YTL CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTL (4677)

+0.06 (1.67%)

3.60 - 3.69

25 people like this.

15,127 comment(s). Last comment by Antifanaticracism 1 hour ago

soon9913

2,576 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-06-01 15:42 | Report Abuse

how strong is this counter also cannot beat the market trend

cwc1981

1,047 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-06-01 15:49 | Report Abuse

Alamak top up at 92. Now 90. Haizz

troy88

2,765 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-06-01 15:58 | Report Abuse

KLCI back to lowest level in 3 years. Not YTL fault

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-01 15:58 | Report Abuse

Hah...the bad luck contrarian indicator...whatever he's bullish on goes down in quick order. SOLD more @ 92 & 91.5c early in the afternoon becos of this siasuay indicator...now 8 lots SOLD...1k profit =)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-01 16:00 | Report Abuse

Listen to infamous contrarian indicator, not even chicken profit, NO profit malah big losses likely LOL

cktay

242 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-06-01 16:02 | Report Abuse

Hi Dragon328
I may be wrong but I think the govt will have no choice but to go ahead with the HSR, esp if they do not have to fund it.
Q1 had been bad! Oil price down, palm oil down, electronics down, no money for mrt3, etc
Only a few bright sparks left in Bursa, but they all have gone too far ahead of themselves.
Straight line up.
A correction is most welcome.
BTW I like Gamuda too.
Common thing about Gamuda and YTL, these companies do not rely on Govt hand-out.
They thrive both locally and internationally.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-01 16:03 | Report Abuse

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-09-08 17:23 | Report Abuse

Bought a couple of lots @ 57.5 today...bringing my stake to over 11k shrs. No rush to buy big

dragon328

2,071 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-01 16:17 | Report Abuse

@cktay, the current government is keen to revive the HSR as this is the rationale thing to do to super charge the economy as huge construction work will flow through to various other industries. But the problem is no money. Here is where private companies with big balance sheets like YTL and Gamuda come in and bring in technical and funding partners from China or Japan.

But the sentiment is now spoiled by the coming 6 states election and threats of the green wave and Bersatu coming back to power. Dindin was the one who terminated the earlier HSR agreement with Singapore and paid out the compensation.

cktay

242 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-06-01 16:32 | Report Abuse

Let's hope for the best. I think I will hold on to my YTL., YTL Power, MCement, Gamuda etc altho my cost is very low.
Only a bit disappointed with Genting and GENM. (Attended Genting AGM this morning)

cktay

242 posts

Posted by cktay > 2023-06-01 16:53 | Report Abuse

@pang72. Agree with you about this election thingy.
I started loading up Genting the past few days. Not sure if correct move. Hahaha!

Mar2083

777 posts

Posted by Mar2083 > 2023-06-01 17:10 | Report Abuse

Closing 90sen
Potentially may below 90sen tomorrow
Watch out

soon9913

2,576 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-06-01 22:34 | Report Abuse

you are correct

chon99

1,465 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2023-06-02 00:27 | Report Abuse

At this hour of the day (Friday 02-06-2023 12.25 a. m. Dow Jones and Nasdaq surging up with strong momentum.

yong1985cm

215 posts

Posted by yong1985cm > 2023-06-02 08:49 | Report Abuse

dragon, i do not want to debate with you as well on PM. i myself bought YTL back to 2020 and hold until today bcz i see how under value it is. And i nvr hold stake in PM too bcz for me its alwaz too expensive no matter how attractive he is. But we as investor alwayz neeed to challenge our own judgement on why we buy YTL, why we don't buy other stock? through comparison at professional way, get away the bias we may have on the stock we hold, and with this our knowledge/information relates to the stock will be deepen and further fortify our belief/confidence on the stock we hold.

Jack888

848 posts

Posted by Jack888 > 2023-06-02 09:44 | Report Abuse

If price can come back 0.95 there is a chance... otherwise...

