NOTION VTEC BHD

KLSE (MYR): NOTION (0083)

+0.03 (3.26%)

0.925 - 0.96

29 people like this.

16,547 comment(s). Last comment by NatsukoMishima 3 hours ago

Posted by Unbeatable Nick > 2015-03-23 15:15 | Report Abuse

why launching smartphone?? Can compete meh??

tnt88

113 posts

Posted by tnt88 > 2015-03-23 15:17 | Report Abuse

malaysia 1st smartphone

tnt88

113 posts

Posted by tnt88 > 2015-03-24 09:50 | Report Abuse

pass 40 cents

cutie

1,690 posts

Posted by cutie > 2015-03-24 10:13 | Report Abuse

Notion manufactures some parts to well known brands....can compete. I think no problem

Posted by theavengers > 2015-03-24 10:35 | Report Abuse

gogogo ....0.60 short term target by me !!

cutie

1,690 posts

Posted by cutie > 2015-03-24 11:21 | Report Abuse

If response good in May sales, Notion will hit 60.

mych11

97 posts

Posted by mych11 > 2015-03-24 11:48 | Report Abuse

what happened to their investment in a gold mining company?

cheer2015

75 posts

Posted by cheer2015 > 2015-03-24 16:49 | Report Abuse

Volumn come. How chart say this counter now ? Who has in ?

Posted by shareprofit > 2015-03-24 18:36 | Report Abuse

hi all, can't u all see through the smokescreen?? can the handphone project...for the directors to divert money out from company with such stupid projects? commissions? kickbacks?

can't u all see how silly the project is? rebadging the hp from china into local notion vtec name?? do u see the similarities here???????

bursa should check the previously failed project in australia...it just seemed to coincident to invest hugely into a project non related to core business...and then just fail!!! did any directors pocket the money in between??????

TimLee

41 posts

Posted by TimLee > 2015-03-24 18:45 | Report Abuse

3rd of march bursa just sue and fine the director for illegal trading issue. Sold all of my share at 0.400 today.

Posted by shareprofit > 2015-03-24 21:48 | Report Abuse

fine is minimal compared to the millions they lost...or reaped?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-03-24 22:10 | Report Abuse

Shareprofit has his logic behind if you follow the history of this screw up tion.

Posted by undukngadau > 2015-03-25 09:48 | Report Abuse

Shareprofit: I totally agree with your statement. Thank you

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2015-03-30 13:34 | Report Abuse

Next Quar still lost, only hope maybe is 3rd quarter.

cheer2015

75 posts

Posted by cheer2015 > 2015-04-06 14:10 | Report Abuse

Every USD 0.10 up, how much is the revenue return ?

hiroya

35 posts

Posted by hiroya > 2015-04-10 16:51 | Report Abuse

Wow. Price increasing....

cheer2015

75 posts

Posted by cheer2015 > 2015-04-10 18:23 | Report Abuse

coming...

greenday

210 posts

Posted by greenday > 2015-04-10 18:50 | Report Abuse

can buy what price.. direct buy 405 on monday?

