12 people like this.

2,634 comment(s). Last comment by Sslee 3 days ago

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-09-29 13:09 | Report Abuse

Sold lctitan 28/29 from 2.11 to 2.09, average 2.10

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-02 08:37 | Report Abuse

Added 270k shares of uoadev on 1st oct at 1.57 due to the good news of selling the uoadev tower for 700 million to the REITs. Renting it back at 7.2m per annum is a fair deal, and gives a lot of bullets for well timed acquisition during this trying times. Very happy with the management.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-10-04 08:13 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
Hope you can find some answer to your question on Insas RI
Insas: In giving we receive
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Sslee_blog/2020-10-04-story-h1514447264-Insas_In_giving_we_receive.jsp

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-19 14:08 | Report Abuse

Sure you didn't put all your money in netx? Like you said sell houses to buy netx?

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-10-19 17:00 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
What happen to Yinson:
4 Weeks Range: 4.65 - 6.00
52 Weeks Range: 4.24 - 7.42

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-20 13:16 | Report Abuse

covid happened. PDB delay by 1 year, retender of fpso charter program. since yinson was the only bidder last time, I don't think much will change this time around.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-20 13:56 | Report Abuse

the important mental model to learn is the fpso company with ample cash and good contracts will always be at a good positition. even if they dont do this charter project, they can still bid for limbayong petronas and atlanta enauta fpso which is due in 2021 to bid. Previously the projects were supposed to be done using the 700 million rights issue plan. Now that they dont have to, they have more breathing space and can take things on a more orderly manner.

ipunk

63 posts

Posted by ipunk > 2020-10-21 21:02 | Report Abuse

Serba or Yinson better?

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-21 22:11 | Report Abuse

Both in oil & gas mah...!!

Both con companies mah...!!

Better sell loh...!

Posted by ipunk > Oct 21, 2020 9:02 PM | Report Abuse

Serba or Yinson better?

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-10-21 22:22 | Report Abuse

For me just buy what is below Philip buying cost is the better one.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-21 22:35 | Report Abuse

thats how this sohai sslee lose monies mah..!!

Never learn loh...!!

Last time follow KYY buy xinguan lose big monies mah..!!

Now want follow sohai Philip never learn loh...!!

Posted by Sslee > Oct 21, 2020 10:22 PM | Report Abuse

For me just buy what is below Philip buying cost is the better one.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-10-21 23:00 | Report Abuse

Haha mext time I will follow stockraider buying Netx.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-22 19:08 | Report Abuse

The correct question to ask is which company carries more execution risk?
Serba has a much higher chance of not executing all its projects as it needs kpower,scib and serbadk to execute perfectly its 17 billion order book to get the big returns in earnings. Yinson on the other hand already had project wins and FPSO on very good charter rates and warning big cash flow. Even if they don't get the new projects, they are still very comfortable. With clarity of earnings, lower risk but also lower expectations of over performance.

>>>>>>>

ipunk Serba or Yinson better?
21/10/2020 9:02 PM

ipunk

63 posts

Posted by ipunk > 2020-10-22 21:50 | Report Abuse

but is quite tempting i saw Serba net profit is way more than Yinson, not to mention it giving out dividend each quarter. if oil price stay low for next 1 year will Serba contract has cancellation risk?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-23 08:03 | Report Abuse

A few jobs for both yinson and serba already kiv put on hold

Posted by stockraider > 2020-10-23 08:53 | Report Abuse

That means sell in a nice way lah...!!

Business no good loh...!!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Oct 23, 2020 8:03 AM | Report Abuse

A few jobs for both yinson and serba already kiv put on hold

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-10-23 21:09 | Report Abuse

Sorry you are really not someone who would be teaching me what to do. When your insas beat my ql then we talk la

ipunk

63 posts

Posted by ipunk > 2020-10-24 20:57 | Report Abuse

but during low oil price i suppose O&M is also needed.

ipunk

63 posts

Posted by ipunk > 2020-10-27 21:36 | Report Abuse

Philips i had sent email to you

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-11-02 09:20 | Report Abuse

Bought 200k shares yinson at 4.58

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-02 11:23 | Report Abuse

haha Philip bought Yinson 200k at 4.58 but at 11.10 volume traded only 466 lots

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-11-02 12:01 | Report Abuse

The correct question is when do you think my remiser started buying for me?

