UNITED PLANTATIONS BHD

KLSE (MYR): UTDPLT (2089)

25.00 - 25.18

3,188 comment(s). Last comment by SeekUndervalued 5 days ago

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-11-29 16:28 | Report Abuse

Why wouldn't EPF want the attractive dividend Sardin?

JrWarren

104 posts

Posted by JrWarren > 2023-11-29 16:30 | Report Abuse

well, EPF jumped to Takaful for obvious reason, and once Takaful declared dividend, EPF will jump back here again for Q4 dividend unless they wanna skip the lucrative dividend from this counter.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 16:59 | Report Abuse

I guess is fixed deposits in US. And also 5y and 10y US treasury bonds. When FED cut interest rate next year, bonds easily gain double digit returns.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:00 | Report Abuse

It is a very safe, high chances of success kind of investment.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:07 | Report Abuse

At the same time Fitch gave CPO poor rating, RM 3,000 / MT. That could put some weight on EPF's decision too.

https://www.fitchratings.com/research/corporate-finance/palm-oil-prices-to-weaken-in-2024-on-higher-output-20-11-2023

Although for us it is hard to believe and agree to that price of RM 3,000 /MT in 2024.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:13 | Report Abuse

The sell down started close to the release date of this report. Coincidence? Maybe, maybe not. But I believe EPF's decision must go through procedures that allow only rationale purchase and selling, especially for high value transactions.

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-11-29 17:29 | Report Abuse

PERBADANAN PEMBANGUNAN PERTANIAN NEGERI PERAK
also selling non stop la. 😂They are holding 5% of the share

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:51 | Report Abuse

Ya. But they sell a lot less... they are just doing very limited profit taking. Obviously, they don't want to totally let go this fixed income asset. You can assume them to be much less agressive than EPF. These assets are vital blood flow to them to fund their activities. Unlike EPF is able to get continuous cash contribution from the employees, PPPNP doesn't have this. So they bound to be a lot more conservative.

dam82

2,181 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-11-29 17:54 | Report Abuse

I don’t think we need to worry much … EPF cooks be seling as this is not GLC and no one will maka noise ….i see a good opportunity to collect why simply it’s one of the best stock to buy ….

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:55 | Report Abuse

Afterall, they are in "pertanian" sector. They tend to stick to agricultural investment for this is their circle of competency. And there is not many agricultural investment choices in Perak.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 17:57 | Report Abuse

Ya dam82, when there is no diversed opinion then there will be no trading / transaction. This could be a good opportunity.

moven00

721 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-11-29 18:10 | Report Abuse

Let’s see if UP can replicate their bonus issue shares to continue reward their loyal shareholders. We never know…. They might surprise the market again.

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-11-29 18:24 | Report Abuse

Anyway, hope it can drop below 15.😁😁😁

Tanleechoo

400 posts

Posted by Tanleechoo > 2023-11-29 19:31 | Report Abuse

EPF ceased to be substantial holder.. so what is the implications n impact .

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 20:47 | Report Abuse

The implication is the stock price will be less volatile. As you can see shareholding of EPF reduced from 35 mil shares last year till around 13-14 mil shares today, almost 20 mil shares sold but the price only drops from the peak of 17.55 to 16.72. Which means that there are strong demand for its shares. As the price goes lower this demand will only be higher. The shareholder profile for this stock is also different from other "cheaper" stocks. In fact there are many institute shareholders among the top 30. I am very sure institute like life insurance companies have thick interests on this kind of stock. When price goes down a lot of volume but when price goes up very little volume. This means other than EPF is motivated to sell, others are not willing to sell. As the supply of shares become less, price will be easier to go up in future, assuming fundamentals do not change.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-29 21:04 | Report Abuse

Because there are large capital held to "wait" for the price to come down, if the price does not come down quickly, they are not going to wait for too long. Many bought recently not just because of the dividend, but they don't want to miss the chance to own shares, therefore there, after 2 weeks when the dividend is received there will be another wave of buying / reinvestment. Those who strategize to buy ex-date sure aware of this so they won't wait until 2 weeks to act.

Tanleechoo

400 posts

Posted by Tanleechoo > 2023-11-29 22:39 | Report Abuse

Tqsm Sardin for Yr rational explanation n response.. it is good to have you here .

observatory

1,051 posts

Posted by observatory > 2023-11-29 22:53 | Report Abuse

Long term investors should focus on corporate governance (checked), company fundamentals (checked), industry outlook (not so sure), valuation (not so sure) rather than other institutions' trading decisions. These institutions have their own reasons for buying & selling, which doesn't necessarily mean the current share price is under/ over-valued.
In fact, compare to other plantation stocks, UP share price is a lot less volatile. If you think the valuation is right, buying at RM16.5 or RM17.1 is just a difference of over a few percent, which is immaterial over a multi-year horizon.
No doubt the current dividend yield is high, and I expect it to remain high in the near future. But an important consideration is, as ooihk899 mentioned, this is a cyclical stock. A more prudent, but also more difficult approach, is to estimate the future revenue and margin over a full cycle and then work out the valuation.

