MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

benhctan

305 posts

Posted by benhctan > 2013-06-15 14:22 | Report Abuse

Invest in the following international airlines:

China Southern airlines (1055:Hong Kong Stock Exchange)=HK$3.28(RM1.31)
Air China Ltd(601111:Shanghai Stock Exchange)A-shares=CNY4.88(RM2.48)
ANA Holdings Inc(9202:Tokyo Stock Exchange)=¥195.00 JPY(RM6.25)
China Eastern Airlines Corp Ltd(600115:Shanghai)A-shares=CNY2.93(RM1.49)
Qantas Airways Ltd(QAN:ASX)=AUD$1.37(RM4.09)
Garuda Indonesia GIAA (Indonesia: Jakarta)=IDR500(RM0.16)
Philippines Airlines(PAL:PM)=Pesos5.25(RM0.38)
Thai airways international(THAI:Thailand Stock Exchange)=Baht28.50(RM2.90)

To all MAS investors,current market price 0.30 or (Rm3.00/RM 1 par)is it better than all the above???
MAS is famous for every 3 years calling for rights issue to swindle investors!!Malaysia can't beat all the above in tourists dollars.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-15 15:38 | Report Abuse

Thank you. Someone finally someone using facts and figures to talk some sense. Thank you, SIR.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-15 15:54 | Report Abuse

I am reposting this here for the benefit of novice "potential long-term investors" as a warning, and because I believe this is important information. This not DOES NOT apply to professional traders or short-term "hit and run" players.

Currently MAS MCap 5.54 Billion, therefore if...

MAS goes to 40 cents, that means MCap = RM6.68 Billion

MAS goes to 50 cents, that means MCap = RM8.36 Billion

So tell answer me, who has got all these BILLIONS to give all you retails investors?

And WHY would anyone pay a premium for the PRIVILEGE of competing with Malindo, AA and a sh*t-load of debt that never can or will be repaid?

>>>>>>>>To those considering themselves "long-term investors"<<<<<<<<

So what do you have to say to all those "Long-Term" MAS investor who have lost -75% of investment in the last 5 YEARS ALONE???

Why do you think Khazanah is still propping up MAS even though they know they'll never win.

ANS: It is too Politically Embarrassing to see a large GLC (why GLC, because Khazanah is GLC) company fail. Too many people lose jobs etc. Therefore must keep pumping money in.

And I'm not making this up.....this is a FACT

1 week 1 month 6 months 1 year 5 years
Malaysian Airline System Bhd -4.62% -21.52% -11.58% -42.72% -76.19%
BURSA MALAYSIA KLCI IDX -0.98% -1.99% +6.03% +11.17% +42.54%

To those saying I live in the past, I have only got to say that in the PAST, there was NO AA or Malindo. In that PAST, MAS shares not so DILUTED, by rights issues.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-15 15:57 | Report Abuse

For those to lazy to go to Wikipedia to read

First period of unprofitability[edit]
Prior to the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997, the airline suffered losses of as much as RM 260 million after earning a record-breaking RM319 million profit in the financial year 1996/1997. The airline then introduced measures to bring its P&L back into the black. For the financial year 1999/2000, the airline cut its losses from RM700 million in the year 1998/1999 to RM259 million. However, the airline plunged into further losses in the following year, amounting to RM417 million in FY2000/2001 and RM836 million in FY2001/2002. With these losses, the airline cut many unprofitable routes, such as Brussels, Darwin, Honolulu, Madrid, Munich and Vancouver.

The airline recovered from its losses in the year 2002/2003. It achieved its then-highest profit in the year 2003/2004, totaling RM461 million.

Second period of unprofitability[edit]
Regional services flown by Fokker F50s, such as this one, were once operated at a substantial loss.

In the year 2005, Malaysia Airlines reported a loss of RM1.3 billion. Revenue for the financial period was up by 10.3% or RM826.9 million, compared to the same period for 2004, driven by a 10.2% growth in passenger traffic. International passenger revenue increased by RM457.6 million or 8.4%, to RM5.9 billion, while cargo revenue decreased by RM64.1 million or 4.2%, to RM1.5 billion. Costs increased by 28.8% or RM2.3 billion, amounting to a total of RM 10.3 billion, primarily due to escalating fuel prices. Other cost increases included staff costs, handling and landing fees, aircraft maintenance and overhaul charges, Widespread Assets Unbundling (WAU) charges and leases.[14]

The Government of Malaysia appointed Idris Jala as the new CEO on 1 December 2005, to execute changes in operations and corporate culture. Several weaknesses in airline operations were identified as the causes of the RM1.3 billion loss. These included esclating fuel prices, increased maintenance and repair costs, staff costs, low yield per available seat kilometre ("ASK") via poor yield management and an inefficient route network. Under the leadership of Idris Jala, Malaysia Airlines launched its Business Turnaround Plan in 2006, developed using the Government-linked company (GLC) Transformation Manual as a guide.

