ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.245 - 0.255

20 people like this.

8,241 comment(s). Last comment by navin88 6 days ago

keanfee

70 posts

Posted by keanfee > 2012-10-25 16:45 | Report Abuse

today close -0.070

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-25 16:58 | Report Abuse

Close 2.86...

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-25 17:13 | Report Abuse

Thanks Smiley,,, i believe Astro will fall to 2.00 to 2.30 range... Just waiting patiently.

Posted by steadyeddy > 2012-10-25 17:13 | Report Abuse

Ask Kwsp why they didn't participate in the iPod book building!

Posted by steadyeddy > 2012-10-25 17:14 | Report Abuse

I mean ipo :)

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-25 17:17 | Report Abuse

the big boys absorb all force selling astro shares today..monday same thing will happen before the big gun dance again..whoever bought at IPO price without financing need not worry bcoz you have T plus forever (not T plus 4)...

Posted by steadyeddy > 2012-10-25 17:18 | Report Abuse

Haha hoooo

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-25 17:23 | Report Abuse

Today was the last day force selling from maybank n cimb..

richman

10,110 posts

Posted by richman > 2012-10-25 17:26 | Report Abuse

I think today a lot kena KORBAN in BURSA

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-25 17:31 | Report Abuse

maybe next 3 trading days will have more if continue to drop starting today

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-25 17:35 | Report Abuse

If drop to 2.65 maybe another margin call...coz yesterday last day for those take financing to top up..some have top up 5-10% of loan amount..

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 17:44 | Report Abuse

Now "boys" r out and "man" is playing , ha ha ha

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 18:07 | Report Abuse

Broker TA recommend to SELL n at the same time TP 3.53 !! Confused ............

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-25 18:13 | Report Abuse

Talk2pkc..actually is BUY..u can check bursamalaysia website...

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 19:05 | Report Abuse

Oh OK .......... ciao

Posted by Tan Jackson > 2012-10-25 19:05 | Report Abuse

Maxis fall below IPO still looking downward to 2.50 level. A lot of investor lost confident against the stock to further sell down.

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 19:13 | Report Abuse

Maxis profile is much lower than Astro !! I am sure over the medium /long term it will drop below 2.50 but not so sure in SHORT term due to political pressure !!!!!!!!

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-25 19:20 | Report Abuse

Wow, Maxis price now is 6.00++. Your prediction is Maxis will drop to 2.50. Why?

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 19:23 | Report Abuse

BSSB, I think Maxis hv upset Mr Tan, loh , ha ha ha

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 20:15 | Report Abuse

Ahhhhh , very interesting n maybe price might now pump back up ??? Mayb that's why selective Directors are buying more shares now ??? Let's think deep ............

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-25 20:21 | Report Abuse

Have just seen this notice in today's NST: AmBank is coming up with three Astro call warrants and one put warrant. (Also one each CW for TopGlove and Litrak). Listing 29/10/12; Expiry 28/10/13.

ASTRO
CW (I) - Ratio 8:1; Ex Price RM2.88
CW (II) - 5:1; 3.35
CW (III) - 5:1; 4.18

PW - 4:1; 2.28

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 20:24 | Report Abuse

Bought some today at 2.82 and now in dark room pray pray ...............

yus7888

97 posts

Posted by yus7888 > 2012-10-25 21:59 | Report Abuse

Counter is overweight

bjaya

269 posts

Posted by bjaya > 2012-10-25 22:03 | Report Abuse

Astro subscribers who were given pink forms & then made to suffer losses were infuriated & felt cheated. The Astro management sensed this resentment. Fearing that these subscriber would dump their Astro subscription as well, Astro management is now in the midst of getting into the market to support the price to the level of 3.05 - 3.10.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2012-10-25 22:19 | Report Abuse

Its one of the worse IPO.......No deal Is better than a BAD Deal.

Yup, I agreed. ASTRO Kejam towards their own staff and even bite the finger that feed them (their loyal subscriber)This episode will be remembered by many as a BLACK FRIDAY......

Many were slaugtered for nothing.....by Anakonda and his Cronies.

Shame on you.....So rich, yet doing a low class thing in Bursa.

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-10-25 22:36 | Report Abuse

Bitter pill to swallow, opportunity will present itself at the right price.
I am with talk2pkc, whereby you buy on weakness and let astro mgmt push price upwards for us;)

talk2pkc

2,304 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-25 22:51 | Report Abuse

Best time to do business when the market in turmoil & depression n similar basis in Equity market , when a counter is "unsettle" also present good opportunity for some ......... Grandma saying , regardless the world is upside down , the water level is always same n hopefully u r on the better side , ha ha ha LOL

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-26 01:06 | Report Abuse

Don't know how to benefit from this yet. The put warrant at 2.28 is too low plus a 4:1 ratio. I don't think it will get that low. But then who knows. It's the same with JCY's put warrant - at one time had thought it was unlikely one could ever strike in that it could go that low. It did.

lucky888

35 posts

Posted by lucky888 > 2012-10-26 01:33 | Report Abuse

10mins b4 closing,high sell out @ $2.86..so Monday definitely drop bcoz of this million sell off..!

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2012-10-26 09:18 | Report Abuse

Some big funds do closing when top...but I can't mention which fund...

