PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

+0.03 (0.44%)

6.88 - 6.93

10 people like this.

4,045 comment(s). Last comment by Mohd ImranRafifi 1 day ago

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2020-02-26 22:10 | Report Abuse

Interestingly LCTitan had better results this quarter than PChem

Posted by Philip ( 屁股翘翘!! ) > 2020-02-26 22:29 | Report Abuse

Lctitan results is one time gain from disposal.

>>>>>>>

4Q19 PATAMI jumped to RM188m mainly on higher associate income driven by one-off gain from partial disposal of LCUSA’s equity interest amounted to RM140m. Excluding this, core earnings growth was rather minimal at 7% yoy to RM96m

4,827 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-26 23:18 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
Can I advice you something?

Please change your Azmin Ali profile photo and ( 屁股翘翘!! ) It gives the suggestion are you offering your backside?

Posted by Philip ( 屁股翘翘!! ) > 2020-02-26 23:25 | Report Abuse

Well, I hate disloyal betrayers who use a non existent excuse to grab power from a lawfully elected government.

But having said that, it is true.

He is not laughing or being smart now.

When you fly too near the sun, you get burnt.

Titan

4,158 posts

Posted by Titan > 2020-02-27 07:55 | Report Abuse

of course Pchem wun bankrup....but is current price expensive. I think yes. Is Rm7 expensive, hell yes. Indeed fertiliser demand was up during the last Q as reported but could it due to the sudden rise of CPO so that Plantation suddenly have more money to buy more? Now this CPO price has came down. Also many said that the next cash crops is durian and there is massive planting of durian so it leads to more demand in fertiliser. But with the covid, durian literally get frozen. Will this also cut the fertiliser demand? On the other product such as plastic, many countries banning single-use plastic & more countries going toward zero fossil fuel vehicle and this will lead to low crude oil......hmm.....seems like not 1 headwind but multiple headwind. Even if it brace through the covid, many challenges ahead.

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-27 10:11 | Report Abuse

dj idx future already droppppppp - 3++ . what is dj idx next stop ???

pchem up or down ????

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-27 10:35 | Report Abuse

throw away TA and FA ... mislead in making decision and too lagging. Stupid shark use it to trap buyer..

Be above super trader ....

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-27 12:30 | Report Abuse

let epf, citibug and ibs hold for you.......

Harold Huong

1,036 posts

Posted by Harold Huong > 2020-02-27 12:31 | Report Abuse

Rebound ler
Where got drop

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2020-02-27 13:20 | Report Abuse

5 ringgittt cumminggg

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-27 14:57 | Report Abuse

Hi Titan, petrochemical business is not only "plastics". Pchem Produces olefins, derivatives, aromatics and many base materials used in many markets. This is a super compound which is sold to many producers to make many products which currently cannot be replaced with green materials due to price considerations.

Among them:

Apparel
Sports & active wear, socks, hoodies, thermal underwear; lining fabrics.

Home furnishing
Olefin can be used by itself or in blends for indoor and outdoor carpets, carpet tiles, and carpet backing. The fiber can also be used in upholstery, draperies, wall coverings, slipcovers, and floor coverings.

Automotive
Olefin can be used for interior fabrics, sun visors, arm rests, door and side panels, trunks, parcel shelves, and resin replacement as binder fibers.

Industrial
In an industrial setting, olefin creates carpets; ropes, geo-textiles that are in contact with the soil, filter fabrics, bagging, concrete reinforcement, and heat-sealable paper (e.g. tea- and coffee-bags).
Adhesives and sealants
Construction chemicals
Corrosion control chemicals

Cosmetics and drugs
(With their purchase of da Vinci)
Cosmetics raw materials
Electronic chemicals and materials
Flavourings, fragrances, food additives
Pharmaceutical drugs
Specialty and industrial chemicals(
Specialty and industrial gases
Inks, dyes and printing supplies
Packaging, bottles, and containers
Paint, coatings, and resins
Polymer additives
Specialty and life sciences chemicals
Surfactants and cleaning agents

There are so many applications out there, if people stopped using plastic bags, the last people to worry about is PCHEM.

