TA ENTERPRISE BHD

KLSE (MYR): TA (4898)

8 people like this.

7,616 comment(s). Last comment by Scylla 2021-03-27 13:22

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2019-11-20 20:48 | Report Abuse

Bad result

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-20 21:08 | Report Abuse

@sslee, any comments as you are the only here had a meeting with them personally. unrealized losses from investment securities 183m . what is he trying to achieve.? last year final quarter also massive loss

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-11-21 19:35 | Report Abuse

Dear hopetobecorrect,
Once a gamble always a gamble. I have to say my meeting with the board only brought about a minor reduction in the gambling behaviour of Datuk Tiah

Page 5: Cash flows from investing activities
Purchase of investment securities: RM (1,244,175,000) (2019): (1,720,962,000) (2018)
Proceeds from disposal/redemption of investment securities: RM 1,374,499,000 (2019): 1,644,159,000 (2018)

Page 14:
Other income
Realised fair value gain on investment securities: RM 155,323,000
Other expenses
Unrealised fair value loss on investment securities: RM (183,473,000)

Page 15: Investment holding and others division reported loss before tax of RM25.9 million in the current year’s third quarter. For the current period-to-date, this division reported profit before tax of RM117.8 million.

Page 26: The following table shows reconciliation from the opening balances to the closing balances for Level 3 fair values.
Unquoted securities
Balance at 1 January 2019: RM 289,595,000
Purchases: RM 780,572,000
Disposal: RM (1,010,614,000)
Fair value gains and losses recognised in profit or loss
- Unrealised:RM (18,921,000)
- Realised:RM 216,512,000
Foreign exchange loss recognised in profit or loss
- Realised: RM (429,000)
Gains and losses recognised in other comprehensive income
- Exchange translation reserve: RM 3,366,000
Balance at 30 September 2019: RM 260,081,000

darrenliew

960 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2019-11-21 20:40 | Report Abuse

WAS NOT AWARE OF SUCH HIGH RISKS OPERATIONS IN INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND DERIVATIVES.

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-22 10:15 | Report Abuse

@sslee, thank you so much

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-22 10:26 | Report Abuse

i thought after the omega securities scandal, TT will change himself( he escaped jail terms) and dedicate to enhance shareholders value., sadly how wrong my hope.
if the offence is commited now, sure jail term

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-22 11:37 | Report Abuse

anyone has the same feeling like me?

Lele

523 posts

Posted by Lele > 2019-11-22 15:14 | Report Abuse

俗話說 :“ 江山易改,本性難移。 ” 醒醒吧!公司已經是“ 私人公司 / Sendirian Berhad ”了。

ironcrowz

71 posts

Posted by ironcrowz > 2019-11-22 16:52 | Report Abuse

Hmm i don't see anyone mention RM155m REALISED gain was made, everyone's focusing so much on the RM183m UNREALISED loss. Pretty sure everyone's aware that the current market is under pressure, so what's wrong with these unrealised (hopefully temporary) losses?

As long as TA's investment philosophy is sound, these investments shall prove their worth in time to come (Seeing the performance of hotel investments made, so far so good). As we probably will never find out what they invests in (even if we do, we can never obtain such detailed info and analyse each and every of them), the best we can do is make sure TA invests based on a sound principle.

How do we make sure that? Just ask TT their investment principle, strategy etc., if he can speak some substance of that question, we are pretty safe then.

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-24 11:47 | Report Abuse

@ironcrowz, i don't quite agree. in 2018 total loss from investment was more than 300m and in 4Q2018 alone, the loss was 256m. i thought the huge losses in 2018 will be a lesson to TT and also the managemnet.
the independent directors need to stop TT from destroying the company

darrenliew

960 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2019-11-25 08:34 | Report Abuse

CURRENTLY HOLDING UNREALISED LOSS OF RM183M ON ITS UNQUOTED INVESTMENT SECURITIES/DERIVATIVES IS STILL A LOT OF FINANCIAL RISKS/EXPOSURE WHICH CAN SIGNIFICANTLY IMPACT NEGATIVELY ITS FUTURE QUARTERLY EARNINGS

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-11-25 11:44 | Report Abuse

hitgirl47
Seems like he must have upset you for you to say all this about him. Definitely he is not perfect and neither am I and neither are you, for we are after all sinners and that's all of us. I hope he will forgive you for saying stuff and I believe as a good christian he will.

