TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

11.82 - 11.90

22 people like this.

13,214 comment(s). Last comment by DividendGuy67 6 hours ago

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-11-24 09:00 | Report Abuse

Hopefully no more CM Tax next year. Foreign exchange losses and CM Tax seems to be across the board for KLSE major companies.

kong73

2,043 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-11-24 09:42 | Report Abuse

22billion registered to receive in their books. That is a lot of cash to receive

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 09:55 | Report Abuse

Hi Kim Sua, although I'm not a fan of theses "one off taxes", supposedly to help the Nation, I do accept it as long as it's a "one off". Although the company pays the tax it's actually coming out of the shareholders back pockets, by losing higher dividend benefits. Whichever group of politicians wins over Putrajaya it needs to come out with far more longer lasting initiatives than a CM Tax.

The cynic in me says that if the country had been run properly in the decades prior to Covid, it would have built a cash reserve for such events. Alas, way too much leakage and corruption meant that we, the shareholders of companies had to empty out our back pockets to "save the nation". I've done it once and don't want to do it again. Manage the country's finances a lot better!

Moving forward, I see no reason why Tenaga wont be able to deliver Rm1 Billion+ quarterly net profit figures consistently for next year and onwards.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 11:15 | Report Abuse

Not really related directly to Tenaga, well merely by default, but the market appears to be giving a clear sign that they prefer a Government led by PH and whichever components are added on. I'd say the market are using the BN statement about not aligning with PN as a positive. I trust and hope the collective Royals take consideration of this apparent indication.

Obviously not a surprise, considering the only other option available, imo.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 11:44 | Report Abuse

My opinion......yes.

Not a bull run, more like a mild relief rally.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 14:04 | Report Abuse

Seems like common sense and logic has prevailed.

I'm much more contented than I was last night.

ElijahYH

229 posts

Posted by ElijahYH > 2022-11-24 14:15 | Report Abuse

Tenaga Nasional Bhd (TNB), which posted a net profit of RM888.9mil in the third quarter ended Sept 30, 2022 (3Q22), anticipates a reasonable performance this year with electricity demand rising by 7.2% year-on-year (y-o-y) in line with Malaysia’s economic growth.

“Taking into consideration the challenging business environment, the group anticipates a reasonable performance for 2022.

“Nevertheless, the group remains cautious and has taken prudent measures in terms of its operational and financial requirements to ensure it remains resilient,” TNB said in a filing with Bursa Malaysia yesterday.

ElijahYH

229 posts

Posted by ElijahYH > 2022-11-24 14:15 | Report Abuse

The power utility said challenges remained as the ongoing high fuel price environment continued to put pressure on the group receivables balances.

TNB revenue jump 47% year-on-year to RM19.07bil in the third quarter on higher under-recovery of Imbalance Cost Pass-Through (ICPT) of RM6.1bil as compared to RM1.3bil in 3Q21.

Revenue for the nine-month period, without cost recovery of the ICPT, increased by 6.6% to RM37.95bil from RM35.59bil, attributed to the increase in TNB sales of electricity in all sectors.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 15:45 | Report Abuse

A new dawn........or just a bit of sunshine? :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zBoD_ojxFA

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-24 16:24 | Report Abuse

Anwar coming to rescue

kitchai2

78 posts

Posted by kitchai2 > 2022-11-24 16:25 | Report Abuse

Only going up from here

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-24 16:58 | Report Abuse

What a day!
Market closes up 4% on news that Anwar is to be the new PM.

I wonder what it would have closed at is Moo was named the new PM.
I hate to think!

For the sake of the economy and the country, I hope PH refuse to let PN join the coalition.........and I will never change my position on that.
I'm not political but I absolutely deplore bigotry and racism............end of rant :)

Ken Chung

77 posts

Posted by Ken Chung > 2022-11-24 17:16 | Report Abuse

amazing run up 50 sen and stillsrong

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-24 17:36 | Report Abuse

Prime Minister coming to rescue. Yeah

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-11-24 17:40 | Report Abuse

Yeah! After spring cleaning.

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-25 07:33 | Report Abuse

Took the opportunity to reduce some position to balance the my cash & equity.

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-11-25 11:41 | Report Abuse

Anwar stepped on the brake by announcing vote of confidence on Dec 19.
Expect profit taking and wait n see approach.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-25 11:55 | Report Abuse

A Parliamentary vote of confidence will not be an issue.

Any Party reneging on the agreements would not only be a slap in the face to the King and Sultans but would be more akin to kicking them where the sun doesn't shine.

Today's current weakness is far more linked to some profit taking this morning after a very hot and exuberant market yesterday.

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-11-25 12:01 | Report Abuse

Emotional assumption aside.
I would like to digest profit taking as an excuse for today's lethargic movement.
But what is the real effect of negative vote of confidence? It's wise to adopt W&C approach.
I do not trust the Malay politicians word.

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-25 12:31 | Report Abuse

I believed Anwar will survive the vote of confidence. Especially if there TPM from BN and east Malaysia. Furthermore, GPS has said they leave it to Agong wisdom and hence his royal highness has requested them to work together. Anwar being PM doesn't immediately chance the world economy neither Malaysia economy. In fact, the ICPT review this Jan will be very interesting. If you increase the ICPT for domestic/ commercial and industrial, it will not goes well with consumer. If don't it doesn't bode well for Tenaga

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-25 14:07 | Report Abuse

Phoebe, there are only two choices.
Either retain the subsidies or raise the tariff rates. Having a weakened Tenaga is of no use to the country or the government, especially with the cost of implementing a renewable energy source of power, which is a government initiative which they can't back down from.

