ARB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ARBB (7181)

0.04 - 0.04

62 people like this.

25,520 comment(s). Last comment by whistlebower99 3 weeks ago

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-27 15:01 | Report Abuse

If the public's concerns are valid about children being handcuffed and the harsh sentences being sought for even the slightest breach of the MCO while more egregious breaches appear to get VIP treatment, then please go several steps further and tell us whether:-

(a) The guidelines were followed or not.
(b) If the guidelines were not followed then what is the action to be taken to avoid this. Discipline the DPP? Publicly announce this guidelines? Discuss with the CJ so that even if the DPP goes off on a frolic of his/her own the Judge hopefully will rein it in.
(c) If the guidelines were followed, then in view of the obvious discrepancies then whether steps will be or have been urgently taken to rectify the same.

No point saying there are guidelines and then leaving it like that. The issue is the discrepancy in treatment, not the guidelines. It is justice in substance over just mere form. Surely as AG you will appreciate that. This is the essence of the Rule of Law. As AG it is your duty to defend this!

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-04-27 15:02 | Report Abuse

AG, just explain to us how is it that VIPs and their children are treated differently from the rest of us? What make them so special? Isn't it your job to ensure that the laws are applied equally to all?

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-04-27 15:04 | Report Abuse

Indeed traderstrades

If guidelines are being followed, then we should not see much gaps in handling VIPs and citizen flouting MCO. So the only conclusion is that there 2 separate guidelines.

crikey

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-27 15:05 | Report Abuse

Hi guys, good afternoon!

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-27 15:05 | Report Abuse

Yes, remand and sentencing is indeed outside the purview of the AGC. But surely the AGC can advised the police on the way the individuals in the highlighted cases have been treated while being brought to court ( a 61-year-old cardiologist who was brought to a courtroom in handcuffs after being nabbed while jogging, and students at a college in Penang were handcuffed and chained together) ?

Of course, the IGP has more explaining to do than the AGC on this point.

More pertinently, perhaps the AG can explain why simple cases involving so-called VIPs breaking the MCO need papers to be studied by the AGC, when such papers were presumably made and studied so speedily in the cases mentioned above?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-27 15:07 | Report Abuse

No need to pusing here n there. When are the main belakang incompetent imbeciles been hauled up, spend a day or two in the lockup, be fined and have a criminal record attached to their profiles? When? If not, Why? While ordinary Malaysians are hauled up.

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-27 15:07 | Report Abuse

Based on FACTS guys ?? VIPs caught breaching MCO, are these not FACTS ? Malaysians have yet to see actions from the authorities, all they hv done is merely questioning and todate no actions taken !! Why the need to do questioning ? It's ARREST & NOT QUESTIONING. Ordinary citizens, does PDRM do questioning ??? Malaysians are not stupid. WE are watching ..... ACTIONS to prove your INTEGRITY & CREDIBILITY, PDRM !!

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-04-27 15:09 | Report Abuse

AG, you have not answered the issues raised by EDICT.

When are the Deputy Health Minister, Perak PAS Exco Member and Zahid's daughter going to be charged?

That comes under AGs Chambers isn't it. You have only proven now despite there being guidelines, there are two sets of laws and standards of prosecution-one for the layman - and one for MPs, VIPs and their kin.

Posted by XxXTripleXxX > 2020-04-27 15:10 | Report Abuse

Hi guys, Can he deny that VIPs are not charged to date? Even if charged will they be brought to court in handcuffs and chains? No double standards? Or it was at the discretion of the police?

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-04-27 15:12 | Report Abuse

Gooddaymate,
XxXTripleXxX Good questions, though I doubt the AG will respond.

Disappointing but not surprising.

crikey

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-04-27 15:13 | Report Abuse

Everyone should be further away from UMNO style! Oppa gangnam style is better than umno2.0

Posted by gooddaymate > 2020-04-27 15:13 | Report Abuse

crikey

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-27 15:14 | Report Abuse

Am a lay person & would understand about the powers of the AG chambers. What we obviously see the double standard in the enforcement of the law which is continued to be applied & not addressed. Till today, we have not got any satisfactory explanation for this. The only conclusion the rakyat can draw from this is that it is intentionally being done & thus creating two classes of citizens. This does not seem healthy at all.

