SCIENTEX BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): SCIENTX (4731)

+0.10 (2.23%)

4.50 - 4.62

2,333 comment(s). Last comment by jojo85 2 weeks ago

Posted by bullbullbully > 2018-11-15 16:55 | Report Abuse

Next TP 15

Posted by commonsense > 2018-11-16 05:10 | Report Abuse

At a glance, the acquisition of daiboci seems to be expensive given that scientex valuation currently is lower than daiboci (15.5x PE vs 21.2x) .

But having seen the management capabilities of increasing the revenue and profit with this company, you will be expecting they will do the same for daiboci.

Either way, rev and patami of scientex will automatically increased after taking into account daiboci's contribution starting 1Q19. Just that the valuation will be higher than the current PE after taking acct the new shares paid for the acquisition of daiboci.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2018-11-16 17:29 | Report Abuse

Must hold scientax fr 3 to 5 years to see any appreciable results

Eric999

39 posts

Posted by Eric999 > 2018-11-19 13:16 | Report Abuse

Good cross 9.0. Next resistance 9.3

Posted by bullbullbully > 2018-11-19 17:22 | Report Abuse

10 by end of the month..

Eric999

39 posts

Posted by Eric999 > 2018-11-30 14:49 | Report Abuse

Good move. Possible
cross 9.3 before closing

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-19 15:20 | Report Abuse

when all counters in red and at 1 year low share price ....

this SCIENTEX still can on uptrend chart

not bad

Posted by thienthien > 2018-12-24 10:18 | Report Abuse

when is QR release?

tm9999

156 posts

Posted by tm9999 > 2018-12-28 18:21 | Report Abuse

Weak result....
Run monday.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-28 18:51 | Report Abuse

biz will not always up and up

sometime also will down

that is part and parcel of doing biz

just the down , is it permanent or temporary only? need to know that

sometimes biz that continue up not stop, when suddenly down 1 qtr, the market will react big and share price will plunge

once and off, should have some down, so that market can absorb the shock

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-28 18:55 | Report Abuse

sales drop due to progress billing of its property division

the film biz, margin is not high

it depend much on the property sector for it high profit margin

so actually you are buying property company or film mfg company ? you decide

Posted by sense maker > 2018-12-28 21:34 | Report Abuse

Fair value: RM5

enigmatic

916 posts

Posted by enigmatic > 2018-12-29 00:40 | Report Abuse

SCIENTX the next bluechip to fall?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2018-12-29 09:02 | Report Abuse

SCIENTEX is not a blue chip yet..lol

enning22

2,930 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2018-12-31 15:54 | Report Abuse

property glut,economy uncertain ,sale down ....same old story

shpg22

Posted by shpg22 > 2019-01-03 12:34 | Report Abuse

Revenue and profit should be compare with the same quarter last year not the preceding quarter. Quarterly revenue/sales up by 8.3% YoY.

RainT sales drop due to progress billing of its property division

newbie4444

1,264 posts

Posted by newbie4444 > 2019-01-03 12:34 | Report Abuse

sifus why profit drop 39.21% QOQ 8.8 cheap?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-01-16 23:56 | Report Abuse

so that is why

this company profit is mainly from property

packaging biz profit margin is very thin only

high sales is from packaging biz while high profit is from property

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-01-16 23:58 | Report Abuse

while this company profit is increasing (it is on property segment not the packaging biz)

while the expansion in USA look good (but contribute small profit only rather than property segment)

so you are buying into packaging biz or property biz ...

Posted by Chan Steven > 2019-01-23 08:39 | Report Abuse

No need to comment. Just keep buying before the institutional funds pile in.

