. Time and tide wait for no man.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 12:47 | Report Abuse

Be grateful.....

....when public uni continue to empty the coubtry coffers and deteriorate into degree mills that flood the job market with freaky misfts, incapable pakpandirs and wolves-in-sheep-clothing lbaimalangs of this proto-homo deus era.

...when GLCs suffer the same fate

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 12:55 | Report Abuse

Be grateful is what he should feel....

.....pisang dibenarkan berbuah kali kedua

while he recycles old ideas

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 18:14 | Report Abuse

engine.................change government 2 years ago, u think Malaysian universities should suddenly be world best meh?

a country is not a car engine, just change engine, suddenly a different car...........

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 18:23 | Report Abuse

change is always unsettling and risking,...change is the time that can lead to chaos, change and many people resist and many people loses out............change cannot be too drastic , change should be managed, change is about timing, about choosing the right timing just like stock market.

change is a fascinating subject, change got change experts...change not too fast, not too slow, change not too drastic not too slow, change and the goldilocks point, and what about unintended consequences, secondary effects, reactions, and study and planning....

and then, there are professional pessimists just like you.....

what happened to gratefulness, gratitude?

5,256 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-09 20:15 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha qqq3,
Gratitude and gratefulness are political dirty words to be used by dirty politicians to tell you, you do what I told and not what I do and still be grateful to them.

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 20:19 | Report Abuse

lee....there is a simple test............its called morals and ethics.......

we can reliably test based on morals and ethics.....other than that, lots of unknowns and unknowable.......and unintended consequences.....even morals and ethics, it is subject to judgements..........and people with good judgement is rare....qqq is an exception.

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 20:32 | Report Abuse

ed by i3lurker > Feb 9, 2020 8:24 PM | Report Abuse

WHAT will you do?
============

what u do depends on who u are.......so , no common answer....as a political leader, u need to sacrifice a few for the common good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-Fy80yHYQo&t=1s

did China do wrong? depends on who u ask isn't it? To me, China did no wrong...............

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 20:35 | Report Abuse

What about Shi HuangDi........?

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 20:46 | Report Abuse

What about Shi HuangDi........?

what about Empress Wu Ze dian?

what about Deng during Tien NanMeng?

China is full of examples of looking at stuffs from both perspectives.......

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 20:49 | Report Abuse

Simply take away the lives of the innocents is bad.

* That is good only if you were not one of the affected families

* And usually there were some wicked advisors (yes men) behind

5,256 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-09 20:58 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
In US there are so many ghettos where police also dare not entry. In China with CCTV, AI and cashless society, safety and security are ensured.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 21:02 | Report Abuse

Imagine after winning GE14 and swearing in, the new pm betrays his comrades.....(Shih Huang Di's equivalent)

how?

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 21:07 | Report Abuse

my opinion, The PM choose his cabinet very well and with guts after GE 14

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 21:23 | Report Abuse

smart people thinks others are smarter and stupid people thinks other are more stupid than reality

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 21:25 | Report Abuse

there are clinical evidence of that and even given a name for that

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 22:20 | Report Abuse

Grateful that such an intelligent leader...

....opened his big mouth and made the US Embassy felt disappointed that the “spirit of constructive dialogue” was not observed; thus underscorong the ties between the two nations.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-09 22:25 | Report Abuse

Grateful that such an intelligent leader...

.... opened his big mouth and made Indian palm oil importers effectively stopped all purchases from top supplier Malaysia (after the government privately urged them to boycott its product following a diplomatic spat)

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-09 23:35 | Report Abuse

grateful that moral and ethical means do not say different things at different times...............

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-10 00:14 | Report Abuse

grateful is less judgmental

always what is important and the big picture.........and not sweating the details.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 06:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Feb 9, 2020 11:35 PM | Report Abuse

grateful that moral and ethical means do not say different things at different times............

Grateful is all sapiensshould feel these days - wherever they live - whatever their names are (hadi or pakpandir).....

......that moral values hav evolved and been refined over times, by countless UNSUNG HEROES with their use of judgmental critism, based on the the principle of treating others as you want to be treated.

