JAYA TIASA HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): JTIASA (4383)

-0.01 (0.82%)

1.21 - 1.23

16 people like this.

12,712 comment(s). Last comment by WilburR2 2 hours ago

Posted by Wong Yi Shen > 2012-04-21 11:22 | Report Abuse

I guess those who are looking into this stock are investors....traders chat more :)

Posted by optimuslyk > 2012-04-24 21:34 | Report Abuse

Buy?

messiBarca

598 posts

Posted by messiBarca > 2012-05-11 16:29 | Report Abuse

how come drop heavily?

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-08-02 00:53 | Report Abuse

2 FOR 1

sharp

4 posts

Posted by sharp > 2012-08-28 22:57 | Report Abuse

shud start collecting again... sell at 2.70

patgim

10 posts

Posted by patgim > 2012-09-25 14:14 | Report Abuse

Bought after the fall but fell again.

Kevin Tan

39 posts

Posted by Kevin Tan > 2012-11-21 13:23 | Report Abuse

what to expect from next earnings report on 28/11. with share buyback activities. price at record low rm2.15.

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-11-21 13:26 | Report Abuse

Mmm.downtrend mode.Will fall further.Cut loss.Smile--)

Posted by bryantcj > 2013-01-04 18:02 | Report Abuse

I am holding too much on this. When it going up?

Posted by teddy070703 > 2013-01-08 14:35 | Report Abuse

I switched to KFima... lower PE, higher yield and potential M&A with price below NTA.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-04-10 22:29 | Report Abuse

Hurmm..

Posted by jasonwongjee > 2013-07-07 10:47 | Report Abuse

Going sideways after the big drop. What is the best price to accumulate?

hw0706

744 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-07-07 14:44 | Report Abuse

We maintain our Trading Buy call on
Jaya Tiasa. The stock is not an
Outperform as we expect it to be
re-rated only in the short term, driven
mainly by stronger timber earnings in
the next few quarters. Also
unchanged are our earnings forecasts
and our target price of RM2.36, which
is based on sum-of-parts. Key
re-rating catalysts include a potential
positive earnings surprise relative to
consensus.

whkwoon

293 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-07-07 15:41 | Report Abuse

Earning last quarter .01 sen NTA 1.76 ? how to go up?

Posted by scn12345678 > 2013-07-11 07:20 | Report Abuse

Wait this counter drop below 1.80,hopefully

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-07-11 07:38 | Report Abuse

please try to pray too as chance will be better than just hope :)

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-25 22:28 | Report Abuse

Visit Dali;s blog on an article on this stock.

shawn1991

20 posts

Posted by shawn1991 > 2013-07-26 16:57 | Report Abuse

so what do you think inwest88?

Posted by jennylee1382 > 2013-07-29 08:38 | Report Abuse

What is the best price to accumulate?

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2013-07-30 12:33 | Report Abuse

maybe can try Subur lower price to accumulate..

charles

70 posts

Posted by charles > 2013-08-13 20:33 | Report Abuse

bought kao kao already

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-16 19:02 | Report Abuse

While Grandma like the idea of surprises, and they have found a better income fr plantation rather than forestry and taken the bold step 10 years ago, but the liquidity in transaction. Grandma check also reveal before April 16 2012 the volume was even more atrocious. Grandma knows that in Malaysia more so, a company with good bookbuilding, political connection, and speculative excitement do better than a company with purely good fundamentals.
While Koon Yew Yin is old school without relying too much on TA (am sure he does look at it) and a lot on Managment and conversion and leadership (not afraid of change) this share is good truly for investors but for traders?? It's a Buy rather than trading buy .....

Grandma tried queuing, but got an egg for two days already. Similarly if you are trying to sell, make sure you peel down 2 notches at the rate of transaction. Price wise Grandma belief it is hard to drop because KYY and family already have 34 Million of it in account

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-17 19:25 | Report Abuse

Grandma wonder if KYY did indeed buy all 34 Million shares on open market. If he did, you can calculate when exactly he started accumulating and see the price difference backwards. Grandma already know the answer, but you can check to find the margin he has done since. You should be able to tell their continuous growth with Palm Oil coming in again especially June month.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-08-17 19:30 | Report Abuse

KYY is very kind in sharing his investment ideas with others. But those who want to invest in this stock must hold for long term - one, two or even three years.

tsurukame

778 posts

Posted by tsurukame > 2013-08-17 20:49 | Report Abuse

CPO price is now at secular downtrend..how long is the downtrend? No one really know for sure...
How much lower can it go...It's anybody's guess...the market will decide eventually.

