PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

+0.02 (0.41%)

4.90 - 4.97

11 people like this.

4,443 comment(s). Last comment by Johnchew5 12 hours ago

pputeh

698 posts

Posted by pputeh > 2019-04-12 09:35 | Report Abuse

stockraider coming here to give advice!. For me the div return is ab 4% not including appreciation

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 09:38 | Report Abuse

for small holders better to sell...buy Gkent if you want...reason is coming qtr results will likely be very bad for Pchem..it will take sometime to move up significantly

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 09:39 | Report Abuse

No wonder stoneraider is such a bad investor keep buying sape and talamt etc... He reads pundits from Malay mail. Can suddenly come out so many unconfirmed theories from something that happened at 130 am this morning. Clap clap clap!

No one told you that pic is not operational yet? No earnings from here yet little kid. What accounting policy, yours?

>>>>>>
This means u will see lower earnings for pchem for q2 30 june 2019 result loh....!!
Beside Pchem will also suffer from project delay too, which the operations will be affected by higher overheads and financial cost loh....!!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 09:39 | Report Abuse

From office boy to accountant, very impressive. Almost as impressive as fake engineer to investment banker specializing in sukuk and m&a.

Clap clap clap.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 09:41 | Report Abuse

If u believe in Discounted cashflow NPV....don u think the fire delay the project completion date....will affect income generation that means Pchem value mah.....!!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > Apr 12, 2019 9:39 AM | Report Abuse

No wonder stoneraider is such a bad investor keep buying sape and talamt etc... He reads pundits from Malay mail. Can suddenly come out so many unconfirmed theories from something that happened at 130 am this morning. Clap clap clap!

No one told you that pic is not operational yet? No earnings from here yet little kid. What accounting policy, yours?

>>>>>>
This means u will see lower earnings for pchem for q2 30 june 2019 result loh....!!
Beside Pchem will also suffer from project delay too, which the operations will be affected by higher overheads and financial cost loh....!!

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 09:45 | Report Abuse

my advise has nothing to do with PIC explosion....you can take that out complete from your consideration....next 2 qtr earnings may be significantly bad....better to wait for the results end of next month

i sold at 9.10...break even with the dividend at 18 cents

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 09:47 | Report Abuse

U need to understand Raider use to be a despatched boy...but that is the past mah....!!

Now raider is a successful businessman...of course i got financial adviser to advice me....and of course some are good accountant as well mah....!!

U do not need to be accountant to talk accounting policy bcos u have the advisers to support u loh....!!

>>>>>>

( BNF trader losses ) Philip
1265 posts

From office boy to accountant, very impressive. Almost as impressive as fake engineer to investment banker specializing in sukuk and m&a.

Clap clap clap.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 09:48 | Report Abuse

we like to maximize gains with the capital we have..

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 9:46 AM | Report Abuse

aiyo.... No need monitor so closely lahhhh unkers... just leave it and let it do it's job

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 09:50 | Report Abuse

Good news for Hengyuan, Lctitan & petron with the Petronas pengerang fire loh....!!
Their Petrol chemical will be delayed and that means less supply loh...!!

Furthermore petrol spread is rising thus hengyuan & petron can take advantage selling more volume at higher price mah.....!!

Massive blast reported at Pengerang’s Rapid oil-and-gas facility (VIDEO)

Malay Mail Ben Tan,Malay Mail 1 hour 51 minutes ago .

The blaze that broke out at Petronas’ Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development project in Pengerang, Johor early this morning. — Picture courtesy of social media/Persatuan Bangsa Johor

JOHOR BARU, April 12 — An explosion and fire occurred at the Petroliam Nasional Bhd’s (Petronas) Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development (Rapid) project in Pengerang here early this morning.

The shock of the 1.30am explosion was reportedly felt by residents of several nearby residential areas.

According to social media posts, the blast was also loud enough to be heard within a 50km radius of the project.

It is still unknown if anybody has been hurt in the incident.

Pictures and videos of the incident have been circulating online since 2am.

