KUMPULAN FIMA BHD

KLSE (MYR): KFIMA (6491)

+0.07 (3.52%)

2.04 - 2.08

14 people like this.

3,733 comment(s). Last comment by Ayong21 2 days ago

Yuming

548 posts

Posted by Yuming > 2013-09-19 11:22 | Report Abuse

Mean this counter cant go in at all????

UpDown

63 posts

Posted by UpDown > 2013-09-20 12:33 | Report Abuse

Something's cooking? Up 6 sen now....

pradeep

1,324 posts

Posted by pradeep > 2013-09-20 18:55 | Report Abuse

Funds are in this stock as it is a dividend stock

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2013-09-22 23:01 | Report Abuse

KFIMA not a Dividend Stock yet.... DY is merely 4% (after tax).

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-09-23 17:32 | Report Abuse

I was reading this article.. wanna laugh out loud..

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/09/23/Cash-rich-Kumpulan-Fima-to-face-MSWG-query.aspx

- The writer makes zero research... where he get all the info?

"Kumpulan Fima operates pineapple estates and it is also involved in canned pineapples processing and cultivation of tropical fruit. Its other businesses are cattle farming and transportation services."

- KFima major business is bulking, plantation, canning and security document printing.

"Cash-rich Kumpulan Fima, which will hold its shareholders' meeting on Tuesday, could see some questions brought up by the Minority Shareholder Watchdog Group (MSWG) about its lower pretax profit despite the higher turnover.

MSWG would also bring up matters such as how the contracts secured by the company were negotiated in terms of margins and also the number of years.

In its first quarter ended June 2013, Kumpulan Fima posted a net profit of RM14.61mil on the back of RM112.8mil in revenue. Earnings per share were 5.41 sen.

Its manufacturing sector however, posted a lower pretax of RM52.1mil (FY2012: RM54.3mil) despite higher turnover of RM201.87mil (FY2012: RM193.67mil)."

- A little bit drop in profit also want to query meh? Those company straight loss no one query also?

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-09-23 17:38 | Report Abuse

Stupid news and stupid clueless reporter cause panic selling at end session today.. hahahahahaha

pradeep

1,324 posts

Posted by pradeep > 2013-09-23 23:53 | Report Abuse

One thing beautiful is CASH RICH KUMPULAN FIMA now the secret is out so others will be eyeing this stock

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-24 06:24 | Report Abuse

gark, three sen down, panic selling? Are you sure it is caused by that news? Because like you said, that news is "stupid".

I personally think it is a good public relation exercise for Kumpulan Fima as MSWG takes interest in Kfima, like what Pradeep said. This is not because their profit dropped in first quarter 2014, that is nothing. No company in history have their profit keeps on increasing quarter after quarter, year after year. But the trend of their profit is stellar. So what is there to "query"?

However, Kfima management never do any PR job. It doesn't mean that I, as a shareholder, think they should always do this PR thingy and jack up the share price. I would prefer them to concentrate to do their business well like what they have been doing and the share price will follow suit.

Yes, if one looks at the performance of Kfima in the past, say 5 years, you will see their performance is nothing short of fantastic in terms of earnings, efficiencies in terms of ROE, ROIC, margins etc. I have talked about them at length (may be too much until it is boring) in this thread:

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_challenge_2013_2h/34118.jsp

Of course more important is, is there shareholder value enhancement? In this respect, I would also rate it as fantastic too.

Look at the table below how the growth in book value and dividend for the past 5 years:

Year 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 Total
Book value growth 0.19 0.31 0.23 0.25 0.13 1.13
Dividend 0.08 0.08 0.07 0.05 0.03 0.31
Book value growth plus dividend 0.27 0.39 0.30 0.30 0.16 1.44

If one has bought Kfima 5 years ago at less than RM1.00, its total book value plus dividend has grown by almost 1.5 times to RM1.44, or for a compounded annual growth rate of 20%.

Posted by tuniamasingh > 2013-09-24 11:06 | Report Abuse

Anyone attending Kfima's AGM 3.00 pm this afternoon?

Reno Wong

31 posts

Posted by Reno Wong > 2013-09-24 16:01 | Report Abuse

Just look at their RM1.00 cash per share, which means they are actually using the other half of their NTA only to generate profits. If they are offensive enough to put good use for those cash, more profits they are going to generate. Even if they don't, the company is highly defensive against any global crisis if happens.