Posted by Engteng9688 > 2019-11-25 12:54 | Report Abuse

坐过牢的Ta老板是不可以相信的。

Lele

523 posts

Posted by Lele > 2019-11-25 16:36 | Report Abuse

@hitgirl47

其實Datuk Tony Tiah是Kluang, Johor, Malaysia人。他的爸爸以前是馬華的居鑾國會議員( 程榮美 ),他父母把最小女兒送給了以前居鑾富商當女兒( 張氏家族 )。TA Global 在 Kluang的土地以前是富商張氏家族的。Datuk Tony Tiah以前是一位中國傳統民間信仰人,每年新春都會去 Muar, Johor 的善財爺拜拜。在Kluang家族名聲不是什麼慈善之家. Hai - O老老闆陈凯希老先生也是Kluang人,在Malaysia每個人都很敬佩他。

如果你有閱讀TA &TAGB的新聞,他們公司每年的股東大會新聞放很多假新聞( 什麼什麼未來發展前景??? ) 以前常提到REIT,都已經有10年最近不提了。之前我都說了不能投資在這公司。公司給的股息又低,老板名聲也不是什麼大慈善家,在馬來西亞金融界也犯法過,如何能給股東們帶來好處????現在這兩家公司是Berhad, 可是實際情況上已經是 Sendirian Berhad,所以不能投資了。

是不是基督徒是不用經常[ 掛在嘴巴打廣告 ]。最重要是[ 嚴持淨戒,慈愛世人,才能與主同在。]

ironcrowz

71 posts

Posted by ironcrowz > 2019-11-25 18:09 | Report Abuse

@hopetobecorrect

Just re-read my comment earlier and make urself clear on "realised" and "unrealised"

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-25 21:46 | Report Abuse

iconcrowz, after following your ADVISE, i had re -read and still have the following doubts;
1- what will the actual realized losses from the unrealized portion as there is no guidance given by the mgmt
2- with their smart secretive trading knowledge, why can't they be more transparent in their dealings

ironcrowz

71 posts

Posted by ironcrowz > 2019-11-26 10:37 | Report Abuse

@hopetobecorrect

1 - There is no such thing as actual realised loss from the unrealised portion, the 4 items (realised gain, unrealised gain, realised loss, unrealised loss) will always be shown separately in the income statement.

2 - Their main biz is hotel mgmt, which makes up the majority of their revenue and profits; not investment holding, so it's understandable they do not go into much details since it's not the core biz. But of course since the unrealised losses is creating some concern recently, those who managed to attend the AGM may question the mgmt on their investment approach, i unfortunately couldn't attend due to my full time job. If u asked their approach and they didn't answer, only then it shows that they are not being transparent; if no one asked, they probably think that it's unnecessary.

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2019-11-26 10:48 | Report Abuse

@ ironcrowz.,

thanks for your advise.,

still, the company hads responsibility to explain item (1) as details as possible so that ikan bilis shareholders will understand.

i am also confused with your note (1)

ironcrowz

71 posts

Posted by ironcrowz > 2019-11-27 10:43 | Report Abuse

Realised loss and unrealised loss will be shown as separate item in the income statement, so it's not like some realised losses will be hidden inside the unrealised losses.

If there's any realised loss, it will be shown as a separate item; if u dun see it in the income statement, that means no losses has been realised yet, which is the case for 2018 and 2019.

Hey btw, i found sth new, the unrealised loss in 2018 is mainly on unquoted securities which amounts to RM229,549, most likely 2019 also the same.

Anyone knows wat r these unquoted securities? Could be private investment, derivatives etc.?

hitgirl47

16 posts

Posted by hitgirl47 > 2019-11-27 16:30 | Report Abuse

@lele
为什么他们不set up reit了?? 这样不是可以融资更多钱然后偿还银行贷款和负债了吗??

Lele

523 posts

Posted by Lele > 2019-12-02 10:52 | Report Abuse

簡單一句話就是投資Berhad大股東很重要,他是否能給小股東帶來好處。TT 已經控制了TA,TA持有60%多TAGB的股權。所以其它投資基金是不可能買入這兩家公司的股權了。之前我都說了這兩家公司不能長期投資。哈哈!現在已經是死股了,看它每天的交易記錄就知道了。

我看 TA 今年第四季度的財務報告也應該不是很理想,因為全球經濟都很不明朗。除非TAGB 能有好消息。

最後還是一句話 :“ 投資Berhad大股東很重要,他是否能給小股東帶來好處。”

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2019-12-12 02:04 | Report Abuse

Rum pum pum-pum...

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2019-12-12 10:36 | Report Abuse

Pa rum pum pum pum,..Rum pum pum pum,

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2019-12-13 14:24 | Report Abuse

Rum..rum..

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-12-13 20:16 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Glad to see Datuk Tiah buy TAE again after he last bought on 7th Oct 2019.

