UNITED PLANTATIONS BHD

KLSE (MYR): UTDPLT (2089)

+0.14 (0.55%)

25.06 - 25.50

3,090 comment(s). Last comment by KClow 4 days ago

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-05-20 10:16 | Report Abuse

@ Sardin, thank you and appreciate your tireless effort to update us with your research and observation. Good sharing and informative.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-22 12:47 | Report Abuse

UNITED PLANTATIONS
INTERIM PROFIT OR LOSS STATEMENT
RM'000

Revenue/Sales

QUARTERS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
2017 379,233 355,262 370,820 369,008
2018 325,544 309,930 340,858 329,259
2019 322,264 270,532 278,661 301,644
2020 318,909 294,317 334,036 392,796
2021 399,654 481,869 525,500 626,459
2022 642,908 701,258 649,621 521,021
2023 459,987

PROFITS AFTER TAX
QUARTERS Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
2017 79,397 112,935 99,482 102,868
2018 100,913 88,077 95,116 89,994
2019 67,063 76,173 60,551 80,539
2020 81,528 124,060 95,904 100,085
2021 75,710 136,707 154,966 154,860
2022 61,610 185,724 197,084 161,146
2023 112,459

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-22 13:07 | Report Abuse

here are the yearly price ranges of crude palm oil (CPO) over the last 40 years, converted to Malaysian ringgit:

1982: RM985-RM1,602 per metric ton
1983: RM1,216-RM1,856 per metric ton
1984: RM1,160-RM1,770 per metric ton
1985: RM1,272-RM1,904 per metric ton
1986: RM1,260-RM1,728 per metric ton
1987: RM1,152-RM1,608 per metric ton
1988: RM1,176-RM1,744 per metric ton
1989: RM996-RM1,440 per metric ton
1990: RM916-RM1,320 per metric ton
1991: RM1,056-RM1,524 per metric ton
1992: RM825-RM1,212 per metric ton
1993: RM714-RM1,068 per metric ton
1994: RM657-RM972 per metric ton
1995: RM753-RM1,152 per metric ton
1996: RM759-RM1,134 per metric ton
1997: RM816-RM1,260 per metric ton
1998: RM621-RM1,000 per metric ton
1999: RM675-RM1,140 per metric ton
2000: RM642-RM1,011 per metric ton
2001: RM534-RM844 per metric ton
2002: RM599-RM976 per metric ton
2003: RM791-RM1,303 per metric ton
2004: RM970-RM1,675 per metric ton
2005: RM1,307-RM1,990 per metric ton
2006: RM1,423-RM2,447 per metric ton
2007: RM1,890-RM3,225 per metric ton
2008: RM1,359-RM3,721 per metric ton
2009: RM1,705-RM2,863 per metric ton
2010: RM2,129-RM3,238 per metric ton
2011: RM2,352-RM3,352 per metric ton
2012: RM2,534-RM3,430 per metric ton
2013: RM1,680-RM2,654 per metric ton
2014: RM1,872-RM2,616 per metric ton
2015: RM1,872-RM2,616 per metric ton
2016: RM2,370-RM3,555 per metric ton
2017: RM2,520-RM3,380 per metric ton
2018: RM2,023-RM2,844 per metric ton
2019: RM2,060-RM3,316 per metric ton
2020: RM2,009-RM3,423 per metric ton
2021: RM3,763-RM4,949 per metric ton

Overall, 2022 was a good year for Malaysian palm oil producers as the record-high CPO prices (+15% to RM5,087 per tonne) more than offset rising costs of production (higher labour and fertiliser costs).

Research houses have maintained their ‘neutral’ recommendation on the plantation sector for 2023, with crude palm oil (CPO) prices ranging between RM3,500 and RM4,000 for most parts of the year.

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-05-23 08:55 | Report Abuse

Hahaha, told you so, EPF start selling on 17th May.

Sardin

810 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-05-23 19:25 | Report Abuse

Hi 3i, albeit a cyclical stock, there is a new baseline for CPO price. Eventhough fetiliser price is in the down trend but it is almost impossible for plantation worker salary to go down (unless hit by a big recession). Therefore the new baseline of CPO price would not be that low as we have seen in 2010s. At current economy outlook, there are not many better options than RM 15.80 / share UTDPLT. 7% to 8% dividend yield with very solid balance sheet and a management who is generous, kind and diligent... maybe you'd feel it more attractive than your small business if you have one. As I read through the AGM minutes, I feel the sincerity of management in responding to minor shareholders' interest.