Peter Lee

347 posts

Posted by Peter Lee > 2013-09-24 16:02 | Report Abuse

glc ma

pradeep

1,324 posts

Posted by pradeep > 2013-09-25 00:11 | Report Abuse

Any drop in price of the stock some smart guys are waiting to buyAt present strong support seen at 1.95

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-09-25 17:40 | Report Abuse

bila mau jatuh ni...naik dah lah lembab..jatuh lah

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-09-25 18:02 | Report Abuse

1.95 is smart? are u sure?...i thought 1.23 is smart..hehe

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-09-25 21:12 | Report Abuse

星洲网首頁 > 財經 > 大馬 菲馬集團或併旗下種植業務
2013-09-25 11:34
http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/82643?tid=6

5,820 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2013-09-25 21:28 | Report Abuse

I find this counter is good to add position when there occurs price weaknesses, will be a grown swan...

joseph hii

339 posts

Posted by joseph hii > 2013-09-25 23:28 | Report Abuse

Zzzz stock, director dont push up the share
May be too busy concentrate on fimma corp business!!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-26 03:37 | Report Abuse

Questions:
1) Which director, the managing director, or other directors?
2) The MD is employed to manage the business, why should he "push up the share price"?
3) The other directors (Basirs)are major shareholders through a private company which has been buying up the shares of Kfima regularly. Why should they "push up the share price"? So that they buy high?
4) Concentrating in FimaCorp's business isn't concentrate on Kfima's business?

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-09-26 21:40 | Report Abuse

Hai kcchongnz...can have a look on profile of KBunai? I interest on long investment, need you financial advise..Thanks in advance

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-27 18:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > Sep 26, 2013 09:40 PM | Report Abuse
Hai kcchongnz...can have a look on profile of KBunai? I interest on long investment, need you financial advise..Thanks in advance

Hi Kah Fieh, long time no hear from you. And now you asked me about this crap KBunai. Why????

Every year loses money. May be you are interested about its NAV of 27 sen per share compared to its price of just 10 sen. so attractive ah?

Tell you what. Its asset is made up of crap. 1b is in PPE. I have no confident on this value if it is true. Absolutely none. I won't touch it with a long stick.

Why I said so? I have been there before.

But I won't know people will goreng or not.

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-09-27 19:57 | Report Abuse

Kcchongnz..I am fine.just a bit busy on work lately..
I just interested and thinking of speculate on this counter due to it landbank and cheap price on long term and further more, property activities in homeland seem to be HOT...so just want to have u personal view on it.btw,,thanks a lots

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-09-27 20:18 | Report Abuse

Questions:
1) Which director, the managing director, or other directors?
2) The MD is employed to manage the business, why should he "push up the share price"?
3) The other directors (Basirs)are major shareholders through a private company which has been buying up the shares of Kfima regularly. Why should they "push up the share price"? So that they buy high?
4) Concentrating in FimaCorp's business isn't concentrate on Kfima's business?

kcchong u are so prudent in your investment, never simply believe on someone else and always rational thinking.. it is rare at here..haha

KAHFIEHLAI

677 posts

Posted by KAHFIEHLAI > 2013-09-27 20:24 | Report Abuse

ipom..that is why i deeply respect him ...

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-27 20:26 | Report Abuse

over the long term, kcchongnz's investment will surely outperform a lot of many other people.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-09-27 20:38 | Report Abuse

everyone can make money, but consistency is the key.

pradeep

1,324 posts

Posted by pradeep > 2013-09-30 15:37 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz Kfima will show its value, nowdays it is difficult to find good stocks to invest. the market is very volatile and we have to be very alert. I was in Myanmar a few days back and the indonesian public listed company PT Kalbe Farma is expanding to Myanmar. You can read Myanmar Business Today September 26 - October 2 2013 issue.. I do not know the fundamental of this company but would like to share my knowledge with you and if you cant find the above issue I will email to you the article.

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 15:50 | Report Abuse

now 1.98...like i said...lousy sleeping capped-more kf-ma...better sell...appreciation is very2 unlikely

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 16:18 | Report Abuse

My friend anbz, why are you so angry with Kfima? Do you own any share of Kfima?

Ok since you are so angry, I will spend some time to show you some figures. As we are both mathematically trained professionals; I am an engineer and you are a maths graduate, we should base our argument on numbers and figures. Don't you think so?

Let us bring ourselves 5 years back to the past and consider whether you should invest in Kfima, or your favorite Nova MSC which you have been promoting so hard. I have tabulated their prices, total return, as well as compounded annual return for the 1,2, 3, 4 and 5 years return for both the stock as appended. Tell me if you were given the chance again 5 years ago, which would you rather invest in, Kfima or your Nova MSC?