The most substantial factor in the losses was fuel costs. For the period, the total fuel cost was RM3.5 billion, representing a 40.4% increase compared to the same period in 2004. Total fuel cost increases comprised RM977.8 million due to higher fuel prices and another RM157.6[14] million due to additional consumption. In the third quarter, fuel costs were RM1.26 billion, compared to the RM1.01 billion in the corresponding period in 2004, resulting in a 24.6% increase or RM249.3 million.[14]

Another factor for the losses was poor revenue management. MAS substantially lagged its peers on yield. Some of this gap was due to differences in traffic mix,[15] with less business traffic to and from Malaysia than to and from Singapore, but much of it was due to weaknesses in pricing and revenue management, sales and distribution, brand presence in foreign markets, and alliance base. Malaysia Airlines has one of the lowest labour costs per ASK at USD0.41, compared to other airlines such as Cathay Pacific and Singapore Airlines at USD0.59 and USD0.60[15] respectively. However, despite low labour costs, the ratio of ASK revenue to this cost was, at 2.8, much lower than Singapore Airlines, where the ratio is 5.0, and slightly higher than Thai International Airways[15]

There are other factors listed in the Business Turnaround Plan of Malaysia Airlines, all leading to the net loss of RM1.3 billion in the year 2005.

Third unprofitability[edit]
In 2011, Malaysia Airlines recorded a stunning net loss of RM2.52 billion due to rising fuel costs and mismanagement which was the largest in its company history. The company ceased operations to Surabaya, Karachi, Dubai, Dammam and Johannesburg in January, and ceased flights to Cape Town, Buenos Aires as well as Rome in February.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysia_Airlines

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-15 16:00 | Report Abuse

If you want to invest "long term", its YOUR money of course, but don't be surprised if someone here, like me calls you a sohai.

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-15 18:54 | Report Abuse

Hehehehe..MAS will fly..yahooooo ohai

sudahkena

1,804 posts

Posted by sudahkena > 2013-06-15 19:23 | Report Abuse

better apply ipo aax........

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-15 20:02 | Report Abuse

Yabadabedu

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-15 22:09 | Report Abuse

Tq for advise father of sohai

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-15 22:20 | Report Abuse

Not forget to gather of blind idiot too... Kahkahkah

choolooi

310 posts

Posted by choolooi > 2013-06-15 22:36 | Report Abuse

Arv18, you have presented a very water tight case of MAS .... Which is a bottomless pit.
Sometimes it is best to rest the case after it has been presented.

Arv18, I must say you really do your homework.

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-06-15 23:48 | Report Abuse

Some one are just trying to depress the stock price of Mas, it has made the analyst to keep changing their target price of mas seeing the stock price come down, It is of no help when some one try to paint a very bad image of MAS by showing the facts and scolding investors who want to invest in MAS, what is their intention? Are they really so good hearted ? or are they try to take revenge against MAS for their loss investment in MAS. It is a fact MAS has caused so many people to lose money, every one is talking bad about MAS, no good comment at all, but one simple theory is when everyone lost confidence in MAS,the stock price will be cheap, the syndicate will take opportunity to push it down further to make you believe of their research, their comments and their actions, SO when people are scare to buy and aggresive selling down, is n't is a good opportunity to BUY? Pls think about this simple logic in trading share. Pls be clear, relax and cool to snap up the stock. I strongly believe the big boy has shorted big amount of MAS shares and is prolonging the the buying process, taking advantage of the big chunk of new right share waiting to sell to the market. If you workout the MASshare at 30 sen now to its CUM status it is just only 58 sen. The lowest CUM price of MAS was 66.5 sen. Remember this the lowest of CUm price, it went as high at 85 sen. Imagine for those who are insider, they short sold at say average 75 sen, do you think they want to buy back now at 30 sen now? which you work it back to cum status it is only 58 sen. This simple calculation has made them very lucrative to cover their short position. who don't they buy now? Pls think along this line and ask your self, so that you are clear of yr standing, what you should do now with yr stock position. Don't be confuse with the big selling order. I strongly believe they are buying at current level.

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-16 11:12 | Report Abuse

Point taken.. Tq Mr

faralenz

139 posts

Posted by faralenz > 2013-06-16 11:50 | Report Abuse

qqq: what u said above is just the opposite in reality.