cheer2015

75 posts

Posted by cheer2015 > 2015-04-14 11:53 | Report Abuse

进军智能手机市场 NOTION冀明年摆脱亏损

(吉隆坡23日讯)NOTION集团(NOTION,0083,主板科技股)计划在今年进军智能手机市场,以多元化公司业务,並放眼2016年摆脱亏损的困境。
NOTION集团执行主席杜照华指出,今年將是集团的过渡期,主要以缩小亏损为主,期望可在明年达到转亏为盈的目標。
该集团预计在今年5月的首个星期,推出旗下第一款智能手机,並命名为「人」(TRENDI)。对于传统上以製造混合硬盘驱动器(HDD)、相机和汽车零件为核心业务的NOTION集团,杜照华指出,以去年智能手机年出货量达10亿台来看,这是非常令人振奋的市场。
「公司的智能手机將以网络平台销售为主,並放眼全球的市场。」杜照华指出,该智能手机將以「飢饿行销」方式推出。即是消费者只能在特定时间才能购买该手机。
他指出,该集团为智能手机业务投入的预算高达200万令吉,目前花费不到100万令吉。假如市场对NOTION集团打造的首款手机品牌反应良好,该集团有计划推出更多不同类型的智能手机款式。
杜照华在出席该公司第11届股东常年大会后,对媒体发表谈话时作有关披露。
2014年对NOTION集团来说是充满挑战的一年,该集团在2014財政年蒙受亏损,也是公司上市以来首见。截止去年9月30日的2014財政年全年財报,该公司蒙受2563万令吉的亏损,按年扩大2.3倍;营业额也按年下挫10.30%,至1亿9941万令吉。而截至12月31日的2015財政年首季,该公司亏损为524万令吉,按年缩小46.64%;营业额则按年增加22.10%,至5825万令吉。
他指出,受到市面上智能手机的相机功能不断优化的挑战,该集团相机零件业务遭到重大打击。另外,公司早前配合业务多元化和看好白银市场所投资的澳洲银矿公司,也面临投资亏损的局面,並以赔本退场为结局。杜照华指出,集团承认在这项投资决策上的失误,並汲取教训,表示未来不再做原產品相关的投资。
展望今年集团的前景,业务以出口为导向的NOTION集团,並没有因为美元走强而从中受惠,杜照华指出,公司对令吉在去年尾急挫始料未及,由於已经预先锁定美元价位,因此公司的出口目前仍以1美元兑3.20令吉计价。
他指出,在今年6月份以后,该公司將根据美元的走势来交易,届时预料將从美元走强的趋势中受益。
此外,来自泰国对混合硬盘驱动器订单,在去年尾取得约三倍的成长,贸易额达300万令吉,再加上,公司今年进军智能手机业务,都是可以带动公司业绩表现的利好动力。http://www.orientaldaily.com.my/index.php/business/cjnotion

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-14 14:50 | Report Abuse

Nothing new there, old news

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-14 14:59 | Report Abuse

5 million volume up until now... interesting...

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2015-04-14 15:39 | Report Abuse

Yup, very interesting on today movement....

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-14 16:15 | Report Abuse

6 million volume today, only 1 day in the past 3 years have more volume, at 7 million on 20/5/2013

But I think it'll easy come easy go... Profit taking happening already

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-14 16:34 | Report Abuse

important for it to close at 43/43.5~!

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2015-04-17 00:38 | Report Abuse

:)

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-28 10:36 | Report Abuse

if still holding, don't sell, much better results expected for 2nd Q report in few weeks, should breakeven or minimal loss/gain +/-1 million ba. Accumulation going on

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-04-28 10:57 | Report Abuse

Guest i should explain more... forex losses can be 'calculated' from the outstanding balance of their hedges, and the margin of increase by USD to RM since last Q's closing.
Similarly, the stronger USD can also be calculated to increase revenue by X% since last Q, assuming everything remains the same.

If revenue is the same, expect loss of -1 mill to breakeven I guess.
If revenue increase QoQ we may see profit between 0-1 million.

This is just an educated guess, buy/hold at your own risk :)

Posted by Lee Wehc Taik > 2015-05-14 18:55 | Report Abuse

rugi lagi...

"The Board is of the view for FY2015 it will remain weak and only in FY2016 will it return to profitability. "

dissapointed with the management

cheer76

346 posts

Posted by cheer76 > 2015-05-14 21:54 | Report Abuse

Val~Elta, I believe next Q notion will have better Q due to end of forex hedging. How u c?

blackout

28 posts

Posted by blackout > 2015-05-15 08:51 | Report Abuse

Last quarter RM17million forex losses is due to mark to market. How come this quarter another RM12million in forex losses?

2 quarters RM29million forex losses? Where got so much... and why the gross margin drop so much? Revenue went up QoQ but the gross profit drop down. Management also din explain.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-05-15 08:54 | Report Abuse

Ya, mistakes in estimating d forex losses to b at 7million. :( fundamentally its good though. I think their CNC machine use rate is much higher now? 1st time since a long while revenue hit 63m per q. LSO forex close at 3.70 in march. In April forex close at 3.60, so confirm some forex gain realized back. and may now at 3.57. Ideally get some forex gain back, before USD strengthen back to 3.7 ba.

