TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

11.86 - 11.94

22 people like this.

13,215 comment(s). Last comment by speakup 3 days ago

Novice296

125 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2023-03-02 16:04 | Report Abuse

The board declared a final single-tier dividend of 26 sen per share, with the payment date to be announced in due course, bringing the year’s total to 46 sen per share.

the year - their financial year? our calendar year?

Novice296

125 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2023-03-02 16:04 | Report Abuse

anyone has issue accessing the MYTNB portal?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-03-02 16:14 | Report Abuse

Tenaga's financial year is the same as the calendar year.

FY22 ended on December 31, 2022.

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2023-03-02 16:59 | Report Abuse

Yo-yo back...

TTT, like you say, we must have the stomach to take in swings like this...hahaha

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-03-02 17:21 | Report Abuse

Hi Deekay, correct as we are mere pawns in the bigger picture, so have to ride the waves.

One mildly interesting point, since the release of the quarterly there has been very little shorting.......48k on Tuesday and 100 shares yesterday.
Prior to that there had been very little shorting, perhaps a few days of 10k or so but they were never added to the net short position, as they were shorted and covered on the same day. For 8 trading days prior to the quarterly there was no net change to the overall short positions.

Not earth shattering news but I find it mildly interesting.

I'll be a bit happier if it breaks above 9.44 and heads to 9.62 in the short term. Ex Date should be around the 30th March, imo.

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-03-03 09:03 | Report Abuse

I was a bit concern on the tues start of short due to no buying power, support the 48K translate to 30 cents drop. But the buying support did come in. I think fundamentals are too strong will be foolish to short it further and reach its real value/TP. Its the macro economy that is jittery at the moment impacting the big funds.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-03-04 09:51 | Report Abuse

It was a toss up between doing a morning of gardening, or having a lazy breakfast and looking at some charts........thankfully my brain chose the easier option :).
So, I'll do some word doodling on my thoughts on the KLCI and perhaps a bit on Tenaga. Don't yawn, guys, I'm only trying to entertain myself :)

Firstly, the KLCI.........yet another lacklustre week with the previous Friday's close of 1,456 and yesterday's close (Friday) of 1,453. Not a lot to get excited about there, although there was a period of mild concern on Wednesday. I'd targetted 1,440- 1,445 as a bit of a danger area and didn't want to see the KLCI close below 1,440. When it hit an intraday low of 1,444 my immediate concern was that a breakdown could possibly lead to an eventual drop to 1,420.
Thankfully it bounced and finished on Wednesday at 1,450, and since then it has ever so slightly eased up.

If I was to use my gut feeling (a new technical term :) ), I'd say the 1,440- 1,445 will hold and not be broken. I've really got nothing tangible to make that claim, other than my own personal sentiment. A break below 1,440 is probably not out of the question and a new target of 1,420 would come into play......but for now I'm betting against that happening, particularly now that many companies have just delivered their quarterlies and we know the good and bad to take notice of.

The KLCI currently needs a catalyst to give it some momentum and I'm not too sure where that will come from yet. Whether the "some companies are oversold in the KLCI" mantra will work to engage new buyers is yet to be seen, although it is a good reason for the likes of EPF and other Fund managers to give some of the KLCI components a bit of a tickle.

Onto Tenaga.........it's probably fair to say (obvious) that the quarterly wasn't received well by some. To me, some of the perceived positives and negatives are probably up for debate but we'd probably end up going round in circles if we were to try.
The bottom line is that the price fell once it was released, no argument there. What has been a surprise is the total lack of new shorts, keeping in mind that it was trading recently at 9.90 to 10.00. It seems odd that the Funds didn't use those price points as an area to batter the stock. It didn't happen and I view that as a plus.

Fib. points were broken all the way down BUT it didn't break below 9.15 which was a minor victory, as it bounced off 9.18. The current daily trade of choice is to knock it back down on small volume in early morning trade, then consolidate, then move up towards closing. Currently sitting at 9.40, I'd like to see a break of 9.44 then a move towards our old friend 9.62 to keep any short term momentum going.

