HENGYUAN REFINING COMPANY BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): HENGYUAN (4324)

-0.01 (0.42%)

2.38 - 2.42

33 people like this.

123,784 comment(s). Last comment by yongyong88 9 hours ago

subwayzzz

1,062 posts

Posted by subwayzzz > 2022-05-31 11:02 | Report Abuse

ok

rr88

6,531 posts

Posted by rr88 > 2022-05-31 11:02 | Report Abuse

OTB predicted profit 300++mil.
Actual profit 40++mil.

I suggest you take half the difference and shove up his ass.

And take another half to grind off his thick face.

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 11:03 | Report Abuse

If I read it correctly, they do have around 770 million cash so I don't think they have any issues in 10% SBB around 185m according to the 10% of capital. Just a matter of whether they think is worth of not. Some more they are under shandong hengyuan China, so the amount is nothing for them

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2022-05-31 11:04 | Report Abuse

rr88,jangan padan muka later

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2022-05-31 11:05 | Report Abuse

hrc will rocket above rm10 by next QR

citadel888

532 posts

Posted by citadel888 > 2022-05-31 11:07 | Report Abuse

when someone promote u better sell to him ,rule 101 in i3

rr88

6,531 posts

Posted by rr88 > 2022-05-31 11:09 | Report Abuse

"Sell in May n go away"
Today is yr last chance to sell.
Get the hell out of there!

11,243 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-05-31 11:09 |

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2022-05-31 11:12 | Report Abuse

Everyone knows who rr88 joker is.No need karma this n that.

Ravi Kumar

3,602 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2022-05-31 11:16 | Report Abuse

If it doesn't according your FLAWED crystal ball, can we kick you all the way back to that hole your crawled from?

rr88

Red, red, red, sea of red. Its going to be worse the next 2 days.

HY will drop 70 cents tommorow. Dont need a rocket scientist to figure this out. Sell/cut loss/stay away!!

16 minutes ago

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 11:16 | Report Abuse

No need to argue, it's kind of pointless. Doesn't really help in share price either way round. Creative accounting indeed was interesting, like aax reported 33.6 billion net profit. It look like good earning but in fact it's a creative accounting to write off of liabilities. It doesn't mean it is good, so have to look in details of report

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 11:18 | Report Abuse

Net profit can be under or increase adjusted with creative accounting but not the revenue

subwayzzz

1,062 posts

Posted by subwayzzz > 2022-05-31 11:22 | Report Abuse

tony fernandes himself once said he can make the financial statements as good as he wished

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-31 11:23 | Report Abuse

grabbed some RM 6 at the opening... earning some peanuts now, let see can become gold latter

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2022-05-31 11:24 | Report Abuse

Have a look at ORL.Ta share price ( Israeli refinery ) who posted a loss for 1st qtr due to derivatives . Share price is higher after merely a few days after the results

888STOCK888

1,344 posts

Posted by 888STOCK888 > 2022-05-31 11:24 | Report Abuse

Busy trading....
bought more C24 & C25......
Brent oil price $122 liao....

winning the talk no help, need to win money....
I believe the Singapore sifu which pretty align with Master OTB's prediction.
FMs especially who use SGD very bullish on HengYuan

888STOCK888

1,344 posts

Posted by 888STOCK888 > 2022-05-31 11:25 | Report Abuse

The key is Oil Price is sibeh bullish right now...

subwayzzz

1,062 posts

Posted by subwayzzz > 2022-05-31 11:29 | Report Abuse

oil price sibeh bullish
spread also bullish

win win

11,243 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-05-31 11:30 | Report Abuse

Dear Investing_Bursa,
I know you have very good knowledge on this refinery business.
Do you think that Hengyuan will continue to suffer big derivative losses in Q2 2022 result ?
How much do you think the derivative losses will be in Q2 2022 ?
Do you think the management of Hengyuan can take some preventive measure to reduce the derivative losses ?
Please advise.