Tanleechoo

400 posts

Posted by Tanleechoo > 2023-11-30 00:08 | Report Abuse

Tqsm for Yr valuable input ! Observatory ! A lot of things to learn Fr all . I’m

Posted by investor2011 > 2023-11-30 07:46 | Report Abuse

for a good company , if EPF dispose like no tommorrow , retail investor should buy . one good example -Matrix concept ,EPF dispose at RM 1.3X few mths back , now Matrix trade at RM 1.6X plus good div yield. I'm lucky to collect some Matrix and UP at lower price -Thanks EPF .

rohank71

877 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-11-30 09:07 | Report Abuse

All depends on your view on CPO price, too. But if you are prepared to sit on RM1.00 annual DV if CPO is down to 2500, just buy and keep over time better than buying a property for investment.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-11-30 09:25 | Report Abuse

So many great gurus here. Thank you and respect. Cheers.

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-11-30 09:26 | Report Abuse

If CPO is down to 2500, I don't think Dividend will be RM1.
The price of CPO is affected by world oil seed production,
especially soybean. Climate change and biofuel usage is
some of the factor.

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 09:50 | Report Abuse

Just only ex div a lot of grandma comeout...Lol

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 09:56 | Report Abuse

Check ur facts la...epf everyday buying Sime plantations...ady past 13.3% shares...Lol

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 10:06 | Report Abuse

Yes we will wait for u...once price reach 25...after bonus issue price will be 12.5 u can buy...Lol

rohank71

877 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2023-11-30 10:28 | Report Abuse

#MOBA... I didn't say CPO will be 2500 anytime soon. My advice is IF the CPO goes to 2500, UP can pay max 1.00 if U are still happy.. just hang on and in the meantime collect the high DV whilst CPO stays above 3000

Hemsley

341 posts

Posted by Hemsley > 2023-11-30 10:35 | Report Abuse

So buy before ex-date is a better move.

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-11-30 10:49 | Report Abuse

In 2020, UP avg selling price was RM2613, dividend was 85 sen.
Please don't just open your big mouth and talk nonsense.🤣🤣🤣
Furthermore, current cost will be higher than 2020.

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 10:58 | Report Abuse

But u forgot 2 mention( on purpose) in 2020 there was a 1:1 bonus share issue...did shareholders lose...Lol

ooihk899

2,055 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2023-11-30 11:18 | Report Abuse

Wah, bery good logic lo, like this oso can ar?🤣
No wonder call Amazon jungle.
Palm oil in Amazon oso can get Hi dividend lo.😂🤣🤣🤣

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 11:42 | Report Abuse

Hi, anyone attended the AGM before? Could you recommend any hotel to stay? Thanks.

moven00

721 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-11-30 11:46 | Report Abuse

Ok. Thanks for the good information and healthy arguments. Let’s hope UP continue to generate wealth to its shareholders and generous in paying out dividend. Plus CPO price hopeful to at least sustain above RM3k for 2024. We can do our best as investor by managing our own risk. To invest means to take risk. I’m no smart ya, just sharing my thoughts.

moven00

721 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-11-30 11:49 | Report Abuse

You know how many old and retirees will feel sad if UP failed. You attend the AGM then you’ll understand. Kesian la. And you know the people that runs UP is a bunch of honest people and hardworking. They don’t intend to failed UP shareholders.

moven00

721 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2023-11-30 12:18 | Report Abuse

@ Sardin , you can try Rivertel at Teluk Intan.

JrWarren

104 posts

Posted by JrWarren > 2023-11-30 14:11 | Report Abuse

@Sardin, Ipoh 2 days 1 night makan trip. That is what I did in 2017.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 15:43 | Report Abuse

Hi moven00, thanks for the info. Appreciate.
Hi JrWarren, good suggestion.

Tanleechoo

400 posts

Posted by Tanleechoo > 2023-11-30 15:52 | Report Abuse

Tqsm Moven00 .. healthy arguments so that we can learn Fr each other 🌈👍❤️

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 16:08 | Report Abuse

@moven00, after these few days I am one of those uncles now. 😆 I had never thought of becoming one this year! I broke almost all my important investment rules when I place my bet on UTDPLT. I wouldn't ask anyone to do that but I did it. It is an important decision but it is also insane.

Ahlian

34 posts

Posted by Ahlian > 2023-11-30 16:21 | Report Abuse

Sardin, Some time we need to make once in a lifetime decision. Leave those fail investment and focus on the the right boat and jump into and continue the journey.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 16:43 | Report Abuse

Ahlian, thanks for your encouragement.

Ahlian

34 posts

Posted by Ahlian > 2023-11-30 16:46 | Report Abuse

You, are not alone ya. Everyone in this forum in have holding. Must have make some money from the dividend ya. Hold on tight. Have a long safe journey.

KClow

1,223 posts

Posted by KClow > 2023-11-30 16:52 | Report Abuse

Lol
Told u..all talk kok here

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

Wow

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 16:57 | Report Abuse

I said it will move up very quickly. I knew it. Just didn't expect it to be so soon.

Sardin

824 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-11-30 17:03 | Report Abuse

Unbelievable

SUPERMONEY

341 posts

Posted by SUPERMONEY > 2023-11-30 17:09 | Report Abuse

Last minute can it be sustained for tomorrow ? Unless some development.

Tanleechoo

400 posts

Posted by Tanleechoo > 2023-11-30 17:26 | Report Abuse

Any one can share why go up last minute? Is it the big boy collect back ? They make it unpredictable as most thinks after x div will be around the ex price … v interesting fluctuations.. like supermoney say - sustainable or not !

Amazonboy

771 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2023-11-30 17:33 | Report Abuse

Worry abt tmrw.. tomorrow...2night...shareholders sleep smiling...Lol

SUPERMONEY

341 posts

Posted by SUPERMONEY > 2023-11-30 17:43 | Report Abuse

tomorrow 8.59 mins before open queue price position will at least early know on the direction