Posted by stockraider > 2020-11-02 12:05 | Report Abuse

Don be arrogant mah...!!

Lets be humble abit mah...lose monies lose monies lah...!!

No need to cover up & give silly excuse the best just admit mah..!!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > Nov 2, 2020 12:01 PM | Report Abuse

The correct question is when do you think my remiser started buying for me?

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-02 12:16 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
In that case my mistake as I thought nowadays people just key in themselve buying or selling a stock from their own computer.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-11-02 12:18 | Report Abuse

Please stop pouring oil to fire lah...!!

Posted by Sslee > Nov 2, 2020 12:16 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
In that case my mistake as I thought nowadays people just key in themselve buying or selling a stock from their own computer.

Posted by i3lurker > 2020-11-02 12:19 |

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-02 12:28 | Report Abuse

Haha i3lurker,
I am Mr. DIY so use your imagination.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-11-09 14:57 | Report Abuse

Sold mr diy 160k shares at average 2.2. the moment qqq3 daughter says he wants to buy mr diy, its time to go.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-11-12 22:10 | Report Abuse

Sold pchem 6.8 average past week, 550k shares.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-11-17 11:16 | Report Abuse

Bought a small position in DKSH, 40k shares at 3.25 average since 16/11/2020

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-15 17:12 | Report Abuse

sold DKSH, 40K shares at 3.52 14/12/2020

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-21 09:04 | Report Abuse

bought a small position in choobee around 30K shares @1.42. The prices of steel had been going up exponentially in Malaysia, with sabah choobee increasing prices 3 times in the last few weeks alone. looking as the covid is going to make supply constrained lagging to increasing demand, I think the next few quarters are going to bring in a lot of good results to steel supply companies.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-23 18:25 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
TQVM, your blog article make me a better investor
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Sslee_blog/2020-12-23-story-h1538367552-My_Take_on_Year_2020_The_Year_of_Darkness.jsp
My Take on Year 2020 “The Year of Darkness”

As the year 2020 comes to an end, a new beginning awaits us. The rollout of Covid-19 vaccine is a light at the end of the tunnel, but there are still long ways to go before we emerge from the darkness as each of us need to struggle between good over evil inside us to claim victories.

May good triumph over evil; light dispel darkness; wisdom replace ignorance; humility defeat hubris; love overcome hatred and peace instead of war. Let’s celebrate the return of light inside us and may the light from within shine brightly a path towards a fulfilling life, love, joy, peace and prosperity.

Thank you. I wish all a “Merry Christmas and Prosperous New Year”.
Stay safe, stay invested, stay happy and enjoy the holiday/long weekend with family.

Best Regards
SS LEE

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-23 20:35 | Report Abuse

You and your family as well Lee.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-24 09:53 | Report Abuse

Closed trade on choobee. Last trade for the year. Hopefully next year will be a good year as well.

wkc5657

284 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2020-12-28 10:39 | Report Abuse

Philip, why did you close trade on choobee when in a later post, you mentioned that steel makes will have a field day?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-30 17:54 | Report Abuse

If you check from my telegram discussion, even as a trader I am very conservative on goreng stocks. My limit for risks are very low. While Ryan, qqq333 and others are still holding on to their masteel, melewar and lionind shares, for me anything above 15% returns is having a high risk/reward ratio. I never want to be too early or late on a party, for trading I work on a strict trading plan.

In any case, the method of valuation is to look at the slab prices from manufacturers. The moment it goes down time to leave the party. As it is, the price of rebar and flat is still increasing heavily week to week. That's why steel stocks will continue to do well moving forward.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-12-30 18:37 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip is very kind to take profit at 15% and leave on the table another 15-40% for those buying the shares from him.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-12-30 19:17 | Report Abuse

How would you know that is the case Lee? If you have a crystal ball then it is wonderful. For me trading and long term investing requires different mindset. The steel industry in the long term is not a good industry to be in due to cyclical pricing and the fact that Malaysia does not have raw materials. In the short term... Anything can happen.

wkc5657

284 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-01-05 21:56 | Report Abuse

Philip, you mentioned before that you bought a position into SKP because of their exposure to dyson. What makes you chose SKP instead of ATA?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-01-07 14:16 | Report Abuse

I know SKP and have visited the factory before. I have no idea about ATA, other than ATA jobs come due to relationship with james dysons son..

wkc5657

284 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-01-07 15:05 | Report Abuse

ATA's relationship with james dyson's family really helped a whole lot. But catalyst was when VS did something careless by leaking out some of dyson's engineering info, causing dyson to terminate their contract.

