YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.03 (0.74%)

4.03 - 4.13

39 people like this.

26,477 comment(s). Last comment by UlarSawa 3 hours ago

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-20 14:57 | Report Abuse

Walau,傻眼。短短几分钟就从0.90打到0.845,假如是EPF,那也太牛了。

abc333

1,492 posts

Posted by abc333 > 2023-03-20 15:49 | Report Abuse

last few week, repeat 0.835 in, 0.87 out, this week sell 0.895 , buy 0.845, hopefully will repeat few round

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-20 15:54 | Report Abuse

Time to collect

NTA RM1.75

Don't sell this quality stock

Ran271221

68 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2023-03-20 16:09 | Report Abuse

Saya tak jual kerana EPS meningkat dan dividend yg lumayan.

Posted by TerrenceLim > 2023-03-20 22:42 | Report Abuse

Privitisation offer... RM1.35

Still 50% upside at least

Better get it before trading halt

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-21 17:19 | Report Abuse

马国的Agong讲话啦,Agong都希望马国和新加坡好好合作做生意,特别是数码经济、绿色经济以及粮食安全。
https://www.chinapress.com.my/?p=3355417

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-21 17:24 | Report Abuse

私有化,机会非常非常低,RM1.35是不可能的啦。
按照杨家的pattern,要私有化,早在5毛6毛就可以进行了。
杨家是不会等到今天八毛半才来私有化,更不会抬高价钱到RM1.35来私有化。

myloh123

219 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-03-21 19:00 | Report Abuse

Yes, it's nice to dream.

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-22 09:55 | Report Abuse

Dear Dragon or any who can assist

I have read all your 3 reports regarding YTL Power detailed analysis. Thank you for the fantastic hard work· But Brabazn land was not included in the valuation or may be i missed.

1. Are they using percentage completion method or completed method in the financial statements? I am not good enough to track on the income statement and balance sheet for development cost and land cost.
2. I also could not track the land was purchased in 2015 or 2009 (can not track in balance sheet).
Thank you so much.

Basic information:
Stated in the 2021 annual report: The first phase Brabazon residential property, comprising 302 units apportioned to 127 landed and 175 apartment units has been sold and targeted to be
completed in stages in 2024.

This 354 acres Brabazon land has a GDV of £2.5B (myr 13.67B, this is substantial) comprises approximate 3,675 homes, including studio, one, two, and three-bedroom apartments, as well as two, three, and four-bedroom houses, 62 acres of commercial space, and community facilities such as three schools, a library, a doctor's surgery, 17,000 capacity entertainment arena (3rd largest in UK) and sports facilities. (Wonder the financing for the arena is completed.)

Understand YTL Development UK, a wholly-owned subsidiary of YTL group, acquired the disused Filton airfield and the nearby Brabazon Hangars in 2015 from BAE Systems. But BAE disclosed 2009 the hangars was sold for £120 million.

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-22 09:59 | Report Abuse

YTLPOWR-C22 early movers

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-22 10:05 | Report Abuse

YTLPOWR-C23

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-22 10:05 | Report Abuse

YTLPOWR-C23 +14.29%

dragon328

1,889 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-03-22 11:42 | Report Abuse

@kcwong98, I am afraid that I have no more information on the UK Brabazon land development than what you already stated above.

On paper, the GDV looks big at 2.5 billion pounds or RM13.7 billion. If we assume a gross development margin of say 15%, there will be a gross margin of RM2.0 billion to be realised over next 10 years or so.

As I understand it, property projects in the UK can be booked in only when the houses are completed and handed over to buyers, so we do not see any contribution yet from this project.

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-22 13:21 | Report Abuse

@Dragon328
Thank you for the update and prompt response. If it is completed method as you mentioned, 2024 onward will have higher profit from property development. However, there is zero for property development cost in assets, and can not track AP for the progress payment received (liabilities) in the balance sheet.

