PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

+0.03 (0.52%)

5.70 - 5.84

10 people like this.

4,266 comment(s). Last comment by Plantermen 12 hours ago

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 12:20 | Report Abuse

gkent i bought even earlier & lower than u mah...!!

Raider never laugh at ur gkent loh....!!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > Apr 12, 2019 12:17 PM | Report Abuse

Yes... Everybody was a stockraider once. Luckily once is enough. Over and done with.
Whole stockraider continue to put money into counters like talamt and sapuranrg and make fun of me investing in gkent and pchem and STNE.

I keep making money, and I try to look forward.

>>>>>>>
titus Wow....philips bought renong ah?...hehe....

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2019-04-12 12:42 | Report Abuse

Hahaha!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 13:10 | Report Abuse

Despatch accountants are very funny these days.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-04-12 13:17 | Report Abuse

Ah boy,

My top 3 is already 60% of portfolio.

Top 5 is around 80%.

I'm very concentrated, remaining 20% is split over my other small small picks. PCHEM is not a big one for me.

Its not a matter if you are concentrated or not, its what style suits you, i wrote something on diversification.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/PilosopoCapital/163383.jsp
===

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > Apr 12, 2019 11:00 AM | Report Abuse

Choivo boy, although I might be younger than you... Concentration is key here! Don't spread and go all over the places... You might want to wait for the official announcement made by Petronas first.. Because then it might drop lower... No point having 50 stocks in your portfolio... You are just going to dilute away all your returns and good ideas! If you can find a good company, you sure can identify the better ones or even the best!

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 14:32 | Report Abuse

Truth. Reeeeeeaaaaaaaallllyyyyy long article little boy.
>>>>>
Patron i realize many of these fundamentalists like to write long essays quote this quote that but their results ain't that impressive. IMO
01/07/2018 1:51 PM

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-12 14:41 | Report Abuse

this on the other hand is a very very old hand. I also have the same reasoning in why I dont invest much in smallcaps like rce and opensys etc.

>>>>>>
Junichiro Hi Jon, I notice that u have Petron in yr portfolio. What puzzle me is why do u invest big time in a company with little liquidity? Most of the time, the seller is at the mercy at the buyer.

When I was very young, I bought shares in a company which has little trading. When I wanted to sell, I found a big gap between the buyer price n seller price. My senior advised me not to trade in illiquid shares. That was my first lesson.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-04-12 17:03 | Report Abuse

If u want to get rich...u must not mess yourself with big cap loh...!!

Good smaller cap like opensys, sapnrg and insas much more safer loh..!!

A good example...is Pchem...not doing well at all loh...even insas which people depise also beat it flat loh...!!

With bad news still not at full blast yet...u cannot imagine what the share price will be in 2 to 3 mths time loh...!!

enigmatic

912 posts

Posted by enigmatic > 2019-04-13 14:52 | Report Abuse

bad news is the friend of buying opportunity

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2019-04-14 23:28 | Report Abuse

Hahaha... relax lar... EPF also smell money and come buying de

Posted by ( BNF trader losses ) Philip > 2019-04-15 09:46 | Report Abuse

Like I said, still under construction, the risk is borne by contractors and installers.

>>>>>>>
We refer to the fire incident that occurred on 12 April 2019, at approximately 1:25 a.m. at Pengerang Integrated Complex (PIC), Johor.

The said incident has no financial or operational impact to our current business.

This announcement is dated 15 April 2019.

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2019-04-15 15:42 | Report Abuse

really lucky picked so much up when 8.8... stockraider please do your job more.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-18 15:39 | Report Abuse

Where is raider? putting out fire in Sape????

Veron_teo

1,492 posts

Posted by Veron_teo > 2019-04-18 17:44 | Report Abuse

Stockraiders has rest in piece after sailang in talamt

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-18 19:23 | Report Abuse

Huh? Talam delisted meh? Last i check still trading leh. I no buy talam la but i dun think he sink in talam la.

Posted by MrPotato88 > 2019-04-21 11:45 | Report Abuse

Will they be having another plant turnaround this year ?