Kfima 1.98
Period 1 year 2-year 3 year 4 year 5 year
Price 2.13 1.70 1.13 0.73 0.46
Return -7.0% 16.5% 75.2% 173.1% 335.2%
CAR -7.0% 7.9% 20.6% 28.6% 34.2%

NovaMSC 0.070
Period 1 year 2-year 3 year 4 year 5 year
Price 0.065 0.070 0.065 0.060 0.050
Return 7.7% 0.0% 7.7% 16.7% 40.0%
CAR 7.7% 0.0% 2.5% 3.9% 7.0%

pharker

1,089 posts

Posted by pharker > 2013-10-01 17:23 | Report Abuse

The only reason why ppl is angry at this stock is because they lost money i.e.bot the stock..din move...sell at lost..then stock move up in price----> angry

I hv personally made many rounds from Kfima always buy when below RM1.90 and start selling progressively when above RM2....not to mention the dividends received

if u got the timing wrong, then dun get angry at the stock..may be try to refine your strategy by having a better look at the charts.

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 17:46 | Report Abuse

kc...the prob is not the value of the share..yet the value of the perception...and pharker is right..many lost money..within 1 year...to this date...the price has fell from?

on 1/10/2012..the price was closed at 2.05
today
1/10/2013 the price closed at 1.98
---
for a year and plus one day...u've lost 7 cents...3.41% !!! kaunter lain naik macam gila...this counter waiting for a year...and this is the outcome??? how long to wait???
---
nova msc is different..it's penny...just waiting for the gold to be striked...but this kfima should be gold 'already'..why on earth the gold is still not ready???

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 17:49 | Report Abuse

yeah 5 years ago people now can be happy...1 years ago people might faded up

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 17:51 | Report Abuse

this stock will increase significantly but it must 1st go under 1.50...that's must be the trick

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 18:00 | Report Abuse

not enough corrections make a stock so dull...don't u agree?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 18:08 | Report Abuse

My friend anbz, didn't you read pharker has made many rounds of profit from trading Kfima? If not, please read carefully again.

Actually pharker is one of the lucky guys making money from Kfima by trading the stock. Whereas if you know me, I am always talking about investing. My opinion on trading is it is a loser's game. Tell me how good a retail investor be in gambling with insiders, fund managers and investment bankers whose rice bowl is making money from the stock market and have all the resources to trade against you?

Investing means buy the stock of a good company at a margin of safety from its intrinsic value. Sell only when the stock price has risen close to its intrinsic value. This requires time, time for the company to keep on growing and letting investors realize its value. This means you have to buy and hold it for some time, three years, five years, or even ten years.

You see from the table I have tabulated. If you have bought Kfima at the adjusted price of 46 sen 5 years ago, you would have a paper gain of 335%, or a compounded annual return of 34%, three times the return of KLCI. If you have bought it three years ago and hold until now, your compounded annual return is also very high at 20.6%, twice the return of KLCI.

The only period you lose money on paper is if you have bought it 1 year ago at a negative of 7.7%. But didn't I say investing is a long time process? So if you bought it a year ago and you hold it for another two years, may be you can also get the high return as before. Why am I confident to say so? Go read all my analysis on the performance of Kfima in i3, instead of speculating like what you do for Nova MSC. The historical return of Nova as tabulated above is really pathetic. Don't you agree so? If they have performed so badly for so long, why are you so sure this time is different?

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:00 | Report Abuse

i'll never win an argument against u...just a small trader...actually i want to by kfima..but at only at cheap extra discount..since it is quite laggard..for now

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:02 | Report Abuse

by the way the latest esos 313,000 was at 1.48...so that should be a safe price...anyone who got it at that price should just sell now

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:04 | Report Abuse

this is an ESOS stock

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:05 | Report Abuse

the company can save money for staffs' salaries...just by issuing esos..lol..too many

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 19:16 | Report Abuse

Esos is a way to align the interest of the management with that of the shareholders. Most of the management staff of Kfima are not shareholders. So it may be a good thing as management becomes shareholders, they work work hard for the company of which they are substantial shareholder now. This will ultimately benefits all.

In contrast with novamsc management who are major shareholders already and they reward themselves with huge perks and salaries, and hence detrimental to minority shareholders like you.

So which is better or worse?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 19:19 | Report Abuse

Worse still, the company has not much revenue and profit (any profit at all?) but the management pay themselves with huge salary and benefits. How can?

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:34 | Report Abuse

if not for depreciation ...amortization...and such huge benefit (18m) for staffs...this company would have made 6 cents profit per share!!! in 2012...that's why this is the gem (if that 3 problems not included)...time will tell

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-01 19:34 | Report Abuse

lol the share is now only 7 cents...

