5,349 comment(s). Last comment by King Kong73 2013-05-06 07:03

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2013-03-04 17:23 | Report Abuse

Kcloh & iafx both of u give a very detail argument regarding minimum wage. Both of U surely can become special advisors to subramaniam, our HR minister. Keep UP the good debate. Nice to read both side of the good debate.

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2013-03-04 17:32 | Report Abuse

When Anwar did his political rounds at Kota Damansara sometime in late February, I saw the minimum wage call of RM1,500 for the people. Just wondering what would happen to all the food prices at the food stalls n restaurants if Indons are paid a minimum wage of RM1,500....triple I guess...

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-04 17:51 | Report Abuse

I can agree with you iafx. But its a start for Malaysian Govt at this moment. Even then, are thorny issues because I think they are still on fact finding and also getting participation from employers. Hence the application of exemption still comes in, especially when at a point of political perspective!

I'd like to think Singapore is on a different consideration because their workforce is now starting to be dominated by foreigners more than their tiny population. Their enforcement really helps to bring the money in for their Govt too!

So, I think from Jala point of view, so far I can say I agree! :)

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-04 17:54 | Report Abuse

Whichever the minimum wage, will not work if the base and per capita income of locals are not in tandem first of all. Anyway I leave you with this cynical clip from Mr Lee.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUMwWs44zvg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-04 18:01 | Report Abuse

DAMN THE BN......read on..

'BN logo removed after knocking down grandmother'
5:41PM Mar 4, 2013
After fatally knocking down a septuagenarian with their four-wheel drive, several men are alleged to have immediately set about removing stickers bearing a BN component party logo and a 1Malaysia flag from the vehicle, before leaving the scene without offering any help to the victim.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222886

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-04 18:06 | Report Abuse

Exclusive & Featured | MARCH 4, 2013, 3:11 PM
Police recommend charges in Xian Leng fraud case

The police commercial crime department has made a recommendation that charges be made in the RM87.5 million graft probe involving ornamental fish breeder Xian Leng Holdings and MCA president’s brother Chua Bah Bee @ Chua Chong Seng......

read more here...

http://www.kinibiz.com/story/featured/6318/police-recommend-charges-in-xian-leng-fraud-case.html

BTW,bursa can list all sorts of lousy companies like this above which rears arowana fish...next time I am going to start a earth worm rearing farm and list it too, haa haa haa

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-04 18:07 | Report Abuse

or perhaps list a car wash company, hee hee hee

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2013-03-04 18:15 | Report Abuse

The PM promise the Sulu to settle something here.
http://www.mb.com.ph/article.php?aid=1201&sid=1&subid=1#.UTRzuzeOAkE

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-04 18:17 | Report Abuse

Now we may face the backlash from 8,500 Filipino in Sabah because we didn't want to fight fellow Muslims according to Mahathir earlier

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/end-sabah-clash-in-brotherly-way-mnlf-warns-putrajaya/

Reposting Mahahtirs statement as follow

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2013/03/03/dr-m-don’t-underestimate-guerillas/

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-03-04 18:22 | Report Abuse

bssb, nothing that said needs special advisor really, juz work with sme ppl, more facts review. that minister tend to forget who is the civil servant, who has the actual data ... as said, too elegant & rigid, he would rather spent mils for foreigner to tell him what to do.

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2013-03-04 18:51 | Report Abuse

too bad our HR minis... look down on our local expert but look up to foreigner for advices. msia boleh becomes Msia tak boleh for our local expert. Very sad indeed.

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-04 21:50 | Report Abuse

Bloody UMNO...read on...

Quote:

BN logo removed after truck knocked down grandma’

After fatally knocking down a septuagenarian with their four-wheel drive, several men are alleged to have immediately set about removing stickers bearing a BN component party logo and a 1Malaysia flag from the vehicle, before leaving the scene without offering any help to the victim.

NONEAccording to China Press, the road accident happened yesterday morning at Lekir, Perak, along the main road from Lekir to Kamunting.

The 73-year-old woman was returning to her home together with her 78-year-old husband on two separate motorbikes after tapping rubber in a nearby estate.