56,153 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-04-21 16:15 | Report Abuse

Better sell all PetChem shares as it will be affectedby Huge Blast in Pengerang RAPID

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTdwX8PwF38

56,153 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-04-21 16:19 | Report Abuse

My friend in RAPID said quite bad

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFhy8FeU7I8

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2019-04-21 17:39 | Report Abuse

Buylctitan...

56,153 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-04-22 01:24 | Report Abuse

Cannot buy Pchem and also cannot buy Ltan

Market might

SINK
SINK
SINK!

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2019-04-22 12:03 | Report Abuse

My friend in Rapid say the damage is contained for that package only which is package 2 by Sinopec, is not the whole RAPID exploding. They have currently place order for the long lead items that are damaged. Which may takes 6-12 months additional. Mechanical works such as piping and structures are easy to replace, but machines, valves ,etc. may be longer. Looking beyond that, you have other packages which is still progressing as we speak. So far no financial impact on Pchem as the whole construction works are insured and the whole O&G industries are insured thats why they have all sort of procedures in place to ensure insurance continuing covering them. Example they have safety audits, procedures, etc. Remember 50% Aramco, 50% Pchem the risk is even lower.

Just to share to those shallow speculators that do not understand the industries and merely reacted on news. But buy on dip. That's your entry opportunities.

Another thing to remember is upstream O&G bodes well for increasing oil price (Example of upstream hibiscus, carigali, just to name a few players) and downstream when lower oil price translate to lower feed stock price. Thats why big O&G players have a balance portfolio of upstream and downstream to balance out their weaknesses.

bjaya

269 posts

Posted by bjaya > 2019-04-22 18:13 | Report Abuse

It has steadied around 9 for quite a while. Just picked up more @ RM 8.90.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-30 10:24 | Report Abuse

Yesterday AGM, the management said that the expected growth for 2019 will be weaker than 2018? This is interesting info.......need to wait for the upcoming QR.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-30 10:34 | Report Abuse

Punter, where u get the info 6TA? I thought the mentioned 2018 was having the most TA. 2019 is weaker due to demand .....if i read it correctly la.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-30 10:54 | Report Abuse

Punter, thanks for sharing the info. I didn't attend the AGM. Only getting the news from online news. Below is an excerpt from NST. It already says 2018 have a heavy turnaround. I'm not sure the upcoming 6 TA as mentioned is considered light or heavy....lol. So mayb wait for upcoming QR.

"In 2018, the company achieved the highest production volumes at 10.4 million tonnes per annum amid heavy statutory turnaround at several major plants within its integrated chain. We also recorded our highest sales volume at 8.4 million tonnes per annum compared to 8.1 million tonnes per annum in 2017."

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-04-30 11:53 | Report Abuse

Punter, agree with you things should look good but I'm waiting for the upcoming Q since management said 2019 will be weak and you mentioned first quarter will face strong resistance, so hoping the price will be weakened a bit to collect more before year end.

Dakewlest

1,754 posts

Posted by Dakewlest > 2019-05-05 16:12 | Report Abuse

Guys, just wondering, what is the goodies given during AGM?

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2019-05-05 16:29 | Report Abuse

Buy lcti

Dakewlest

1,754 posts

Posted by Dakewlest > 2019-05-06 10:29 | Report Abuse

Why today jatuh? Bad QR?

Dakewlest

1,754 posts

Posted by Dakewlest > 2019-05-06 10:34 | Report Abuse

I bought some lots today for long term.

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-06 12:22 | Report Abuse

Wah!! EPF still keep disposing until now arh!? Jia lat oh..... even sold up to 9 million share in one day!! Looks like my prediction (a few months ago) is true so far.

Dakewlest

1,754 posts

Posted by Dakewlest > 2019-05-06 12:35 | Report Abuse

What do u mean risktransformer???

bjaya

269 posts

Posted by bjaya > 2019-05-06 12:46 | Report Abuse

Trump’s threat of imposing 25% tariff on China goods beginning this friday triggers today’s bearish sentiment!

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-06 16:45 | Report Abuse

@Dakewlest, several months ago I cautioned against the downside risk of this counter because I noted that EPF consistently disposed a few million shares almost every other day.... & I said that EPF would continue to do so for several months (bringing down the share price while doing so).

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-06 23:10 | Report Abuse

wait bad quarter result out, big drop then buy in another batch

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-05-06 23:10 | Report Abuse

omg EPF continuously dispose ...