It was learnt that the explosion and subsequent fire were due to a leaking gas tank at the facility.
12/04/2019 9:33 AM

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2019-04-12 09:52 | Report Abuse

sell....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 09:59 | Report Abuse

Posted by MahjongAuntie > Apr 12, 2019 9:53 AM | Report Abuse

Focus on O&G, construction sectors, HLIB Research tells retail investors

Fuelled by higher Brent crude oil prices and a recovery in local construction job flows in the first quarter of 2019, HLIB Research's top picks for the quarter are Sapura Energy Bhd and EA Technique (M) Bhd in the O&G sector, as well as construction stocks Kimlun Corp Bhd, Kerjaya Prospek Group Bhd, TRC Synergy Bhd and GFM Services Bhd.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/focus-og-construction-sectors-h...

MahjongAuntie
56 posts
Posted by MahjongAuntie > Apr 12, 2019 9:55 AM | Report Abuse

Auntie have very good habit

I read news everyday

Now i like to talk to young people more

MahjongAuntie
56 posts
Posted by MahjongAuntie > Apr 12, 2019 9:56 AM | Report Abuse

Share some news with u all here

Must read news one if you invest

Dont cincai cincai hantam

rajachulan

1,740 posts

Posted by rajachulan > 2019-04-12 10:27 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/04/12/explosion-at-pengerang-integrated-complex/

25km away pasir gudang also can fell it... guess this remind a lotsa people of the old titan fire back in 2006?

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 10:30 | Report Abuse

The real money is not in the buying or selling... But in the waiting.
The question always remains, once you sell, buy what?

I have always struggled to push my investment philosophy, buy when you see a company has a distinct competitive advantage, sell only when that competitive advantage changes, the company changes, the management deteriorates, or when your financial circumstance changes.

If the business fundamentals did not change when you guys bought the stock, or you found a more compelling stock to purchase that you do not have enough funds for, why sell at all?

It's like selling your house just because there is a +/-15% change in value.

Why bother the small changes in share price?
>>>>>>>

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-04-12 10:36 | Report Abuse

lol it's fated i would never buy at the "lowest", as always, just like Monish Prabai. haha

bought yesterday, then fire happens, today cheap sale again

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 10:38 | Report Abuse

me small capital Philip...with your positions i think you should hold

its easier to get a 10% return in say Gkent compared to Pchem..in a month...from what i could feel...

as there is no longer interesting market changes to move Pchem up by itself..

of course i could be wrong

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > Apr 12, 2019 10:30 AM | Report Abuse

I have always struggled to push my investment philosophy, buy when you see a company has a distinct competitive advantage, sell only when that competitive advantage changes, the company changes, the management deteriorates, or when your financial circumstance changes.

If the business fundamentals did not change when you guys bought the stock, or you found a more compelling stock to purchase that you do not have enough funds for, why sell at all?

>>>>>>>

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 10:41 | Report Abuse

Thats true in the long run loh....thats why raider always ask people to buy sapnrg at Rm 0.30 to Rm 0.35 look it up for 3 yrs 3 mths and u will get a Rm 3.00 it is true it will be successful loh....!!

But 80% to 90% of Klse players are opportunistics mah....they are short term traders they will sell & buy back later at a lower price when face temporary crisis loh....!!

Just imagine Henyuan was cut at Rm 13.00 and bought back at Rm 5.00 by raider loh....!!
I heard alot of savvy investor sold sapnrg at Rm 0.80 to Rm 1.20 and now slowly collecting at Rm 0.30 to Rm 0.36 loh...!!

U don have to be a rocket scientist to predict Pchem share price will fall loh....!!
Imagine....u soh soh like Philip advice u to buy Hengyuan when it fall at Rm 11.00 to Rm 12.00....u will end up bankrupt loh...!! This is bcos the fall is not so little loh....!!

Just becareful Hengyuan and Sapnrg is a good guide for u loh....!!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > Apr 12, 2019 10:30 AM | Report Abuse

>>>>>>>

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-04-12 10:43 | Report Abuse

very difficult strategy if u keep moving ur funds towards potential stocks with immediate catalysts

u need to have a very high hit rate to remain profitable

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 10:45 | Report Abuse

thats true within small caps...but not true between big cap and small caps i think

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > Apr 12, 2019 10:43 AM | Report Abuse

very difficult strategy if u keep moving ur funds towards potential stocks with immediate catalysts

u need to have a very high hit rate to remain profitable

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 10:46 | Report Abuse

It is not a small explosion it is a tremendous big one mah....!!

Imagine If u live in Kuala Lumpur....u can hear explosion in seremban...it is a very terror explosion loh....!!

