MBSB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

+0.01 (1.40%)

0.71 - 0.725

30 people like this.

22,746 comment(s). Last comment by Yippy68 7 hours ago

kakashii

321 posts

Posted by kakashii > 2015-04-09 18:20 | Report Abuse

The news is true, because the merger is not initiate by MBSB but by the other side..it's an open denial to avoid MBSB share from surging

Woody

746 posts

Posted by Woody > 2015-04-09 21:44 | Report Abuse

Eventually they will merged...

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-04-09 21:47 | Report Abuse

yes...because if mbsb shares up 2.80 now....bank Islam need to pay 3.20 to merge....and this will spoil their plan....always remember when they deny...it's usually true...recent mbsb stock price is picking up steadily

Posted by AlexanderJin > 2015-04-09 22:30 | Report Abuse

I hope this gonna happen soon, most capital lock in here since Jan, really frustrating for misses other opportunities... but guess the big guys will press the price down once more before going up if its true.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-04-09 22:49 | Report Abuse

I agree with AlexanderJin. If MBSB cannot announce dividend early better announce merger news soon.

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2015-04-09 23:28 | Report Abuse

dividend should be middle of this month

iTelex6

580 posts

Posted by iTelex6 > 2015-04-09 23:34 | Report Abuse

Betw. AGM and payment of div there is still some time to go, maybe a couple of weeks.
My thinking is that the buyer wants to buy as cheap as possible before the div, which is quite natural. Only after having taken the div will prices move, either up or down depending on the state of MBSB.

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-10 00:50 | Report Abuse

slow slow.. 1 news at a time to push it real high.. too many good news push it up too high, then fall down again.. slow slow up ma

force

1,418 posts

Posted by force > 2015-04-10 07:49 | Report Abuse

See sin chew today, mbsb no more further merger discussion

hng33

20,530 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-04-10 08:33 | Report Abuse

Any potential take over or merger for MBSB have to price at least RM 2.82, in par with previous offer. About the failure in previous take over, it is solely due to dispute between RHB and CIMB, it have nothing to do with MBSB, and its value still remain intact. Thus, next take over could be either anchor bank Maybank, or merger with Bank Islam for mega islam bank, MBSB intrinsic value should be at least RM 2.82 or 25% upside potential.

About MBSB 12sen dividend, it is on 31 Mar just submit listing application in respect of the Dividend Reinvestment Plan to Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad. Normally, it will take bursa about 2 week to approve.

MBSB 12 sen dividend also need to seek shareholder approval in the AGM and these upcoming AGM will be held on next week 15 April.

Therefore, if take into account bursa approval for its dividend Reinvestment Plan, which is due by next week and subsequent for MBSB to fix price for it, about 10% discount as well as AGM approval, the time for 12 sen dividend declare will likely around 1 week after AGM or about 22 April

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-10 09:21 | Report Abuse

end of April is party time!

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-10 10:09 | Report Abuse

repeat fall back after hit 2.25? like in mid of feb

samer

1,427 posts

Posted by samer > 2015-04-11 11:10 | Report Abuse

i3i2i1, what kind of free gift can we expect from the AGM on the 15th Apr? Are you going to attend?

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-13 10:25 | Report Abuse

im not going... im not that long term investor :) but today they press again?

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-13 10:26 | Report Abuse

i will say no buyer until on 15th after get news..

mych11

97 posts

Posted by mych11 > 2015-04-13 22:03 | Report Abuse

there is some downside post GST for stocks in general..

hng33

20,530 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-04-14 11:06 | Report Abuse

Bought more MBSB at 2.24

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-14 17:40 | Report Abuse

buy! tomorrow AGM, anyone there?

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-14 17:40 | Report Abuse

can give live updates? :)

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2015-04-14 17:40 | Report Abuse

tomorrow is the day it will jump.....

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-14 23:13 | Report Abuse

you jump, i jump :)

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-15 10:35 | Report Abuse

eh, agm day but still fall down?

Posted by SapuMalaysia > 2015-04-15 10:41 | Report Abuse

This counter is a good investment ...but always boring...

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-15 10:56 | Report Abuse

anyone in AGM can give some updates? or you are having nice break, yum yum?

samer

1,427 posts

Posted by samer > 2015-04-15 13:19 | Report Abuse

what kind of door gifts from the AGM ?

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-04-15 13:53 | Report Abuse

Dividend is CONFIRMED - GET READY TO FLY!!!