Now maybe you should read up on the isonanol plant being constructed in pangerang by Pchem. The only one of its kind in that size in this region.

No prizes if you can guess what is the application of isonanol.

tien171

125 posts

Posted by tien171 > 2020-02-27 22:45 | Report Abuse

today CIMB tp is 5RM , high risk to buy !

53,345 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-02-28 01:01 | Report Abuse

Philip is like a frog in the well

Petrochemical might have many uses.BUT DEMAND COLLAPSED SO HOW TO SELL

SEE EVEN SINGAPORE CHAMPION WORLD TRADING NATION ALSO SEE A COLLAPSE OF PETROL CHEMICAL EXPORT TO CHINA

https://www.icis.com/explore/resources/news/2019/11/18/10445073/singapore-oct-petrochemical-exports-fall-19-2-ndox-down-12-3

THE MACRO PICTURE IS VERY BAD

YOU MAY HAVE ALL THE GOOD POINTS

BUT DANGER OF A FINANCIAL TSUNAMI OF COLLAPSING DEMAND IS COMING

SELL PESTCHEM NOW BEFORE MAY 2020 QUARTER SHOWS A LOSS

THEN TOO LATE TO RUN

CRY FATHER CRY MOTHER ALSO NO USE!!

53,345 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2020-02-28 01:06 | Report Abuse

THIS 19% DROP WAS IN NOV 2019

BEFORE CORONAVIRUS HIT WUHAN

WITH EVERYTHING ON STAND STILL & SHUTDOWN PETROCHEMICAL SALES WILL PLUMMET FURTHER

See https://www.icis.com/explore/resources/news/2019/11/18/10445073/singapore-oct-petrochemical-exports-fall-19-2-ndox-down-12

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 05:59 | Report Abuse

Next Q likely huge loss because of covid19 curbing demand

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-28 09:29 | Report Abuse

guess what is next stop for pchem or dj idx ??? pm me ...

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-28 09:32 | Report Abuse

TA, FA, indicator ...... can keep them in fridge now..

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-28 09:35 | Report Abuse

Never , never, never use them....too much information make you can not decide...

Titan

4,158 posts

Posted by Titan > 2020-02-28 10:11 | Report Abuse

all i can see if world demand from petrochemical is getting lesser as there is either direct ban or reduce in usage or there is alternative to petrochemical. Pchem new venture into lubricant also will face challenge because if the world incline towards more electric vehicle, less demand for lubricant compare to combustion engine. Also, the world is over supply. Despite china is shutting down now and might create a short term decrease in supply but if once covid over, i believe china will ramp up production and within 1 or 2 quarters, the supply will flood the market.

Titan

4,158 posts

Posted by Titan > 2020-02-28 10:13 | Report Abuse

cimb tp 5?....hmm...remove my 5.50 Q le.....park below 5.....

Posted by TonsilBasher > 2020-02-28 10:15 | Report Abuse

Tp 5.00

Posted by risktransformer > 2020-02-28 10:18 | Report Abuse

Hehe! Given up already? But a few FA experts still holding on...... good luck!!

------------------------------------
stingray_ea: TA, FA, indicator ...... can keep them in fridge now..
28/02/2020 9:32 AM

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 10:22 | Report Abuse

This stock has some advantage from Petronas relationship (cheaper feedstock etc)

But it also faces a very complicated operating environment with threats of surplus capacity etc

It is naive to overlook those factors and buy into it purely based on Petronas cheap feedstock

I think whoever stuck here have to write it off as it is a subpar investment candidate

Might as well cut loss and deploy capital to better stocks

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 11:01 | Report Abuse

I think people screwed up on this stock because they jumped into it without properly understanding what they are buying into

They are too arrogant

they thought their view is the most accurate and everybody else are idiots

Now we know who is idiot

Titan

4,158 posts

Posted by Titan > 2020-02-28 12:26 | Report Abuse

no idea what is isonanol use for. Simple google and again it leads to plasticity....i guess plastic again. If Pchem can manufacture large amount of alchohol, then it is very much needed now. Saw video clips of china spraying the street with disinfectant. I guess it must have contained some alchohol..... sorry, i'm just a noob but i never go againt the market. So i better dun invest in thing i don't know la.......