The damage is yet to be quantify loh...!!
There are more than the 30 mins fire damage that u can think loh...!!

"According to social media posts, the blast was also loud enough to be heard within a 50km radius of the project. "

rajachulan

1,740 posts

Posted by rajachulan > 2019-04-12 10:46 | Report Abuse

to be fair...

deep pocket big fund investor aim for firm return 求稳

shallow pocket limited fund investor aim for high return 求快... and of course high risk...

I think it is important to identify your own position...

and do note that there are others like trader and fund manger in this forum...

so their method may not suit you also if you are not sit in the same position...

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 10:47 | Report Abuse

Investment Highlights

We maintain our BUY recommendation on Petronas Chemicals Group (PChem) with an unchanged fair value of RM10.40/share based on an unchanged FY19F EV/EBITDA of 10x — 3SDs above its 3-year average of 8x given the stock’s correlation to crude oil prices.

Online media reported that an explosion and fire occurred at the Petronas' Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development (RAPID) project in Pengerang today. The blast, which appears to stem from a leaking gas tank, was loud enough to be heard within a 50km radius of the project. So far, two persons have been reported to be injured in the incident.

Recall that the group’s 50%-owned Pengerang petrochemical division has reached mechanical completion of 96% with production expected to commence towards the later parts of 2HFY19. Back in 2017, PChem has sold a 50% stake in PRPC Polymers to Saudi Aramco for RM3.8bil (US$900mil).

Given Petronas' strict adherence to health, safety and environment requirements, we expect an extensive investigation into the causes of this incident, which could delay the commencement of petrochemical production.

Management expects minimal contributions this year, with plant utilization around 70% for the first 3–6 months which will progressively ramp up to 90% over a time frame yet to be confirmed due to the complexity and integration required with Petronas’ refinery.

Likewise, our FY19F forecasts have not incorporated any increase in PChem’s output given that the group has guided that average plant utilization could remain flattish above 90%, similar to FY16–FY18. This is supported by 5 major TA activities this year, which will be spread out over 1QFY19 and 3QFY19, as compared with 6 in FY18.

However, if the RAPID investigations defer production next year, we expect a 6-month delay to cause PChem’s FY20F earnings to slightly decline by 3%, assuming product prices are stable. For now, we maintain our forecasts pending further clarity from management.

Even though management’s market guidance for 1QFY19 was bearish, we remain sanguine given that the group’s product prices have a strong correlation to Brent crude oil prices which have risen by 37% since 31 Dec 2018 to US$71/barrel currently.

This will be a greater impact to the group than temporary delays in RAPID commencement as a 1% increase in average product prices will translate to a higher 3% rise in net profit.

PChem currently trades at a reasonable FY19F EV/EBITDA of 9x, which translates to a 26% discount (vs. its 3-year average discount of 17%) to Taiwan-based Formosa Petrochemicals’ premium 12x, while its dividend yields are fair at 4%.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 10:50 | Report Abuse

ok sifu...note taken. Mindset....not sure will change.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 10:48 AM | Report Abuse

probability you need to change your mindset lah.... buy quality, buy competitive advantaged company... Average down when it falls... not sell... the more you trade the easier you lose money!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 10:54 | Report Abuse

Remember even b4 the explosion occur the management guidance is negative & pessimistic loh....!!

"Even though management’s market guidance for 1QFY19 was bearish, we remain sanguine given that the group’s product prices have a strong correlation to Brent crude oil prices which have risen by 37% since 31 Dec 2018 to US$71/barrel currently."

"This will be a greater impact to the group than temporary delays in RAPID commencement as a 1% increase in average product prices will translate to a higher 3% rise in net profit."

THAT MEANS WITH THE FIRE & EXPLOSION JUST NOW, THE MANAGEMENT PESSIMISTIC GUIDANCE IS A FOREGONE CONCLUSION LOH....!!

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 10:57 | Report Abuse

Stockraider, u r not doing a very good job leh. After bad mouthing so much, price drop not even 2%. Please step up your effort la.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-04-12 10:59 | Report Abuse

I'm very torn now, to top up on this, or buy more of another co i just found.

If only this thing blew up like 2 months from now haha.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 10:59 | Report Abuse

let us see Gkent vs PChem in 1 month from now....main main a bit

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 10:59 | Report Abuse

JUST IMAGINE THE PETROLEUM CHEMICAL COST RM 64 BILLION....JUST A 3% ESTIMATED LOSS ON THIS FIRE & EXPLOSION WILL COST RM 2 BILLION LOH....!!