I think there,are 2 portions of the property here, 1 for residential & commercial properties for sales; 2 Entertainment Arena and Sport facility (i think for lease).

1 Brabazon - you may trace from the launching of the recent property.

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-22 13:24 | Report Abuse

You guys should put 10% of capital in YTLPOWR warrants. It's literally free money

90% YTLPower ordinary shares, 10% YTLPOWR-C23
Perfect portfolio

take advantage of the low premiums. not just low premium, but 0 premium

hoplanner

372 posts

Posted by hoplanner > 2023-03-22 17:10 | Report Abuse

wallstreetrookie..... I am new to structured warrant. Can briefly explain? is there an expiry date for this warrant? Conversion price is 70sen and at 20sen it is about the price of mother share ...... this isn't an attractive option to buy or as you term it free money.

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-03-22 21:50 | Report Abuse

it was literally free money two weeks ago.

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-23 16:08 | Report Abuse

bought back ytlp at 86sen

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-23 16:15 | Report Abuse

Accumulated back all ytlp at 86sen

Muyutin

371 posts

Posted by Muyutin > 2023-03-23 18:26 | Report Abuse

sold at 87-87.5sen ahead of 15 Mar UK budget announcement on corporate tax
(COLLECT BACK AT 86SEN
CAN EARN MONEY??)

ChloeTai

1,060 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2023-03-24 15:47 | Report Abuse

I join you all at RM0.86.

curiousq

772 posts

Posted by curiousq > 2023-03-27 09:34 | Report Abuse

Bot a little C23, if higher than 0.85 by 31Jul, gain ..... if less than 0.70, all cap gone

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-27 10:37 | Report Abuse

YTL Power Investments Ltd.'s application seeking capital gains tax relief from the Australian government failed to raise a proper argument for the court to consider and would stand little chance of succeeding, according to the order granting the government's request to dismiss the case.

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-27 10:39 | Report Abuse

Malaysian Co. Loses Australian Capital Gains Tax Relief

不能看此报道的详细内容,只能看部分内容,因为需要付费才能看详细内容。

很可能是上个星期股价被拉升的原因吧。

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-27 10:40 | Report Abuse

看来应该被课了不少的税。

dragon328

1,889 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-03-27 11:22 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen, was the application for capital gain tax relief related to the disposal of Electranet in Australia?

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-27 16:55 | Report Abuse

Big possibility yes. But im not sure about it, because the news is restricted for me to read the remaining contain. That's all the info i can read. Sayang the application is failed.

Alwinb

74 posts

Posted by Alwinb > 2023-03-27 21:36 | Report Abuse

From the 3rd quarter fye 2022 cash flow, YTL Power only recognised 1.9 bil, which included 1.2 bil (i/o 2.2 bil) profit from Electranet disposal. Difference could be due to Capital Gain Tax

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-27 21:56 | Report Abuse

Law360 (March 24, 2023, 4:29 PM EDT) -- A Malaysian company was denied tax relief on the sale of its stake in an Australian power transmission operator because its challenge was improper and unlikely to succeed, the Federal Court of Australia ruled Friday.

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-27 22:00 | Report Abuse

Annual Report @ 30/6/2022 page 214 disposal of Australia’s ElectraNet
Note 15
(b) Investment in associates (continued)
(i) Divestment of an associate

On 23 March 2022, YTL Power Investments Limited, an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company disposed of its 33.5% interest in ElectraNet Pty. Ltd. for a cash consideration of RM3.222 billion (AUD1.024 billion) resulting a gain on disposal of RM1.272 billion.

The disposal had the following effects to the financial position of the Group for the financial year:

RM'000
Sales consideration net of transaction costs. 2,196,575
Less: Carrying amount of loan notes (230,007)
Consideration received. 1,966,568
Less: Net assets disposed.(665,198)
Gain on disposal before reclassification of other comprehensive income items 1,301,370
Reclassification of hedging reserve (38,452)
Reclassification of currency translation reserves 9,341
Gain on disposal 1,272,259

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-27 22:03 | Report Abuse

Can anyone explain: Transaction costs of RM1B inclusive of provision of tax, commission, legal, advisory consultation and facilitation fees?

