YTL CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTL (4677)

+0.04 (1.05%)

3.82 - 3.92

25 people like this.

14,902 comment(s). Last comment by raymondroy 2 minutes ago

Muyutin

371 posts

Posted by Muyutin > 2023-05-31 12:04 |

ncy810116

294 posts

Posted by ncy810116 > 2023-05-31 12:05 | Report Abuse

wao... once 1.02 break all e way liao

cwc1981

1,000 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-05-31 12:13 | Report Abuse

Power now seem like waiting for mother to join

yong1985cm

215 posts

Posted by yong1985cm > 2023-05-31 12:23 | Report Abuse

i dun think it right to compare YTL against PM for valuation prespective, no doubt PM is commodity based company that producing alluminium which look similar to YTL having Cement, utilities and etc biz, what make both of them differ is PM is a growth company but YTL is not. I means growth in term of it revenue and bottom line. the high valuation given by market to PM doesnt come free, the growth of the biz is sustainable even during covid. But if u look at YTL, it biz performance is not stable, some time make profit, some time losses, for sure this is not a growth biz.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 12:24 | Report Abuse

apologies, the timing should be like:

YTL Power should rise from current RM1.30 in May 2023 to RM5.00 level by Mar 2025.

The timing of Mar 2025 should be right as by then:
1) PowerSeraya should continue to report strong earnings due to tight supply (Keppel new plant only comes in 1H 2026)
2) Wessex will have its new water tariffs adjusted up substantially for the new 5-year regulatory period due to its enlarged RAB and to compensate the high interest rates it is suffering these 2 years from a higher WACC
3) 1st phase green data centre should have been up and running contribution new earnings stream
4) digital bank business should find its footing after 1 year of operations
5) more visibility in power export timeline to Singapore

0 seconds ago

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 12:27 | Report Abuse

@yong1985cm, yes you are right that Press Metal earnings were resilient during COVID time and jumped up as it ramped up production capacity. But its capacity increase may have come to an end, furthermore aluminium prices may soften from current levels which are at multi-year high. It is a commodity-based business, its topline and bottomline depends entirely on the commodity pricing which it has no control over.

Just take a look at the plantation companies. They were making record profits last year as CPO prices hit over RM7000 per tonne but many now are making tiny profits after CPO prices tumble.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 12:33 | Report Abuse

YTL businesses were affected by COvid pandemic especially the hotel and shopping mall division, but this is almost over.

Its cement business is like PMetal's commodity business, as it depends on bulk cement selling prices in Malaysia. The difference is that MCement controls almost 66% of market share in Malaysia but PM contributes how much % in global aluminium production??

YTL businesses are growing fast from this year, especially the utilities division powered by YTLPower and hotel/REITs having strong rebounds from Covid pandemic.

The earnings growth visibility is the strongest for next 3 years, but the same cannot be said for PM. If aluminium prices drop 10% later this year, you will see PM earnings to drop by 30% or more, growth company?? PMetal latest quarterly result is already a warning to you as an investor, just like Q2 last year results were a warning to plantation stock investors.

Pinky

3,247 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-05-31 12:34 | Report Abuse

YTL looks set to be a cash cow stock, from its investments in YTL Hospitality REIT, Starhill REIT, YTL Power etc

I think I will keep it as a "pseudo REIT"

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 12:36 | Report Abuse

I see a similar share price trend in YTL and YTLP now as the price trend of PMetal in May 2020 when PMetal announced a big jump in earnings that surprised the market then.

PM share price jumped 10%-20% in a week after the first result surprise then went on a non-stop rally from RM2.00 in May 2020 all the way to RM6.00 in Jan 2022.