“My grandfather was trailing my grandmother by about 6m when suddenly a Hilux truck (with BN and Umno logos visible all over the vehicle) passed by him at a very high speed and rammed into the back of my grandmother’s motorbike.

“She was thrown off her motorbike and fell head first onto the tarred road,” claimed the deceased’s granddaughter Joanne Lim in a posting on Facebook.

NONELim, in her posting, also included photographs of the alleged four-wheel drive vehicle involved, on which Umno and 1Malaysia logos were clearly visible.

According to her, after seeing the condition of her grandmother, the driver ran off while the two passengers removed the flag with the 1Malaysia logo from the vehicle before following suit.

China Press also reported that its own reporters saw several men tearing off the party logo from the vehicle before fleeing the scene without giving any assistance to the victim.

NONEThe daily said the four-wheel drive vehicle, believed to be a campaign vehicle, left a 300m-long breaking mark on the road before coming to a halt.

“My grandfather, who saw the whole accident, went to my grandmother’s aid but could not do anything to save her because she lost a lot of blood. She died on the spot,” claimed Lim.

Lim said the family has lodged a police report and hopes justice will be served.

Meanwhile, Manjung police told China Press that police will investigate the accident.

However, attempts by the daily to contact Perak Menteri Besar Zambry Abdul Kadir and his aide were unsuccessful.

Unquote:

...please read readers response too, thank you.

Now who says UMNO is good & caring, my foot, damn.

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2013-03-04 22:08 | Report Abuse

Again this culprit..

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-04 22:29 | Report Abuse

That is unforgivable. Catch the guilty ones!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-04 22:30 | Report Abuse

I hope they manage to get the car plate number!

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2013-03-05 00:04 | Report Abuse

Umnu is always irresponsible. hit and run also can.

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2013-03-05 00:06 | Report Abuse

Those guilty whether they r from BN or Pakatan, must be brought to justice. No double standard being serve in Msia.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 00:14 | Report Abuse

that should be the way. of course, most people will do crazy things when in panic. But justice must be met! find the criminals, and charge them accordingly, no matter what their political affiliation is!

BN, especially UMNO, will do well to come out with a statement that whoever transgress against the law, pay the price! We must be law abiding society!

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2013-03-05 00:31 | Report Abuse

On 31 August 1963 North Borneo attained self-government. 1962, the Cobbold Commission was set up to determine whether the people of Sabah and Sarawak favoured the proposed union, and found that the union was generally favoured by the people. On 16 September 1963 North Borneo, as Sabah, was united with Malaya, Sarawak and Singapore, to form the independent Federation of Malaysia.

So since the people of Sabah already attained self-government and join Malaya, how can the Suluk come and claim it after so many years?

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 00:55 | Report Abuse

Andy, your question doesn't answer why Malaysia still pays rent for Sabah! that's why the question of giving autonomy should be started initially by Anwar to SAPP in the first place! This may have led Jeffrey to ask Sulu for help (which Jeffrey denies)? i still dunno how to link Anwar's november pix with Nur Misuari still!

http://sabahkini.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=17627:sabahs-autonomy-anwars-wrong-stance&catid=37:politik&Itemid=41

just conspiracy theory at work! :) thinking outside the box!

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:07 | Report Abuse

There are 60 claimant to the sulu sultanate....which one lah are we paying?
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222853

Check out this blog....has UMNO with the sulu pic and also Pic of BN 4wd that ram into an old woman.....

http://omakkau.blogspot.com/

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:09 | Report Abuse

Kc, don't need to think outside box....because chances are its true....from both sides are also guilty of politicizing and every small aspect could be true....

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:15 | Report Abuse

This gal at omakkau really got loads of photos to share....

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 01:15 | Report Abuse

it remains plausible, yeah! :)

here's one idiot, despite my intense dislike of him, i do say we need voices in the parliament like this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVa9Uap1PL0

MACC must be strengthened by enforcement, and made answerable to parliament!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 01:17 | Report Abuse

CORRECTION AH....

Andy, your question doesn't answer why Malaysia still pays rent for Sabah! that's why the question of giving autonomy SHOULDN'T be started initially by Anwar to SAPP in the first place!

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:20 | Report Abuse

What!!?? We send our troops to Sabah on Air Asia?.....Wah mr bull bear must report this....truly everyone can fly.....