AND PCHEM 50% SHARE WILL BE RM 1 BILLION LOH....!!

OF COURSE CAN CLAIM FROM INSURANCE, BUT NEED TO WAIT 6 MTHS TO 1 YR LOH.....!!

MEANWHILE THIS RM 1B LOSSES WILL BOOKED EITHER IN Q1 31-3-2019 OR Q2 30-6-2019 PCHEM QTRLY RESULT LOH....!!

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 11:01 | Report Abuse

i have some other reason (so far not disclosed) which i think pchem next earnings will be bad...i would like to verify this by seeing the earnings next qtr before concluding on pchem...

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 11:03 | Report Abuse

I have never bought lousy counters thrown away by shell to China companies before, or near bankrupt heavily in debt mergers like sapura. But I often read on the company in i3, and especially certain select individuals who say it is worth rm35 - rm45. Then quickly change their tune when it turns out their prognosis was incorrect to begin with.

Despatch boys and accountants are always like that, they can always give you whatever delivery time you want ( or intrinsic value you can dream of) without putting in the reality of the acting on that promise.

I bought PCHEM for the value of it's existing business at rm8.15, not only for it's future valuations, which if comes is wonderful, but if it doesn't come, I can still enjoy 3.9% dividends@50% earnings.

You on the other hand, buy loss making companies like sapnrg and talamt hoping that the future will come save you.

It won't.
>>>>>>>

...u soh soh like Philip advice u to buy Hengyuan when it fall at Rm 11.00 to Rm 12.00....u will end up bankrupt loh...!! This is bcos the fall is not so little loh....!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:04 | Report Abuse

OK LAH...U WAIT 1 OR 2 MTH MAH....!!

I REMEMBER, RAIDER SAY LARI KUAT KUAT WHEN HENGYUAN HIT RM 13.00...BUT THEN WITHIN PERIOD OF TIME ABOUT 2WKS, HENGYUAN DID REBOUND TO RM 14.00 TO RM 16.00....AFTER THAT IS HISTORY LOH....!!

TODAY U CAN CHECK HENGYUAN PRICE MAH....!!
RAIDER NEVER BLUFF U LOH....!!

Posted by titus > Apr 12, 2019 10:57 AM | Report Abuse

Stockraider, u r not doing a very good job leh. After bad mouthing so much, price drop not even 2%. Please step up your effort la.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-04-12 11:04 | Report Abuse

this gas explosion news is actually a short term opportunity to buy..but i dont think one will make a good % profit trading in short term

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:07 |

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 11:08 | Report Abuse

Totally agree! I usually wait until Westerly earnings come out before making my choice.

>>>>>>
probability i have some other reason (so far not disclosed) which i think pchem next earnings will be bad...i would like to verify this by seeing the earnings next qtr before concluding on pchem...

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:12 | Report Abuse

NOT TRUE LOH....JUST SMALLISH HYFLUX COLLAPSE BRING DOWN MAYBANK TO ITS KNEES THE SHARE PRICE CRASH FROM ABOVE RM 11.00 TO RM 9.00 LOH...!!

MAYBANK EXPOSURE TO HYFLUX ONLY ABOUT RM 400 MILLION ONLY MAH....!!
BTW MAYBANK PROFIT IS ABOVE RM 7 BILLION A YR LOH...!!

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 11:07 AM | Report Abuse

probability you are right... I am sure in the long run say 10 years, this will be a great chance to buy more.. But if you want short term gains definitely not possible... When I buy into this counter I know liao... It's like my better version of Maybank FD wakakkakaa

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:14 | Report Abuse

raider...u say lari kuat kuat at 13 meh? I remember at 18 or 19 your still promoting buy oh....and say will reach 42 leh......am i smoking o u r the 1 smoking????

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:16 | Report Abuse

if u can curse Pchem to drop till Rm6 ah......i tomorrow slaughter chicken for u.....hehe.....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:21 |

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:30 | Report Abuse

meaning by end June will be RM6?.....ok, just in time for me to go mortgage my home, my shop, my car, my underwear. Then put into margin account and leverage 2.5x and buy into this counter...