In closing, some of the charts I have looked at this morning are showing early signs of a potential upward move in the next week or two, so my leaning is towards an eventual upward move of the KLCI. How weak or strong that move could be is impossible to tell, imo.

If you've lasted this long in reading this crap, well done!! It could be worse, I could be sitting next to you in a pub and I could go on for hours...lol

Have a great weekend, Tenagers.

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2023-03-04 14:48 | Report Abuse

Hehehe… thanks for the long write up, TTV. Read everything. I have also notice about the morning sell down and afternoon climb. Manage to get a little on Friday morning and the price climbed already after the break. I guess the next week will be the same.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-03-05 21:29 | Report Abuse

yeah TNB will be sending Bills to its own substations since all Johor districts under flood

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-05 21:48 | Report Abuse

Super undervalued

flyhub888

472 posts

Posted by flyhub888 > 2023-03-06 19:23 | Report Abuse

super duper undervalue ..

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-03-07 15:48 | Report Abuse

When we get worried about our investment's decision, we tend to research more ! But with TNB a strong barometer for the KLSE and country economy, I am lest worried. This week we will know if Bank Negara will raise interest rates or hold it till the next meeting. With USD strengthening again, hopefully they will react faster. We have to monitor the dollar index to see where the money will flow and also oil prices seems to benefit MYR. Anyway most analyst project USD to weakened by 2nd half of the year. China opening will also help in this as a top trading partner. Slow and steady my dear friend. KLSE is not so easy to make money anymore, I was hoping for a better days ahead, but still no sign of the bull.

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2023-03-08 14:44 | Report Abuse

The bull needs some red bulls to stay awake... :D

Kenokaya

167 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2023-03-08 15:41 | Report Abuse

Betol ker dividend 26 sen?

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-08 19:24 | Report Abuse

Betul dun worry

James Ng

2,679 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2023-03-09 20:33 | Report Abuse

[转贴] [Video:浅谈TENAGA NASIONAL BERHAD, TENAGA, 5347] - James的股票投资James Share Investing
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/general/2023-03-09-story-h-296298027

47,667 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-03-11 15:22 | Report Abuse

Tenaga can generate profit but high debt. This is typical utilities company. Avoid in the mean time

Posted by LadyRepins > 2023-03-11 20:05 | Report Abuse

".. additional assessment (“Notice”) dated 13 July 2020 for the sum of RM1,812,506,384.64 for the year of assessment 2018 by the Inland Revenue Board of Malaysia (“IRB”) .."

There's an announcment from TNB wrt; I wonder how does this impact TNB share price? Court hearing is 19th Sep 2023.

hhhiii123

695 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-03-12 16:42 | Report Abuse

just buy, very strong result next qtr, after Jun government going imposed higher tariff on MNC again and maybe T20, buy buy buy and collect dividend

Cozy90

14 posts

Posted by Cozy90 > 2023-03-15 16:13 | Report Abuse

Getting stronger, dividend 99

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-15 17:12 | Report Abuse

Dividend 99?

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-03-16 07:38 | Report Abuse

Another red sea today? Banking will take a hit today. Recession proof stocks should weather it better. Coal price continue to drop to nearly 60% from peak mid 2022. Oil price drop inverse with us dollar index. I strongly believe will not be a contagion similar to Lehman Brothers. The big banks are now very regulated including in malaysia. However confidence is shaken and people will move to less risky financial assets like treasury bonds which short term yield is more then the long term. (inverted yield curve) . I will wait and see how the market moves and how bad the banks gets hit. Hang on tight

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-16 07:55 | Report Abuse

limit up!

hw0706

741 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2023-03-17 14:05 | Report Abuse

TNB SPLIT UNIT..

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-17 15:19 | Report Abuse

Separate listing?

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-17 15:19 | Report Abuse

Or share split?

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-17 15:22 | Report Abuse

long time ago, there was market talk about TNB splitting company into 2. one in power generation, one in power distribution. but it was denied by TNB. end of story
will it be revived?

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

Last year TNB official got mentioned going to list RE division to raise capital for renewable energy. It this coming?