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-05-23 19:38 | Report Abuse

Compared to other planters who announced their latest Quarter results, UTDPLT really can be considered a superstar who managed to deliver in spit of harsh operating conditions

Sardin

810 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-05-23 19:41 | Report Abuse

Minor amendment in bracket. Someone mentioned the production cost / MT of CPO in the AGM. I have special feeling towards this question because I did spend a lot of time to do the cost analysis. If you are the one who raised the question and is reading this, I'd like to share with you my understanding on that. Assuming that labour salary, fertiliser, chemical and fuel cost (price) are flat throughout the year, then production cost / MT CPO will be highest in the quarter that produce the least CPO. This is because some of these costs and other costs are fixed cost, and are therefore cannot be divided evenly to CPO produced throughout the year.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-06 16:54 | Report Abuse

anyone know why the quarterly & annual statistic shown in this website is not updated? it's dated back 2014

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-06 17:05 | Report Abuse

Please ask the website admin. Anyway, if you need full data, you may
need to subscribe or check the AR. This Company only provide
Q1, Q2, Q3 and AR to Bursa.

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-06 18:37 | Report Abuse

UTDPLT do not submit Q4 numbers. They straightaway submit Annual Report during Q4 reporting window.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-07 08:19 | Report Abuse

why they do that? UP is the only company that do this funny thing

LossAversion

1,686 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2023-06-07 08:47 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird, very obvious that there is no need to report Q4 if they have reported Annual.

observatory

1,028 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-06-07 09:48 | Report Abuse

UP received approval from Bursa exempting Q4 report submission, as long as they can publish Annual Report within 2 months as demanded for quarterly reports.
Look from another angle, how many companies in Bursa is able to publish Annual Report within 2 months. Among others, audited financial statements have to be ready. Bursa as a listed company itself sometimes made it within 2 months. At other times it exceeded by a few days. UP is always within 2 months.
From UP perspective, not submitting unnecessary QR means reducing administrative burden, which improves efficiency and is in line with their way of doing business.
From shareholders stand point, it's cumbersome to work out the numbers ourselves. I don't like it either. But all necessary info is already in the annual reports.
I suspect UP wants to only attract long term shareholders and discourage short term investors who are more concerned about numbers from quarter to quarter.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-08 08:22 | Report Abuse

obs, good point. feels like they deliberate try to hide their earnings. because no company has done it like this.
and the funny thing is i3 website, with insufficient data, also failed to publish accurate yearly earnings for them

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-06-08 09:21 | Report Abuse

lai lai waiting below 14.5 ...

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-08 10:01 | Report Abuse

@unicornbird i3 provides free service, we cannot expect too much from them

TECHNICALLY there is no Q4 quarterly submissions from UTDPLT, of cos i3 data will be incomplete

U gotta do an Excel yourself if you really want/need to see quarter-by-quarter comparison for UTDPLT

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-08 11:00 | Report Abuse

dam82, please don't queue so high.

Nepo

3,309 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-06-08 11:55 | Report Abuse

bad qr hide better
good qr publish on time can lauwa lauwa, why not..?
for investor point of view, definately timely report can do better decision
for the responsible tauke of the co, i don't think they like lazy staff to produce the management report delay by two months later..

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-06-08 13:41 | Report Abuse

@ooihk899 how low do you think it will go this year till their final divident annoucment .... off course i will not chase high ...

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-08 14:14 | Report Abuse

dam82, I think 17 is the limit provided the coming 3 QRs are better or
same as Q1. If QR2 NP is around 5% lower than Q1, will drop below 15,
if more than 10%, most probably will drop below 14 or 13.
Hopefully that's the good time to buy.😉

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-06-08 18:36 | Report Abuse

lets cross finger ya ... for me personally the reason for my intrest is tanah rata contribution in near future and when thats happen don't think get this price .... again agree to disagree but i will save my cash for utdplt ,,meanwhile i will continue to support my Carlsberg by having some cold beer in this hot weather :)

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-08 19:16 | Report Abuse

I think impact of Tanahrata on NP will be significant only after 2026.
Of course, it will contribute starting 2024 but I don't think there will
be much impact on the NP. I just reinvest using the dividend recieved
when it drop to my target price.

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-08 20:06 | Report Abuse

Furthermore, Tanarata planted area is only 3381ha. It's only 7.3% of
total planted area. Of course there will be impact on NP but I don't
think it will be very huge.

Sardin

810 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-06-09 18:02 | Report Abuse

Next Q earning 31.9 sen excluding hedging loss/gain. If include hedging loss/gain will be better than 31.9 sen. Continue to see unusual large profit from refinery sector.

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-09 18:04 | Report Abuse

At least production almost recovered already.😅

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-12 11:39 | Report Abuse

Haiz, look like no chance to collect below 15, CPO production recovered.😥

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-16 16:55 | Report Abuse

dam82, get ready, almost time to get some action.