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-26 11:28 | Report Abuse

Wait to buy at RM2.50

tookosin

135 posts

Posted by tookosin > 2012-10-26 12:23 | Report Abuse

Yes... wait until RM2.50 to collect.

riko

2,727 posts

Posted by riko > 2012-10-26 12:40 | Report Abuse

when until 2.5 , u said u want wait for 2.0
wtf
when next week 3.0 , u said u miss it
all are wtf

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-26 12:47 | Report Abuse

Interesting article by Hong Kong-based news service (Investor Central)

Astro share price falling on costs, rules and future competition, says report

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/astro-share-price-falling-on-costs-rules-and-future-competition-says-report/

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-26 12:48 | Report Abuse

Psrt of the report by Investor Central

“So, in clear terms, the existing owners sold a big stake in a company that was worth (RM1.13 billion) (read negative RM1.13 billion) and pocketed RM3.2 billion in cash,” said Investor Central in a report obtained by The Malaysian Insider. AMH’s main shareholders include companies linked to tycoon T. Ananda Krishnan and Malaysia’s sovereign wealth fund Khazanah Nasional Bhd

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-26 19:21 | Report Abuse

Agree with riko...when the price going to rm3.5...all the nonsense silent like a patung n kayu... astro is AK primary gold..AK will do something to defend astro..

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-26 20:48 | Report Abuse

Sell why still put at so high price? i think this analyst has problem in mind. Now below 3.00 but rate sell at 3.53? stupid

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-26 21:36 | Report Abuse

TA 3.53 SELL---Typo error lah bro...It should be HOLD...

ampabella

1,378 posts

Posted by ampabella > 2012-10-26 23:03 | Report Abuse

why is that so much talking about astro, not many young people are interested in watching astro now, in the next 5 years this astro will be left watching only by the senior citizen, correct me if I m wrong,
sure going to be less and less people watch astro

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-26 23:44 | Report Abuse

I think Astro still have some legs. Why? It is still a trend to have closest equivalent cable/satellite pay TV in household, business and what not. Try going to mamak with and without one and you may notice a difference. Basically its still trendy (point 1) . Point 2, its still a monopoly in Malaysia. I know internet TV is coming up, but I cannot have all my family flip limited channels offered now. Unless I want all of them sit in front of my monitor, then its another story. Moreover, quality of even HD on internet tv is still very disappointing so far for me. (For the record, I cancelled my sports after they raise price and now trying to watch EPL on internet. Have a few live streams but pixelated and sketchy) Point 3, it has reach and money to back it up. Trying paying for the latest premier league subscriptions and you will know what I mean. Case in point, true vision vs gmm in Thailand ( http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/local/297237/viewers-left-in-dark-as-euro-2012-kicks-off). Tell me about it, I was there . Point 4, they have sponsorships. Berjaya's Mitv failed miserably here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U_Television.

So,as much as I detest this ever rising priced pay TV, unless a viable competitor is in place, I don't see astro going away anytime soon. It is my believe when it is returning earnings, the whole picture will change. I think investor just have to try get in a good price with plenty of margin only from the current turmoil.

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2012-10-27 01:44 | Report Abuse

Yes still got leg....hope they are beautiful woman legs....so I can forget the upwelling they did to me ....opts forced on me

Bang Teh

3,980 posts

Posted by Bang Teh > 2012-10-27 15:12 | Report Abuse

ASTRO will be listed on FTSE...

lucky888

35 posts

Posted by lucky888 > 2012-10-28 15:45 | Report Abuse

My frens worked @ Astro bought 12 lots Astro shares via margin loan rec indulgence ltrs from bank to extend d force sell period & shortfall cover by salary deduction up to 12mths..sound the finance gv amnesty to them..they need to bear few hundred margin processing fees,margin interest & uncertain contra losses incur later..tmrw will b another Pray hard day for them..!

cmlooi

465 posts

Posted by cmlooi > 2012-10-28 15:59 | Report Abuse

UNLESS your friend had paid in cash and still in cash rich position to hold it for a few years, consider cut loss. Pay that small loss difference and get on with life. If it goes down further and stays down for a few more years, life will be extremely miserable. If going to hold, pray more often and pray very hard. Its not ASTRO's fault or anyone's. Its only people's greed and not understanding how IPOs work and what to do when the trend goes the other way.

angsri

47 posts

Posted by angsri > 2012-10-28 15:59 | Report Abuse

Anan is smart. Most young ppl dont watch astro but internet. In future no laku. In 2 yrs astro may go burst after more cable movies join in. Becareful.

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-28 18:47 | Report Abuse

The beauty of the stockmarket is this - put one's money where his mouth is and either make a profit or loss (or maybe break even). There's a relatively inexpensive way to do this i.e. via the call and put warrants. If you think Astro will be going to the dumps, why not buy the put warrants? Going to see how they go tomorrow when they are listed.

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-10-28 19:50 | Report Abuse

I think astro will drop further bcas so many sellers in the market n within less then 3 month become worst so better carefull n nxt time when involve AK pls pls jangan cayee samaa dia anymore ,so better don't touch even drop to rm 2.50

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-28 20:31 | Report Abuse

always by thinking erk.... not researching erk...

Mat Cendana

2,337 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-28 21:22 | Report Abuse

The Edge's latest weekly (Oct 29-Nov 4, 2012) has Astro as the main story, with 3 pages. But the content is rather disappointing. You'd gain more knowledge and insight by reading the comments here. Feel that I had wasted my RM5 with this issue, which could have been better spent on Maggi goreng at Subaidah Section 6, Kota Damansara:-P

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-10-28 21:26 | Report Abuse

Buat research pun Tak guna broo Kalau kaunter mcm tu apatah lagi anaylst now dah mcm mcm cerita pe tinggi la,no growth laa ,dulu par 1 rm now only par 10 seen only,any good luck to u.tq