The jewel in Jtiasa is its Timber and Timber prices is on uptrend...I concur with KYY that it is now a good time to invest in J Tiasa.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-18 13:45 | Report Abuse

With the increase in Palm oil for month of June and their avg age of their tree at 5 to 6 years and every 4 years they can do 7.7 tons FFB/ha. Grandma is assuming to take least apse calculation 7.7 multiply by 60,000 divided by 4 (quarters) and multiply by 2370 (avg per ton) for a avg quarter earning though Grandma know that the harvesting time maybe different
But note also the production increases exponential between 4 and 10 years. Example if linear 4 years 7.7 by right 8 years should be 15.4 and 10 years should be around 19 tons FFB/ha but 10 years can produce 27.2.

Grandmas suggestion in calculation above by taking the line and actual calculation will show you the difference in the price leap ( assuming price difference is a mere -+ 5%), this year onwards, the 8 years and 10th years would see some difference.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-19 16:44 | Report Abuse

Grandma happy to be in Jtiasa now. Small investment here hopefully calculation here vs logging makes sense as a large proportion in logging would have taken 7 years as veneer was much required as some point vs the 4 years on for Palm harvesting.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-19 17:54 | Report Abuse

Grandma will sell at 2.35.

tsurukame

778 posts

Posted by tsurukame > 2013-08-20 19:13 | Report Abuse

Major trend is down no doubt but there will be some counters that buck the down trend....

JTiasa may possibly be one of them.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-08-20 19:17 | Report Abuse

Agree with tsurukami, even how bearish is the market, there will be some counters going against the trend. Kuah, have you ever come across a situation where 100% of the stocks show red in a day.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-22 16:16 | Report Abuse

This one has 2 US base foreign investor Northern Trust and Dimensional fund. The former % is small and the latter hold about 7% again would not be too concern as KYY holds 34 Million shares approx 3.65%. This will help to stabilize.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-22 16:18 | Report Abuse

Also KYY will want to buy those if they sell down as he has already mentioned that there are not enough share liquidity in the market to buy.

Posted by jennylee1382 > 2013-08-22 16:21 | Report Abuse

grandma this counter what's the price can buy and is the TP

Posted by jennylee1382 > 2013-08-22 16:23 | Report Abuse

how long need to hold

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-08-22 16:23 | Report Abuse

KYY has just written an article why you should consider buying into J Tiasa.

Grandma

259 posts

Posted by Grandma > 2013-08-22 16:34 | Report Abuse

Jenny, Grandma advice you to read first on the article and have an opinion. Your answer for this particular counter is truly an example of a TA vs a FA vs a true Investor. If you check on the PE, ROE and Net Profit, you may not be encourage. However if you read the logic of a successful investor below you may form a better opinion

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/35212.jsp

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-08-22 17:30 | Report Abuse

kuah, it seems you either tell people buy buy buy or sell sell sell.

fishbone

120 posts

Posted by fishbone > 2013-08-22 21:25 | Report Abuse

hold for at least 1 to 2 years.

zero

525 posts

Posted by zero > 2013-08-28 23:19 | Report Abuse

hold stock, must think of opportunity cost also...

grandma

259 posts

Posted by grandma > 2013-09-01 09:32 | Report Abuse

Following Grandmas earlier write up, it will the next even year 2014 to see profit since the growth and harvesting of palm oil is exponential. The avg age is 5 to 6 years at current. April onwards this year has been good for log price but palm oil is only good in month of June. The results is expected with quarter result ending June having only 1 out of 3 mths in positive light. This can be seen in WTK who is doing the same as Jtiasa but proportion still higher in logging.

Take a moment and think about the world we live in with global issues stamping from war to financial. If you have read Grandmas thoughts in Kimlun, though the company has been very consistent, the margin of play is only 5 % which means there is not much room for global crisis, war etc and with the recent drop in Net Profit again proves the point. Though Grandma see a possible punt to continue but the odds of global is too high.

