NOTION VTEC BHD

KLSE (MYR): NOTION (0083)

+0.03 (3.26%)

0.925 - 0.96

29 people like this.

16,547 comment(s). Last comment by NatsukoMishima 3 hours ago

no_idea

39 posts

Posted by no_idea > 2014-07-01 10:51 | Report Abuse

Anyone have insider news?

Posted by NoviceInvestor > 2014-07-01 11:10 | Report Abuse

My average price at 1.00, still far to go :(, but it's a good start

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-07-01 11:17 | Report Abuse

any news why it skyrocket today?

master_tan

690 posts

Posted by master_tan > 2014-07-01 11:19 | Report Abuse

special dividend on the way....accumulate now....

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-07-01 11:22 | Report Abuse

yay! hope they give 10cents dividend hehe.. dream..

Posted by choysantou > 2014-07-01 14:40 | Report Abuse

something big cooking? checked shareholders list ....big time shareholders ie. Mitsubishi Japan, Tabung Haji, EPF, Yayasan Sarawak, equity funds.

raymondlim

165 posts

Posted by raymondlim > 2014-07-01 21:06 | Report Abuse

All time low. Turn around plan????

dragonking

3,496 posts

Posted by dragonking > 2014-07-01 21:40 | Report Abuse

notion-wb,,,gonna fly soon...

master_tan

690 posts

Posted by master_tan > 2014-07-01 23:39 | Report Abuse

Buy sea era better , keep fly high

Posted by FricyTan > 2014-07-02 10:40 | Report Abuse

Any news?...

Posted by kiasu_trader > 2014-07-02 13:43 | Report Abuse

big brother choo is buying, while younger brother choo is selling. younger brother losed the insider battle. this stock is heading back to 0.80 level. don't miss the golden opportunity

zzzzz

1,880 posts

Posted by zzzzz > 2014-07-02 21:58 | Report Abuse

Up to RM0.62 then turned red again

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-07-03 16:59 | Report Abuse

sigh..still not enough kick...

zzzzz

1,880 posts

Posted by zzzzz > 2014-07-03 20:05 | Report Abuse

No volume

Sohai

692 posts

Posted by Sohai > 2014-07-14 10:58 | Report Abuse

No ppl buy.All sell ready.company sale(-)

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-07-16 09:19 | Report Abuse

Go! Go! Power Ranger! Chairman Buying! Good Sign! Pilot sees something good coming!

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-16 10:44 | Report Abuse

See below quote from research firm:
Notion Vtec Bhd is close to clinching two to three deals from Japanese and South Korean firms to manufacture smartphone components, which could bring in MYR40m to MYR50m in annual revenue

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2014-07-16 11:48 | Report Abuse

Mmm.. i remember a lot of people were screaming sell and what not previously... traders :P if you sold, you've just locked in your losses.

Now, is this pure goreng? Or will it last... Mmmm.

Calvin, you chose to ignore the fact that another director was dumping too, even at 0.55.

Invester, if what you say is true, fundamentally that's a major good news (But still I doubt Choo Wing Hong will not know of...)

I've been a steady voice here, let's see how it goes... But the smartphone news, seems a bit not jive.. Their prior strategy announcement is automotive, oil and gas... sudddenly smartphone?? Unless they are doing iphone6, htc etc body with their CNC machines?

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2014-07-16 11:50 | Report Abuse

Disclaimer wise, I did unload majority of my holdings, too early i must say :( but still have some left to enjoy the run...

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2014-07-16 12:06 | Report Abuse

Ok.. found the news, from the chairman himself.
Interesting... let's see how it goes, he did only say, 'close to clinching' the contracts... Sony and LG would be the customers if accurate.
Sony, possible from their SLR tie up previously I think, LG?

Mmmm, one thing of interest is the smartphone assembly would still be in China, which component is notion going to provide? The body itself (most likely, those metal phones which CNC machines can do)

Up til now, I think Thoo Chow Fah is still pretty trustworthy, it'll be interesting if he made up the news to support a goreng.
Still, impossible Choo Wing Hong don't know of any ongoing contracts negotiation and he choose to sell at 55?

