TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

11.82 - 11.90

22 people like this.

13,214 comment(s). Last comment by DividendGuy67 4 hours ago

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-30 17:02 | Report Abuse

I'm assuming the rise over the last two days and the hot close this afternoon is due to the MSCI November 30 rebalancing.
Banks have been lacklustre today after reporting solid quarterlies yesterday, again probably due to the same reason. Perhaps banks will get off their backside now that the rebalancing is completed today.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-11-30 17:07 | Report Abuse

4.1 million of today's total Tenaga volume done in the closing auction.

13 million of RHB's total volume done in the closing auction.
I don't have the auction volumes for the other banks but it's clear they are also high volume in the auction.

Sierra

7 posts

Posted by Sierra > 2022-11-30 17:49 | Report Abuse

Bursa end at a vary auspicious number, 1488,80 ... huat ah...

RWG

1,051 posts

Posted by RWG > 2022-11-30 19:18 | Report Abuse

iphone factory should move from china to msia

Ken Chung

77 posts

Posted by Ken Chung > 2022-11-30 19:48 | Report Abuse

sold some lots at 9.25.intending to buy back when it drops! look what happened

Ken Chung

77 posts

Posted by Ken Chung > 2022-11-30 19:48 | Report Abuse

sold some lots at 9.25.intending to buy back when it drops! look what happened, price went higher

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-01 07:37 | Report Abuse

Can sell end of rebalancing, if wish to get some cash for the holiday :) Glad to know TNB has got better weightage this round maybe due all the ESG activities and commitment announcement lately. The rest of the operational indicators remains intake except for the high ESG commitment. ESG places so much weight for companies lately due to the green agenda. Not sure how will the local institution rebalancing work now that have seen MSCI decision.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-01 09:25 | Report Abuse

Good volume again in the first half hour, 820K.

Phoebe

406 posts

Posted by Phoebe > 2022-12-01 11:43 | Report Abuse

Take opportunity to further reduce 10% of my position. Very comfortable now. If reduce further if it touch RM 10, ......lol

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2022-12-01 17:05 | Report Abuse

Touched 9.50 during auction....

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-01 17:07 | Report Abuse

yep, Deekay........almost 1.4 million went through at 9.50 during the closing auction.

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2022-12-01 17:16 | Report Abuse

Hope this price level of around 9.30-9.40 built its support as much as possible ...hehehe. Can challenge to touch 9.80 and beyond. :p

Posted by Bursascreener > 2022-12-01 18:01 | Report Abuse

Price above the 20, 50 & 200 moving averages which indicates the bullish strength. I will wait to retrace and price back to around 9.42. DM for more info on stocks, and how to select the stocks.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-02 13:18 | Report Abuse

With the current volume and spikes, we need to look at the last end of bull cycle April 2018 trading above 16+. Will the bull return after ~5 years. This always coincide with strong oil price above 80+ Ideally average at 100 for a longer period of time. And USD index has to weakend to average 100~. Cureenntly moving down from 114 to 104. Have to monitor the Oil price as well... The rest of the indicators are just short term movement. Good luck, still good potential the bull will return. Not sure about the conflicting global economy meltdown concern. Can malaysia benefit as a safe haven for economic growth within SEA/Asean country?

furball

19 posts

Posted by furball > 2022-12-02 15:17 | Report Abuse

Hi everyone, i am relatively new to the market roughly about two years. I have made some and lose some. But developments in the last three months where I made the most loss … made me think about the amount of money I should commit in the stock market. I am not sure whether I am putting too much, too little or just right. Could anyone share whats their view of average amount typically people put in stock to play on their own

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-12-02 16:45 | Report Abuse

No right or wrong. Just make sure the money invested is not require for expenses. Just in case the share purchased stuck at higher price

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-12-02 16:46 | Report Abuse

My opinion is hold some quality stock like banking and utilities.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-03 14:06 | Report Abuse

Hi KimSua, I like your optimism but I think it's a bit too early to bring out the balloons and party poppers.

Although I think we may see a mildly stronger KLCI in the short term, possibly most of it will come from window dressing in some sectors leading up to year end and also a small amount from hope that a new government might start making a difference.

We also need to separate the facts from the bullshit. As an example I've just read a news report quoting Mat Sabu's thoughts on the strength of the Ringgit and citing it's recent move caused by the new government. (see below).

