TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

22 people like this.

13,215 comment(s). Last comment by speakup 57 minutes ago

Jeremytee

145 posts

Posted by Jeremytee > 2022-09-09 08:24 | Report Abuse

Today should dividend announcement.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-09 10:32 | Report Abuse

Tenaga's total borrowings exceed RM50 billion. Any hike in interest rate is a bane to the company, not a boon. No Heng, no Ong and no Huat. Too bad.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-12 08:24 | Report Abuse

It might be relevant or not...........

A 3 million shares short position covering in Tenaga in the latest net short position update, up to close of business last Thursday (September 8).
It's been gradually creeping down in recent weeks, around 50k and 100k+ units each day but this is the fisrt significant amount, 3,008,000 shares.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-13 12:31 | Report Abuse

0.13 % of ttl net short position as of yesterday. If they don't cover their shorts, their account will be deducted the due dividend amount. Not much change in as selling volume is still there. With the continuous slow covering of shorts, might see more institutions buying happening next few days. Very quite market recently.

planta2

46 posts

Posted by planta2 > 2022-09-13 17:16 | Report Abuse

Yay got 20cents

Posted by Stock beginner > 2022-09-13 19:42 | Report Abuse

anyone can share or explain current legal status with Inland Revenue?
Based on my understanding, high court already ruled that Tenaga is entitled to claim reinvestment scheme. However in one the announcement mentioned out of court settlement.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-14 08:12 | Report Abuse

US stocks might test the bottom again for the 2nd time. Expect the feds to raise interest rate until end of next year . Inflation will take longer to be tame until next year. ECB (european bank) rates will rise from 0.5% to 1.8% end 2023. Good news is Asia will do slightly better but we cannot decouple from the situation of high interest rate. BNM will continue to raise 0.25 % min every 3 months until end of next year. I think utilities and OnG will still be the choice for lowering risk investment in coming year and start preparing for this inevitable economic cycle.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-16 09:53 | Report Abuse

"TNB collects RM1.9 bil in ICPT payment from govt"
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/tnb-collects-rm19-bil-icpt-payment-govt

That's a start, keep the money flowing in please.

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2022-09-19 10:14 | Report Abuse

Foreign funds snap seven straight weeks of net inflow into Malaysian equities
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/foreign-funds-snap-seven-straight-weeks-net-inflow-malaysian-equities

Posted by Stock beginner > 2022-09-19 17:40 | Report Abuse

With cash recouped, I wonder how long will reach RM4.50

The_JQuestion

1,516 posts

Posted by The_JQuestion > 2022-09-19 23:30 | Report Abuse

4.50 ????????i will sell everything I have and buy...

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 07:22 | Report Abuse

Fed rate hike: US interest rates hit 14-year high in inflation battle
* By Natalie Sherman
* Business reporter, New York
21 September 2022, 19:01 BST
https://www.bbc.com/news/business-62973376.amp

The US central bank has pushed interest rates to the highest level in almost 15 years as it fights to rein in soaring prices in the world's largest economy.
The Federal Reserve announced it was raising its key rate by another 0.75 percentage points, lifting the target range to 3% to 3.25%.
Borrowing costs are expected to climb more - and remain high, the bank said.
The move comes despite mounting concern that the cost of controlling inflation could be a harsh economic downturn…

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 07:28 | Report Abuse

Wow, Fed Hikes Interest Rates 0.75 %
lifting the target range to a record high of 3% to 3.25%
Like that today Tenaga will be limit up already liao lah !

Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-22 07:49 | Report Abuse

Where to put our money? US is reeling in the US dollars that is for sure. Bank Negara better know what they are doing and not based on popular sentiments.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-22 08:22 | Report Abuse

KimSua, some people can see where this is heading but for now the majority either don't know or don't want to know. Once it hits their own pockets then all the shouting and finger pointing will commence.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-22 10:43 | Report Abuse

That is the problem. Cash is king during recession pauper during high inflation. Both recession risk and inflation during this stagflation phenomena is really confusing on investment. Balance portfolio might be the best bet now. See no road.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-24 07:21 | Report Abuse

US stocks testing the bottom for 2nd time. Will it hold and Hv bear market rally or nose dive further. I think it will hold and Hv a rally and test the bottom again before cycle is over. Mid next year. Better go defensive and stay clear on technology stocks. Hang on .

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-24 09:22 | Report Abuse

KimSua, it's a tough call to make right now about the Dow and the overall US and global markets, if it wasn't for a 350 point rally in the last hour of Friday's trading it would have closed considerably uglier.
The US interest rate hikes seem to still be on the agenda for at least the foreseeable future so even a minor upward move in their market will probably be met with more volatility. Even taking a glance at the 3 year Dow chart gives me even more concerns.

How the above comments translate to our Malaysian market is hard to gauge, well for me anyway. Sentiment is always a good indicator of how the market will perform, so I'm not taking any comfort in thinking the KLCI will do anything to break the trend or sentiment. Current "underpriced" blue chips may remain that way for some time to come unless sentiment changes, although that doesn't sound doable.

