PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

+0.03 (0.52%)

5.70 - 5.84

10 people like this.

4,266 comment(s). Last comment by Plantermen 8 hours ago

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-26 09:02 | Report Abuse

Wow, seems like the future so bleak for chemical company. Better save my 3 round of ammo until next Q.......

mcmann

1,142 posts

Posted by mcmann > 2019-07-26 09:19 | Report Abuse

bursa trader just Q lower and lower price only hahaha

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

I just wondering will it break 7.50 and create a new low......deep down inside...i'm hoping.......evil of me....

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2019-07-26 16:05 | Report Abuse

Memang boring today...ding dong...ding dong....

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2019-07-29 08:38 | Report Abuse

EPF still major seller of this counter...

QR will be coming out next month.............

Be cautious...Be Alert.........................

Very high possibility velow 7.00 soon...............Cheersss............

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-29 08:57 | Report Abuse

i look forward to RM7. Read the quarterly report and also analyst report, most of them also state Q2 will be soft and Q3 will be worse due to the statutory shutdown which is quite major. I guess that is why epf is selling big time.

Kayme

102 posts

Posted by Kayme > 2019-07-29 10:03 | Report Abuse

Petrochemicals 28 Jul 2019 | 07:53 UTC Dubai

SABIC Q2 net profit plunges 68% on lower petrochemical prices

Dubai — SABIC, the petrochemical producer that is being acquired by Saudi Aramco, posted a 68.4% year-on-year plunge in second quarter net profit to Riyals 2.12 billion ($565 million) as petrochemical prices fell and new supply was added.

"The slowdown in global GDP growth coincides with a decline in petrochemical prices due to a significant increase in new supply capacity resulting in lower product prices and margins in key product lines," Yousef al-Benyan, vice chairman and CEO of SABIC, said Sunday in a statement to the Saudi stock exchange where its shares are traded.

"The new capacities in key products lines that pressured SABIC's product prices and margins in the first half of 2019 are expected to continue to impact the company's earnings in the second half of 2019."

Second quarter revenue fell 17% year-on-year to Riyal 35.87 billion. Some of the products that suffered from weak prices include mono ethyl glycol, whose prices in the second quarter were the lowest since 2009, SABIC said.

SABIC, the Middle East's biggest petrochemical producer, said last week it had called off talks to form a joint venture with European specialty chemicals producer Clariant due to current "unfavorable" market conditions. SABIC, the top shareholder in Clariant with a 24.99% stake, signed a memorandum of understanding in September 2018 to combine SABIC's specialties business with the Swiss company's additives and high value masterbatch offerings.

State-owned Saudi Aramco agreed earlier in 2019 to acquire 70% of SABIC from the country's sovereign wealth fund for $69 billion as part of plans to expand its petrochemicals portfolio. Both Saudi Aramco and SABIC are boosting their petrochemical footprint and inking agreements within and outside the Gulf state to gain access to feedstock and get closer to their customers.

ExxonMobil and SABIC had announced in June that they are going ahead with a newbuild petrochemical complex in Texas, after having received all necessary permits and approvals.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-29 10:37 | Report Abuse

Wow, Q2 plunge 68%? If using the same % and let assume 50% for Pchem, upcoming QR eps is only 7c. If 50% compared to Q4, then it is only 5c. So, projected Q2 will be 5-7c. Doesn't look good at this moment.

Furthermore, market already weak and there is oversupply. More production coming oonline and then exxonMobil and SABIC are going ahead with new petrochemical complex? Will this be the reson that drive the collapse of petrochemical industry in the near future? Shall wait and see.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-29 10:56 | Report Abuse

continue 1 year low price

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-29 11:07 | Report Abuse

but it die die dun want break 7.50 leh.....anyone want to IDSS this and let it create new low?

Posted by KNM Sailang Margin All In > 2019-07-29 12:54 | Report Abuse

next QR result come sure below 7.00

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-29 14:48 | Report Abuse

so should sell now???

