PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

-0.01 (0.15%)

6.83 - 6.89

10 people like this.

4,044 comment(s). Last comment by Sslee 2 days ago

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-03-14 10:45 | Report Abuse

Wait for next two quaters bad result and see whether can collect cheap cheap.

BobAxelrod

8,255 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod > 2023-03-14 10:47 |

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-03-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

Can consider collect some when price below Philip holding cost of RM 6.49

BobAxelrod

8,255 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod > 2023-03-14 10:49 | Report Abuse

6.50....that's way below the belt.

Phoebe

407 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2023-03-14 11:28 | Report Abuse

Mr. Philips holding cost is RM6.49? I thought it is about RM7.++

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2023-03-19 09:44 | Report Abuse

That is true. But also 1.45 in dividends total including the latest one to receive on the 23rd. Meaning my entire holdings had reduced to around rm5.05 post dividend since I bought the stock in 2019. This is also not including the margin stocks that I bought to leverage down previously and sold to remove the margin loan. In any case, a very good long term investment that I expect to pay off handsomely
>>>>>
hoebe

Mr. Philips holding cost is RM6.49? I thought it is about RM7.++

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-03-20 10:34 | Report Abuse

Look like need to wait longer for the next two quarters of bad result to collect below Philip entire holding cost of around RM 5.05 post dividend.

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-22 11:40 | Report Abuse

Bought Pchem 6.75! Cheers!

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-22 11:48 | Report Abuse

Bought Pchem 6.79! Cheers!

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-22 12:03 | Report Abuse

Bought 6.78! Cheers!

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-22 12:16 | Report Abuse

PChem has cash per share 1110 cents with strong dividend rate of 6%, ROE 15, and PE only 8! Cheers!

Posted by cfphoenix > 2023-03-23 00:04 | Report Abuse

Good luck (Same here - buy and hold).
5183 PCHEM 6.790 -0.030 236,100 7.546 1,781,610.600 1,603,119.000 -178,491.600 -10.019

Phoebe

407 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2023-03-25 14:45 | Report Abuse

PCHEM paid RM 11billon+ for the new aqusition of Perstorp and this investment contributed only RM 64 million profit? ).6% return? Is this right?

"If the acquisition had occurred on 1 January 2022, management estimates that consolidated revenue of the
Group would have been RM34,293 million and consolidated profit for the financial year would have been
RM6,391 million"

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-27 11:23 | Report Abuse

Congrats comrades who followed my buy call on Pchem! More upside to go! Cheers!

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-28 10:42 | Report Abuse

Yes, Huat Ah! Pchem you never disappoint me! Haha…

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-03-30 12:32 | Report Abuse

Haha… go go go Pchem! I m loving you… cheers!

myloh123

229 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-03-30 13:51 | Report Abuse

Aiyah...sudah lepas

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-03-30 16:17 | Report Abuse

Security LastPr PE DY% Divcts ROE ttm-marg
PCHEM (Chemicals) 7.09 8.97 5.8 41 16.19 21.8

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-01 16:50 | Report Abuse

Repost from Insas forum.
PetChem MD and CEO Mohd Yusri Mohamed Yusof already said: We expect the first half of 2023 to be challenging, as we continue to face slow demand and higher costs due to inflation, particularly for our business in Europe and the US.

So just be patient and wait for next two quarter to collect Pchem.

On Malaysian operations, he added that the group achieved higher production and sales volumes, while the plant utilisation rate reached 100%, from 97% in 3QFY2022. However, margins were significantly compressed in 4QFY2022, as prices of all products declined due to lower global demand.

“Higher operational costs also added to the pressure. Despite the market volatility, PetChem achieved commendable full-year net earnings that we are able to distribute to our shareholders,” it said.

Mohd Yusri said the reopening of China and relaxation of its Covid Zero policy are positive for the chemicals sector, especially for polymers and olefins, which have seen a slight recovery in recent weeks.

"Nevertheless, we remain cautious, as prices of petrochemical products will continue to fluctuate.

“For example, prices of urea have unexpectedly declined sharply, despite the ongoing Russia-Ukraine war. We expect the first half of 2023 to be challenging, as we continue to face slow demand and higher costs due to inflation, particularly for our business in Europe and the US.”
01/04/2023 4:49 PM

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-01 17:20 | Report Abuse

Is petrochemical boom and bust cycle will be getting more serious?

Saudi Aramco and its Chinese joint venture (JV) partners NORINCO Group and Panjin Xincheng Industrial Group have signed an agreement to build an oil refinery and petrochemical plant in northeast China.

The project is estimated to cost $12.2bn, reported Reuters citing Panjin Xincheng Industrial Group’s statement on WeChat.