I was bullish on the banks earlier this year but that hasn't played out as strongly as I'd anticipated, although the dividends and a mild upward price move have made them a reasonable investment, to date

My keyword for the short term and through to at least mid 2023 (fpr now) is volatility.....so be prepared :)

My personal view of the Malaysian economy isn't too inspiring either. The changes that the Government should have made in subsidies should have been in place by now but the delay, in my opinion, is merely due to the elections. The "unbiased" (ho ho ho) Finance Minister is eager to remove many subsidies, mainly power and fuel, but is delaying that until after the election. Once the majority of those subsidies are removed then we have yet another new game in the Malaysian economy........and it won't be sunshine, lollipops and rainbows :)

Have a good weekend, KimSua.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-24 12:03 | Report Abuse

http://www.worldgovernmentbonds.com/ I Hv checking on the world bond price and the inverted yield of many countries that signals recession. The numbers are coming in aggressively for the last quarter signalling clearly global recession is happening. Asia is still OK maybe by a few quarters . Should we sell all and hold cash or mutual funds bond funds? Until the storm passes n

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-25 09:39 | Report Abuse

KimSua, is it a sign of surrender once you start using these boys?.....lol

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-26 08:14 | Report Abuse

:) never give up never surrender your wealth to Government ! Hedge against inflation is a must but which instrument is the best ? Tenaga will be able to withstand the storm better than other non necessary business. I still think oil price will not go down that much due to the supply issue will off set the demand reduction, average USD 100 . I will diversified more towards this two scenario. With interest rate height until end of next year, foresee more non performing loans and reduction of loan demand. The technology manufacturing industry is preparing of huge slowdown, budgets are being cut due to huge slowdown of demand forecasted. This is what i think will happen, Banks and Technology will not do well, better stay clear. But generally September is bad on stocks (portfolio reporting and rebalancing) and should see institution investor start plan out their portfolio based on the expectation of global recession and the scenario mention above. Good luck, choppy days ahead .

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-09-26 10:19 | Report Abuse

Sifus that called for 9.50, 9.80. Can pump for my lunch money please? Thank you

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2022-09-26 12:26 | Report Abuse

Hoping to top up at 8

razmry

104 posts

Posted by razmry > 2022-09-26 20:19 | Report Abuse

Why this counter still solid? Did not fall below RM8.

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2022-09-26 22:19 | Report Abuse

Participation Participation % Bought (RM Mil) Sold (RM Mil) Net (RM Mil)
Foreign 29.31% 352 571 -218
Local Institution 44.89% 779 634 145
Local Retail 25.81% 443 370 73
Total 100.00% 1,574 1,574 0

Foreign keep on selling, but local funds and retailers are supporting .... not sure how long they can stand :-)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-09-28 08:43 | Report Abuse

Short covering is still going on in Tenaga, with a tad over 1.1 million shares covered in the last three trading days, to COB on Monday 26th September.
It now brings down the short percentage to 0.10%.

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-28 22:50 | Report Abuse

DJ +300...tmrw ex div should be green

thye82

114 posts

Posted by thye82 > 2022-09-29 10:22 | Report Abuse

Wanna ask...if u sell on ex date...will still get the dividend?

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-29 10:35 | Report Abuse

Yes, today can sell

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-29 10:42 | Report Abuse

Ya...Good sign short percentage has gone down gradually to 0.1 %. Btw If you sell on ex date. You will not get the dividend .

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-29 10:56 | Report Abuse

Hahaha..according to who?...ex date can sell ady...check with any stockbroker

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-29 12:06 | Report Abuse

Exit... bye..good counter but market sentiment not in favour...reenter@7.90...good luck

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-29 14:42 | Report Abuse

"Wanna ask...if u sell on ex date...will still get the dividend?"
Tenaga trades ex-dividend today. If you sell today, of course you are going to receive the 20 sen a share dividend on 14th Oct.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-09-29 14:53 | Report Abuse

Yes correct, i got it wrong , if you buy you will not get the dividend. Sorry mis leading

Posted by ismetulamraja > 2022-09-29 15:18 | Report Abuse

buy today as good as holding the stock yesterday. maybe even better .. since stock price drop higher than dividend

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-09-29 15:50 | Report Abuse

My key levels to maintain bullish MS

1) 8.200- 8.275

2) 7.99-8.05

Losing the lows will indicate weakness and i will look for lower levels.

-----------------------------------

First key support level tapped.

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-09-29 16:07 | Report Abuse

No news, no articles , no BS, no hindsight. CCpool send our regards

Zackmeiser

309 posts

Posted by Zackmeiser > 2022-09-29 20:34 | Report Abuse

Difficult to be public listed company but margins controlled by government. Probably wont bankrupt at the very least.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-30 10:08 | Report Abuse

After adjusting for the 20 sen dividend, Tenaga has still dropped by about 70 sen from its recent peak. Maybank has dropped by only 20 sen. As long as the Ringgit keeps depreciating against the US Dollar and interest rates keep going up, Tenaga's share price will remain subdued.

Kenokaya

167 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2022-09-30 12:14 | Report Abuse

Turun lebih byk dari dividen ni adoi

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-09-30 12:19 | Report Abuse

Malakof 2.0 ! TNB will drop to rm 4.xx within 5 years , not worth to invest !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-30 17:07 | Report Abuse

TNB is facing strong headwinds due to rising interest rates and a depreciating Ringgit visavis the US Dollar. It has over RM50 billion in borrowings, including 2 billion borrowings in US$. Tenaga's woes should be over latest by end of next year.

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-09-30 18:28 | Report Abuse

Those that did not TP almost gave all back or underwater now. Ok lah at least got dividend :P

Boyour

41 posts

Posted by Boyour > 2022-10-01 09:02 | Report Abuse

WHEN DAMN POLITICIAN AS A CHAIRMAN..DO NOTHING AND JUST SITTING ON HIGH PAY

flyhub888

471 posts

Posted by flyhub888 > 2022-10-02 00:27 | Report Abuse

topglove 2.0

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-02 14:47 | Report Abuse

Let's short Tenaga tomorrow with all our available resources. Don't waste any more time.

dragon328

1,898 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2022-10-02 20:29 |

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-10-03 10:31 | Report Abuse

Retails bearish and trying to short at the lows again? Hahaha. We are at important support region.

Kenokaya

167 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2022-10-03 10:44 | Report Abuse

Tenaga tak bertenaga lagi…duit sudah sangkut sini, nangis pun tak guna