SUNWAY BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): SUNWAY (5211)

+0.08 (1.94%)

4.12 - 4.23

10 people like this.

4,322 comment(s). Last comment by enning22 22 hours ago

Posted by leondeyoung > 2014-03-07 22:21 | Report Abuse

Hi all, anyone got details about Sunway Medini @ Iskandar? I read some articles said this area is exempted from 30% property gain tax, anyone know this? How about the min 1million purchase cap for foreigner? Will it be exempted as well?

Frank Tan

533 posts

Posted by Frank Tan > 2014-03-12 11:36 | Report Abuse

Sunway: Optimistic of up to 15% growth. Sunway Group is optimistic of an improved performance this year and expects to record about 10% to 15% growth. Founder and chairman Tan Sri Dr Jeffrey Cheah said the target is achievable as Malaysia's GDP is projected to grow 5% this year. Last year, Sunway Group recorded a net profit of RM1.5bn, which more than tripled its net profit in 2012. "Our core businesses of property development and construction have led the way to strong financial results," Cheah said. "The group has allocated a capital expenditure of more than RM1bn for this year and next," said Cheah. (Business Times)

kenrixx

179 posts

Posted by kenrixx > 2014-03-17 12:05 | Report Abuse

divident 5cents?

Greenpower

304 posts

Posted by Greenpower > 2014-03-17 12:27 | Report Abuse

very gd profit but not many fellower

Lim Elson

2,550 posts

Posted by Lim Elson > 2014-03-18 17:38 | Report Abuse

buy in and keep.

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-25 14:39 | Report Abuse

yea~~mother n son pick up slowly n steadily^^ luckily buy in some again below 0.7:)

mm310

437 posts

Posted by mm310 > 2014-03-26 21:47 | Report Abuse

Ex date this Friday. Tomorrow will continue to fly higher?

imoogi99

1,640 posts

Posted by imoogi99 > 2014-03-27 10:17 | Report Abuse

Breaking 3 today?????

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 12:35 | Report Abuse

yea baby break the big roadblock n fly up all the way till closing^^

Frank Tan

533 posts

Posted by Frank Tan > 2014-03-27 15:22 | Report Abuse

slow n steady。。。owww yeah。。。。。

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-27 15:55 | Report Abuse

fuckoff counter

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:03 | Report Abuse

this share for sure not suite for impatient investor but can confirm make money share i dont mind wait instead wasted my energy keep search for other:)

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:05 | Report Abuse

since the price 2.6 n warrant 0.58 on Jan'14 i ad active n keep suggest buy n now how is the price?keep it on Sunway dont disappoint me^^

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-27 16:05 | Report Abuse

i keep cg very longggg..i jz wait this date..once i sold at 0.025 when mom reach 2.98...but nowwww!!even reach 3.03 not move at ALL!

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:07 | Report Abuse

erm i dont play Call Warrant sry cos no demand at all sometimes n very easy get stuck unless u action very quick but warrant diff at least 2 years b4 the mature date i think is safe to play..

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-27 16:17 | Report Abuse

yes no vol cw cant play,btw banker know my buying quantity so they jz laugh off at screen there

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:21 | Report Abuse

nothing to laugh for cos only lose or gain tats it..if u dare to cut lose i will praise about yr warrior courage which not much ppl will or can do so (mostly will put a faith on it n hope it will fly again etc)..for me sometime cut lose not a bad thing which maybe the day u cut lose immedieate u spot another good share u just swap it who know it may bring u profit which cover your loss n gain some extra profit:)

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-27 16:25 | Report Abuse

see..even reach 3.05 now banker not queing at 1 or 1half cent

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:32 | Report Abuse

even if tml Ex-date so wat for 5 cents div mean today closing price deduct 5 cents only wat still Sunway will break rm3 tml still i think..

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-27 16:34 | Report Abuse

u mean tomorrow will up somemore?