I have an ex-colleague that jumped ship to ATA, he mentioned the scale of full turnkey project work for dyson with multiple warehouse and production lines fully loaded with dyson related goods.

All i can say is that dyson margin very good, i work in a somewhat related industry and my workplace is their teir 2 supplier for just a few small vacuum parts. Margin is sweet compared to single digit % that EMS players usually struggle with.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-01-11 11:09 | Report Abuse

I woke up this morning and realized I had 2 million kpower shares.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-01-16 17:01 | Report Abuse

Dear philip,
Congratulation on your Kpower and SCIB.
Please remember to treat stockraider to a nice "Bak Kut Teh' because you loss your QL bet with his Insas.

wkc5657

284 posts

Posted by wkc5657 > 2021-01-18 19:04 | Report Abuse

Philip, after spending a few hours last weekend on the rough overview of scib, kpower, and serba dinamik, i gained some sense of your bullishness towards them. Your view is proven very right by your return on all these 3 counters, especially scib and kpower.

Just some rough thoughts, i didn't go deep detail and industry understanding to your level :
1) Karim is genuinely one of the rare role models of bumiputra business leader, more like syed mokhtar + ytl + ananda krishnan combined, with a hint of steroids. Really respect his ability in undertaking such complex operations and business deals and continue to grow serba's revenue and maintaining the margins. I read your article on your reasonings in investing into serba/scib/kpower 3 times over the period of 2 months, truly like you say, if Karim is non bumi (and maybe a less BM company name like Omni Dynamics?), there is less racial bias discount and probably a premium for company leader like this. I don't even think Tim Cook of apple can handle a company like serba dinamik.
2) judging by the turnaround of scib and kpower, the ability/connection of Karim and gang to win+inject contracts is bearing fruit. His management experience in serba dinamik really put into overdrive for the turnaround of 2 counters, a good showcase of Karim's deep abilities/connections.
3) 1 real surprise is their vendor acquisition transparency. For most big listed companies, to be their vendor, either they come to you, you have to market very hard to give your proposal, or you have connections. However for serba/scib/kpower, as long as you have the valid documentations, you can register through their website. A very good example for many companies actually.
4) i think serba dinamik have a 50% chance of requiring another private placement if the knock on effects of the current abu dhabi deals bring in more future contracts in the middle east.

However, i don't understand :
a) SCIB and serba dinamik is synergistic, but can't figure out how kpower fits into their bigger picture. Kpower started out as a specialty fabric company and after Karim take over, and now expanding into infrastructure/EPCC like activities.
b) What is the reason that owning 2 more companies, injecting some contracts into them instead of just take it all under serba dinamik wing?
c) Is Karim trying in another way to prove to the market that serba deserves better valuation by getting people's attention into scib/kpower then relating it back to serba dinamik?
d) Would it be a good time now to invest into serba or wait till the private placement is completed?

Appreciate your insights on this.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-01-21 16:09 | Report Abuse

Sold kpower this week average price 2.6@1m shares.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2021-01-22 04:52 | Report Abuse

Hi wck567 I have shared a bit on insights on the telegram channel which you can search, and also on the few articles and discussions in the forum thread.

4,961 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-01-24 09:29 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway has made more than $7 billion on its BYD investment to date, representing a roughly 3,000% gain.

The famed investor's conglomerate spent $232 million to buy 225 million shares in the Chinese electric-vehicle company in 2008, paying about $1 per share.

BYD's Hong Kong-listed shares have skyrocketed 30-fold to the equivalent of $33 since then, quintupling in value over the past year alone. Its market capitalization has mushroomed from less than $3 billion to more than $95 billion as a result.