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:21 | Report Abuse

Malaysia truly Asia.....why tudm suddenly want to save cost?

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 01:27 | Report Abuse

and suddenly AirAsia's on-time schedule suddenly improved 200% :)

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:27 | Report Abuse

As early as 2012.....they are UMNO....Sulu Kiram = U....??

http://omakkau.blogspot.com/2013/03/edisi-kantoi-terburai-rakaman-gambar.html

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:28 | Report Abuse

Alamak, this one getting out of hand boy....

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:31 | Report Abuse

What next...Air Asia plane fitted with machine gun?

I believe we may be stronger on land since our sub marine cannot submerge and behave like a ship, they are not conspicuous and are a big target:)

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:36 | Report Abuse

I can now understand how the Americans ppl feel about Bush sending soldiers to Iraq and Afgan.....and they come back in body bags....

We can't avoid war here but we can definitely identify a weak govt in handling this situation poorly giving away all our advantages...

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-03-05 01:39 | Report Abuse

If I know someone is an asshole, I wouldn't play by the rules, likewise in this situation, we know these are seasoned warrior who do not play by the rules and yet we embrace brotherhood.....throw out guerilla war fare, sun tzu,.....let's embrace....we r screwed....

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 01:59 | Report Abuse

got to ask the question if the claim is then true if Najib offer them to settle in Sabah and found later to be removed from the newspaper site; especially if now the "princess" is found to be lying too!

http://laksamanabukitbintang.blogspot.com/2013/03/berita-najib-tawar-penempatan-pada.html

probably scared to be taken to task like another big media, Kompas.com from Indonesia

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mt8EbEmb3bk

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:02 | Report Abuse

BN logo removed after truck knocked down grandma

..now I copy some of the response from readers and you read the rest FREE.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222886

Quote:

Anonymous_4056 TAK Ada Case because UMNO is involved. Do you not know that UMNO is above the law, even the polis is scared of them. BOLEHLAND.
NaN/NaN/NaN NaN:NaN:NaNpm | Report

AnakBangsaMalaysia "...reporters saw several men tearing off the party logo from the vehicle before fleeing the scene without giving any assistance to the victim..." This is a graphic illustration of UMNO being too obsessed over its own well-being and image to care about the people of Malaysia.

fantastic4 What can we expect from them? This has been their modus operandi - hit and run!

anonymous 11 UTASAN JAMBAN AND TB 3 WILL SAY DSAI AND TIAN CHUA MAMBUK MINUM TODDY.LANGGAR WARGA EMAS DAN CABUT LARI. ESOK BERITA UTAMA UTASAN PEMBELOT DAN TB 3.ABU,

Dappy What has Chua Soil Leg and the metallic man Zombie to say? That it is the fault of the poor grandma as she was riding too slowly? Why the need to remove the 1Msia and Dumno's stickers and running away from the scene? The public demand that they be put behind bars for killing the innocent grandma and not helping the victim.

arabungkus Can we imagine this country is being run by these cannibals and parasites? Can we accept this kind of immoral and inhumane act by the so called largest ruling party personals? Do you need Bala to come up with SD to prove this crime? ABU. Kick them out of parliament, let others serve the nation.

1Mockery Under BN banner u can do anything.Murder using C4,change statutory Declaration,taking bribe,taking Scorpanes commission,indulge in illicit sexual activities ,abuse power etc etc

kunta-kinte Yeah...from now on blame Anwar. Najib taught us this easy way out maaa !! Dont worry, as always Anwar will take this in his stride. Inevitably he will be helming Putrajaya. Big Mama...pls get ready to make way ok ?

Doc I agree. Tomorrow Utusan will blame the incident on Anwar.

....more, more, read on
---------------------------------------------------------

Posted by KC Loh > Mar 5, 2013 12:14 AM | Report Abuse

that should be the way. of course, most people will do crazy things when in panic.

NO, NO, this is definately NOT PANIC. When you are in a PANIC stage, you chabut kuat kuat but to take your time to remove the party logo and also 1Malaysia logo clearly shows that those persons still can think wisely because they are scared that people can see from the logo who is the culprit. Yes, you still have time to think to remove the evidence instead of run away kuat kuat. Is this PANICKY????