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2019-12-17 16:03 | Report Abuse

Pa rum pum pum..Pum pum pum pum..Pa rum pum pum..Pum pum pum pum pa rum

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2019-12-23 23:36 | Report Abuse

Our finest gifts we bring Pa rum pum pum-pum...

Posted by Dajiahao Ma > 2020-01-03 09:37 | Report Abuse

Let's start the sound of music.. Doooooo......

Posted by happyinvestorGG > 2020-01-09 08:12 | Report Abuse

At the current price of 59 cents, it is only 24% of the market valuation of TA as a going concern and 40% of audited book value. Not sure why people keep selling to Tiah who is happy accumulating, where his 66 cents MGO failed. He is happy to pay a higher price of 66 cents yet people still sell lower. Keep for dividend for years to come.

6,059 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-01-09 08:14 | Report Abuse

Undervalued, keep on adding.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2020-01-10 22:20 | Report Abuse

Since he cannot buy TAGB, he keeps buying TA which indirectly allows him to increase his TAGB shareholding. TAGB is the crown jewel.

Posted by happyinvestorGG > 2020-02-11 21:48 | Report Abuse

TA suspended on 12 Feb for announcement.

enid888

581 posts

Posted by enid888 > 2020-02-11 21:56 | Report Abuse

While Tony is trying to solve the TAGB public shareholdings spread problem, he may also involve corporate exercise that may benefit the minority shareholders.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2020-02-11 22:11 | Report Abuse

Interesting !! Maybe TAE will offer to buyout TAGB.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-11 22:33 | Report Abuse

any corporate exercise to be announced?

Posted by Miz Raya Bloom > 2020-02-12 08:36 |

enid888

581 posts

Posted by enid888 > 2020-02-12 11:51 | Report Abuse

@Singh1,

Listing TAGB's hospitality REIT will realise the hidden values of the hotels in TAGB and benefit all the shareholders of TAGB. I think Tony prefers to keep TAGB and TAEnt deeply undervalued and collect slowly at low prices. By this way, he can personally buy the hotel assets at a fraction of its market values.

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2020-02-12 13:52 | Report Abuse

the only smart people here is tony and lele

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-12 19:39 | Report Abuse

You are spot on!

Indeed, it is.

https://disclosure.bursamalaysia.com/FileAccess/apbursaweb/download?id=100819&name=EA_GA_ATTACHMENTS

singh1 Interesting !! Maybe TAE will offer to buyout TAGB.
11/02/2020 10:11 PM

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2020-02-12 20:35 | Report Abuse

Fabien TAGB shareholders kena screwed !!!

Lele

523 posts

Posted by Lele > 2020-02-12 20:51 | Report Abuse

Hahaha......... on 4 July 2018 offer price is RM0.3101, but now RM0.28. " Tak Boleh Pakai Lah "

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2020-02-12 21:06 | Report Abuse

that's why i mentioned only tony and lele are the smartest. tony & family keep on milking his shareholders and lele had been cautioning us on this greedy old fox. only me is the stupid one trusting he is a change man after the omega scandal

Lele

523 posts

Posted by Lele > 2020-02-12 21:14 | Report Abuse

Hahaha ............. 俗話說 :“ 江山易改,本性難移。”

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2020-02-12 21:30 | Report Abuse

@singh1
1st - screw omega
2nd - list tagb and screw it later
3rd - screw ??

Posted by JHMoneyMatters > 2020-02-12 21:53 | Report Abuse

So tomorrow, TA Global will trade near 0.28 and TAE near 0.665...

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-02-12 22:16 | Report Abuse

Technically TA should be above 0.665 right

else TAGB holders would not swap

cch1025

8 posts

Posted by cch1025 > 2020-02-12 22:39 | Report Abuse

Not a good offer for those old minority shareholders who stay true and loyal to Tagb as par value is 50sen and NTA is much higher. Previous offer was 31 sen and now 28 sen noticing the price been suppressed to suit this offer.
i feel compelled to voice out for those who stay true to Tagb going thru thick and thin and believing that the counter is worth more and they will be remunerated fairly.
i just entered before the counter been suspended and will be making gain but feel that the offer does not do justice to those who hold for a long time believing and trusting this is a solid and rewarding counter.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2020-02-12 23:06 | Report Abuse

hopetobecorrect 3rd screw is for those who buy close to 28 sen and later see the takeover is not successful and the price collapse back to 23 sen or maybe even lower. Look at TA, from takeover offer from 66 sen to now only 54 sen.
Another comparison to make is the YTL & YTLLAND story. Those who are familiar will understand.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2020-02-12 23:11 | Report Abuse

Some minority ytlland shareholders are still holding their shares even after being delisted. I guess just to show back the middle finger Ha! Ha! Ha!