5,256 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-10 09:07 | Report Abuse

Dear qqq3,
See what have you done to Mr. Koon?
He is now "Cutting off the nose to spite the face” in his latest JAKS article.
Are you still in his email CC list? If so would you write a personal letter to him asking him to get over with JAKS. You are and he is right in buying JAKS because of Vietnam power plant but the only problem is he bought JAKS too early, too much with margin finance and had to sell due to margin call. And I am wrong to write about JAKS conspiracy theory, I am sorry.

5,256 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-10 09:37 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha
I3lurker, now I upgrade my taste to Pchem. Buy on discount day sales like now. My USD to MYR DCI done. MYR in the bank tomorrow will top up Pchem.

Posted by qqq3 > 2020-02-10 13:30 | Report Abuse

lee....every thing in life is about attitude , and happiness is about gratitude.....

and for those quoting warren the bufalo it does not work in the stock market. Stock market is not a physics problem.........

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 19:45 | Report Abuse

.....or we can say that everything in life is about chance/opportunity,
and happiness is about selflessness

Posted by stockmanmy > 2020-02-10 20:45 | Report Abuse

profit......chance and opportunity can only affect your profits, they cannot affect your spiritual or your well being........

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2020-02-10 20:52 | Report Abuse

"Gratitude and Be Grateful for what we Have"

This quote is often mentioned by people who have been betrayed, conned or failed in life. IF you had practiced the saying from day one, one would not be a victim to deceit, greed or betrayal. Anyway, it asserts one to be humble

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 20:54 | Report Abuse

stockmanmy, have you heard of Gautama...

.....by chance, Sujata, the milkmaid, who is said to have fed him with milk and rice, ending his six years of ascetism.

*Such was his emaciated appearance that she wrongly believed him to be a tree-spirit that had granted her wish of having a child.

* The gift provided him enough strength to cultivate the Middle Path, developed jhana, and attained enlightenment under a Bodhi tree.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 20:57 | Report Abuse

See how ....the power of 'by chance'....

.....enlightenment

6,094 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-10 20:59 | Report Abuse

We now have a killer bear mkt, are we grateful to have that sort of mkt ?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 21:02 | Report Abuse

More example of 'by chance'/ randomness in spirituality or religiosity.....

......think about why someone who is born in middle east today is likely to grow up believing in monotheism, compared to someone who is born in India

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 21:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by ahbah > Feb 10, 2020 8:59 PM | Report Abuse

We now have a killer bear mkt, are we grateful to have that sort of mkt ?

Definitely not

* But the feeling of being grateful with what we have now can prevent many depressed souls from taking their own lives now

6,094 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-10 21:06 | Report Abuse

Of course I am most grateful to have the e-wallet with Rm30 in it given by our Ah Eng !

Hidup Ah Eng !

Posted by stockmanmy > 2020-02-10 21:10 | Report Abuse

chance u cannot control but u can control your reactions to it..........

6,094 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-10 21:11 | Report Abuse

The mkt killer bear has taken all we have n depressed n compressed our souls into a flat thin pancake now !

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 21:15 | Report Abuse

Every doctor's prescription is a 'trial' - a prescription of 'chance'

......better chance of beneficial therapeutic effects, outweighting life-threatening adverse effects

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2020-02-10 21:18 |

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-10 21:19 | Report Abuse

Even the law of physics in the universe is such a way of 'by chance'...

......and if there are multiverse, each may follow a different set of the law of physics (string theory)

6,094 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-10 21:21 | Report Abuse

FOLLOWING two weeks of selloff of equities sparked by the coronavirus outbreak, the breach in support levels finally snapped - the fragile FBM KLCI tumbled to briefly hit its eight-year low of 1,521 on Feb 3 - a level last seen on Jan 31,2012.

How can I know 8 yr low is the mkt bottom, please ? Thanks. I am hardly breathing now !

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2020-02-10 21:22 | Report Abuse

"Posted by ahbah > Feb 10, 2020 9:11 PM | Report Abuse
The mkt killer bear has taken all we have n depressed n compressed our souls into a flat thin pancake now !"