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:13 | Report Abuse

...and again dirty UMNO at work, damn. I say we kick out totally UMNO for the good of all peaceful Malaysians...read on..

Quote:

BN supporters disrupt Teluk Intan DAP ceramah

Teluk Intan MP M Manogaran had to be escorted out of a DAP ceramah session in Teluk Intan town centre by police last night after a group of BN supporters disrupted the event.

Eyewitnesses said the intruders, numbering around 40, gatecrashed the function and hurled abuses at the Pakatan Rakyat leaders and supporters.

NONEFollowing this, the police urged both BN and Pakatan supporters to disperse, citing security concerns.

However, with some of the BN supporters lingering around the venue, the police escorted Manogaran (right) out and about 4km east from Teluk Intan town to ensure his safety.

When contacted today, Manogaran said the police could have handled the situation better and dealt firmly with the BN supporters, who were clearly the aggressors.

“We were there lawfully and the police should have handled the intruders, but they were outnumbered and unprepared,” Manogaran said.

However, he commended Hilir Perak district police chief Goh Kok Liang for being at the scene and being very proactive in engaging with both groups.

Racist taunts from the BN youths

Manogaran said that the BN supporters were mainly youths, some in their teens, who arrived in a lorry and carrying long bamboo poles with BN flags attached.

“They were very thuggish and made racist statements to provoke the mostly Chinese and Indian crowd.

“Among other things that they chanted was that Teluk Intan was ‘Malay land’ and that we should get out,” he said.

Manogaran said this was the first time that a DAP event in the area had been disrupted.

Pasir Pedamar assemblyperson Seah Leong Peng, who organised the ceramah, said the Pakatan supporters at the event – numbering at about 1,000 – were very angry with the disruption, but were well-behaved.

“They were also angry that the police had asked us to stop the ceramah and so they held a sit-in protest for about 30 minutes,” added Seah, who lodged a police report on the incident today.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222869

Unquote.

..a part from what readers wrote...

Progressive The police must uphold the law and the spirit of the law. These UMNO gangsters shoud have been "escorted out" rather than Manogaran being escorted out. Police reinforcement should have been called in and these thugs arrested for disturbing the peace. The police is NOT neutral.

Anonymous_4056 Surely majority of Malays are not like this. What a DISGRACE TO THE MALAY RACE AND ITS RELIGION. WHERE are their good testimony of Islam being a religion of PEACE AND COMPASSION. Aren't the Malay a gentle race noted for its tolerance. UMNO MUST HAVE DESTROYED ALL THESE GREAT QUALITIES.

Anonymous_4056 So sending the UMNO thugs to disrupt opposition CERAMAH is Malaysian culture. Really fed up with the UMNO party for EVERYTIME I pass by an UMNO flag I curse it in God's Name. Let us all cursed UMNO in God's Name a Name above all other names and UMNO will surely wither along with its members. No point at all lodging Polis report the, bottom line is - You have to stop, UMNO with just 40 thugs won the day. The Polis did not lose they wanted the CERAMAH disrupted so EVIL TRIUMPH. Now, everywhere is TANAH Melayu. What say you Mahakutty? Malay culture, I don't think so, PAS Malays are not like this.

Milosevic This police strategy of not curtailing or punishing the brown shirts and UMNO SS youth is deliberate. UMNO needs to rule through intimidation and to provoke destabilizing conditions. The police lost their independence and professionalism a long time ago. UMNO does not want too see the development of good, competent institutions because it goes against their political and economic interests. Their rule requires the conversion of all institutions to UMNO servitude. They cover up their nation-destroying ways by pretending to defend race and religion, when indeed they have made a mockery of the religion and Malay society. No wonder many Malays have .

Hang Tuah PJ Hei Waythya of Hindraf, go ahead support BN; you see how they treat Indians like pariah. At least with PR you get some respect. You Tamils will never learn.

Anonnona Such is the type of political party that MCA and Gerakan have been sucking up to and asking us to support. Maybe they think that the ideal party is one who bullies others. Those minority of Chinese and Indians who blindly support BN, even aftey are being told to "get out", are fools of the highest order.

anonymousA what has this country become under BN???