The only possible third option is a combination of both, reducing the subsidies by a certain percentage and increasing the tariff to make up the shortfall.

IMO, of course.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-11-25 16:56 | Report Abuse

I think the Dec 19 confidence vote would turn out to be a non issue. The motion would be easily defeated. Investors aren't worried about the vote. It is unimaginable that any party would vote against the PH led government that it is a party of. Happenings in other countries are unlikely to have any bearings on us.

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-26 15:08 | Report Abuse

The good news is MYR strengthen against USD. This will help in TNB borrowing, interest payment and lower cost of fuel purchase. The not so good news is its receivables increase dramatically. They are require to borrow more money to run the operation and hence need to pay more interest but you dun get any interest from the receivables.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-27 14:21 | Report Abuse

PM X already mentioned electric subsidy for lower class will be maintained. Industrial and commercial user will definitely pay more. Good

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-27 15:40 | Report Abuse

They don't have to reinvent the wheel here regarding subsidies.

Other countries have been doing it for decades for those who need assistance with their utility bills, etc., so there should be no reason to be bogged down with semantics. Just get on with it.

The previous guy who was impersonating to look like a Finance Minister had been going on about it for over six months and it was still too hard for him to do..........err, hmmmmm....perhaps it was because an election was looming....could that have been the reason?

Of course it was.

Copy and paste whatever is shown to be practical in other nations and perhaps adjust it if you believe it can be marginally improved. Whatever scheme is implemented won't be liked by all, that's always going to be the case but at least a decision would have been made for a fairer system of subsidising.

There is no point in being like the previous Finance Minister doing "studies" for at least six months and coming up with.....nothing.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-29 09:36 | Report Abuse

Reasonable volume in the first half hour of trade, 900K.
Will it be able to break 8.90 and move into the 8.90 to 9.20/9.25 region in upcoming days?

Or more to the point,will the Funds take it there?

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-29 10:46 | Report Abuse

Raising tariff for Industrial and commercial will increase production cost and causes goods price to go up as well. It will cause inflation and it will somehow come back and hunt the lower group too.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:04 | Report Abuse

Once the targeted subsidy is implemented sure inflation will rise. Regardless electricity or others. Manufacturer or traders sure pass down the additional cost

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:13 | Report Abuse

Rather than using targeted subsidy better to have a quota for ppl to purchase petrol and etc. Once exceeded the quota then pay higher price. Same like electricity. Definitely the richer will consume more petrol and electricity and others necessities

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:15 | Report Abuse

Then manufacturer and traders will have less excuse to increase price. If they want to earn more then encourage ppl to buy more

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-29 15:32 | Report Abuse

Hi cwc1981, I foubt your quota idea would work, especially for petrol. Can you imagine the black market goons storing cans of petrol in their sheds?.......lol......I can picture it now, massive blazes across Malaysia :)

Malaysians have to face the reality of paying what it costs for electricity, with the vunerable being given some sort of protection, within limits. That's just a fact of life.......sorry for appearing too cynical but people need to take more responsibility of their lives.

Where's the responsibility of having 5 or 10 kids if you only earn Rm1,500 a month?

Perhaps I'm being too harsh?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-29 15:38 | Report Abuse

So far, a big volume day for Tenaga.
Has this puppy turned the corner?

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2022-11-29 15:46 | Report Abuse

Broke 9 bucks already

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:51 | Report Abuse

So long din see cloud 9

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:53 | Report Abuse

Hi Treetopview. I can almost certain not many responsible ppl around. Regardless in this country or other part.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-29 15:55 | Report Abuse

Just hope TNB can go higher. Haha

troy88

2,555 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-11-29 16:46 | Report Abuse

New govt, new hope?

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-11-29 18:33 | Report Abuse

I still think we will have klse bull run if.. Oil price trade average 90 /b... China clamps down on protest and open up naturally. 3) US inflation has a soft landing. 4) no futher escalation in ukraine war.;

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-30 12:11 | Report Abuse

Wake up liao

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-30 14:02 | Report Abuse

Surprise! Surprise.......TNB goes against gravity

Ken Chung

77 posts

Posted by Ken Chung > 2022-11-30 14:43 | Report Abuse

must be foreign funds

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-11-30 14:49 | Report Abuse

PM X really got Tenaga wor

Posted by kokchengkai > 2022-11-30 14:59 | Report Abuse

very long time nvr see Tenaga turn red to green then climb frm top loss to top gain .
guess izzit Tenaga planning giv special dividend again very soon

troy88

2,555 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-11-30 15:45 | Report Abuse

wow, very strong buying after long time in the doldrums. Must be foreign funds. The Anwar effect is showing..

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2022-11-30 15:51 | Report Abuse

Today Tenaga on steroids.....hahahaha

Amar

28 posts

Posted by Amar > 2022-11-30 15:53 | Report Abuse

almost 0.30 cents ...foreign funds looks like the most likely of reasons

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-11-30 16:15 | Report Abuse

Stock market somehow looks like a barometer for the country economy and also the PM. I guess this shows FF have full confidence in Anuar Ibrahim. Will the vote of confidence on 19th Dec further fuel the rise in KLSE?

Donator

967 posts

Posted by Donator > 2022-11-30 16:35 | Report Abuse

Is it my electricity bill will increase price soon?