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-27 16:35 | Report Abuse

at least will stand over rm3 with stable i guess..

jhan

Posted by jhan > 2014-03-28 07:37 | Report Abuse

if it can stay above RM3, i guess it will try to break RM3.20 soon..

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-28 09:19 | Report Abuse

yes i believe Sunway for sure can tis time rnd:) refer to previous years trend Apr/May usually is Sunway peak boosting time^^

Frank Tan

533 posts

Posted by Frank Tan > 2014-03-28 09:23 | Report Abuse

Valuations
We upgrade the Malaysia property sector to OVERWEIGHT (from Neutral). Our upgrade is underpinned by: i) a stronger GDP growth outlook for 2014, ii) catalysts from infrastructure developments such as the MRT, HSR and Kwasa Damansara projects, and iii) undemanding valuations as the negative impact of the cooling measures have been priced in. The negative interest rate environment will also make properties one of the preferred asset classes for capital preservation. We recommend that investors switch to larger-cap property stocks, as they are a better proxy to the property sector, especially with market demand expected to recover. We remain selective on the smaller caps and still like the affordable housing players such as Tambun Indah and Matrix Concepts (MCH MK, BUY, FV: MYR5.00) for their thematic angle. Among the larger caps, we prefer IJM Land (IJMLD MK, BUY, FV: MYR3.70) and Sunway. We also urge investors to watch out for UEMS and E&O. The formerwill be one of the prime beneficiaries when the HSR or casino projects are announced, while the latter is expected to obtain approval for its Seri Tanjung Pinang 2 project in mid-2014. We also view E&O as a potential takeover target.
Source: RHB

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-28 15:03 | Report Abuse

when this report come out?

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-28 15:16 | Report Abuse

today i see battle between banker n small n tiny cg holder :) banker so coward just eat 1 lot only to go upward..wherever that guy put big amount banker keep silent ..haha :)

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-28 16:25 | Report Abuse

come on cimb eat that 1cent..coward arh..

Airo Chasz

382 posts

Posted by Airo Chasz > 2014-03-28 16:44 | Report Abuse

banker cowardly laughing now haha :)

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-03-28 18:01 | Report Abuse

see i told ya can stay above rm3 stable at least^^

Lim Elson

2,550 posts

Posted by Lim Elson > 2014-03-28 18:18 | Report Abuse

learn to see chart instead depends on rumous..

if you dunno.. read LC Chong article.. Good !

http://lcchong.wordpress.com/2014/03/09/sunwayfundamental-analysis-9-mar-2014/

jhan

Posted by jhan > 2014-03-29 20:32 | Report Abuse

good article but it looks to me it is already on uptrend..

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2014-04-14 11:58 | Report Abuse

Sunway to develop premium outlets in Ipoh
Business & Markets 2014
Written by Levina Lim of theedgemalaysia.com
Monday, 14 April 2014 10:05

KUALA LUMPUR: Sunway Bhd, controlled by property tycoon Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah, is diversifying its business to include developing and operating premium outlets, the first of which is to be opened in Ipoh, Perak. “Sunway Ipoh Premium Outlet will be our first venture into the outlet shopping concept. We are now in the advanced stages of finalising our plans,” Sunway chief executive officer of shopping malls and theme parks, HC Chan, told The Edge Financial Daily in an interview.

Spanning over 35 acres (14.16ha) of land, the premium outlets will be situated close to the Lost World of Tambun water theme park. They will feature popular luxury brands such as Coach, Michael Kors and Kate Spade. Construction will take two years to be completed. Chan, adviser and immediate past president of the Malaysia Association for Shopping and High Rise Complex Management, said Sunway Ipoh Premium Outlet will be a fully-integrated development modelled after the Sunway Resort City in Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya.

“It’s [going to be] like the Sunway Resort City. Apart from the premium outlets, we will also have a hotel, theme park and shopping mall there,” he said, adding that the group is already operating a hotel and theme park in Ipoh, which are the Lost World Hotel and the Lost World of Tambun. Chan said the design and planning works for the development had been finalised and discussed with the relevant retailers.