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-04-27 15:15 | Report Abuse

In order to get sympathy and deflect criticism, the AG brings up the claim that "DPPs, as well as the police and the court, have been working hard under novel conditions while potentially exposing themselves to the risk of infection,"

That is not the issue that Edict is bringing up. Everyone is exposed to the risk of infection, including those who are brought to court chained closely together and those that man roadblocks, cashiers in supermarket etc.

Why bring this up when all Edict wants is consistency and mercy and plain common sense in the administration of justice.

Posted by THEREALDEAL > 2020-04-27 15:16 | Report Abuse

Precisely zillionaire!

Posted by THEREALDEAL > 2020-04-27 15:16 | Report Abuse

AG Idrus, this is the fact:

1. Pls tells us why the deputy minister Azmi, perak exco Lazman and their entourages, and the daughter of UMNO President Zahid ARE not hand-cuffed and brought to court for breaking the MCO, not only breaking the MCO for travelling out of the 10-km radius range, and also crossing state. 2 offences in total except for Zahid daughter whom no information where she started her journey. No action was taken following the SOP for all those already charged in court, and fined and/or jailed.

Is this not constructive and based on facts duly established and not on conjecture and diatribe?
Are you saying there are 2 SOP, one for the rakyat, and one for the VIP?

Posted by THEREALDEAL > 2020-04-27 15:17 | Report Abuse

2. Pls tells us why the minister who celebrated his birthday with his supporters (NOTE MORE THAN ONE!!!) ARE not hand-cuffed and brought to court for breaking the MCO?

WHILE ONE STUDENT WHO BAKED A BIRTHDAY CAKE FOR HER BOYFRIEND WHO STAYED NEAR TO HER HOUSE WAS REMANDED OVERNIGHT AND CHARGED IN COURT THE NEXT DAY; SHE WAS FINED RM800 AND JAILED AS THE DPP PRESSED FOR HEAVIER PENALTY!!!

WHY AGC IS STILL DILLY-DALLYING ON THIS MINISTER CASE?

WHY ARE THEY GIVEN SPECIAL TREATMENT BY REQUESTING THEM TO GO TO POLICE STATION FOR INVESTIGATION?

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE VIP BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION IS ESSENTIAL SERVICES WHILE THE STUDENT BOY FRIEND BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION IS NOT?

ARE OUR PDRM NOT ALREADY OVERLOADED MANNING THE MCO?

Is this not constructive and based on facts duly established and not on conjecture and diatribe?

Are you saying there are 2 SOP, one for the rakyat, and one for the VIP AND HIS RAKYAT?

ANY PUBLIC SERVANT WITH DIGNITY AND PROFESSIONALISM WOULD GIVE A PUBLIC EXPLANATION AND NOT HIDING BEHIND SO CALLED SOP; AG IDRUS, WHERE DO YOU BELONG?

Posted by XxXTripleXxX > 2020-04-27 15:18 | Report Abuse

Well said guys......

Posted by XxXTripleXxX > 2020-04-27 15:19 | Report Abuse

Facts. Is it not true that many people have been brought in handcuffs and prison overalls like criminals ?

Why treat them like criminals ? Why are there differenct judgements given out to the various cases brought before the courts ?

The MCO had been abused by different personnels manning the road blocks or even when stopped by the police personnel.

There have been cases when some authorities have shown compassion and leniency, where there are others who make use of the full brunt of their authority.

Handcuffing, hauling them to the police stations, wearing prison overalls, bringing them to courts, and some are just issued summonses that can be paid later.

If this is not double standards, then what to call such actions. Besides the treatment given to VIP'S.

The usual statement - No one is above the law. A stupid politician's equally stupid daughter not only breached the MCO but challenged citizens to lodge police reports. Your response, Tuan AG?