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-06-16 20:23 | Report Abuse

yes yes below 14.5 is attractive but that said i won't not rush till all the the state election finish ... being chicken out at the moment ...hahaha

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-06-17 12:19 | Report Abuse

Hahaha, good decision. For me, I'll wait for 2nd QR on 31st July,
then only decide. Of course, If price drop below 13 before QR out,
I may add a bit.

Posted by unicornbird > 2023-06-19 17:47 | Report Abuse

what's the break even price of CPO, for UP?
the min price required for UP to profit

Sardin

810 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-06-22 23:02 | Report Abuse

Hi Unicornbird, you can use CPO export duty table as a hint.

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-07-10 17:17 | Report Abuse

Hmm,,,,, this coming QR might not be that good, production drop le.

moven00

705 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-07-13 21:44 | Report Abuse

It’s like EPF know something. Hari Hari dispose UTDPLT

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-07-13 21:58 | Report Abuse

EPF actions with this counter is never a good indicator of future prospects

KClow

1,201 posts

Posted by KClow > 2023-07-15 10:31 | Report Abuse

Epf sell not a good sign.but when epf sells alot and it goes up thats an even better sign.
All in utdplnt.
Great power.

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-07-15 17:07 | Report Abuse

EPF always re-balance their portfolia also when they sell utdplt no one will complain unlike they GLC .... future prospect still intact for utdplt so long the management is doing the right things ...but bit sad it did not go down lor .....damn ...its too strong

KClow

1,201 posts

Posted by KClow > 2023-07-17 07:44 | Report Abuse

@pinky
When i read anyone writing on epfs actions.
I realise that person has no clue on the stock market.
So study more and learn more on the stock market ok.
Just some friendly free advise...

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-07-20 10:14 | Report Abuse

damn .... stong

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-07-20 10:39 | Report Abuse

If u have been investing long enough u will know that EPF movements mean little to us retail investors.

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-07-24 17:40 | Report Abuse

From page 11 of the QR:

Concerted efforts to alleviate these challenges are a vital part of our daily operations as we continue to identify areas that can improve our cost efficiencies without compromising on quality. Whilst labour shortages and field operations have improved significantly with the reopening of borders and a new inflow of guest workers, special attention is being focused on the importance of up-skilling new guest workers in order to achieve higher productivities and yields. This will be pursued relentlessly through continued mechanization efforts and replanting of the older and less productive oil palm stands in order to take full advantage of our latest superior planting materials produced at our research department as a vital part of sustaining our positive development.

Based on the current palm oil prices and the Company’s focus on securing the budgeted crop in the second half of 2023, the Board of Directors expects that the results for the year will be satisfactory.

Pinky

3,227 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-07-24 17:40 | Report Abuse

<<our latest superior planting materials produced at our research department as a vital part of sustaining our positive development>>

UTDPLT stands for QUALITY!

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-07-24 18:21 | Report Abuse

Good QR, at least RM1.1 dividend FY 2023😄😁😋

observatory

1,028 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-07-24 18:24 | Report Abuse

I like companies that publish their QR early (except Top Glove)

dam82

2,166 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-07-24 19:10 | Report Abuse

2023 shuold be better than F21 so would expect more than 1.1 .... will patiently wait

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-07-25 09:45 | Report Abuse

Hmmm, you're right dam82, dividend maybe RM1.2 or more.

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-07-25 16:45 | Report Abuse

From Apex,
艾毕斯证券行维持联合种植“买进”评级,目标价也维持17.40令吉。

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-08-08 15:02 | Report Abuse

Plantation giants Sime Plt and KLK set to report earnings next week

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-08-09 20:10 | Report Abuse

Crude palm oil prices face an upside risk due to the continuing Russia-Ukraine war, Affin Hwang IB analysts Nadia Aquidah, Steven Chan and Andrew Lim say in a note. Uncertainties due to the war can disrupt global grain supply, pushing vegetable oils prices higher, they say. Global warming can also disrupt crop production yields and make prices volatile, they add. The analysts maintain CPO price estimates for 2023 at MYR3,800/ton-MYR4,000/ton and for 2024 at MYR4,200/ton-MYR4,400/ton. They reckon that the plantation sector's earnings will grow by around 4%-5% with every MYR100/ton increase in CPO prices. They maintain a neutral rating on the sector and select Kuala Lumpur Kepong and Jaya Tiasa Holdings as their top picks

ooihk899

2,027 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-08-10 09:23 | Report Abuse

July CPO production increase YoY. Hopefully, production will pickup in 2H.