Alwinb

74 posts

Posted by Alwinb > 2023-03-27 22:12 | Report Abuse

My guess is CGT was imputed into the transaction. As per the circular, the profit from Electranet disposal is 2.2 Bil.

Alwinb

74 posts

Posted by Alwinb > 2023-03-27 22:15 | Report Abuse

There Federal court ruling has not material impact to YTL power bottom line else there would be announced in Bursa

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-27 22:42 | Report Abuse

Upon completion of the disposal, the group will recognise a gain of RM2.21 billion, based on the carrying value of the investment as at June 30, 2021.....
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/ytl-power-dispose-entire-stake-australias-electranet-rm3-bil

YTLP indicate the disposal realize net gain RM 2.2 billion, but in actual only RM 1.2 billion recorded which is due to Austrialia impose 50% capital gain tax on YTLP disposal gain last year. YTLP is seeking to waive capital gain tax due to the electranet stake is long term investment, but, unsuccessful.

If appeal granted, YTLP will able to recoup back RM 1 billion from last year transaction already

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-28 00:33 | Report Abuse

Can i inteprete this way:

Probably the tax is 30%. YTL Power failed to get the 50% capital gain (discount) tax relief.

dragon328

1,889 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-03-28 10:04 | Report Abuse

I think what hng33 interpreted above is probably right. That might be the reason why YTLP only got back RM1.966 billion of sales proceeds immediately after the sale at RM3 billion.

The shortfall of RM1.0 billion was most likely due to provisions for this capital gain tax and some other transaction costs.

In any event, I see this court decision as a temporary setback to YTLP, and I see scope for further appeal. I bear the same thinking that the investment in Electranet was a long term investment of >20 years and should not be subject to this capital gain tax.

If YTLP appealled further and won the case, then it would be a bonus of getting few hundred millions of ringgit back, if it does not appeal further or lose the case, then it is case closed and will not affect its operations in any way. YTLP will still be in net cash position at holding level and have all sufficient cash to proceed with all projects in hand like the green data centre projects, Jordan power plant, potential power export to Singapore etc.

ChloeTai

1,060 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2023-03-28 15:25 | Report Abuse

Everyday also sleeping, moving sideway. So boring.

kcwong98

90 posts

Posted by kcwong98 > 2023-03-28 16:00 | Report Abuse

Thank you so much

ChloeTai

1,060 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2023-03-28 17:52 | Report Abuse

How nice if the kaki goreng choose the energy industry to be goreng, just like what they did to the glove counters. One day show also good enough already.

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-29 11:44 | Report Abuse

:D)

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-29 12:23 | Report Abuse

need more breakout momentum and sustain above 90sen

hng33

19,790 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2023-03-29 14:00 | Report Abuse

EPF is buying, next resistance level st 95sen

myloh123

219 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2023-03-29 14:26 | Report Abuse

Upside 20sen...dun sell till reached 109sen...oil price drop is good for utilities

xiaochen

502 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2023-03-29 15:01 | Report Abuse

knock knock on 90c...

curiousq

772 posts

Posted by curiousq > 2023-03-29 15:30 | Report Abuse

curiousq
Bot a little C23, if higher than 0.85 by 31Jul, gain ..... if less than 0.70, all cap gone
```````````````````````````````````````````````````````````
sold C23 and earn some money ..... be careful the market maker, it is unfair to buyers, when YTLPW=0.85, C23 sold @0.15, no premium ..... when YTLPW=0.90, C23 =0.175, discount 2.5sen ..... CIMB is a dishonest bank

curiousq

772 posts

Posted by curiousq > 2023-03-29 15:36 | Report Abuse

If I buy the mother share I will buy more, bcos it will not lapse but can enjoy div.
I will earn more if I have bot the mother share, those thinking to buy CW issued CIMB, beware !!