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:34 | Report Abuse

NOT CHEAP MAH....WHY U WANT TO DO THAT LEH ??
DON FOLLOW BAD FOOTSTEP OF PHILIP, GO & BUY INTO AOKAM & RENONG ,WHEN HE THOUGHT VERY CHEAP WITH LEVERAGING LOH....!!

IT IS VERY DANGEROUS MAH....!!
Posted by titus > Apr 12, 2019 11:30 AM | Report Abuse

meaning by end June will be RM6?.....ok, just in time for me to go mortgage my home, my shop, my car, my underwear. Then put into margin account and leverage 2.5x and buy into this counter...

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2019-04-12 11:36 | Report Abuse

Please drop more la pchem like what stockraider prophesize. I will gladly buy more.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:40 | Report Abuse

IT IS NOT HYFLUX....IT IS THE IMPACT OF SMALL LOSSES ON HYFLUX....THAT THE BUSINESS AFFECTING GIANT MAYBANK MAYBANK SHARE PRICE MAH....!!

SAME LAH....THE LOSSES OF RM 1 BILLION FROM FIRE & EXPLOSION IS TO PCHEM IS ACTUALLY IS SMALL....BUT IT WILL IMPACT THE SHARE PRICE ALOT LOH....!!

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 11:33 AM | Report Abuse

raider Hyflux debt level is exceedingly high if I am not wrong, something similar with your sapnrg pick leh.... but look at Debt level of Pchem.. so minimal only borrowings is for the PIC project only... even then the debt to equity super low... One thing I learnt from 5 years ago is to avoid heavily indebted companies...

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:43 | Report Abuse

Wow....philips bought renong ah?...hehe....
but if Pchem can end up like renong ah......i think quite disastrous for malaysia as well. Your money earns from Sape also like banana money a'dy....

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:46 | Report Abuse

We are talking of science & u refering geography....u r a bad student loh.....!!

Why raider kepoh in pchem leh ??
To save naive soul, that thought pchem can buy & thought very cheap bcos of the fire incidence loh....!!

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 11:42 AM | Report Abuse

raider I'll tell you Hyflux and Maybank...
I can equate it to PNB and Sapura Energy...

aiyar good luck with your SAPNRG lah... if you don't like PChem no need come here attack it !

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:52 | Report Abuse

actually if Sape fail ah...maybank also very jiak lat. That is why pnb step in......in my opinion la...

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 11:56 | Report Abuse

This fellow Mentally retarded loh...!!

Posted by Stockraider > Apr 12, 2019 11:50 AM | Report Abuse

Better buy Saprng mah! Now only 33 cents! Later go down to 20 cents can buy more mah!

Posted by Stockraider > Apr 12, 2019 11:54 AM | Report Abuse

If Saprng drop to 11 cents then average down loh!

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-12 11:57 | Report Abuse

Anyway.....i come back end of june to check the result. Even if it drops to 6.99, consider you win la....if not, i think day and night i will be cursing someone. Even in my dream........ lol

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2019-04-12 11:59 | Report Abuse

>Posted by stockraider > Apr 12, 2019 11:56 AM | Report Abuse

This fellow Mentally retarded loh...!!

Posted by Stockraider > Apr 12, 2019 11:50 AM | Report Abuse

Better buy Saprng mah! Now only 33 cents! Later go down to 20 cents can buy more mah!

Posted by Stockraider > Apr 12, 2019 11:54 AM | Report Abuse

If Saprng drop to 11 cents then average down loh!

Hahaha!We know that

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 12:01 | Report Abuse

Why u need to curse leh ??

Now Pchem Rm 8.84 mah....if u don go n buy now or u have sold now...even if u buy back at Rm 8.20 later...u still saving yourself from losses loh...!!

Use your logic & think mah...!!

Posted by titus > Apr 12, 2019 11:57 AM | Report Abuse

Anyway.....i come back end of june to check the result. Even if it drops to 6.99, consider you win la....if not, i think day and night i will be cursing someone. Even in my dream........ lol

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 12:17 | Report Abuse

Yes... Everybody was a stockraider once. Luckily once is enough. Over and done with.
Whole stockraider continue to put money into counters like talamt and sapuranrg and make fun of me investing in gkent and pchem and STNE.

I keep making money, and I try to look forward.

>>>>>>>
titus Wow....philips bought renong ah?...hehe....