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1933677

samer

1,427 posts

Posted by samer > 2015-04-15 15:45 | Report Abuse

cipapo, what's the TP for next week?

Posted by AlexanderJin > 2015-04-15 15:51 | Report Abuse

gift is a mbsb bag.

Posted by AlexanderJin > 2015-04-15 15:52 | Report Abuse

DRP is about 9% discount from price.

lmseng

132 posts

Posted by lmseng > 2015-04-15 16:07 | Report Abuse

They still need today's closing price to determine the DRP pricing, hence today's closing wlll still be around 2.22-2.24. Hopefully they will announce the dividend entitlement and the DRP pricing today. Then, tomorrow only will the price be free to go up.

gohcm

81 posts

Posted by gohcm > 2015-04-15 16:50 | Report Abuse

what is the ex-date for the dividend?

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-04-15 17:06 | Report Abuse

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/mbsb-hopes-see-8-loan-growth

KUALA LUMPUR (Apr 15): Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) ( Financial Dashboard) is hoping to see a loan growth of up to 8% this year from 3% last year.

"We are hoping for a 7% to 8% loan growth this year despite foreseeing a challenging environment," MBSB president and chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman told pressmen during a press conference after the company’s annual general meeting today.

He said MBSB’s growth will be driven by the strengthening of its risk management and compliance framework.

Ahmad Zaini added that the 3% growth last year was a small amount because the company was concentrating its resources on its proposed mega merger with RHB Capital Bhd ( Financial Dashboard) and CIMB Group Holdings Bhd ( Financial Dashboard).

On whether there is another merger that the company is looking at, Ahmad Zaini kept mum but hinted that there is something to look forward to — either by the end of this year or sometime next year.

--- merging coming...they do not want the price to shoot up so fast so that the merger can go through....STRONG BUY CALL !!!

share3

27 posts

Posted by share3 > 2015-04-15 17:09 | Report Abuse

wat is DRP?

dextronium

282 posts

Posted by dextronium > 2015-04-15 17:55 | Report Abuse

dividend reinvestment program.

Posted by bhkoay23 > 2015-04-15 17:56 | Report Abuse

Dividend Reinvestment Plan

Posted by AlexanderJin > 2015-04-15 18:05 | Report Abuse

The CEO has stressed many times in press previously and today agm that corporate exercise is important in order for MBSB to move faster to another level in the challenging financial sector. My verdict is most likely end of this year as the company strive to improve company fundamental to be in a better position if M&A does happen.

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-15 18:18 | Report Abuse

good news! its starting!

hng33

20,530 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-04-15 18:57 | Report Abuse

介於33%至34%水平 馬建屋冀提高股息派發率

(吉隆坡15日訊)馬建屋(MBSB,1171,主要板金融)放眼股息派發率可在今年略提高至介于33%至34%水平。

馬建屋總裁兼總執行長拿督阿末再尼說:“過去幾年股息派發率都維持在至少30%水平,去年為32.2%。我們希望可維持在相關水平,甚至可稍微提高至介于33%至34%水平。”

他在馬建屋股東常年大會結束后,在記者會上如是指出;列席者包括馬建屋總財務長鄧佑西。

針對該公司近期計劃發行總值9億令吉的伊斯蘭債券,阿末再尼相信可在這3個月內完成。

鄧佑西指出,通過上述伊債所籌集的部分資金,將投資在大馬政府證券(MGS),以提高流動資產比重(Liquid asset ratio)。

儘管整個宏觀經濟環境具挑戰,但通過專注在高素質貸款、風險管理,以及致力于將淨未履約貸款(NPL)從去年的4.1%,在今年降低至3%左右,阿末再尼預計,馬建屋今年貸款業務有望成長介于7%至8%。

阿末再尼說:“該公司過去花費8個月時間在與聯昌集團(CIMB,1023,主要板金融)和興業資本(RHBCAP,1066,主要板金融)的併購案上,處于‘冬眠’狀態,所以貸款去年僅成長3%。如今合併案告吹,公司將焦點放在鞏固成長和地位,相信貸款可在今年增長7%至8%。”

通過擴充策略,該公司冀望營業額可在今年取得介于4%至5%年成長;截至12月底2014財年營業額按年增長3%至26億1251萬令吉。

hng33

20,530 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-04-15 18:59 | Report Abuse

Final and special dividend: 12sen; ex-date 27 April

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-04-15 19:09 | Report Abuse

(Apr 15): Malaysia Building Society Bhd. ( Financial Dashboard) plans to turn itself into an Islamic bank, following a failed merger plan that would have created the country’s biggest financial group.