But assuming revenue is fattened by forex exchange by 15, deducting 15% revenue is at 53million. Don't have access to previous q results now, have to see past results what is their machine utilization is at 53-55 mill sales

blackout

28 posts

Posted by blackout > 2015-05-15 09:09 | Report Abuse

First quarter already mark to market until USD3.55~3.60. Second quarter why still mark to mark. Exchange rate floating at USD3.55~3.60. Wtf.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-05-15 09:12 | Report Abuse

As a stuck in d boat investor. I like good growth in their HDD n Auto business. I think they managed to utilized d machines vacated by loss of camera business d. No point to cut loss n give other ppl profit ;) I don't have the figures now, will post again later, but iirc, their auto business growth is impressive actually. QoQ is almost 30% growth in this Q alone. If not for weaker euro for their auto business, QoQ growth is more like 35%?? Need to refer back my excel in a while

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-05-15 09:35 | Report Abuse

Blackout, 2nd q end of march, forex at 3.70 that's why marked, April 3.6 and may 3.6 also la let's say. So will get some forex gain from d higher MTM at 3.7 in march

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-05-15 16:43 | Report Abuse

why would the phone project encounter delays? Do you have more information?
From what we can guess.

On the phone itself, the telephone should be the easiest part of their business.
1) It can be as simple as just a rebadge of an OEM phone - This project should be risk free at least on the phone manufacturing process, and would not incur what you're saying.
2) It can be more complex, if they want to hire UI designer to skin their phone as well. But even then, this is cosmetics and doesn't really have risks to it.
3) The manufacturing of phones by OEM factories in China is very well matured too, shouldn't have issues, unless they got conned by scammers.

On the supporting side
1) Facebook/Website marketing - Need to create FB account, and/or website to perform the sales of the phone
2) Staff hiring - Hire staff to manage the sales, marketing, packing/shipment of phone

Personally I'm hoping from their silence on this (no mention of phone project in their Q report at all), means that they're dropping the phone business idea completely. Especially if their core business is getting back on track, which is getting back on track.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-05-15 16:45 | Report Abuse

Overall, market reaction seems ok today, I'd expected worst to be honest.

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2015-05-17 10:45 | Report Abuse

nightmare over? Most of the USD hedging contract are gonna ended on May.
Or maybe need to wait one more quarter so Notion can totally be detoxified of hedging stuff.

But Im afraid ringgit would turn strong in the second half of 2015.

Anyway, Im pending insider buying signal

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-05-17 11:07 | Report Abuse

Toxic of flood- pls be patient with us, once the art of water God is gone, we will be fine.

Toxic of fire- pls be patient with us, once the art of fire God is gone, we would be fine.

Toxic of camera downturn- pls be patient with us, once the cycle is over, we will be fine.

Toxic of hedging on dollar, oh pls be patient with us again, once the hedging is over, we will be fine.

Everything is other's faults, we are fine. The management team is perfect.

I afraid the source of toxic is the management itself.

Quote from “柴九”,one people has how many 10 years?

I have sucked in this stupid company for the last n years. Stupid management, and the more stupid bsngpg. Do you want to be the most stupidest?

cheer76

346 posts

Posted by cheer76 > 2015-05-17 23:02 | Report Abuse

USD will turn North, now is phone business matter

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2015-05-18 08:50 | Report Abuse

almost time to buy, just wait wait

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-01 16:38 | Report Abuse

Still wait? Some good news on SLR Lens sales, have bottomed out, and volume for April 15 is 98% of last year's.

http://www.cipa.jp/stats/documents/e/dw-201504_e.pdf

cheer76

346 posts

Posted by cheer76 > 2015-06-01 22:19 | Report Abuse

Good info

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 12:55 | Report Abuse

Something i posted on DuFu thread. Dufu is another company doing CNC machine, exact same business profile as notion, but their product only HDD

Net Asset Per Share.
Notion 105 cent, Dufu 57 cent (84% more NAPS)

Revenue
I'll take average 1 Q's revenue since Dufu only 1st Q result.
Notion ~66million, Dufu ~34million

Operating margin
Operating income/revenue
Notion ~ average of 2 Qs 17341k/122193k = 14% margin. Dufu = 733k/34958k = 2% (dufu need to do 7x sales, to get equal profit with notion) 700% more margin vs DuFu. This latest Q result can say bad margin d, normal notion margin is 17%!

EPS.
Dufu = 0.31 sen. Notion = -1.69 sen [Expecting notion EPS for 3rdQ to be around 3.7 sen per share, to totally breakeven 1st 2 Q's losses] Assume same EPS for 4th Q if not higher, FY EPS for notion despite 2 first Q loss = 3.7 sen per share.
Assume Dufu 10% increase in EPS QoQ, 0.31+0.34+0.38+0.42 = 1.45 sen.

And dufu share is at same price range.. abt 36cents now.

So... I just find it interesting, that two business exactly same CNC business, almost same share price 36 for dufu vs 37 for notion.