“The feedback on our premium outlet plan has been positive,” he said, adding that the development will be able to leverage on the traffic flow from the North-South Expressway.
A concept that originates from the US, Chan said premium outlets are usually located some distance away from city centres as customers are willing to travel for a good buy. It also minimises competition in the shopping malls located in the city centres.

A typical premium outlet centre has a single- or double-storey layout consisting of branded goods sold at discounted prices. “There is an emerging trend among young people who like to own a Coach, Michael Kors or Kate Spade at a price that they can afford,” Chan said, adding that he sees a growing shift towards lifestyle shopping. He said the refurbishment of Sunway Putra — comprising Sunway Putra Mall, Sunway Putra Hotel and Sunway Putra Tower — and the redevelopment of Sunway Velocity (formerly Queensbay) in Kuala Lumpur is on track for completion by the end of this year and end-2015 respectively.

The total investment in Sunway Putra is about RM600 million, while close to RM1 billion has been invested in Sunway Velocity. When completed, Sunway Putra Mall and Sunway Velocity will have a net lettable area of 600,000 sq ft and 900,000 sq ft respectively. Chan expects the two projects to contribute substantially to Sunway’s bottom line. “We believe that these two projects will give us strong, healthy returns G I don’t want to put a figure [on it], but we are very confident and
comfortable that the financial returns will be very healthy,” he said. Sunway Velocity is located in a high disposable income area in Cheras and there is a lack of well-planned shopping malls to serve
southern Kuala Lumpur, said Chan.

“As for Sunway Putra Mall, it was a popular shopping mall 25 years ago [when it was known as The Mall]. We want to bring back the glory days,” he said, adding that the mall is strategically located in the vicinity of the upscale Bukit Tunku area, with highway accessibility. For the financial year ended Dec 31, 2013 (FY13), Sunway’s core net profit rose 38% to RM482.7 million from RM350.7 million, while revenue was 15% higher at RM4.73 billion compared with RM4.13 billion in FY12. Chan believes that there is a need to occupy a leadership position in this lucrative, but increasingly competitive shopping mall industry to survive.

“[For example,] there may be 20 shopping centres [around], but customers are unlikely to visit all 20 shopping centres as they have limited budget and time. [Therefore] we have to position ourselves as the preferred shopping mall for the primary market that we are in,” he said. Sunway currently owns five shopping malls. They are Sunway Pyramid, Sunway Giza in Kota Damansara, Sunway Putra, Sunway Velocity and Sunway Carnival in Seberang Perai, Penang. There are also plans to open a shopping mall in Iskandar Malaysia, Johor.

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/284838-sunway-to-develop-premium-outlets-in-ipoh.html

cckkpr

219 posts

Posted by cckkpr > 2014-04-14 15:06 | Report Abuse

too little free float in the market to warrant any kind of play. Prices will appreciate if funds are fundamentally interested in investing in dividend play and slow and steady capital appreciation. Has enough landbank to sustaine the next 10 to 15 years. Construction arm has a lot of scope for improvement if it can lobby for more gomen contracts.

mililia

227 posts

Posted by mililia > 2014-04-15 16:20 | Report Abuse

Do you know about Sunway @cckpr?
1. When there is small free float, then it warrant more play. That said, I don't think Sunway has small free float.
2. Sunway is not a dividend play in the first place.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2014-04-15 17:34 | Report Abuse

final coming. The cheapest pe large cap property stock.

cckkpr

219 posts

Posted by cckkpr > 2014-04-16 11:19 | Report Abuse

mililia, This reconstituted and rebranded Sunway is a gem. Small free float play wont be sustainable unless the owners are into it. And I dont think Tan Sri is keen on it and he does not need this kind of play.

Frank Tan

533 posts

Posted by Frank Tan > 2014-04-16 11:23 | Report Abuse

huhuhu。。。how high will it go.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2014-04-16 11:34 | Report Abuse

come come come. So unfair for sunway low price so long. Let back to 4!