27,982 posts

Posted by mf > 2023-06-02 09:45 | Report Abuse

rebound

M55555

1,008 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-06-02 09:57 | Report Abuse

hari-hari kasi chance day trade untung sampai 5 cents. Diam diam sudah la

Pinky

3,321 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-02 10:18 | Report Abuse

daytrade is bad for your heart unless you are a retiree or a damn free freelancer

Sami_Value

430 posts

Posted by Sami_Value > 2023-06-02 11:46 | Report Abuse

this correction is required, not such a big deal. already expected.

The state election will not have the impact on the HSR, neither it will have impact on the federal level decision making. Also, the earning majority are from oversea, the local political impact is almost negligible.

Sami_Value

430 posts

Posted by Sami_Value > 2023-06-02 11:48 | Report Abuse

those have taken profits, happy lor..

wait for lower re-entry price

garychee8

373 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2023-06-02 12:17 | Report Abuse

something to ponder...is YTL interested in HSR ???

Sami_Value

430 posts

Posted by Sami_Value > 2023-06-02 12:27 | Report Abuse

HSR from construction only contribute small fraction to the earning. The real earning is from the utility. That's the reason YTL is falls under utilities sector & their utilities earning are showing growth.

Just focus on the utility earning & the earning is from the oversea. The rest are just interference.

Posted by Newplayer01 > 2023-06-02 22:07 | Report Abuse

I already earn few rounds from YTL, the current price still can enter ma?

chon99

1,465 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2023-06-03 00:23 | Report Abuse

At this hour of the day (03-06-2023 Saturday 12.21 a.m. ) Dow Jones jumps up more than 500 points.

chon99

1,465 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2023-06-03 00:37 | Report Abuse

The strong rally in the US stock market may have a positive spill over effect to the world market including Malaysia. Let's see how the Malaysian market perform next Tuesday 06--06-2023

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-03 07:17 | Report Abuse

Foreign money is not coming into this corrupted, economic malaise-ridden country. The money is in safer more dependable markets like Japan...thank goodness I have more than six figures in the land of the rising Sun now, ever since my first stock purchase there in 2017 =)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-03 09:03 | Report Abuse

YTL is also listed in Tokyo btw...but my most recent purchase is landlord Mitsubishi Estate for ¥1,638, with 7 🎌 winners already in the bag so far in '23.

chon99

1,465 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2023-06-03 11:31 | Report Abuse

dompeilee,
You are knowledgeable as you even noted that YTL is also listed in Japan.

But we should realize that with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim ' s leading in the government, he has cleansed some of the corruption rubbish or at least reduced further corruptions. Our Malaysian government with his reign is much better and more efficient now . That's what the foreign investors would consider before they park their funds in certain countries.

Hopefully Japanese Fund Managers will also invest their money here.

chon99

1,465 posts

Posted by chon99 > 2023-06-03 11:40 | Report Abuse

Look like Malaysian Ringgit is gradually appreciating against USD & SGD.

dragon328

2,071 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-04 11:05 | Report Abuse

@yong1985cm, my intention of putting up the comparison of Press Metal vs YTLPower was not to derate PM, but rather to highlight the possibility that YTLP may be re-rated to similar level of PM, both of which are great companies.

I first bought into PM when its first phase aluminium plant started commercial operations in Sarawak back in 2000s, and I have made almost 7x by holding onto it for few years. I admired the vision and bold decision of the boss and thought that the cheap electricity it capitalised on in Sarawak would give it great competitiveness against regional players.

Now I see another growth story in YTLP, just like what we have witnessed in PM. Don't miss the boat!

dragon328

2,071 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-04 11:34 | Report Abuse

But there are always challenges in any growth story for a company. In the case of YTLP, it faced great challenges in the Jordan project during construction during Covid-19 times and then encountered counter-party challenges when it was about to complete the construction. The case is still pending an international arbitration judgement but Jordan needs power so YTLP's plant was required to run up anyway. Then Wessex Waters was hit by high inflation and high interest rates that eroded almost all its profits in past 2 quarters. These challenges test the wisdom of the management.

