CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

-0.07 (0.88%)

7.84 - 8.00

21 people like this.

18,445 comment(s). Last comment by enning22 8 hours ago

Jeffreyteck

4,247 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2019-08-13 09:11 | Report Abuse

Testing 4.50.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-08-13 21:28 | Report Abuse

Most share prices also down. Too bad for many but lucky for some investors who may be waiting for good & cheap investments.

Posted by Smallretailer > 2019-08-13 22:11 | Report Abuse

dji is up 400. better buy fast while its 5. nearing qr report plus partnership with Axiata + Takaful

jguy

97 posts

Posted by jguy > 2019-08-13 22:23 | Report Abuse

up up!

JQ

331 posts

Posted by JQ > 2019-08-14 13:50 | Report Abuse

Double bottom @ RM 5.00 and neckline @ RM5.45

5,850 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-08-14 15:43 | Report Abuse

Green......

Investor48

1,330 posts

Posted by Investor48 > 2019-08-14 20:30 | Report Abuse

It's cash out time..
Not only CIMB but stock market..
The long awaited worldwide crash is otw..

Hehe...

Posted by Smallretailer > 2019-08-14 23:40 | Report Abuse

time to sell guys

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2019-08-15 06:02 | Report Abuse

Banking industry is at down trend ...coming operate cut will reduce the profit more...

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2019-08-15 06:10 | Report Abuse

This one can wait at RM3-4...no rush

jguy

97 posts

Posted by jguy > 2019-08-15 06:36 | Report Abuse

lol 4. banking was already downtrend since early this year

Posted by armadasaxon > 2019-08-15 08:02 | Report Abuse

Nice hopefully today crash.

Posted by patient_invest > 2019-08-15 20:23 | Report Abuse

CIMB has lower dividend than Maybank, why not buy Maybank instead?

mobidick

131 posts

Posted by mobidick > 2019-08-16 10:47 | Report Abuse

In short/medium term, there is nothing going on with cimb, partnership with axiata is still in planning phase, same with takaful which can only see earnings FY20, there is nothing much incentives for cimb, dividend is not as much as other banks also. The philipines thing is also not that good considering the ph ppl is more registering for their partner mobile solution instead of cimb solely.
In september it is likely BNM will cut rate another 25bp, only then we can see which direction cimb going. Price go down for a reason...

Jururawat

270 posts

Posted by Jururawat > 2019-08-16 17:12 | Report Abuse

Cimb invest in different countries, the most focus in Thailand, Indonesia. The Philippines also better than in Malaysia market bcos younger population. For investor, pls dun too depwnd on local market for the very long term.

Posted by patient_invest > 2019-08-17 12:17 | Report Abuse

I am interested to buy CIMB. But my worry is, did CIMB make loans to Najib's company in the past? If yes, are those loans settled?

Posted by patient_invest > 2019-08-20 09:03 | Report Abuse

oregami, do you have more videos on Banks? they are very good
thanks

mancingbursa

4,268 posts

Posted by mancingbursa > 2019-08-20 16:53 | Report Abuse

Yea..... Harder baby, harder

5,850 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-08-20 17:14 | Report Abuse

Spring up

Team 30

46 posts

Posted by Team 30 > 2019-08-20 17:22 | Report Abuse

Looking good here

Posted by Activetrader > 2019-08-20 17:28 | Report Abuse

ahhh i almost cum ...suck it bitch!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-20 18:06 | Report Abuse

My cost 503

Dumb dumb hold pass to my grandson

Posted by armadasaxon > 2019-08-20 21:23 | Report Abuse

-A+A

CIMB Group Holdings Bhd
(Aug 16, RM5.07)
Maintain buy with an unchanged target price (TP) of RM6.80: The first half of financial year 2019 (1HFY19) net profit for CIMB Group Holdings Bhd’s CIMB Niaga grew by 11.8% year-on-year (y-o-y). The main driver was lower provisions and strong net interest income (NII) growth in second quarter of FY19 (2QFY19).