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-08 11:38 | Report Abuse

All the hype about epf selling millions but the price is still hovering around Rm9. Also who is doing all the buying?

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-08 15:32 | Report Abuse

EPF selling millions of shares regularly is not a hype.... it is a fact, it is reported by Bursa & everyone can check it out. The price may be hovering around RM9 but if EPF keep selling millions regularly.... how long can it hang onto RM9? Well, unless EPF change from selling millions to buying millions regularly then that will be a different story then.

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-08 17:09 | Report Abuse

So what was your prediction that came true and who are the buyers?

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-08 17:25 | Report Abuse

Yes it’s true epf is selling millions but no one can correctly predict price direction. You can only guess albeit educated.

If investing is so simple as to follow epf footsteps, we are all majority shareholders of sapura by now

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-09 09:35 | Report Abuse

Rwkl, my prediction that came true (so far) was (1) EPF will continue selling several million shares regularly for many many months ....can even b up to 2 years (2) the price direction is down (at that time the price was RM9.10 to RM9.30) and at this moment the price is RM8.83.

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-09 09:56 | Report Abuse

Rwkl, since u mentioned Sapura Energy.... FYI, EPF did the same thing to Sapura Energy during the past few years (kept selling several million shares daily.... bringing down the price from RM2.60 to RM0.265). In case u may think I hold a lot of Sapura shares.... no, I only buy & sell small quantities of Sapura shares.

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-09 16:02 | Report Abuse

Risk, if you base your sell call on Pchem based on epf consistent selling, would you buy if they do the opposite?

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-09 21:37 | Report Abuse

Yes, if EPF start buying several million shares every other day then I'll definitely buy.... after all, PCHEM is a fundamentally strong & profitable company. Currently, the downside risk of this counter is caused by two factors: heavy selling by EPF as well as the possibility of the stock market crashing soon.

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-09 21:42 | Report Abuse

This time I agree with calvintaneng....... the stock market might SINK!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
calvintaneng: Cannot buy Pchem and also cannot buy Ltan

Market might

SINK
SINK
SINK!
22/04/2019 1:24 AM
-----------------------------------------------

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-05-10 09:21 | Report Abuse

risktransformer, pls curse the stock till goes to 7 if possible. If fact if you can curse it till RM5, i call u daddy.....hehe......

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-10 10:05 | Report Abuse

Y should I curse this stock? This is a good stock (& good company). I am just stating the fact that in the current situation it is risky to hold huge position in this stock (hold a little for long term is O.K.). Besides EPF's heavy selling in recent months, it is also a fact that our KLCI has fallen as much as 11.51% from its recent peak of 1,826.90 (this confirmed that our stock market is in correction mode.... if the fall extend to 20% then it will be in bear market).

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-10 15:28 | Report Abuse

Of course anyone can have a opinion on the markets direction but my bone of contention is why allow epf be the sole or main contributor in our decisions?
Markets will crash. When? I don’t know. What I do know is the cream will eventually rise to the top.
Yes don’t invest all in 1 go but generally investors of Pchem and the likes should generally stay in the market rather than timing the market.l
As you put it market was down 11pct but despite epf consistent selling Pchem drop was only 5pct. 930 to 883
I do hold a few stocks where epf has been continuously buying for months but I wouldnt dare declare jumping on board for the short term at least.

A look at past annual reports shows epf, Kwap,asb shareholding’s changing like a yo-yo. The only constant is The No. 1 with a 65pct stake.

I find it amusing some so called investors jumps for joy on epf are net buyers and falls into a mini depression on discovering the opposite on a day to day basis

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-05-10 15:32 | Report Abuse

Epf selling sapura from 2.65 all the way down to 26.5sen?

Surely not a highlight reel in their annual report........

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-05-10 17:12 | Report Abuse

Hahaha! EPF buying/selling is not the only deciding factor in my investment (but in this case with PCHEM.... it is so obvious that EPF's selling has contributed to its price drop). Now the KLCI has dropped by 11.86% from its recent peak.... another 8% or 9% drop will bring it to 20% (not far away from a bear market). If u can sleep well seeing all your stock holding falling by another 10% or more then u don't have to b concerned about the market sinking.... just hold onto your stocks.