Val-Elta

682 posts

Posted by Val-Elta > 2014-07-16 12:10 | Report Abuse

Now that it broke news, public investors are all jumping in, no stopping this train now, but I doubt the majority of them will stay around if a bad/not so good quarter result is announced soon.

Posted by Kim Yap Lau > 2014-07-16 12:20 | Report Abuse

http://adf.ly/qLvEU

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-16 15:14 | Report Abuse

As mentioned in the news, the smart phone business (if they got it) will only contribute to financial year 30 Sep 2015. So, it has nothing related to coming quarter result which i think might not really good as Notion is still suffering from the lost of the silver milling in Australia.

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-07-16 18:50 | Report Abuse

Val-Elta,

I noticed both Directors Choo Wing Hong & Chairman Thoo Chow Fah dumping bother mother shares and all Warrant B.

However, Director Thoo Chow Fah later went in to buy back Warrant B. At this moment it is financially suicidal to buy warrant B due to bleak prospects & with Warrant B totally "out of the money".

It takes a mighty optismic person to buy Warrant B UNLESS HE SEES SOMETHING AHEAD THAT WE DON'T.

IN INVESTMENT WE MUST ALWAYS "SEE" BEYOND WHAT IS OBVIOUS

TRY TO SEE FROM CHAIRMAN THOO'S POINT OF VIEW. IS THERE HOPE AHEAD? SOMETHING BREWING?. HE IS ALSO HUMAN LIKE US. SUBJECTED TO FEAR & HOPE- GAIN OR LOSSES.

IF IN DOUBT FOLLOW MY JOHOR SIFU'S RULE

FOLLOW DIRECTOR TO BUY JUST 10%

SAY HE BUY 100,000 SHARES . YOU BUY 10,000 SHARES

IF HE BUYS ANOTHER 200,000 SHARES. FOLLOW CLOSE BEHIND AND BUY ANOTHER 20,000 SHARES.

YES! BUY 10% OF WHAT THE DIRECTOR IS BUYING. IN THIS WAY YOUR LOSS IS LIMITED TO 10% OF THE DIRECTOR'S 100% (Compared to you.)

AND SHOULD THE DIRECTOR BE CORRECT. YOU ALSO STAND TO GAIN 10%.

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-07-16 22:01 | Report Abuse

I think it is time to unlock land value.

einvest88

416 posts

Posted by einvest88 > 2014-07-16 22:07 | Report Abuse

Highlight: Notion VTec close to securing deals
www.theedgemalaysia.com/.../298778-highlight-notion-vtec-cl...
The Edge
13 hours ago - KUALA LUMPUR: Precision parts maker Notion VTec Bhd is close to clinching ... and South Korean firms to manufacture smartphone components, which ... Depending on the growth of potential contracts, Thoo said the group ...

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-16 23:08 | Report Abuse

Hi all: Thanks for the info and update.

Notion is the biggest loser in my portfolio. However I am still naively holding tight with it. How stupid am I?

Johnnys

759 posts

Posted by Johnnys > 2014-07-16 23:44 | Report Abuse

lucky I sold it few month ago and buy back 2 weeks ago, now just break even.

johnny cash

6,400 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2014-07-17 13:46 | Report Abuse

Notion VTEC (NVB MK)
Technical BUY with +16.2% potential return
Last price : RM0.650
Target Price : RM0.725, RM0.755
Support : RM0.610
Stop-loss: RM0.600
BUY with a target price of RM0.755 with stoploss
below RM0.600. NVB’s share price had
been trading below the long-term downtrend
line before successfully crossing the line and
establishing a new uptrend on 1 Jul 14. Given
the persistent climb in the past 2 weeks
followed by yesterday’s gap-up, we expect
further upward continuation hereafter. The
emergence of fresh buying interest as seen in
yesterday’s higher trading volume should lift
share price higher. Additionally, the
establishment of a “hidden divergence”
between the share price and Stochastic (higher
low vs lower low) signals a bullish reversal
while the MACD positive reading indicates
stronger momentum which is likely to lift NVB
higher. We peg our medium-term upside target
at the previous high of RM0.755.
Timeframe: 2 weeks to 2 months

cykairy

10 posts

Posted by cykairy > 2014-07-19 19:36 | Report Abuse

buy in at 0.62 on 16/4 and sell it at 0.64 on 16/7 due to poor result in last quarter result, i rather wait the next quarter result, if continue worse or no improve, i will not consider re-purchase