Anonymous #29641466 DUMBNO youths are well trained to be the greatest street gangsters by Home Minister Hisapudin, Ibrahim Ali PERKASA, Ex- Army buttmen.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 02:20 | Report Abuse

hard to believe Najib will respond in such manner if this is indeed BN's sandiwara! He would probably say, yeah' let's buddy buddy and embrace again! hehehehe

"In the phone call, Najib explained that with the loss of Malaysian lives, the Sulu Sultan's followers have crosse a line and with it, the possibility of negotiation has disappeared."

http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/297643/news/nation/pnoy-denounces-unnamed-critics-who-conspired-to-create-sabah-crisis

oh Tian Chua's supposedly press conference in Tropicana slated later today is cancelled and he said he will provide the evidence of UMNO's involvement in lahad datu to pro-opposition bloggers!

will provide link when i find that again! a bit disappointed!

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:21 | Report Abuse

Najib's affairs all off-target

Mariam Mokhtar
* 12:13PM Mar 4, 2013

Quote:

Anyone who cares about the future of Malaysia should be alarmed by the complacency of Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak and his cabinet about state security. He is a bumbling prime minister who trips from one scandal to another. He is adept at posturing on the world stage, but fails to grasp the seriousness of the situation at home.

During his tenure, defenceless but peaceful protestors were beaten up, and teenagers shot at. Like a typical class bully, Najib shies away from those who are better armed and organised.

Imagine this scenario – A person walks into your house, through the front door which was left open, and makes himself at home. Do you extend him your hospitality? What would you do if this intruder demands more material comforts and refuses to budge? Since when did we, as a nation, negotiate with invaders?

The rakyat first registered their alarm when uniformed and armed Sulu militants landed in Sabah. In a classic error of judgement, Najib refused to take a break from political campaigning, preferring instead to get a head start before officially announcing the date of GE13.

When will our ministers put themselves in the shoes of the farmers whose lives and livelihoods are at risk? Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein reportedly said that the men were neither terrorists, nor militants. The sultan of Sulu’s wife claimed that the men were on a “picnic”. Days later, several men are dead. On whose hands are their blood?

Today, Najib must bear responsibility for his humiliating retreat and for his refusal to take charge of a potentially explosive situation. Does he covet power above all else?

azlanAnother person who should bear some blame is former PM Dr Mahathir Mohamad. He masterminded “Project M”, which gave citizenship to illegal immigrants. Like Najib, he was obsessed with power.

Ironically, the modus operandi which assured a win for Mahathir and his party will eventually cause the downfall of Umno. The foreigners who were issued with MyKads did not deserve them. The insurgents who died might have been their brothers. These MyKad holders will vote against BN.

Ministers have nothing useful to say

The Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman and his brother, the equally ineffective Foreign Minister Anifah Aman whose face dominated the publicity shots during Najib’s ill-advised Gaza trip recently, have little to say. Neither have we heard anything of value from Defence Minister Zahid Hamidi.

Army General Zulkifli Mat Zain praised the armed intruders in saying that they had combat experience and were skilled in insurgency tactics. The rakyat could have told him that, without any input from the intelligence services.

Mahathir acts under the illusion that he still rules Malaysia, he refuses to accept the role which he played in this recent bloodbath. He justifies the government’s ‘softly, softly’ approach because these intruders “have families and friends in Sabah” and were Muslims.

He ‘forgot’ that these Muslim invaders have their own agenda. How insensitive can he get? What about the Malaysian lives which were lost?

Meanwhile, Najib fails to grasp the severity of the incursion. Media coverage has been scant. His cabinet has shown its arrogance and ignorance. It is disconnected from the sentiments and sensitivities of the Sabahans and Malaysians in general. Najib’s incompetence has played into the hands of Sabah separatists – both internal and external.

...continue

Unquote

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:23 | Report Abuse

...continue

Quote:

As a leader, Najib is increasingly isolated. As he loses control of the situation in Sabah, he turns to the usual bogeyman, opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim.