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2019-01-27 07:34 | Report Abuse

Last 5 years EPS show significant fluctuation, range from 55 to 90sen per share, the PE ratio is high at 15, the ROE at 14%, and dividend yield at 2.27%.

https://louisesinvesting.blogspot.com/2019/01/preliminary-screening-of-counters-with_56.html

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2019-01-30 13:45 | Report Abuse

The co is expanding fast ,likewise its overall revenue will double in another 5 years time giving an appreciation of 20 % pa.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-02-12 09:16 | Report Abuse

PE 15 is high ???

have u see other many companies PE is more than 15 & the share price still climbing

Koyee

73 posts

Posted by Koyee > 2019-03-08 19:28 | Report Abuse

Queue 2 days 8.40 no match so low volume anyone wants to sell? :)

Koyee

73 posts

Posted by Koyee > 2019-03-13 13:22 | Report Abuse

got it yesterday @ 8.40

YAPSS

216 posts

Posted by YAPSS > 2019-03-13 17:43 | Report Abuse

Today, YAPSS will be covering Scientex Berhad's fundamental via a short animated video. Enjoy and I hope it helps! #FundamentalDaily010

Click the on the link below to find out more: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eARPQbSu0GM

witchjaz

52 posts

Posted by witchjaz > 2019-03-19 15:57 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (March 19): Scientex Bhd's net profit in the second quarter ended Jan 31, 2019 (2QFY19) grew 8.5% to RM73.75 million from RM67.98 million a year ago, on higher revenue from better sales performance.

Posted by bullbullbully > 2019-04-05 17:23 | Report Abuse

Something fishy going on....hmmmmm

Posted by azhanmatnordin > 2019-04-16 12:03 | Report Abuse

Bear again

lai81533

987 posts

Posted by lai81533 > 2019-04-17 20:06 | Report Abuse

Strong monentum

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-06-11 14:21 | Report Abuse

this is property company or packaging manufacturing company ?

Jona0724

812 posts

Posted by Jona0724 > 2019-06-12 11:58 | Report Abuse

father start packaging, pass to son then start do property business. now is both, company grow up significant due to son.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2019-06-21 15:30 | Report Abuse

Property gains more ..

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2019-06-21 15:33 | Report Abuse

Property to manufacturing by ratio 70:30 if not mistaken

shpg22

Posted by shpg22 > 2019-06-26 16:04 | Report Abuse

This company is another ultimate cash generating cow. Look at its cash flow.

shpg22

Posted by shpg22 > 2019-06-26 16:33 | Report Abuse

Maintained STRONG BUY at fair price of 10.00. The next MAHSING spotted.

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2019-06-26 17:07 | Report Abuse

Profit mostly from Property, hence can't justified to trade at PE 15.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-06-27 08:17 | Report Abuse

It is normal for manufacturing division to have lower profit margin than property division. But the asset turnover for manufacturing side is higher than property, hence results in a decent ROIC. But ROIC on property will still be higher nonetheless.

There is a good possibility for manufacturing's profit margin continue to improve slightly in the future as more of their sales shifted from industrial stretch films to food packaging, which is what they have been heading over the past 5 years.

Manufacturing is going to drive bulk of Scientex growth in the future. Property division will keep growing as they purchase more landbank to build affordable homes, but manufacturing will be the main driver through acquisition (whole flexible packaging industry around the world is consolidating), so company profit margin should track closer to manufacturing's profit margin down the line.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-06-27 08:28 | Report Abuse

Another less talk about thing of Scientex is its efficiency. Without its ability to generate current level of cash flow, they won't be able to keep acquiring other companies, and without that, the growth would slow down dramatically.

Scientex isn't a company with massive moat, perhaps narrow moat based on economic of scale and a low cost producer by being as efficient in both property and manufacturing. Hence the reason to acquire companies to achieve EoS. On property end, Scientex embrace IBS because it save cost and can complete a property in less time. A typical landed house takes 24 months from start to completion and hand over, they do it in 16-18 months. Faster completion = better cash flow generation.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-06-27 12:35 | Report Abuse

have property segment to support the profit of SCIENTEX

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-06-27 12:37 | Report Abuse

SCIENTEX = property company

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-06-27 12:55 | Report Abuse

My suggestion is this: Try to see things as it is, reduce categorisation. Why do human categories things? To reduce complexity and ambiguity. To make faster decision 'property company, worth PE XX; O&G: Cyclical etc". We do that to companies. We do that to ourselves. "I am a Value Investor", or "I am a growth investors". You put yourself in a box. Sometimes that works, but there is a great cost when things go wrong.