But if you look at fundamentals, notion's fundamental is much much higher than Dufu's. Do you know of another company doing CNC machine business listed in KLSE too? Good to do comparison of same industry companies.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 13:15 | Report Abuse

Found another one, ASTI group, listed in Sg, parent Co for Emerald Precision Engineering. Doing same CNC machining/precision parts.

Let's look at their figures, based on FY2014.. No 2015 Q reports available.
I wont do SG to RM translation to apple apple it.. but you can take the % figures..

ASTI Group share price (SGD) 0.06
NAPS = 13 cent.
NAPS/Share price = 2.1x, notion NAPS/Shareprice = 2.8x

Revenue, FY 2014, SGD 135160k
Operating profit = 2616k
Operating margin = 2616k/135160k = 1.9% about the same as dufu also. Notion's 14-17% op margin is really strong now, if you compare with other player in this business.

ASTI
EPS = 0.44 cents
PE ratio = 6/0.44 = 13.63. I'm projecting Notion 3rd and 4th Q to have EPS of 3.7 each. Total notion FY 2015 EPS, 3.7cent
PER = 37/3.7 = 10.

Is there another CNC business with a better fundamentals? I want to see how bad/far notion is, compared with a true precision manufacturing best of class leader... Maybe i widen my search to US/China market..

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 13:16 | Report Abuse

EDIT** ASTI one inaccurate, not apple to apple entirely, as they have other business divisions.. semicon etc.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 13:50 | Report Abuse

Another precision machining company, Luster Industries.

NAPS 9 cent.
Revenue 1st Q 30 mill
Operating Loss = 1.9mil, margin = -1.9/30 = -6%? uh... not sure how to calculate negative margin :P

Feel free to add other machining companies result you know off... chau for now.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-06-02 18:22 | Report Abuse

Hi Val-Elta : you are really a great gate-keeper of Notion. Thank you for your consistent hard work.

I have no eyes to see my investment on Notion, in fact I have psychologically written off the investment. Anyway if the salted fish can really turn around one final day, I would welcome it with open arms. Nevertheless, it would be a fairy tale if I can recoup my initiate capital. Ha Ha.

Thks again.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 19:03 | Report Abuse

Im an existing shareholder, assessing my portfolio every now and then. I sold some profitable shares to average down a bit more today at 37. Give notion 1,2 good quarters, and I'm sure it'll go back up around 50-60 cents. What price did you bought bsngpg?

US automobile sales result out later today, expecting a very good month for May as well, with 17 million cars sold. TRW shld be a strong player in the US market.. wonder how much business it can give notion only. Let's hope Notion can grow their revenue with TRW, as TRW is a very very big player.

USD to RM for April and May is below M2M price of 3.70, so there's some forex gain for sure... At the moment, June seems like 3.70++ maybe some M2M gonna happen for 3rd Q, but depending on outstanding position left, any additional forex losses if USD > 3.80 per RM, can be partially offset by higher profit from sales as well.

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 19:11 | Report Abuse

Also, I think we can see Notion will probably get EPS of 3-4 cent per Q post the expiry of the forex hedges. Total FY EPS will be 12-16 cents!

Also for 2nd Q results, if you read their cash flow statement, there's a 7 million cost involved in either replacing their CNC machine or service/repairs incurred in their cost of sales.

If not for this amount, they could actually have breakeven already in 2nd Q itself. Maybe kitchen sinking, to book all costs in to 2nd Q. 3rd Q result gonna be exciting I hope!

And please... don't buy the handphones!! Surprisingly, as much as I want to findout more about their smartphone, I CANT... not in facebook, not in google. If they're actively marketing it, they're doing a bad job. Let's just hope it means they cancelled their whole smartphone idea completely...

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2015-06-02 19:12 | Report Abuse

Also, I think we can see Notion will probably get EPS of 3-4 cent per Q post the expiry of the forex hedges. Total FY EPS will be 12-16 cents!

Also for 2nd Q results, if you read their cash flow statement, there's a 7 million cost involved in either replacing their CNC machine or service/repairs incurred in their cost of sales.

If not for this amount, they could actually have breakeven already in 2nd Q itself. Maybe kitchen sinking, to book all costs in to 2nd Q. 3rd Q result gonna be exciting I hope!

And please... don't buy the handphones!! Surprisingly, as much as I want to findout more about their smartphone, I CANT... not in facebook, not in google. If they're actively marketing it, they're doing a bad job. Let's just hope it means they cancelled their whole smartphone idea completely...