& now i learn something today from icon above comment

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2020-02-28 12:37 | Report Abuse

RM 5 cumminggg

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-02-28 13:36 | Report Abuse

Yes, PCHEM is more diversified, but still 70% PP, vs 100% for lctitan.

Below 5 can buy again i think.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 14:13 | Report Abuse

For me

Below 4

stingray_ea

2,765 posts

Posted by stingray_ea > 2020-02-28 16:29 | Report Abuse

drop sa bad.

Bersatu members gather at Setia Citi Convention for emergency meeting...................

mobidick

131 posts

Posted by mobidick > 2020-02-28 16:29 | Report Abuse

WEWE, at this price its sooooo tempting..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 16:37 | Report Abuse

RM4 not impossible

Titan

4,158 posts

Posted by Titan > 2020-02-28 16:51 | Report Abuse

Come come Rm5. I support u abit at 4.99.....just kiddin

untong

55 posts

Posted by untong > 2020-02-28 17:16 | Report Abuse

almost IPO price,30-40 sen more :)

ochai

350 posts

Posted by ochai > 2020-02-28 17:17 | Report Abuse

IPO 5.30 now 5.40... good time to load!!

Chokhmah

256 posts

Posted by Chokhmah > 2020-02-28 17:20 | Report Abuse

been keeping an eye on this stock, entered a bit two days ago and did not sell during rebound, now carrying unrealized loss already. by the way i did know what I am buying into, so don't bash me.

icecool

4,795 posts

Posted by icecool > 2020-02-28 17:25 | Report Abuse

this pchem wait for government bailout no hope

ochai

350 posts

Posted by ochai > 2020-02-28 17:31 | Report Abuse

waiting.... waiting....

untong

55 posts

Posted by untong > 2020-02-28 17:47 | Report Abuse

low oil price with low petrochemical price is bad for PCHEM,having said that most petrochemicals price looking to stabilize in Q1 2020; not to mention there are somesizeable one-off expenses in this quarter.Lets see the impact of COVID19 virus in next 2 quarters first before adding more,if the price drop to IPO price i dont mind adding more first before next 2 quarters results! That's fun to be able to buy at IPO price after 9 years~

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-02-28 18:31 | Report Abuse

PCHEM's Net Cash generated from operations this QR is still very good compared to last year. (5,544M vs 6,667M) 5 years ago, it was just 4,699M. I agree that when PIC commences, surely there would be more growth.

PCHEM still has hoards of cash of 12,045M this quarter against 12,329M last year. If I'm x mistaken, PCHEM has one of the largest cash piles in entire Bursa. 12B cash against 457M USD non-current borrowings should be pretty comfortable.

I read that "compressed margins" is the killer of high profits PCHEM had enjoyed in recent years. I hope this would be a one-off event when PIC commences & the damn coronavirus subsides.

With PCHEM's worst quarterly profit since IPO, further aggravated by political instability, investors' confidence in Bursa & PCHEM will dampen. May the price stabilise soon to ease our fears of losing more money. I hope I can hold it for the long term like Philip ( Icarus).

It's ironic that holding on & doing nothing is the most difficult thing to do in challenging times.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-02-28 18:50 | Report Abuse

Why Pchem dividend cut to only 7 sen leh ??

Why hold so much cash rm 12b ?, it is a waste mah, if u cash hoard, the return is very low mah....!!