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-02 07:30 | Report Abuse

KC Chong : Since KFima meets most of the financial criteria as a great company, why its share price is still so dull in the current hot market? I believe most of the members of KFima is keen to know about this. In your opinion, what are the probable negative factors pulling the leg of KFima?

I throw my 2 cents first to exchange for your precious opinions :

i) 30+% of its rev is from palm oil. CPO has been on its low cycle for year, this depresses the short term growth of the company.

ii) Small market capitalization at ~RM540mil does not attract attention or buying interest of big fund managers.

iii) Unattractive earning for the last 2 quarters, at 5.5sen and 5.4sen. If the earning trend rolls over to the next few qtrs, the annual eps will be 22sens. Normally market does not accord high PE for an ordinary small cap company especially those in not exciting industry.

Unless CPO rebounds significantly or merger exercise is looming, else KFima is now traded at its market value.

Thks

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-10-02 09:53 | Report Abuse

For Kfima don't look at CPO price, they have 20k ha of land in Kalimantan, since they are continuing to plant, more and more fruit is going to be harvested. Even CPo stays flat, they will still have growth. Actually last 2Q for all plantation is record low harvest, from the info i get this coming Q and next Q will have bountiful harvest.

Defensive industry in bulking facility (like a toll road for liquid import/export), security document printing.

Food business is consumer based, usually provide stable income, last Q down because of forex losses on kina (PNG's currency)

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-02 09:56 | Report Abuse

bsngpg,

“The stock market is filled with individuals who know the price of everything, but the value of nothing.”
- Philip Fisher

Normally in an efficient market, price is close to value. Kfima share price has been around RM2.00 for the past two years. That share price reflects what the market thinks about its value.

But for me, a public-opinion poll is no substitute for thought. As someone said "It is impossible to produce superior performance unless you do something different from the majority.

Yes, most funds have no mandate to buy the stock of a small capitalized company. That is precisely a retail investor still can get it cheap for the moment.

Is a PE ratio of 7 high? Is it the right metric to value Kfima which has 272m, or RM1 of excess cash? I would encourage you to read our discussions in the appended thread below:

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600037729.jsp?fp=4

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-02 11:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by anbz > Oct 1, 2013 07:34 PM | Report Abuse
if not for depreciation ...amortization...and such huge benefit (18m) for staffs...this company would have made 6 cents profit per share!!! in 2012...that's why this is the gem (if that 3 problems not included)...time will tell

LAST TWO YEARS AVERAGE REVENUE 41M WITH OPERATING LOSS OF 4.5M AND YOU CALL IT A GEM? OMG! HOW LONG MORE CAN NOVA SUSTAIN WITH THIS TYPE OF LOSSES? NOT VERY LONG IF YOU LOOK AT ITS BALANCE SHEET.

MANAGEMENT OVERPAY THEMSELVES AT THE EXPENSE OF MINORITY SHAREHOLDERS AND YOU CALL IT A GEM? OMG!

SOFTWARE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT REQUIRES EXPENSES AND NOVA CAPITALIZED THEM. IT IS A CONSTANT EXPENSE FOR NOVA FOR ITS TYPE OF BUSINESS. SO THE D&A IS ALSO A REGULAR EXPENSE WHICH NEED TO BE INCLUDED AS A REGULAR EXPENSE.

Posted by anbz > Oct 1, 2013 07:34 PM | Report Abuse
lol the share is now only 7 cents...

SO NOW YOU KNOW WHY IT IS ONLY TRADING AT 7 SEN ONLY, SAME AS TWO YEARS AGO?

SO STILL THINK YOUR NOVA MSC IS BETTER THAN KUMPULAN FIMA?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-02 12:11 | Report Abuse

Hi KC: I knew your intrinsic value on KFima, no question on it. However I would very much appreciate to hear your risk assessment on KFima. Thks.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-02 12:24 | Report Abuse

Hi: I have another probable negative element on KFima for your comment. It is the non core competency on its biz. Nowadays the globalization turns biz world to very competitive. Only those with competitive edge can last long and win but not dick, tom and Harry. So what is KFima's competitive edge ? Plantation? Nope. Food industry? Nope. Bulking? Nope. Security printing? Yes in M'sia due to its special connection to the government. But how far can this biz grows?

What do you think?

Thks.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-10-02 12:39 | Report Abuse

Hi Gark: sorry to disagree with u. For me, the main and brightest growth prospect of KFima relies on plantation. If stripping off the plantation and security biz, what are left in KFima? Bulking, food industries ? With the small scale, old technology, limited know how as KFima, how to compete in the open markets?

What do you think? Thks.

Posted by newbiestockreturns > 2013-10-02 12:43 | Report Abuse

KFIMA=PN17 soon