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-03-17 15:45 | Report Abuse

Genco IPO process already started, will take 1-2 years 2024 earliest based on last year reports.

Cakes Moon

6,801 posts

Posted by Cakes Moon > 2023-03-22 22:15 | Report Abuse

Great defensive stock!!!
Amazing dividend payout plan & potential to go all the way back to RM15!!!

flyhub888

472 posts

Posted by flyhub888 > 2023-03-23 00:32 | Report Abuse

agree this stock is amazing defensive stock. buy and hope to get dividen like kwsp. plus point capital gain

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-03-23 13:28 | Report Abuse

Glad the SVB /Swiss credit financial issue did not escalate further to be a global credit issue. Still volatile but less risk now. Tenaga should hold well . Dollar index going down again and if oil price maintains around 75-80 will help global inflation . US FED tightening will end soon in another 3-6 months at least with one more rate hike. Bank negara expect to raise another 0.25 within the next few months. Hope to see clear sky ahead :)

NESARAJAH1

394 posts

Posted by NESARAJAH1 > 2023-03-23 17:15 | Report Abuse

KimSua, u talk facts. Thank you

kong73

2,043 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2023-03-23 20:06 | Report Abuse

Coal price is less than Us140

25,091 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-23 20:37 | Report Abuse

Besok limit up

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-24 12:18 | Report Abuse

New Chairman profile looks not bad wor

M55555

946 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-29 16:46 | Report Abuse

Ini hari tak cukup tenaga. Ini macam besok ex date mungkin layu..

morganlee

341 posts

Posted by morganlee > 2023-03-30 09:25 | Report Abuse

TNB, why is my phone service so slow?... i complained so many times arleady

Deekay

163 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2023-03-30 10:42 | Report Abuse

Didn't know TNB takes care of phone service too...Hehe

cwc1981

977 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-30 11:17 | Report Abuse

No electricity kua

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-04-04 07:51 | Report Abuse

Opec cuts production and oil price shoots up. Opec reacted as biden openly mention US will not refilled their strategic reserves and China demand of extra 1 mil a day is not happening. Will mean FEDs will need to prolong interest hike to cool inflation and reduce demand/consumption. On the flip site oil price increase means less money will be put into the economy as people will spend more at the pump station, thus core inflation is better controlled. Money to flow to oil rich countries vs those net importer. Economist is trying hard to predict global economies by looking at where the money will flow during the recovery. Simply says, put your money in oil or the banks. (petrol dollar vs us dollar). So malaysia tends to win if petrol dollar wins. Anyway TNB wins if malaysia GDP continue to be stable.

qcmboy

170 posts

Posted by qcmboy > 2023-04-07 11:13 | Report Abuse

Just buy in 30%.
If drop to 8.5 and 8 will buy in more 30% each.

Henryjohny

717 posts

Posted by Henryjohny > 2023-04-07 11:28 | Report Abuse

Government plan to shaken up energy sector ...

qcmboy

170 posts

Posted by qcmboy > 2023-04-10 09:13 | Report Abuse

So many hammer K line. Look like big shark keep buying in this price. keep the 30% stock level now and 70% bullet wait for 8.5 and 8 if give chances. But look like it will not come down back.

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-04-10 11:14 | Report Abuse

Ya, good observation @qcmboy, the bear is getting weaker and the bull is about to engage. It has been a long wait ....

Posted by whyohdeeay > 2023-04-10 19:56 | Report Abuse

Re: TreeTopView TENAGA didn't drop below 9.15, that was the price target ex-dividend, so if it's also fib supported then should be a strong support (and watch point).

qcmboy

170 posts

Posted by qcmboy > 2023-04-11 10:04 | Report Abuse

Instituition now want to wash out small retail so they can push up fast later. Dont sell now and dont top up now also.

KimSua

420 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2023-04-11 16:17 | Report Abuse

At least more volume seen, shorts follow by heavy purchase...for the last few days...thus the hammer candle seen. Might be similar pattern today.

qcmboy

170 posts

Posted by qcmboy > 2023-04-11 18:56 | Report Abuse

Anybody got wash out today?