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2022-05-31 11:32 | Report Abuse

only foolish ppl ignorant of world refinery developments will call a sell now

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2022-05-31 11:34 | Report Abuse

otb, disregard the naysayers...you know your quality and we appreciate your hard work.........the world is in shortage of refined oil and with china opening back, consumption will hit the roof.......yeah, heng yuan incompetence with its hedging is appalling......provide for a huge discount or switch to petronm, who seemed less controversial

klee

3,174 posts

Posted by klee > 2022-05-31 11:35 | Report Abuse

Many ppl know that rr88 missed greatec frm rm1 to rm9,as he had missed supermx,rr88 only play for chicken feed

Primeinvestor

1,454 posts

Posted by Primeinvestor > 2022-05-31 11:38 | Report Abuse

thank you guys, as i mentioned, 5.98 you guys have given me all the cheap tickets, haha, next quarter RM1B profit here we come, mark my word

Primeinvestor

1,454 posts

Posted by Primeinvestor > 2022-05-31 11:39 | Report Abuse

you may have derivative loss now, but next quarter guess what inventory gain and derivative gain, hence RM1B, prepare for rocket

Posted by feliciachow1212 > 2022-05-31 11:46 | Report Abuse

Time to sell and forget about it

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2022-05-31 11:46 | Report Abuse

@otb

I think the worst is over for now. I suspect there will still be derivatives losses but to much smaller proportion. As I said , high crude oil prices does not translate to better profit for HY, in fact it can have negative impact. If you look at the past years, HY Makes more money not when crude is spiking so sharply but when crude is lower and stable. I prefer crude not to spike further but remain stable or even go lower . The key is of course the crack margin for their refined products .

As long as crack margin remains at this elevated value , I see Q2 PAT shd be at least 400-500mil ( after offseting derivatives due to hedging assuming crude does not spike too sharply )

There are basically 3 issues keeping crack margin so high:-
a) shortage of refining capacity in the world
b) demand for refined products and once China slowly opens up there economy, this shd increase demand further .
C) we are entering hurricane season and if a few refineries are hit in US, crack margin might have another spike .

Tq

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 11:48 | Report Abuse

Correctloh...!

Petron annualzed EPS Rm 1.56 mah!

Hengyuan annualized EPS Rm 0.64 loh!

Surely Petron should rate higher mah!

Posted by investor2021trading > 3 minutes ago | Report Abuse

aiseh, no reasons why Petron is pressed down as Hengyuan!

Hengyuan is currently trading at a trailing 12-month price-to-earnings ratio of 26 times versus Petron’s 8.1 times

Q1 March '22 - Hengyuan eps is 15.82 c whereas Q1 March '22 - Petron eps is 39.40 c

Rehan

45 posts

Posted by Rehan > 2022-05-31 11:49 | Report Abuse

What is surprising is how come they had inventory loss this Qrtr when their raw material as well as product prices went up. Any explanation?

How does one know what will be the derivative gain / loss next qtr. Do we know the current derivative exposure and at what future price. ? They seem to have their hand full in derivatives. Derivatives over long term only ends up paying fees and other expenses. gains / loss should cancel each other over long period.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 11:52 | Report Abuse

Just switch to Petron...safer & better corp governance mah!

888STOCK888

1,344 posts

Posted by 888STOCK888 > 2022-05-31 11:53 | Report Abuse

As my sifu said, while high oil price does not directly translate into better profit for HY, but it creates sibeh good impression and attention to the investors and syndicate thus the share price could push from 3.90 to 7.xx, with the oil price is climbing further it will create more traction to those investors who have no other stocks to buy at the moment.

Looking forward HY to close green today. =D

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 11:55 | Report Abuse

No need to take unnecessary risk loh!

Petron is your answer mah!

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 11:56 | Report Abuse

Refining capacity is not enough definitely due to long underinvestment during covid time and it's not something that can be corrected in short time. Together with opening economy and travel one by one. Demand is much higher than the supply, that's why some oversea refinery report poor qr in Q1 yet their share price is increase. It is just because the prospect is good

VTrade

2,434 posts

Posted by VTrade > 2022-05-31 11:56 | Report Abuse

Top jatuh share
Famous

Posted by blackgold77 > 2022-05-31 11:59 | Report Abuse

alamak 17 cents seafool is back?

this time is hammer, triangle or candle stick?

14,463 posts

Posted by probability > 2022-05-31 11:59 | Report Abuse

may be HY HAD written down the crude contract paid for crude sourced from Russia as Shell had pledged not to buy even refined oil made from crude blended with russian oil

malaysian shell retail likely aligned them self with parent company

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/03/08/shell-apologizes-for-buying-russian-oil-announces-phased-withdrawal.html

Posted by Rehan > May 31, 2022 11:49 AM | Report Abuse

What is surprising is how come they had inventory loss this Qrtr when their raw material as well as product prices went up. Any explanation?