Now coming back to Jtiasa and the examples presented on Global issues and palm oil in general. Palm oil is a commodity that provides Malaysia with 70 billion income and is only next to Oil which stands at 80 billion. Malaysia is second in palm oil producing and second now in export though earlier it was said to be top exporter but second in producing to Indonesia. The countries that vide palm oil are India, china, Eu27 etc . If we consider China to increase the export, we do need a person like Robert Kuok to further mediate with his strong relationship with China. However this is far from true now as the many of his business in Malaysia has been taken up by Syed Mokthar and the solemn man has increase his business further especially Sugar and now palm oil in the region and world since the down turn has given him further opportunities. Robert has now a strong base in Indonesia and may be a real threat if he grow the business further with China. Here again we have 2 big Asian importer in China and India vs a collective in EU to withstand the down turn and crisis. The only challenege is to whether the crisis and the weather and price of this commodity. In Grandmas, books, if 2/3 is in Asia, it stands a better chance of triumph even with a poorer price which can and will improve.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-09-05 10:01 | Report Abuse

Put other things aside, if you believe Mr Koon Yew Yin, this is a friendly reminder that it is now a good time to buy JTiasa. Personally, I would NOT buy as I am stuck with this stock for long time already. It is one of the stock serving long term jail. Good Luck.

hiddengem

1,186 posts

Posted by hiddengem > 2013-09-09 08:08 | Report Abuse

To all sifus kcchongnz, inwest88 & bsngpg. Is it the right time to consider accumulating JTiasa. Tq

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-09 09:26 | Report Abuse

hiddengem, it all depends on what school of thought you subscribe to as different people have different views of investment like
1) go read KYY's long write-up in Dali's blog
2) OTB has included this in his stock pick based on TA readings about a month ago
3) kcchongnx is not too keen on this stock based on FA and other reasons like cash flow etc

At the end of the day, you have to make your own decision and ascertain whether at this level the price is attractive, whether the upside gains outweigh the downside risks, how long you can hold on etc.

hiddengem

1,186 posts

Posted by hiddengem > 2013-09-09 09:28 | Report Abuse

Tqvm for yr valuable info & good luck.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-09-09 09:42 | Report Abuse

hiddengem : If I am not mistaken, both JTiasa and RSawit are run by the Tiong family.

Pls do not compare to loser like me, you are falling into Confirmation Trap. Pls read “Common Investing Psychology Traps – investopedia” posted by KW Tan yesterday. Anyway I do not mind to tell you that I bought at 9.66=3.28 ex bonus. In long term jail lol.

Buying JTiasa is buying into future prospect of CPO. You need to have faith that CPO will rise. In this case you need to have holding power. I have faith on it, else I have bailed out JTiasa for long time already.

You can go to MalaysiaFinanceblogspot and search for JTiasa for recommendation from Mr Koon. If you plantation and you believe in him as I do, now is a good time to buy JTiasa.

****I do not buy more JTiasa after 9.66 even though I buy recommendation from Mr Koon. I just hold and wait.

Good luck.

hiddengem

1,186 posts

Posted by hiddengem > 2013-09-09 09:46 | Report Abuse

U r absolutely right. Thanks for the info.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-09-10 13:10 | Report Abuse

Hi : as I buy the recommendation of Mr. Koon so much and we talked about it lately, I bought 5000 shares of JTiasa this morning to show support. The justification of buying JTiasa can be read from Mr. Koon’s articles. In fact, it does not meeting few of my criteria. I cannot help myself as hand is itchy.
It is similar to US TV series Prison Break 2005, sending younger brother into prison to rescue the elder brother. Ha ! ha!. Good luck to myself.

hiddengem

1,186 posts

Posted by hiddengem > 2013-09-10 13:30 | Report Abuse

Dont worry the younger brother & elder brother will hv a big reunion & will be rewarded with bumper harvest. Best of luck & god bless u.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-09-10 14:15 | Report Abuse

Hi Hiddengem : I do not and dare not to dream for bumper harvest. How to break even the RM3.20(entry price of the elder brother), a 54% rise from today ? I would be very happy as long as the younger brother can bail out the elder from long term jail with no casualty.