I think that day is already 1 year low
mana tau, getting low and low

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-29 14:49 | Report Abuse

q2 and q3 sure profit drop

need at least 6months then will improve

sell 1st and come back later

kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2019-07-30 06:26 | Report Abuse

Sell

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-07-30 08:54 | Report Abuse

Look at EPF's action on 24 July: sold 23 million shares around RM7.66 & bought back 20 million shares around RM7.51 ......immediate cash profit of at least RM3 million in one day. Retailers collectively lost more than RM3 million on that day.

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-07-30 09:05 | Report Abuse

My new TP is RM 4. 1 bad QR to blow it up

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-07-30 09:16 | Report Abuse

Wah!! If really drop to RM4.10 then Philip go bankrupt loh. Hehehe.... that will be an extremely good price to sailang all in!

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-07-30 09:37 | Report Abuse

I checked Bursa's announcement website & it stated:

1. DISPOSAL OF 23,000,000 SHARES BY CITIGROUP NOMINEES (TEMPATAN) SDN BHD - EPF BOARD
2. ACQUISITION OF 20,000,000 SHARES BY CITIGROUP NOMINEES (TEMPATAN) SDN BHD - EPF BOARD (AFFIN HWANG-SBL)

So it was clearly a left-hand to right hand strategy partly over the counter trades & partly in open market trades resulting in huge price drop on 24 July.... so technically, EPF did not lose money even when the price dropped 19 sen on that day.

Posted by VSOLAR Sailang Margin All In > 2019-07-30 10:00 | Report Abuse

confirm below rm7.00 by next month end

kingb

519 posts

Posted by kingb > 2019-07-30 10:11 | Report Abuse

Will ding dong for few days, then surprise. Up or down. We shall see.

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-07-31 10:13 | Report Abuse

Looks like it is dong dong all the way down to RM7.20!!

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2019-07-31 10:14 | Report Abuse

BBB...BBB...BBB...

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-31 10:25 | Report Abuse

Philip where are you?

faster come out, write something good about PCHEM

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-31 10:41 | Report Abuse

Will it ding dong to 6.90??......
Sabic profit down 68%. More big company going ahead with either expansion or building new plant in the already oversupply sector. I wonder how this will pan out....

13,826 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2019-07-31 13:27 | Report Abuse

nobody FORCE philip to buy today?

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2019-07-31 13:29 | Report Abuse

Oo

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-07-31 13:54 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker, maybe forced to sell (margin call).... that's y drop so much.

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-07-31 13:56 | Report Abuse

Lctitan down 60%... pchem next QR cofirm 400-500m....

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-07-31 13:57 | Report Abuse

Retarded Kim has no match to me in stock market .

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-07-31 16:27 | Report Abuse

Pchem recovers? Philip save the day? Actually Q2 will bot be that bad but Q3 will be terrible. So, market price in upcoming 2Q or there is more to drop? Any expert??

Posted by stockraider > 2019-07-31 16:36 | Report Abuse

Philip already gone to holland loh....!!

Posted by titus > Jul 31, 2019 4:27 PM | Report Abuse

Pchem recovers? Philip save the day? Actually Q2 will bot be that bad but Q3 will be terrible. So, market price in upcoming 2Q or there is more to drop? Any expert??

Becky123

201 posts

Posted by Becky123 > 2019-07-31 18:22 | Report Abuse

No comment but just wondering, there is still stupid people comparing lctitan and Pchem. Haha. Btw, I’m still waiting for my final big bullet for Pchem.

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-07-31 18:26 | Report Abuse

Yea your big bullet to lose underwear lol

Becky123

201 posts

Posted by Becky123 > 2019-07-31 18:45 | Report Abuse

As long as I am not that stupid to compare lctitan and pchem. Lctitan good at kencing to investors like u ma. Kencing on ur face.

Becky123

201 posts

Posted by Becky123 > 2019-07-31 18:47 | Report Abuse

I will save big bullet later la until it’s bottom.