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-22 11:22 | Report Abuse

luckily I am patient enough to hold my share until now. :) Very surprising move.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-22 13:56 | Report Abuse

My experience: the more patient you are with Notion, the more money you loose. From 1.20 to 0.80, then to 0.60.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-22 14:05 | Report Abuse

22July(today) is exactly 4 years anniversary. Long term investment in Notion costs me 48% in loss.
I need 75% gain from today to recover my initial cost. May be another 4 years if I am lucky enough.

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-07-22 16:54 | Report Abuse

i see the light...

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-07-22 19:05 | Report Abuse

GO! GO! POWER RANGER!

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-22 20:11 | Report Abuse

it depends whether you are invest at the right timing. Patient doesn't mean holding for years.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-22 20:32 | Report Abuse

Yup! I regret that I do not have luck in picking the right timing. What a pity.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-22 22:13 | Report Abuse

perhaps, I am also one of the person who purchased at high price. Was thinking to cut lost previously. But yet think back, why I bought this share at the beginning? Then you will get the answer whether to hold or cut lost.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-23 07:02 | Report Abuse

If looking back, my "hold" decision is unwise. I should sell when price dropped 20-40%(from rm1.25 to rm1.00 - rm0.75), especially the price drop was due to structural change in its biz/industry where HDD goes into sun set and growth prospect of camera was badly affected by the quantum leap advancement on smartphone(with camera function).
If I sold and switched to another tech related counters such as GTronic, MPI, Unisem or PIE, I would have made good profit instead of loosing big in Notion.

Anyway I am still stupidly holding tight to this big loser.

有早知,沒乞丐。

Good luck to you and me.

26,818 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-07-23 07:42 | Report Abuse

Cannot compare Notion with GTronic, MPI & Unisem. Gtronic, MPI & Unisem are semiconductor chip manufacturers, which Notion is not in.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-23 08:49 | Report Abuse

Notion is mainly focusing on turning part (metal). I was having an opportunity to visit Notion factory few years back and they have very good machines which can do very precise component. There is no doubt as they are in the camera business which is talking about micron (in tolerance). Well, to me, i think their biggest mistake is to invest in silver milling in Australia. If they are focusing on their existing business, they will have making money in every quarter.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-23 08:52 | Report Abuse

As for PIE, they are actually the sub company of Foxconn. They are doing many things such as plastic molding, PCB, flex, etc. So call, one stop solution.

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-07-23 23:33 | Report Abuse

why is the EC buying and the ED keep selling? pls advice...

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-07-25 07:02 | Report Abuse

Hi Invester: thks for your constructive comments on Notion. Please posts more when there is any new development on this company.

Conan

155 posts

Posted by Conan > 2014-07-25 09:56 | Report Abuse

Investment in mining is big mistakes specially in Australia because they have to many rules and regulations, safety and etc... That itself will cause loss to company

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-07-31 10:34 | Report Abuse

anbz, The insurance money has been used to purchase new CNC machines. Please do not make any false statement regarding the fire accident as you might get sue from the related party. You have wrote a very serious statement.

Posted by chrome50 > 2014-08-05 23:44 | Report Abuse

no upcoming news after 18 July?

Posted by Thomas Hing > 2014-08-06 15:14 | Report Abuse

:D

AhJee

467 posts

Posted by AhJee > 2014-08-07 11:15 | Report Abuse

wow technically up again, sit tied

iWarrants

746 posts

Posted by iWarrants > 2014-08-07 12:02 | Report Abuse

:)