Mat Sabu stated..."The change of government and the appointment of the prime minister (Anwar Ibrahim) have led to a sharp increase in the strength of our currency. We hope this will be maintained and continue to improve in the future.
The cost of food imports will be cheaper if our currency continues to strengthen. That is our hope and the increase is indeed incredible within 10 days after the election,”

Let's be brutally frank, that is bullshit.

The MAIN reason the Ringgit has strengthened is due to the US Dollar weakening. In the past month it has fallen from 1.14 to 1.04. If the US$ Index was to remain at 1.04 and the Ringgit keeps getting stronger then I'd be more of a believer :)

For me it's far too early to speculate on how the market will perform next year, as there is still a strong possibility of very serious headwinds.
For now, I'd be more than happy to see a mini rally in the KLCI from now to the end of the year or mid January 2023.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-03 14:16 | Report Abuse

For reference, the article I took the quote from in my previous post.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/12/03/mohamad-hopes-strengthening-of-ringgit-will-lower-food-import-costs/

furball

19 posts

Posted by furball > 2022-12-04 00:52 | Report Abuse

Tq cwc1981. Certainly not playing with expense money. The situation is that, currently the amount i am putting in the market to manage on my own is roughly about 10% of my total pension+savings. Would that be deemed as too much or imprudent? I am in mid forties and hope will be able to retire and pursue my interest after retirement. Appreciate the community views here. Many thanks in advance.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-04 06:22 | Report Abuse

Ttv. Yes the rise of usd is just good timing and i am tracking dollar index not usd/myr pair alone. anwar n team cannot influence this and also the oil price. Ok to be bullish and not foolish but shorterm momentum is certainly there. If us feds announce 50 basis hike this dec, be prepare for another potential positive movement. Lets monitor this. Hardest decision is when to sell.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-04 09:15 | Report Abuse

Kim Sua, I think you meant the decline of the US$.

MAX8186

64 posts

Posted by MAX8186 > 2022-12-04 19:37 | Report Abuse

furball: I have retired for 6 years. Most of my retirement funds is invested in good quality stocks. Utilities and banks are my favorites. They pay good dividends and equity gain. Before you invest in any company, make sure you do a background check. You also need to know about international and local politics. They cause the market to go north or south. Know about a company's long term and short term plans and projections. There are so much to read about and nothing is free. Do your homework. At the moment, I have made quite tidy a sum as buffer for any downfall. I suggest you put a small amount on property shares. I expect some returns in 3 to 6 months' time (if you are positive on the economy).

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-12-05 12:19 | Report Abuse

Last week gain gone

Nepo

3,290 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2022-12-05 13:32 | Report Abuse

this afternoon can PULL UP or not?

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-05 13:50 | Report Abuse

Profit taking by retailers, low volume drop not a real concern . Hopefully PN don't create another move to take over. BTW TTV, you are right my bad typo ,USD drops. Sorry i didn't proof read it.

furball

19 posts

Posted by furball > 2022-12-05 17:08 | Report Abuse

Thank you MAX8186 for sharing your thoughts. Taking note of the home work needed and the sectors recommended. Your comments have given me some assurance about my portfolio size. Reason I am asking this question because while I am beginning to be comfortable with 20k fluctuation in value of my portfolio, volatility in recent September of nearly 50k makes me think twice about whether I am allocating too much to manage by myself... thankfully now it is looking better than before. Cheers!

Novice296

125 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2022-12-06 09:36 | Report Abuse

my opinion to all based on 20 years of investing experience, talk aside bluechips, stock market makes you lose more especially in MY stock market. Rumors and analyst article, news, are the common tricks in their game plan. I encourage folks to deposit money in the KWSP as guaranteed and high return investment. Those disagreed with me where you make big bucks, tell me if you ever lose big time or the so call "big buck" vanished over time?

furball

19 posts

Posted by furball > 2022-12-06 14:06 | Report Abuse

Thank you Novice296 for your thoughts. I also share your thoughts. In the early days, I am quite content with leaving my retirement fund managed by KWSP and they often give good returns circa 6% plus. But recently, the KWSP returns have been not so great i.e. around 5% plus. And with global recession expected, dividend rate may fall further. Having said that 70% of my retirement fund is already managed by KWSP. Am hoping to get better returns by investing directly in the stock market, mainly the blue chips. I am careful not to touch the seasonal or speculative ones. My curiosity is whether my asset allocation of 10% being self managed is exposing my retirement fund to too much risk. My goal is to beat KWSP returns on consistent basis and getting somewhere around 8% would be sweet.