Becky123

201 posts

Posted by Becky123 > 2019-07-31 18:50 | Report Abuse

In the meantime, u can drink lctitan bosses’ pee first. Haha

Posted by VSOLAR Sailang Margin All In > 2019-07-31 18:54 | Report Abuse

philip took margin maybe kena margin call soon

KooSan

471 posts

Posted by KooSan > 2019-07-31 23:13 | Report Abuse

Bloodbath

(S=QR) Philip

4,794 posts

Posted by (S=QR) Philip > 2019-08-01 06:44 | Report Abuse

All I can say is just learn to be patient and understand why your stocks went down and whether it is a temporary or permanent drop.

For me I believe it is temporary ( but will monitor quarterly report to know more). In last quarterly report it is stated:

1. Plant statutory turnaround dropped efficiency from 98% to 86%, and will return back to normal.
2. Price war due to dumping and trade war between China and US.

Compare that with the permanent PCHEM moats which are still intact.

1. PIC commissioning and full run end of 2019 still intact ( even after fire).
2. Net profits of 20+% ( compared to other local and foreign competitors like LCTITAN etc).

Therefore I will leave and relax and come back when PIC is completed and running.

I no longer wish to waste my breath with office despatch boy driving his myvi, let him enjoy enjoy.

As for margin finance, I have more than a few millions more to go before any drop in PCHEM price becomes catastrophic. If discount day drops to 5% of dividend payout, then I will pick up far more again.

>>>>>>>>>>
RainT Philip where are you?

faster come out, write something good about PCHEM
31/07/2019 10:25 AM

(S=QR) Philip

4,794 posts

Posted by (S=QR) Philip > 2019-08-01 07:03 | Report Abuse

Words of encouragement from LCTITAN CEO. Their revenue and profits have increased in latest quarter ( to 5% returns), while last quarter pchem net profits was at 20%. So if pchem can still keep the profits while following the same trajectory, this discount day will be very profitable in the long run. I am looking at a 4.27% dividend yield ( which pchem can pay using 50% of its profits), so n at 7.49, if there is no structural problem with PCHEM, it will definitely recover and grow its dividend yield a few years from now.

CEO has told you this is a long term play.

I only know how to do long term plays in wonderful companies.

>>>>>>>>>>

Despite slowing of global economic activities, emerging markets and Asia, our key sales market, are expected to sustain their growth momentum for remaining of 2019," it added.

Nevertheless, LCT president and CEO Dr Lee Dong Woo said the petrochemical market is a long-term play.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-01 08:26 | Report Abuse

thank Philip for the reassurance. I think I will also wait for upcoming QR. I believe upcoming Q will not be that bad because actually there is 1 shipment that did not make into the book last Q. So this Q, revenue might be all-time high. Not sure about profit. But the 3Q is the most worrying due to the major shutdown. I will start buying again only if it does break 7.00 b4 the QR announce.

(S=QR) Philip

4,794 posts

Posted by (S=QR) Philip > 2019-08-01 11:51 | Report Abuse

Exactly, don't worry about the short term things like raider, try to understand the long term things better use of your time.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-08-01 11:59 | Report Abuse

This looks interesting, might be time to buy more.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-01 13:59 | Report Abuse

Jon, buying more now or wait till Q3??
On the other hand, it is difficult to time the market. Market always reflect 6 months ahead.....so now is 6 months ahead??? Price already price in the 3Q??......what a dilemma......

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-08-01 15:44 | Report Abuse

@Philip

Thanks very much for your some useful comments

you opinion is logical and make sense

this has helped me to re-affirm my investment thesis on invest in LCTITAN

Thanks !

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-08-01 19:28 | Report Abuse

Titus,

I look 10 years. Not so sure what will happen in Q3. However, i think it will be better.

Pchem their spreads is very different from those of LCTITAN, PETRONM etc.

Having said that, we might be looking at some stockholding loss.

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-08-02 02:16 | Report Abuse

Trump announced further 10% tariffs on China goods. Brace yourselves for another smackdown tomorrow.

pakabu

55 posts

Posted by pakabu > 2019-08-02 11:44 | Report Abuse

Now I hold for dividen..yum..yum..

HuatAh8809

355 posts

Posted by HuatAh8809 > 2019-08-02 13:11 | Report Abuse

Time to buy?

mukhriz02023

1,291 posts

Posted by mukhriz02023 > 2019-08-02 14:21 | Report Abuse

Semoga untung.