So see a company as it is. Without throwing them into buckets like property, O&G, tech etc. See it as it is by understanding the structure of the business and how much future cash flow can it can generate.

shpg22

Posted by shpg22 > 2019-06-27 17:42 | Report Abuse

Net Profit or should I say real cash is cash regardless of which industry. P/E is quite meaningless when view as a single entity.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2019-06-28 11:01 | Report Abuse

Fast growing company for manufacturing n property . Acquired property via allotment of shares or cash generated . In this way the debt ratio is kept in check . This counter will perform in good n bad times n thus holding the co for long term will save u the agony of fluctuation of stock prices daily .

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-07-03 07:05 | Report Abuse

This sounds like a wise statement until you realize it is means exactly nothing and is a roundabout answer from someone who is more academically inclined than practical experience.

Investing is a concise, analytical activity. Why make it sound so mysterious and vaguely religious?

If you understand business, you will understand that there is no business on earth that has no competitors, peers or similar companies doing the same thing. In short, all business falls under a category or industry.

The challenge is to analyze a business and compare it to peers in the same category/industry/specialization and find out it's moat or competitive advantage versus it's competitors.

Simplified, how does it increase its profit and revenue and grow its market share. By taking it from other people in similar business.

Therefore: categorize.

For scientex you take all the film manufacturers in its industry and compare the costs to produce, the volume they produce versus the price to sell. Then you compare it with peers to understand how efficient they are as buyers will always buy based on a price/quality curve.

Then you take the properties they develop, find out the selling price, the average selling prices of housing in the area, then look at their location/average price and compare that with their profit margins vs that of other competing property developers. Then you will know exactly how efficient their property development eye, marketing and selling strength overall.

After you have dissected each of their business units and categorised each growth pattern Vs peers, they you can understand the entire company as a whole.

Reduce categorization? This is a very Buddha remark which I can't grasp. Investing is literally about picking up the best potential business based on current price/ future growth risk and comparing to every similar company in the category. I don't know any other way to value a business.

Can you elaborate on " understanding structure of the business?" And "seeing a company as it is?" Really interested to learn more.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Posted by Ricky Yeo > Jun 27, 2019 12:55 PM | Report Abuse

My suggestion is this: Try to see things as it is, reduce categorisation. Why do human categories things? To reduce complexity and ambiguity. To make faster decision 'property company, worth PE XX; O&G: Cyclical etc". We do that to companies. We do that to ourselves. "I am a Value Investor", or "I am a growth investors". You put yourself in a box. Sometimes that works, but there is a great cost when things go wrong.

So see a company as it is. Without throwing them into buckets like property, O&G, tech etc. See it as it is by understanding the structure of the business and how much future cash flow can it can generate.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-07-03 11:00 | Report Abuse

Why does investing has to be "comparing to every similar company in the category"? A dollar of investment is a dollar of investment regardless of whether that dollar is invested in a property stock or a packaging stock, so why do you want to compare [similar] company in the category?

Comparing similar companies in an industry is useful to create contrast, to find out what things a company is doing differently from others, but investing is not bounded by industry categorisation, but circle of competence.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-07-03 11:05 | Report Abuse

Welcome musang. Battle ground lol. Continue your battle. Go on.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-07-03 11:09 | Report Abuse

I didn't know it is a battle ground. Different perspective give you different illusions. Don't laugh too loud

13,148 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-07-03 11:13 | Report Abuse

>>>

The risks in property development are:

1. Insufficient own capital to fund the project.
2. Over-leverage and excessive borrowings.
3. Poor sales for various reasons - poor location, industry related reasons.
4. Cyclical downturn.

Many property projects are launched in the cyclical upturn of the industry. Soon many more jumped in the game.

When the cyclical downturn comes, the weaker developers suffer.

>>>>

OTOH Scientex has done very well in the property development sector. It builds affordable houses which are in demand. Tremendous stewardship offered by the major shareholder in finding its own niche in this sector.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-07-03 11:20 | Report Abuse

Thanks for your advice. Let me think about it.