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-16 11:59 | Report Abuse

Point taken also..Everbody has their right to
Give their opinion...pls ...use ur brain before make
Any investment..pls don't be like father of sohai

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-06-16 18:05 | Report Abuse

MAS= massive acute syndrom ...losing money every year every quarter...if they make profit of 25m then they will make losses of 1.2b ...repeatedly...stupid management... to many staffs ...cut them off to make profit..really not productive

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-06-16 18:06 | Report Abuse

and i believe...khazanah just want to 'goreng' someday... not really into the value

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-16 18:58 | Report Abuse

Invest at ur own risk..point taken tq..corporate world
Always like that

Posted by Noraini Ismail > 2013-06-16 18:59 | Report Abuse

At 0.30 MAS stochastic & Wr% is extremely oversold dah masuk longkang.
RSI 30.69 almost touching oversold. Probably will touch RSI 30 first & after flushing out all contra players than there might be some reversal sign. Those who do not have patient with this counter already long gone. Now left players who have holding power & believe in this stock to be undervalue will continue trading.

To go below 30 sen is not so easy just look at que to buy at price 30 sen is also tough.
I waited whole day but got 30 sen only during matching time. I think what qqq668 said make sense.

sheep

3,844 posts

Posted by sheep > 2013-06-16 21:49 | Report Abuse

I think with so much bad publicity, mas can go below 0.30.

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-16 22:44 | Report Abuse

Bad publicity only in this forum.. There are
About 1 billion volume.. Here , the bad publicity
Comes from 10 people

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-06-17 01:05 | Report Abuse

Since Namibia believe in MAS we should just hold some since he is the prime minister

scott

418 posts

Posted by scott > 2013-06-17 01:05 | Report Abuse

Najib *

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 07:28 | Report Abuse

there will be times when we cannot buy MAS at 30 sens

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2013-06-17 08:35 | Report Abuse

30 sens is the support level. If it breaks, it should go down to 24 sens.

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-17 08:56 | Report Abuse

If can go .24 .. Will wait go down to .10

Syed

491 posts

Posted by Syed > 2013-06-17 08:57 | Report Abuse

And will further wait till 0.005

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-06-17 09:03 | Report Abuse

how much khazanah will loss if mas drop below 0.30?? i don't think so... rm0.30 is better price u can get before rebound at 0.32. 0.35, 0.38 and 0.40 and above..

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-06-17 09:20 | Report Abuse

buy...buy...buy...call buying now..

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:36 | Report Abuse

Those who bought 0.315 kena sangkut alrdy.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:39 | Report Abuse

The big dumping started

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:41 | Report Abuse

Support at 0.305 collapsed in 17 second. Amazing

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-06-17 09:41 | Report Abuse

no problem...can support..

zack_liza

1,560 posts

Posted by zack_liza > 2013-06-17 09:41 | Report Abuse

buying mode still there..

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

persistent selling at 0.305, I wonder who

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:44 | Report Abuse

Buy 1 share at 09:46:35. Wayang kulit kau2 :)

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 09:48 | Report Abuse

0.305 selling queue seem to be all gone - so fast. LOL.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:51 | Report Abuse

45 sell trans out of total trans 271 but equivalent to 35% selling vol. Big fish vomitting

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:52 | Report Abuse

No eyes see. Chao.

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 09:53 | Report Abuse

bro Muarmali - do you think the big fish is losing or profit taking?

Posted by metastock55 > 2013-06-17 09:54 | Report Abuse

MMCcorp will up later , Hold this chance and win money

Posted by metastock55 > 2013-06-17 09:55 | Report Abuse

It is a Good Trend for MMCCORP, Buy in now

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 09:57 | Report Abuse

Left pocket to right pocket? Big fish make some splashing to attract small fries. Maybe EPF dispose off to Khazanah?

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 10:03 | Report Abuse

Almost totally quiet now. Standard 10am tea time. :)

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 10:10 | Report Abuse

MMCCorp is very choppy this morning. Up 3 bids down 2 bids.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 10:12 | Report Abuse

Put a big block at 0.31. If you got an itchy hand, they are willing to let go at 0.31. Chao.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 10:17 | Report Abuse

Main Morse Code pulak 2258, 2259...

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 10:24 | Report Abuse

if small fries nibble at 30 cents how would the big fish wallop them? would they manipulate the price to 27 cents or what if the small fries refuse to sell?...hmmmm wondering

imho, big fish are selling as they don't believe in MAS; they are probably losing or cut loss; I mean how could they make money when they had bought at earlier prices versus current all time lows.......?

People who are buying, like some of us here, naybe fund managers, Syed and myself are just the ordinary retailers, taking advantage at the current low against all the odds, especially company's performances. If the pruchase is going against us, such money is relatively small sum. If otherwise, it would be worth the effort. It's a calculated risk.

However looking at the chart alone or if the you are a chartist, ignoring all fundamentals and bad press about MAS, the updside from current price seems more promising. In KLSE it is not uncommon to see penny stocks multiple in value.....I think I am rambling here..over to you

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-06-17 10:31 | Report Abuse

Throw away the chart. I only practise short term marriage with this kind of stock. Sometimes not even 10 minutes....just want to have a quicky.

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-06-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

I understand bro...you sound like a trader.

I am an investor...I don't go for short term gain.