Joint venture Huajin Aramco Petrochemical Company (HAPCO), will be responsible for the construction and operation of the oil refinery and petrochemical plant to be located in Liaoning province’s city of Panjin.

The refinery will comprise a 300,000 barrels per day (bpd) oil refinery and a petrochemical plant with an annual production capacity of 1.65 million tonnes (mt) of ethylene and 2mt of paraxylene. Construction of the refinery is planned to commence in the second quarter of 2023.

Aramco will supply up to 210,00bpd of crude oil feedstock to the integrated refining and petrochemical complex, which is expected to be operational by 2026.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-01 18:13 | Report Abuse

I just return a requested favor.

By the way I was the first from my kampung: Loring Keriang, Jalan Langgar, Alor Star, Kedah to study engineering in MU. Fortunately I managed to graduate.

Income Ahyah no fair we talked down Insas, Sslee buy cheap cheap.
Sslee since I already helped you here… Sslee, you at least help me to talk down PChem for me to buy cheap cheap. Ok kah?

10,393 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-04-01 23:12 | Report Abuse

Don’t worry. All have opportunities to earn here.

10,393 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-04-01 23:20 | Report Abuse

People who are unable to motivate themselves must be content with mediocrity, no matter how impressive their other talents."
- Andrew Carnegie

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-02 07:50 | Report Abuse

https://tradingeconomics.com/commodity/urea

Urea is now at record low USD310 perton.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-02 08:15 | Report Abuse

Quarter
Revenue
PBT
NP
NP to SH
NP Margin
ROE
EPS
DPS
NAPS
QoQ
31-Dec-2022 8,704,000 561,000 484,000 481,000 5.56% 1.23% 6.00 16.00 4.8800 -74.62%

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-02 08:26 | Report Abuse

According to Philip:
Pchem has 25% profit margins
50% of pchem revenues comes from urea or fertilizer. They have an ungodly gross margins on fertilizer.

Just wonder why quarter end 31th Dec 2022 NP Margin only a poor 1.23%?

50% of pchem revenues comes from urea and urea is now falling from USD1,000+ in May 2021 to USD 310 now. Not hard to see Pchem next 2 quarter result will be?

Philip ( buy what you understand)'s Portfolio: PHILIP FARMS TRACKED PORTFOLIO ON I3INVESTOR
Sep 11, 2022 7:26 PM | Report Abuse

Firstly. Pchem has 25% profit margins. Which is far more than every other comparable major petrochemical company.

Secondly 50% of pchem revenues comes from urea or fertilizer. They have an ungodly gross margins on fertilizer. Why?

Thirdly, neither basf, the Koreans, Japanese or the Americans have a major petrochemical processing center in South East Asia. Which means with the delay and difficulty and distance of transportation and logistics, the cheese stands alone.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-02 08:38 | Report Abuse

By the way someone did not know of Jurong Island in Singapore.

Jurong Island is home to many companies such as LANXESS, Afton Chemical, BASF, BP, Celanese, Evonik, ExxonMobil, DuPont, Mitsui Chemicals, Chevron Oronite, Shell, Singapore Petroleum Company Singapore Refining Company, Stepan Company, Petrochemical Corporation of Singapore, The Polyolefin Company, Chevron Phillips, Mitsui Elastomer, Baker Hughes and Sumitomo

In 2021, the output from petrochemicals manufacturing amounted to 38.61 billion Singapore dollars. In that year, the value of total chemicals manufacturing output was 92.39 billion Singapore dollars.

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-02 08:38 | Report Abuse

Sslee, you're right again. For last QR, Pchem Revenue was above 8 billion (higher than previous quarter) but their profits was a mere half billion (much lesser than previous by -74%)

UREA is mostly imported by the now War torn regions in the Baltic Seas and with higher transportation cost and lower demands....UREA has no markets...

On the contrary, China has replaced Russia as the main exporter of UREA to Europe and the Asia regions.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-02 08:53 | Report Abuse

Correction typo error.
Urea is now falling from USD1,000+ in April 2022 to USD 310 now.

Hope Philip will fully use his margin finance to buy more Pchem on the cheap.

10,393 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-04-02 10:16 | Report Abuse

Unprofit gestures.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-03 09:54 | Report Abuse

My fault typo error.
Correction.
Quarter end 31th Dec 2022 the NP margin is 5.56%, the 1.23 % is ROE.
For the next two quarters the NP margin% will/should be lower if urea, polymers and olefins price do not improve.

As of Philip claims below, it is most likely his misjudgement/misinformed/misunderstood at best or at worst a misinformation on purpose for vested interest.
What do you think? Am I right to say so?