Net income in 1HFY19 grew 5.7% y-o-y contributed by strong NII growth in 2QFY19 where it expanded 10.9% y-o-y. This was the result of net interest margin improving by 50 basis points y-o-y in the quarter to 5.53% as CIMB Niaga was able to reprice its loans higher. Meanwhile, 2QFY19 non-interest income (NOII) also grew strongly at +8.9% y-o-y causing 1HFY19 NOII to expand 6.3% y-o-y.

Growth in arranger and syndication fees (+96.6% y-o-y to 173 billion rupiah [RM50.99 million]) and foreign exchange and fixed income derivatives (+34.9% y-o-y to 526 billion rupiah) were the main attributors.

Overall gross non-performing loan (NPL) ratio came in at 2.87% as at 2QFY19, compared with 3.04% as at 1QFY19 and 3.39% as at 2QFY18. Improvements came from the commercial and consumer segment. However, we noted that there was an uptick in gross NPL ratio (from 1.1% as at 2QFY18 to 1.8% as at 2QFY19) for the corporate segment. We understand that this was due to one particular account. Nevertheless, this had not made a dent to the overall asset quality.

Loan book rose 2.6% y-o-y to 190.54 trillion rupiah. It was supported by strong expansion in consumer loans where it grew 6.7% y-o-y to 51.11 trillion rupiah. Drilling further, mortgages and credit cards see double-digit growth at 13.5% y-o-y to 31.75 trillion rupiah and 10% y-o-y to 8.94 trillion rupiah respectively. Meanwhile, corporate banking saw its loan book rising 2.1% y-o-y to 71.4 trillion rupiah.

Deposits grew 4% y-o-y to 197.85 trillion rupiah. However, it was led by time and structured deposits which grew 9.3% y-o-y to 91.22 trillion rupiah. This resulted in interest expense growth moderating NII growth.

We make no changes to our forecast pending the group’s 2QFY19 result later this month.

The improvement in CIMB Niaga’s 1HFY19 was as we had expected. We believe that we could see further improvement in 2HFY19 with consumer and small and medium-sized enterprise segments the main key area of focus for FY19. Also, its digital propositions have started to make an impact. We opine that the continuing asset quality improvement in Indonesia will continue to boost CIMB Niaga’s income resulting in more sustainable earnings growth.

Overall, we believe that CIMB Niaga will provide a strong supporting role to the group’s earnings this year. We maintain our “buy” recommendation with unchanged TP of RM6.80 based on pegging its FY20 book value per share at price-to-book value multiple of 1.2 times. — MIDF Research, Aug 16

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2019-08-21 07:58 | Report Abuse

bro icon888, why u buy cimb for dumb dumb hold instead of others banks? like maybank or publib bank?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-21 08:15 | Report Abuse

sifu Ricky I saw it came down so I bought loh

It is almost risk free if you think about it

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-08-21 08:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Aug 20, 2019 6:06 PM | Report Abuse

My cost 503

Dumb dumb hold pass to my grandson

>>>>>>

I like this sentiment. I also planning the same thing for QL. Most banks in Malaysia are a good bet due to the high savings culture ( also forced by EPF). Maybank is almost 6.55% (72% payout) due to the bad loans it has buy won't affect structurally. Public Bank is down to 20 from the price I sold at 25. CIMB is a good investment, at 4.8%(42%) payout I'm sure it will keep growing is dividends and earnings in the years to come.

Discount day.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-21 08:20 | Report Abuse

Good morning sifu Philips

I bought Gkent big time at 108

Dumb dumb hold wait for 2020

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-21 08:21 | Report Abuse

I follow KYY "buy stocks next year earning likely higher than this year"

I think it applies to Gkent

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-08-21 08:44 | Report Abuse

I don't really like KYY golden rule concept actually, just because revenue and earnings go up for 2 quarters doesn't make it a golden business. It is better to understand what caused the 2 quarters of price up and what the growth triggers are. Kyy makes too many assumptions ( dayang was a huge example where he makes assumptions of hard profit guarantees from the Petronas provisional contracts)

Gkent was very simple. Just remove all the assumptions.
Gkent/mrcb got money to complete lrt3? Yes.
Gkent work startup, in progress and progress claim started? Yes. ( Slight insider information, but not very important)
Gkent guaranteed contract with government? Yes. 16 billion.
Government got money to pay? Yes.
Gkent profitable company with our without lrt3 contract? Yes ( water meter).
Future r&d expenditure and planning? Yes.
Gkent earnings growth? Yes. Cash positive.
Low debt? Yes.
Good sales team? Yes. ( They sold to both najib and LGE unlike other companies).