Alex Chong

712 posts

Posted by Alex Chong > 2014-04-16 11:50 | Report Abuse

Already waiting at 4

brendonyeap

1,648 posts

Posted by brendonyeap > 2014-04-16 20:16 | Report Abuse

Any TP for it?

koyak71

752 posts

Posted by koyak71 > 2014-04-17 08:28 | Report Abuse

sunway at 4 week high...hope today no profit taking.

dingding

843 posts

Posted by dingding > 2014-04-17 10:24 | Report Abuse

drop d la..

wakarimas

1,043 posts

Posted by wakarimas > 2014-04-17 10:30 | Report Abuse

when will they bank in our dividend?

Frank Tan

533 posts

Posted by Frank Tan > 2014-04-17 15:03 | Report Abuse

Our 5%will b paid @ 30/4

koyak71

752 posts

Posted by koyak71 > 2014-04-20 21:55 | Report Abuse

Sunway in uptrend mode...hope can reach 3.50

koyak71

752 posts

Posted by koyak71 > 2014-04-22 15:18 | Report Abuse

aiya sunway sudah jadi suwey

Lim Elson

2,550 posts

Posted by Lim Elson > 2014-04-24 19:45 | Report Abuse

Buy !.. Dont miss the Boat... !

brendonyeap

1,648 posts

Posted by brendonyeap > 2014-04-24 23:12 | Report Abuse

The boom in the property and construction sectors saw the group chalk up its best ever net profit in 2013 with RM1.5bil, though boosted by non-recurring fair value gains.

Expect the group to launch RM1.9bil worth of property launches, of which RM300mil will come from its maiden launch in Iskandar Malaysia in Johor where it has 1,800 acres for development

And Sunway is on the lookout for more land in the Klang Valley as only 50 acres of the 700 acres development in Sunway are left for development. Sunway’s construction unit is also eyeing RM2.5bil new jobs in 2014, of which 70% of the new contracts will be external jobs.

In 2013, it had RM2.3bil new jobs that helped boost its order book to RM3.9bil as at the end of 2013. The construction arm is keen to take on more jobs for the elevated packages for MRT2, after landing jobs for MRT 1.

Does not expect the China operations, where Sunway is building some high-rise residential blocks, to be a major contributor to earnings.

There is going to be an abundance of incoming supply in Johor Baru where Sunway has a joint venture with Khazanah Nasional Bhd and Iskandar Investment Bhd to develop 1,800 acres.

Although property demand of late has been relatively muted, margins are likely to be good given the Sunway group’s low land cost. Sunway’s holding cost is lower than many other developers in that area. It bought 700 acres for RM25 per sq ft (psf), and another piece of 1,100 acres, also known as the Pendas land for RM12 psf. In comparison, it only paid RM1 psf for the Sunway land in Bandar Sunway, which now fetch valuations of RM100 psf to RM500 psf.

The 1,800 acres add more landbank to Sunway and the Medini Iskandar development is projected to have a GDV of over RM30bil.

The 50 acres at Bandar Sunway will take sometime to develop. On top of that, there is the Iskandar land that will keep the group busy.

Its next big township development that it may undertake will be at least 500 acres.

There are also plots in several locations in Malaysia and overseas. Sunway is developing residential and commercial units and has construction jobs in China, India, Cambodia, Vietnam and Singapore.

It has morphed from pure property into construction, hospitality, retail, medical, leisure and commercial properties group.

Construction is also a huge business earner, and when combined with property and property investment, contribution to core earnings for the full year is 75%.

Sunway’s Remaining land Bank

Total land bank: 3388 acres
Total GDV: rm51 billion
Development Period: Up to 15 years

Klang Valley: 788 acres (Sunway South Quay, Sunway Velocity, Sunway Damansara)
Johor: 1835 acres
Penang: 204 acres
China: 28 acres
Singapore: 6.6 acres
Others: 527 acres