How does one know what will be the derivative gain / loss next qtr. Do we know the current derivative exposure and at what future price. ? They seem to have their hand full in derivatives. Derivatives over long term only ends up paying fees and other expenses. gains / loss should cancel each other over long period.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 12:04 | Report Abuse

Likely they will sell to hengyuan china parent at a loss....bcos shell not willing to accept petroleum products make from russian crude mah!

Thus write down for re export loh!

Posted by probability > 1 minute ago | Report Abuse

may be HY HAD written down the crude contract paid for crude sourced from Russia as Shell had pledged not to buy even refined oil made from crude blended with russian oil

malaysian shell retail likely aligned them self with parent company

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/03/08/shell-apologizes-for-buying-russian-oi...

Ravi Kumar

3,602 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2022-05-31 12:07 | Report Abuse

Looks like people buy than selling

14,463 posts

Posted by probability > 2022-05-31 12:08 | Report Abuse

as far as i know HY had always made good profit when oil price had rise between reporting period right from Shell ownership of the refinery

thats why they have this CCS and FIFO margin calculation on their annual report summary table on performance

On @Investing_Bursa comments, this is something new to me - could be true due new hedging mechanism they had taken (swap, option, futures etc)

i still think HY will gain when oil price rise

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-05-31 12:10 | Report Abuse

Probability stop bluffing regarding HengYuan profits! Bad QR speaks all!

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-05-31 12:11 | Report Abuse

Short9e!

888STOCK888

1,344 posts

Posted by 888STOCK888 > 2022-05-31 12:12 | Report Abuse

When apple show up you know it's the right time to buy lo!!!! =D

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 12:13 | Report Abuse

Already proven Hengyuan is taken position in derivative & lose monies mah!

Thus this scenario will not happen mah!
No need to take unnecessary risk loh!

Petron is your answer mah!

Petron annualzed EPS Rm 1.56 mah!

Hengyuan annualized EPS Rm 0.64 loh!

Surely Petron should rate higher mah!

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2022-05-31 12:19 | Report Abuse

@ probability
What I was trying to explain is a sudden rise or spike in crude is very damaging to HY as it is very difficult to manage the hedging / future contracts and most time than not, u will have losses. A steady movement or flattish movement is easier to manage your hedges / future contracts

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 12:24 | Report Abuse

Apple show up. Last time he call buy axiata and airport, look what happen.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 12:29 | Report Abuse

It will not be a loss bcos they have writedown that inventory loh!

Posted by qqq3333 > 48 seconds ago | Report Abuse

Likely they will sell to hengyuan china parent at a loss..
=========

5,587 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-05-31 12:33 | Report Abuse

Written down inventories to me mean written down the value of obsolete inventories or like Serbadk case inventories missing in action.

Posted by ngjack1991 > 2022-05-31 12:42 | Report Abuse

Russia oil is cheap but the sanction itself is troublesome. It might be really due to Russian oil that Malaysia rejected for dock that give rise to around 130m of inventories written down. Otherwise seem like hard to explain how this figure arise, I doubt they will disclose even if that is the case. It shouldn't happen in second Q onward. Too bad, if they can buy Russian oil and sell as refined product then the margin will be even more better. Same goes for most of countries where they not dare to oppose sanction and buy Russian crude & refined product. In turn there will be a big gap of refinery capacity and supply

nicholas99

9,847 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-05-31 12:45 | Report Abuse

Yes. Turtle dare not say no to Biden. Lately Biden keep fly come. So..

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 12:47 | Report Abuse

Likely writedown in value loh!

Not totally write off & disappear mah!

Posted by Sslee > 12 minutes ago | Report Abuse

Written down inventories to me mean written down the value of obsolete inventories or like Serbadk case inventories missing in action.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-31 12:49 | Report Abuse

Likely Hengyuan would have fully paid for the crude loh!

Commodities u pay cash 1st mah!

Posted by probability > 1 minute ago | Report Abuse

@Investing-bursa, i agree.
@sslee, the orders HY already placed to russian oil supplier, probably with some advance payment would have been treated as inventory as they had a portion of its value