Posted by ChinaDragon > 2020-04-27 15:21 | Report Abuse

Code of ethics, my foot. People have eyes to see how miscarriage of injustice has been meted out in broad daylight and all that injustice has been done is to punish the ordinary people, the poor, the downtrodden and the weak.

And these so-called people of justice claimed to have code of ethics? Go back to the kampung to tanam jangung la.

Its really Sad to know that you are defending the indefensible! The true worth of a man is revealed in times of adversity. Reflect on that in this holy month Tuan PN!

The proof is in the pudding. Charge Zahid’s daughter, the Health Minister and the Perak Exco guy. Then talk

14,673 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2020-04-27 15:22 | Report Abuse

The day tax payers stop contributing tax and close down businesses, is the day when government will realise who is the master.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-27 15:23 | Report Abuse

HO ho HO Dear Mr AG. I have only heard good things about you and your work. My only wish is that you are independent , impartial, fair, principled and honest like the former AG Mr Tommy Thomas if not far better.

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-27 15:25 | Report Abuse

Sohai QuellingBlaster!Fat chance of that happening, as we can already see.

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-04-27 15:26 | Report Abuse

Wow, Hiding behind the constitution. Why not just rebut on the examples given by EDICT.

FancyMe

174 posts

Posted by FancyMe > 2020-04-27 15:27 | Report Abuse

Idrus Harun, as the son of a penghulu, kindly explain why Najib Razak issued Malaysian Government sterling bonds promising to pay billions and billions to other parties when money was not paid to any Malaysian Government Party requiring the Rakyat to pay all that money to other parties.

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-04-27 15:28 | Report Abuse

What is the AGCs chamber doing ? Shouldn't justice be tempered by mercy too? Also, "connected people" are only called for questioning while the ordinary Joe is hauled up immediately, why? Also the case of 2 people in Sabah, who had to go together in a car to withdraw their BPN, bantuan money, had to end up paying RM1,000.00 each because they were 2 people in 1 car- when actually 1person can't drive.....sigh

Posted by RevenueQueenie > 2020-04-27 15:29 | Report Abuse

HI guys, its tea time.................

Mr AG, finally you break your silence...In this age, having an active communication strategy is important and it's also key that one does not hide behind officialise such as "welcomes criticism of its actions, they should be constructive and based on facts duly established and not on conjecture and diatribe which are not fact-checked".

...........All this happened, because you were cocooned in your old airconditioned officialdom mindset...and left a vacuum of information out there...you let others dictate the narrative..and now you hit back in a rather defensive and high-horse tone...educate, inform don't dictate...Tuan AG whatever horse you think you are riding get off it!

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-27 15:30 | Report Abuse

Let me translate what I think the AG is trying to say in simpler language RevenueQueenie

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-27 15:31 | Report Abuse

1. AGC's role is to prosecute on a case to case basis based on investigation papers supplied by the police
2. AGC cannot initiate prosecution without complete/actionable investigation papers by police. If an incident is reported in the media but police has not been quick to investigate and supply the papers to AGC, then the case cannot proceed.
3. AGC then vigorously prosecutes the case in court, subject to any plea bargaining by defence. AGC seeks to maximise punishment or bail in line with the law and severity of the case. It does not mitigate the accused's action as that is up to the accused counsel to do so and neither does it overstep into adjudicating the matter before the court.
4. The sentencing is done by the courts/justices/magistrates and beyond the AGC's purview
5. There is an internal mechanism that happens within AG's chambers to monitor on prosecution of offences. AG denies there is any over zealous prosecution or activism or selective prosecution based on its role in the process
6. In short Mr AG is saying, I don't own the whole process. Indirectly, he is implying De Facto Law Minister, Chief Justice, Home Minister, IGP all have to do their part

Mr AG, we don't just bark at you like the raving hordes that were barking at your predecessor...

They say you are a decent man....now it's time for you to be an effective and proactive AG....engage the public,

Posted by RevenueQueenie > 2020-04-27 15:32 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the translation...........

Posted by RevenueQueenie > 2020-04-27 15:32 | Report Abuse

So Idrus Harun, we are all waiting with bated breath on the actions to be taken against the backdoor ministers and their entourage for violating the MCO.