Do not be confuse loh...there is rm 12b cash but number of share is 8b units so your cash per share about rm 1.5. This figure or % cash may not even beat insas loh....!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 18:52 | Report Abuse

Next Q will be loss making

Visit pengerang or not visit pengerang

27,861 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-02-28 18:53 | Report Abuse

Dow is set to tank again after Thursday's massive tumble on coronavirus fears

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 18:54 | Report Abuse

Monday another 40 Sen

Then we are 5

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 18:58 | Report Abuse

Lansi zhai has gone quiet

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-28 20:31 | Report Abuse

(Shrug).

Don't worry, if PCHEM goes down I will just buy more.

I won't curse your mother and fxxk your father.

It is a rock solid company with 10 billion cash.

It was cheap when I bought it last year at 8.15.

It is cheaper now when I paid 6.30 for it.

When it hits 5? Even more discount for me to collect more.

People give you discount and dividend, you think viruses and oversupply last forever?

If course buy more sell high.

Unlike fake engineer/banker icon8888 gamble on insas warrants and buy with one hand on the wheel the other on phone buying lctitan at 4.15( buy high) then sell of at rm2( sell low).

You should try doing it the opposite way once in a while.

Then you wouldn't have to be so bitter about life.

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-28 20:44 | Report Abuse

Exactly. In engineering terms:

Your fixed factors:
Free cash flow generation capability.
Your production capability. Your location, supply and logistics.
Your bottom line pricing and your competitive margins.
Your ability to meet capital requirements.
Competitors and their ability to outsell/outprice you.

The variable factors:
Quarterly demands/market supply.
Wars, diseases, lawsuits.
Share price expectations from Mr. Market.

In the end the important thing to realize is this.

You have a company with 38 billion in total assets, 8 billion in liabilities.
Of which you have 12 billion in cash, and 1.8 billion in borrowings.
It has never diluted shares, and maintains a 50 payout.

At today's prices you are buying a business that is valued at 43 billion, has 10 billion in cash, and 30 billion in cash, still doing 16 billion in revenue a year and profitable every quarter despite trade wars, viruses and market oversupply.

What more of a litmus test do you want to prove pchem is a wonderful business worth buying, holding and adding more? The only way to end pchem competitive advantage is to drop a bomb on Malaysia. Even then it might not work.

>>>>>>>>>

enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ PCHEM's Net Cash generated from operations this QR is still very good compared to last year. (5,544M vs 6,667M) 5 years ago, it was just 4,699M. I agree that when PIC commences, surely there would be more growth.

PCHEM still has hoards of cash of 12,045M this quarter against 12,329M last year. If I'm x mistaken, PCHEM has one of the largest cash piles in entire Bursa. 12B cash against 457M USD non-current borrowings should be pretty comfortable.

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-28 20:46 | Report Abuse

Really a small childish kid. Thank god none of the kids I raised were as petty. Worse than a child.

>>>>>>>>

con8888 Lansi zhai has gone quiet
28/02/2020 6:58 PM

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-02-28 20:49 | Report Abuse

Lansi Zhai fingers burnt

Hope he learns something today

Posted by Philip ( Icarus) > 2020-02-28 20:49 | Report Abuse

What cash hoard?

You go back to school and do your maths. Go and calculate back how much it costs to build pangerang then ask yourself if 3 billion USD in cash is a lot or very little.

Of course to those who never made a million, it sure seems like a big number.

Maybe if you stop throwing money into things like insas warrants your rm5k can actually amount to something in the long run.

>>>>>>>

stockraider Why Pchem dividend cut to only 7 sen leh ??

Why hold so much cash rm 12b ?, it is a waste mah, if u cash hoard, the return is very low mah....!!

Do not be confuse loh...there is rm 12b cash but number of share is 8b units so your cash per share about rm 1.5. This figure or % cash may not even beat insas loh....!!
28/02/2020 6:50 PM

Posted by stockraider > 2020-02-28 21:30 |