PowerSeraya is on high ground now as the electricity supply is tight and hence generation and retails profit margin is good. But before that, it was hit by over-supply situation that pushed it into losses for several quarters, and there was nothing it could do about it besides cost cutting and capital preservation. There will be challenges in the future for sure, eg. the RE power import by 2035, you need to get satisfied with the ability of the company management to deal with such challenges and ensure the long term growth and viability of the company.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-05 17:52 | Report Abuse

I would love YTL more if the co. didn't have so MANY d@rned tickets outstanding! Reversals can also be huge, as can be seen from its decline after peaking in 2012 & in 2019-2020.

It was only one of a small minority of 723 LOSERs on the Tokyo market today( vs 3,285 GAINERs), down 2 yen or 7.4% on 100,000 volume. The highlight of my Japanese portfolio is speculative Katsuragawa Electric which soared 52 yen(8.3%) & a record 4 paper profits available to be taken if I so choose...So my prediction of a re-test of the Nikkei's 38,957.44 record within the year on my blog made in May seems to have a good possibility of coming true!=)

soon9913

2,576 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-06-06 10:21 | Report Abuse

is the boss still in the counter or not?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-06 10:26 | Report Abuse

Fortunately, I shifted some of the funds from my partial YTL sales into Petron @ 4.53, which is performing beautifully... =) Those who have less than a 3-year holding timeframe for this stock, better not touch...

Sami_Value

430 posts

Posted by Sami_Value > 2023-06-06 15:14 | Report Abuse

This kind of big theme, usually they will rest 1 month, moves 2 months until the next Qr. No need to stick to screen daily.

Lam LH

291 posts

Posted by Lam LH > 2023-06-06 17:49 | Report Abuse

Suddenly so quite here.. all has cash out? Happy for you guys.

Ran271221

77 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-06-06 18:17 | Report Abuse

Satu unit pun belum jual lagi, habis cuti, mahu beli kalau harga masih rendah. Dividend yg diterima agak banyak.

Pinky

3,321 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-06 18:38 | Report Abuse

Hold for dividends. This has potential to be a cash cow stock.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-06 18:42 | Report Abuse

Dividend announcement end of August. Many ppl have no patience to wait so long. End of Aug result also may be nowhere near as stellar as May's results.

Ran271221

77 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-06-06 19:07 | Report Abuse

Saya mula beli YTLP lebih kurang 20 tahun yg lalu, kemudian mula beli YTL. Melalui dividend, saham yg diterima, pulangan cukup baik. Lagi pun, masa tak lama lagi adalah peluang dapat pulangan yg banyak.

Ran271221

77 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-06-06 19:09 | Report Abuse

Analisis Dragon326 menyeluruh dan informasi terkini. Thanks.

dragon328

2,071 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-06 20:23 | Report Abuse

Wow Ran271221 you have been holding YTLP shares for 20 years, good for you!

Hold it tight for another 2 years and you will be rewarded handsomely.

Ran271221

77 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-06-06 22:08 | Report Abuse

Dragon326, accumulate YTPL and YTL. Holding not earn much.

Jack888

848 posts

Posted by Jack888 > 2023-06-07 10:07 | Report Abuse

Chances coming soon ?......waiting prices 0.84 - 0.85 cents.

soon9913

2,576 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2023-06-07 10:16 | Report Abuse

whole market is downtrending... YTLP ex div soon...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-07 15:55 | Report Abuse

Nothing wrong with buying @ this level...just be willing to HOLD for 3 yrs or else the broker earns the most .

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-06-08 09:09 | Report Abuse

L@@ks like it can make another assault at the $1 mark today...

Sami_Value

430 posts

Posted by Sami_Value > 2023-06-08 10:11 | Report Abuse

rising too fast not good, it will invites a lot day traders.

dragon328

2,071 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-06-08 14:35 | Report Abuse

In its latest research report on YTL out this morning, CIMB raised tp for YTL to RM1.28 while it upgrades MCement and YTLPower.

One surprise the report mentions about is that YTL put in the lowest price for MRT3 above ground civil work package at under RM11 billion. YTL partnering CRCC also bidded for the turnkey signalling package valued at RM7.0b to RM10b. These jobs will increase demand for cement as well.