Just practise the 15 points scuttlebutt from Philip fisher to get a clear picture of the future.

It is like the casino telling you to put your money on red. And tells you what number to put it on.

>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Aug 21, 2019 8:21 AM | Report Abuse

I follow KYY "buy stocks next year earning likely higher than this year"

I think it applies to Gkent

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2019-08-21 09:05 | Report Abuse

noted :)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-21 09:14 | Report Abuse

sifu Philips The two quarters thingy is KYY new golden rule

His old golden rule is Buy stocks that earning next year higher than this year

He has already abandoned this rule but I faithfully hold on to it

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-21 09:15 | Report Abuse

I think the new golden rule is nonsense

Period

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-08-21 09:23 | Report Abuse

To be honest I don't like this rule also. One of my biggest misses of all time was Amazon. Amazon after dot-com crash kept piling in all profits and returns growing the business.

It's like that old children's game: 1 cookie now, or 2 cookies tomorrow.

This rule will automatically exclude those businesses which decided to not eat cookies for 10 years for the whole business.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Icon8888 > Aug 21, 2019 9:14 AM | Report Abuse

sifu Philips The two quarters thingy is KYY new golden rule

His old golden rule is Buy stocks that earning next year higher than this year

He has already abandoned this rule but I faithfully hold on to it

Jeffreyteck

4,247 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2019-08-21 11:38 | Report Abuse

Est coming Q results will drop yoy. ST before results release 500_520. If results is poorer yoy, 4.80 in anticipation of further interest rate cut as the impact is shown in pbb.

Posted by armadasaxon > 2019-08-21 16:18 | Report Abuse

Y so stupid 1..go back down

JQ

331 posts

Posted by JQ > 2019-08-21 16:54 | Report Abuse

Can cimb perform? What's your opinion?

JQ

331 posts

Posted by JQ > 2019-08-21 17:13 | Report Abuse

Trap at 5.30 :(

Posted by armadasaxon > 2019-08-21 17:37 | Report Abuse

Can perform..thai and indo doing quite well..msia might stagnant..with dividend coming..I expect 530

gongkia

212 posts

Posted by gongkia > 2019-08-21 17:38 | Report Abuse

nobody give a sh&t on kyy rules :)

Chee Kay

Posted by Chee Kay > 2019-08-22 10:36 | Report Abuse

Try compare financials info among other like MayBank, PBBank and AmBank. You will understand more about CIMB's situation...

JQ

331 posts

Posted by JQ > 2019-08-22 11:40 | Report Abuse

How ? What's your view about cimb situation?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-22 15:03 | Report Abuse

Bought more CIMB

First batch 503

Second batch 507

Average now 505

5,850 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-08-22 16:19 | Report Abuse

Waiting list now....

5,850 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-08-22 16:21 | Report Abuse

Worth to hold for 6 months

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-08-22 16:42 | Report Abuse

Will be like ambank go up 30 Sen when results out

Posted by Smallretailer > 2019-08-22 16:47 | Report Abuse

true that. next week is going to be hectic in this counter

5,850 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-08-22 17:07 | Report Abuse

Let's huat together....

Chee Kay

Posted by Chee Kay > 2019-08-22 17:11 | Report Abuse

JQ --> Go to Research > Finacials. Check and compare their Revenue , Profit Margin, EPS ect ...

JQ

331 posts

Posted by JQ > 2019-08-22 17:18 | Report Abuse

I mean how your opinion