The company is studying options for the plan, which may happen this year or next and could involve a merger with another Islamic institution, Chief Executive Officer Ahmad Zaini Othman told reporters in Kuala Lumpur.

As part of the plan to convert itself into a bank, Malaysia Building has been taking steps to align its operating standards with Bank Negara Malaysia requirements, he said. As a non-bank financial institution, Malaysia Building currently doesn’t come under the central bank’s oversight.

“Any form of corporate exercise involving a financial institution has to get the blessing of the central bank,” Ahmad Zaini said. “The criticalness is we have to close the gap first, where our operations must be in line with the thinking of the authorities and the regulatory framework of the central bank.”

Malaysia Building, based in Kuala Lumpur, was part of a three-way merger plan with CIMB Group Holdings Bhd. ( Financial Dashboard) and RHB Capital Bhd. ( Financial Dashboard) that was scrapped in January.

The combination would have been the nation’s largest ever merger transaction, creating a lender with the financial clout to win bigger sukuk deals in competition with global institutions such as HSBC Holdings Plc ( Financial Dashboard) and Standard Chartered Plc.

bluefun

643 posts

Posted by bluefun > 2015-04-15 20:30 | Report Abuse

Dividend 12cents, ex-date: 27 April 2015

On 16 February 2015, the Board of Directors ("Board") of Malaysia Building Society Berhad ("MBSB") announced its consolidated results for the financial period ended 31 December 2014 wherein the Board proposed a Single-Tier Final Dividend of 10.0 sen and Single-Tier Special Dividend of 2.0 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each in MBSB ("MBSB Share") for the financial year ended 31 December 2014.

The Board had also determined that the option to reinvest via the Dividend Reinvestment Plan ("DRP") shall apply to the entire portion of the proposed Single-Tier Final Dividend of 10.0 sen and Single-Tier Special Dividend of 2.0 sen per MBSB Share for the financial year ended 31 December 2014.

The shareholders will have the following options in respect of the electable portion:-

(a) elect to exercise the option to reinvest and thereby reinvest the entire electable portion at the issue price of the new MBSB shares ("DRP Price") and to receive cash for the remaining portion of the dividend (in the event that only part of the electable portion is reinvested); or

(b) elect not to exercise the option to reinvest and thereby receive their entire dividend entitlement wholly in cash.

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2015-04-15 20:42 | Report Abuse

Yes..zoom zoom

dextronium

282 posts

Posted by dextronium > 2015-04-15 20:46 | Report Abuse

hope these good news will bring up the stock price...

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-15 21:31 | Report Abuse

should we take the drp?

Posted by AlexanderJin > 2015-04-15 21:53 | Report Abuse

take it, cause it's lower than market price, earn extra 10%.

mililia

227 posts

Posted by mililia > 2015-04-15 21:57 | Report Abuse

One has to realized, there is pro and con of DRP. The pro is you get the share without any brokerage and you will most likely get it at the discount. I should not say likely, you will get it at a discount! But the disadvantage of it is, you will see a lot of seller after the ex-date. Reason being.. If I don't want to higher exposure in MBSB and I will get 5-6% (based on yield) more share than I wanted then I will sell my current or reduce my current holding after ex-date to make sure my exposure remains the same. The good thing is despite selling my current holdings after the ex-date the cost of my holdings are actually lower because of the discount I receive. I locked my profit and I reduce my holding cost.

So just beware of this scenario. There is benefit for cash dividend and DRP but always consider the another side of the coin. So don't be surprise if you see some selling after the ex-date. Or selling happening now, cause if I know this is going to happen, I won't care about my dividend cause I know there is a risk because of the above scenario my dividend may not compensate the loss from my capital. So I locked in what I have today and hoping to buy back later at lower price despite not getting my dividend.

That's what institutional fund manager will do...

mililia

227 posts

Posted by mililia > 2015-04-15 21:59 | Report Abuse

Check historical chart to verify...

cipapo

1,288 posts

Posted by cipapo > 2015-04-15 22:02 | Report Abuse

it depends on your entry price...if drop buy somemore

mililia

227 posts

Posted by mililia > 2015-04-15 22:02 | Report Abuse

Alexander Jin: You don't earn extra 10%. You earn extra 6% (share yield) * 10% (discount) i.e only earn extra 0.6%.

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-04-15 22:04 | Report Abuse

agreed, i saw this happened on KSL... after that the price is dead