Philip ( buy what you understand)'s Portfolio: PHILIP FARMS TRACKED PORTFOLIO ON I3INVESTOR
Sep 11, 2022 7:26 PM | Report Abuse

Firstly. Pchem has 25% profit margins. Which is far more than every other comparable major petrochemical company.

Secondly 50% of pchem revenues comes from urea or fertilizer. They have an ungodly gross margins on fertilizer. Why?

Thirdly, neither basf, the Koreans, Japanese or the Americans have a major petrochemical processing center in South East Asia. Which means with the delay and difficulty and distance of transportation and logistics, the cheese stands alone.
02/04/2023 8:26 AM

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-04 18:13 | Report Abuse

So now instead of the the cheese stands alone it become the cheese will be eaten alive for breakfast by China Petrochemical company like what has happen to Malaysia glove industry.

KUALA LUMPUR (April 4): China’s Rongsheng Petrochemical Co Ltd will invest up to RM80 billion for a refining facility in Pengerang, Johor, according to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

“The world’s largest petrochemical company Rongsheng has agreed to increase its activities in Malaysia with a petrochemical, oil and gas refining facility in Pengerang, with a project value of up to RM80 billion,” Anwar told the Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday (April 4).

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-04 18:39 | Report Abuse

Bob,
I am working hard here to promote selective information or misinformation for vested interest so that my BFF UM senior Philip can collect more Pchem cheaply and also me and many here to collect below his holding cost of RM 5.05 post dividend.

Urea
USD/T 307.50 drop another 2.50

James_Bond

2,416 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-04-06 09:24 | Report Abuse

I’m taking profits first. Be informed.

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-06 09:57 | Report Abuse

Sslee, be careful what you wish for, price dropping like a tonne of bricks. Your call of the chinese investments to compete, spooked them too.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-06 14:45 | Report Abuse

Petronas should has invested locally an international petrochemical hub in Malaysia long long ago. If they have done so, many Malaysians will then have a well paying jobs in specialize Petrochemical engineering instead of wasting money in twin tower and formula 1.

Just look at Singapore without any petroleum reserves they can developed an international petrochemical hub in Jurong island

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-06 14:48 | Report Abuse

You of all people should know where all the Petronas monies went, right?? Wink wink...

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-06 15:26 | Report Abuse

In Europe you can drive pass petrochemical complex that stretching on and on for many miles and employed thousand and thoudands of well paying skill workers.

Just wonder why this is not hapenning in Malaysia?

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-06 15:29 | Report Abuse

And you think, now that China is able and easily buy Oil from Russia AT LOWER prices, they would want to have a tiny plant in Malaysia. Perhaps, just to have a small impact in case what would happen to the chinese borders??

China has more than 965 Billion sq miles of vacant land for Petrochemical and manufacturing plants.............why choose to get out of China????

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-06 15:30 | Report Abuse

Please check the size of the chinese OnG giants as compared to Pet***

Pchem is a contender??? Like Gloves???

BobAxelrod33

2,261 posts

Posted by BobAxelrod33 > 2023-04-06 15:34 | Report Abuse

Be very, very careful what you wish for.........RM170 Billion investment from China?? Are you ready to face the onslaught of chinese conglomerates and the Company to be owned by them, WITHOUT FREE BUMI PARTICIPATION AND WITHOUT OWNERSHIP RESTRICTIONS? Otherwise, you expect them to give free lunches???

hhhiii123

695 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-04-06 18:55 | Report Abuse

The swing within a day so crazy one, fight amoung institutional investor lol

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2023-04-07 10:42 | Report Abuse

Interesting price movement....

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-04-07 10:44 | Report Abuse

ada rezeki

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-04-07 10:45 | Report Abuse

saudi already plans to build a plant in china. this is perhaps one of the projects to please malaysia or.. diversify..

Saudi Aramco strengthens China ties with two refinery deals

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-07 11:04 | Report Abuse

With Jan, Feb and March 2023 poor pricing of urea, methanol, polymers and olefins most likely the NP to SH for quater end 31th Mar 2023 will be poorer than quarter end 31/12/2022 of RM 481,000,000 or EPS of 6 cents.

10,393 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-04-07 11:42 | Report Abuse

Sslee, please work harder. I need your help. You are God of Gamblers. You can do it.

4,793 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-04-07 11:46 | Report Abuse

No worries, it look like just need to wait a bit longer for the poor next 2 quarter results to collect cheap cheap.

alibiii

150 posts

Posted by alibiii > 2023-04-07 15:05 | Report Abuse

Urea drop to the lowest in late March 2023 when it was about the same time PChem started to go up. Coincidence? Or someone already looks beyond the next quarter QR? We buy for future, not past. See what happend to glove counters lately