The final pancake is sweet!

6,094 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-10 21:24 | Report Abuse

OMG !

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-11 07:07 | Report Abuse

More example of 'by chance'/ randomness in.....(from pre-conception time of every sapiens) is the idea of millions of sperm are on an Olympian race to reach the egg.....

.......Of the 250 million sperm in the average human ejaculate, only a few hundred actually end up at the fertilisation site, i.e. about (or less than) one in a million.

* After all, This Is the Age When Your Brain Is at Its Most Random.....

.....In research published last month in the journal PLOS Computational Biology, mathematician Nicholas Gauvrit and his team at the LABORES Scientific Research Lab, a research institution in Paris, discovered that when it comes to random thinking and decision-making, a person’s ability peaks at about age 25 and then gradually declines for the next several decades, eventually dropping off sharply at around age 60...

Gauvrit and his colleagues argued that the ability to mimic a random process is a mentally difficult task, requiring sustained and focused attention, among other highly complex cognitive skills. In other words, if your answers are truly random, you’re at the top of your game, cognitively speaking.

Which, in turn, means that a person’s ability to generate randomness can be used to help determine a baseline of cognitive function. Other studies show that success on these sorts of tests is also associated with creativity. Some researchers have argued that randomness is what allows human beings to brainstorm and solve problems.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-11 07:39 | Report Abuse

Likewise evolutionary theory implies that life evolved (and continues to evolve) randomly, or by chance too

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-11 07:44 | Report Abuse

Dear qqq3,

Using your 'half cup' analogy, shouldn't we conclude that:

To say that every thing in life is about attitude , and happiness is about gratitude.........just fill uo half of the cup.....

And the other half says that everything in life is about chance/opportunity, and happiness is about selflessness?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-11 08:14 | Report Abuse

Similarly, religiosity only fills half a cup of spirituality.

* Analysis of data from the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS)-Kindergarten Cohort to complete the study. They examined the effects of parents' religious attendance and how the religious environment in the household (frequency of parent-child religious discussions and spousal conflicts over religion) influenced a nationally representative sample of third-graders. They reviewed the children's psychological adjustment, interpersonal skills, problem behaviors, and performance on standardized tests (reading, math, and science).

They found that third-graders' psychological adjustment and social competence were positively correlated with various religious factors. However, students' performance on reading, math, and science tests were negatively associated with several forms of parental religiosity.

The findings suggest that parental religiosity is a mixed blessing that produces significant gains in social psychological development among third-graders while potentially undermining academic performance, particularly in math and science.

"Religion emphasizes moral codes designed to instill values such as self-control and social competence," said Bartkowski. "Religious groups' prioritization of these soft skills may come at the expense of academic performance, which is generally diminished for youngsters raised in religious homes when compared with their non-religious peers

_______

A case for overdose causing poisonous effect

* Even something a good, vital and nourishing as water, when overconsumed causes poisoning too.

Water toxemia is a potentially fatal disturbance in brain functions that results when the normal balance of electrolytes in the body is pushed outside safe limits by excessive water intake.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2020-02-11 09:23 | Report Abuse

by EngineeringProfit > Feb 11, 2020 7:44 AM | Report Abuse

And the other half says that everything in life is about chance/opportunity, and happiness is about selflessness?
==========

u must learn the importance of being stoic........google Marcus Aurelius...Stoicism.......

acceptance of stuffs u cannot control......... happiness is about selflessness :: that's what the Buddha teaches........

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-12 18:41 | Report Abuse

Grateful that pm and gang...

..... neither commit to outgrowing racial politics, undiplomatic speeches and myopic religiosity;

nor provide a clear direction for the country economy

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-12 18:43 | Report Abuse

*Grateful that they are testing the ppl to the fullest ....

.....and can maintain riot-free-cum-scot-free

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-12 18:53 | Report Abuse

Grateful that....

......the hand-picked minister of the newly-created ministry of economic affairs will be well remembered as the First Economy Minister ever who is responsible for the lowest economic growth at 3.6% in a decade.