furball

19 posts

Posted by furball > 2022-12-06 14:10 | Report Abuse

Perhaps one question to the experienced traders in this forum, is getting 8% return on consistent basis from self investing in the stock market possible or a reasonable expectation?

dragon328

1,898 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2022-12-06 15:33 | Report Abuse

for those interested in knowing more about the power business in Singapore, can read this at your leisure

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/dragon328/2022-12-06-story-h-303952239-YTL_Power_the_Rising_Power_in_Singapore

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-06 15:49 | Report Abuse

KLSE index flag pole forming and flag pattern near the end. Might see a breakout next few days. TNB, usually will follow suit. Furball , risk assessment will be based on our competent levels in analysis both technical and fundamentals. Need to learn both at least to basic level and look at near certain confirmation before you buy/sell, then should be fine. Ya the learning will also keep our mind sharp. Good luck, not a recommendation to buy/sell.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-07 08:25 | Report Abuse

Total short selling rise up to 0.19%. Stable last 2 trading sessions. Yesterday was negligible short 1.5k shares. Shorts continue even at heavy buying support last week. Lets see if it can break out. If today can maintain above 9.05 will be a good sign.

Donator

967 posts

Posted by Donator > 2022-12-07 14:41 | Report Abuse

All Sifu, can i know where can i see the short selling amount?

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-08 07:27 | Report Abuse

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/market_statistic/securities . Go to bursa market information. Net short position to look at quick overall trend and total short selling the details. Yesterday, a bit of shake out at the last minute but maintain above 9.05 resistance. Let's see if today can hold consistently before the big boys start to accumulate. No certainty in life though.

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-08 07:42 | Report Abuse

I suspect the volume will be low until the next event trigger of the US rate hike in Dec14 (wed nite). If the feds raise 0.5% vs0.75% then is a good sign the tightening is easing and foreign institution might return to equity. Not sure how local institution will play this but the most analysis are projecting an easing of the rate hike .

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-09 10:06 | Report Abuse

Perhaps worth reading if you are a shareholder, as it does have some important info. to me anyway.
I'd disregard their target price, unless you are planning to hold for a long time :)

Released this morning...
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/hleresearch/2022-12-09-story-h-303865031-Tenaga_Nasional_Tenaga_Confident_of_ICPT

tim09

209 posts

Posted by tim09 > 2022-12-09 20:39 | Report Abuse

If the war slows down and coal prices normalise, with the rebates from icpt fulfill RM 11-12 by feb next year

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-10 12:22 | Report Abuse

Next Friday, 16th, is another QWD "event".

Whether we will see anything similar from local Instos as we did with the recent MSCI interest in Tenaga is an unknown. We might see a price and volume upward move starting around Wednesday afternoon or Thursday morning if the local Instos have similar conviction to MS.

Any price weakness early in the week MIGHT be an opportunity to join the game for possible moves late in the week, or closing auction on Friday.

No guarantees though.

ccpool

318 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2022-12-13 14:21 | Report Abuse

7.99 Key Level tapped to the exact bottom of this bounce. CCpool sniper precision.
----------------------

Sifus that called for 9.50, 9.80. Can pump for my lunch money please? Thank you

---------------------
Ask and you shall receive. Thank you ser

KimSua

418 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-12-13 15:59 | Report Abuse

Boring until Thursday and Friday. The flag pole and flag pattern still intact and generally TNB/KLSE is on a mild uptrend, i think will test the recent high 9.50. Yep nothing is certain.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-12-14 11:02 | Report Abuse

PM X sounded already

Posted by mohdnasrim > 2022-12-16 10:07 | Report Abuse

Tenaga Nasional Bhd that it has received a letter of intent (LOI) for the development of a 2,100 megawatt (MW) combined cycle power plant in Kapar.

Posted by mohdnasrim > 2022-12-16 10:09 | Report Abuse

LOI was awarded by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources to TNB’s wholly-owned unit TNB Power Generation Sdn Bhd (TPGSB), said TNB without disclosing the amount of the project.

Posted by MohamedAqil > 2022-12-16 10:28 | Report Abuse

Bagus. IBs mula menunjukan pandangan positif terhadap Tenaga

EVemily

30 posts

Posted by EVemily > 2022-12-16 11:14 | Report Abuse

Tenaga Nasional Bhd (TNB) expects the EV market to have grown to 18,000 charging points for 524,409 battery EVs on the road by 2030, with an annual electricity revenue of RM1.25 billion.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-12-16 21:42 | Report Abuse

Does this means the surcharge for commercial and industry increase to 20cents per kW? Instead of current 3.7 cents?