Muyutin

371 posts

Posted by Muyutin > 2023-05-31 13:20 | Report Abuse

If JORDAN CONTRIBUTE GOOD EARNING,,IT CAN BECOME GOOD RETIREMENT STOCK WITH MINIMUM 10SEN DIVIDEN ANNUALLY FOR AT LEAST 20YEARS..

ocbc

928 posts

Posted by ocbc > 2023-05-31 13:20 | Report Abuse

Good job YTL , now i am happy u privatize my YTLand cheaply. no RM$2 no sell !!

cwc1981

1,000 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-05-31 13:41 | Report Abuse

Good

45AMG

588 posts

Posted by 45AMG > 2023-05-31 14:07 | Report Abuse

entry below 1.00 should be ok kah guys? shall i collect more below 1.00? pls advise

soon9913

2,524 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-05-31 14:32 | Report Abuse

buy now is limited profit.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 15:10 | Report Abuse

@Muyutin, that's the idea I like about YTL & YTLPower. Once a utility asset is added to their portfolio, you can rest assured that additional cashflows will come in for next 20-30 years or more as long as YTL continue holding onto the asset like Wessex Waters which can be held for as long as they want.

By the way, the concession period for the Jordan power project is 30 years plus an option to extend for another 10 years. When the 2 power units achieve full commercial operations, the project will generate free cashflows of close to US$100 million every year for first 15 years, thereafter free cashflows will jump to US$200 million a year after the project financing debts are fully repaid, based on a project IRR of 10% as I assume.

For YTLPower that has a 45% stake in the Jordan project, it will receive about RM200 million of dividends from the project every year for the next 15 years, thereafter it will receive RM400 million of dividends every year for another 15 years + 10 years if extended

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-05-31 15:19 | Report Abuse

That will be almost RM9.0 billion of cash dividends coming in for next 30 years, and RM4 billion more if project gets extended for another 10 years. That's not bad an investment at all for an equity investment of US$180 million in the project.

48,101 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-05-31 15:30 | Report Abuse

Whoever got 90+ range confirms with 10% yield yearly
What a great stock

tomwah

1,596 posts

Posted by tomwah > 2023-05-31 15:40 | Report Abuse

waiting for these day YTL

MichelleNg

1,031 posts

Posted by MichelleNg > 2023-05-31 15:43 | Report Abuse

Waiting to breakout 98cents roadblock and rm1 roadblock....

willc48

712 posts

Posted by willc48 > 2023-05-31 16:14 | Report Abuse

no more Tun, but cant be Anwar when ringgit keeps droooing and YTL shares going up.

cwc1981

1,000 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-05-31 16:32 | Report Abuse

Last chance to buy below RM1

soon9913

2,524 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-05-31 16:57 | Report Abuse

will hit rm1 tomorrow at 9:38am

cwc1981

1,000 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-05-31 17:57 | Report Abuse

Blue chips all jialat liao

icecool

4,822 posts

Posted by icecool > 2023-05-31 17:58 | Report Abuse

tp 1 coming

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-05-31 20:32 | Report Abuse

Luckily I still have quite a few lots left to play with =)

25,307 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-05-31 21:44 | Report Abuse

tis one goreng kaw kaw

ocbc

928 posts

Posted by ocbc > 2023-06-01 01:36 | Report Abuse

Yeo got into businesses that will ensure his family able to be wealthy for more than 3 generations, that is YTL stands for. Hope BJland able learn from YTL.

PaiKia

75 posts

Posted by PaiKia > 2023-06-01 08:48 | Report Abuse

road to wembley

yong1985cm

215 posts

Posted by yong1985cm > 2023-06-01 09:33 | Report Abuse

i dun think u can take plantation to compare with PM. plantation itself is very cyclical sector, profit up and down, some even making losses. so therefore u will not see very high PE/PB for plantation sector. but for PM, if u look at the 10yrs revenue&profit trend u will notice that is was entirely different from plantation. PM is a very good growth, quality biz, and very good fundamental, every1 want it therefore is valuation is super high. if the company past 10yrs revenue and profit growth at cagr of >10% , yet you do not agree that it was growth, i got nothing to say.

Yes PM is commodity based company, but it able to perform/sustain in making profit thru out the year, look at those yrs where alluminium market price is very low like 2016 and 2020, we do not see PM turn into loss.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-01 10:01 | Report Abuse

@yong1985cm, you still don't get the point.

Press Metal may have been a growth stock in past few years due to its production expansion and rise in aluminium prices. But plant expansion may have come to an end, as I have not heard any expansion plan from PM management for near future.

Now come to the revenue growth, PM revenue is entirely tied to global aluminium prices which the company has absolutely no control over, as it is a commodity, no matter how capable the management is. You have no idea how global aluminium prices are going to move in next few months or next few years, not even the company management or the boss himself. They cannot promise you on any revenue growth or earnings growth if aluminium prices do not go up. Nobody can guarantee or promise you any growth, you can stick to your own conviction but there is nothing else you can do about it.

The latest 30+% drop in earnings of PM latest quarterly result already gave you a warning, if you still do not wake up, nobody can help you.

Go check out latest research reports from all the analysts and you will see what I mean.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-01 10:13 | Report Abuse

Don't get me wrong. I do think PM is a great company and the boss is visionary.

But the point of discussion here is whether the stock price will have chance of going higher. The stock market is future looking, if the earnings of the company do not grow the stock price will not rise.

If earnings drop, the market is ruthless in punishing the company by dumping the shares. Just like what happened to YTL in past few years when earnings were depressed. Now outlook of YTL earnings is looking bright and I am confident share price will rebound.

But the same thing cannot be said of PM. Based on RHB report on PM, the analyst said PM drop in earnings was due to weakening prices of aluminium to RM2200/tonne from recent peak of over RM2400/t. Nobody can tell you whether aluminium prices will go back up to RM2400+ or go down further towards RM2000. In the latter case, you will find PM share prices dropping another 20% or more from current level.

If aluminium prices drop back to RM1800 or below where it came up from few years ago, then it won't be a surprise to see PM share price dropping back to RM2.00 level where it came up from.

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-01 10:14 | Report Abuse

I will not debate further with you on PM as this is a stock I will not invest in at current share price level. You may find some comfort from fellow investors in PM stream of commentary. But here, we are all for YTL.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-01 10:20 | Report Abuse

Took some insurance, selling a little bit(300 shrs) @ 98.5c as the $1 is very close. Still earn $50 after commissions which is enough for me. Q-ing some more @ 99.5c.

MichelleNg

1,031 posts

Posted by MichelleNg > 2023-06-01 11:23 | Report Abuse

Ooo...red red 93cents...

garychee8

369 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2023-06-01 11:26 | Report Abuse

Buy back below 0.90

Jack888

848 posts

Posted by Jack888 > 2023-06-01 11:30 | Report Abuse

Sold all....bye.

27,896 posts

Posted by mf > 2023-06-01 11:57 | Report Abuse

collect

Posted by value_seeker > 2023-06-01 12:02 | Report Abuse

So forceful

45AMG

588 posts

Posted by 45AMG > 2023-06-01 12:18 | Report Abuse

luckily no buy yet.. wait first laaa

xcu843

1,024 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2023-06-01 13:39 | Report Abuse

need to close above 0.92

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2023-06-01 14:06 | Report Abuse

Any weakness is a buying opportunity

dragon328

2,001 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-01 14:51 | Report Abuse

It looks to me that someones may have bet on a "good news" on HSR yesterday but it didn't come out last night, so these someones cut their positions on YTL and Gamuda.

It is good to see healthy correction in YTL share price today, so that it flushes out short term traders and weak holders. The next rally will be able to sustain longer after these short term traders are out.

We are in for the long term earnings growth and sustainable strong cashflows that will support dividend payouts of 10 sen or higher for many years to come, so a little noise along the way is a good chance to add more.

27,896 posts

Posted by mf > 2023-06-01 14:53 | Report Abuse

collect

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-01 14:58 | Report Abuse

When YOU KNOW WHO shows up & starts promoting the stock after being totally absent from the thread b4 that...it's usually a bad sign! Just saying...

Yezzy99108

382 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2023-06-01 15:05 | Report Abuse

Selling spree now that QR are released

Pinky

3,247 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-01 15:13 | Report Abuse

Game over!

MichelleNg

1,031 posts

Posted by MichelleNg > 2023-06-01 15:26 | Report Abuse

Game over???

novel23

46 posts

Posted by novel23 > 2023-06-01 15:29 | Report Abuse

where to get the info 10% dividen? didn't follow through...

Yezzy99108

382 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2023-06-01 15:31 | Report Abuse

It seems market maker only rate this giant below MYR 1.00. Will go down and move sideways with all the hypes and huge potentials (exactly like AAX)

garychee8

369 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2023-06-01 15:37 | Report Abuse

dont worry, plenty opportunity to buy tmr..will likely test 0.80