Najib portrays Anwar as a supervillain – a friend of Israel, Turkey, the United States and their Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), someone with uncontrollable sexual urges who masterminds fiscal deals, and who is also a porn star. Najib now wants to accuse Anwar of being the mastermind of the invading army. What else is new?

More importantly, does the electorate really care about Najib’s perception of Anwar? Shouldn’t Najib get his priorities right and maintain security first, rather than wasting precious resources trying to pin the blame on the opposition?

Anyone who has ever lived and worked in Sabah or Sarawak will know about the abject poverty, the lack of infrastructure, and the many illegal immigrants from Indonesia and the Philippines. These are not new problems.

Every so often, kidnappings will focus the attention of the authorities, who react to protect the tourism industry rather than the population.

In the past, some of us have tried to highlight the more common issues to the wider world, but the threat of the Internal Security Act (ISA), physical violence and retaliatory measures meant we were effectively gagged. The collusion of Umno and the media companies it owned meant that these disturbing stories were played down and seldom leaked out; until now.

Today we fight back

It could be said that for a while, Malaysians were lulled into thinking that violence in Sabah and Sarawak was limited to the karaoke bars when fights would break out over the quality of singing or the affections of B-girls. Today, the combination of a stronger opposition, dynamic activists and more vocal citizens are finally thwarting Umno’s mass deception.

NONEIn November last year, a palm oil estate manager and his nephew had been kidnapped from Lahad Datu. As a precaution, marine patrols were increased. A few days later, insurgents armed with M16 rifles raided a fish landing platform near Tawau. The raid was reported by a lone worker, who hid from them.

Had the militants been testing the capabilities of our defence patrols? Anyway, the raiding party was able to slip through without being challenged.

It would be naive to think that no armed men entered Malaysian waters before the problem was first highlighted on Feb 12. Several trips and arms caches have probably been secreted throughout Sabah, awaiting a signal for deployment.

When will Umno leaders put the country first, before themselves and the party? A political pundit has alleged that unless Najib raises his game drastically, he will be known as the most inept PM of Malaysia, sandwiched between the shamelessly corrupt Mahathir Mohamad and the feckless Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Najib needs to stop prancing about on the world stage and deal with matters at home. As for Mahathir, his chickens have come home to roost, and our nightmares are about to begin.

MARIAM MOKHTAR is a non-conformist traditionalist from Perak, a bucket chemist and an armchair eco-warrior. In ‘real-speak’, this translates into that she comes from Ipoh, values change but respects culture, is a petroleum chemist and also an environmental pollution-control scientist.

Unquote:

http://www.malaysiakini.com/columns/222832

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:30 | Report Abuse

The return of Mahathirism

Quote:

The return of Mahathirism

It was reported that some 3,000 Felda settlers were given the ‘honour’ of previewing the controversial film Tanda Putera together with former prime minister Mahathir Mohamad last Monday.

This did not surprise me given that Mahathir is now the de factocommander-in-chief for Umno. But for those who naively believe Najib Abdul Razak to be a sincere leader trying his utmost to reach out to the people regardless of creed, race and religion, they should be rightly concerned that the instruction to show the propagandistic film actually came from the Prime Minister’s Office. Yet another proof of Najib’s duplicity!

NONEThat Mahathir had to be brought back to shore up support among the Felda settlers is a strong indication of Najib’s lack of confidence. It is also plain that the accusation by the National Association of Felda Settlers’ Children (Anak) that Felda is engaged in dodgy land deals is gaining credence.

For all his talk of reform, Najib knows full well that Umno, being a Malay party, is like a leopard that cannot change its spots overnight. It never will unless there is a seismic political change in the country. With the Chinese vote gone and Indian support hanging in the balance, Najib has to ensure Umno remains strong in its traditional constituency. When it comes to this, no-one is better at the job than Mahathir.

But Mahathir is a bane for many non-Malays, and his racist remarks are most hurtful to those who sincerely regard Malaysia as their only home. When confronted with the home truth of illegal migrants in Sabah, Mahathir sought to divert the issue by blaming Tunku Abdul Rahman for having granted citizenship to up to a million non-Malays at independence.

azlanRecently, he also suggested in a rather malicious manner that people should give Barisan Nasional a two-thirds majority in Parliament so that our constitution could be amended to revoke the citizenship of certain ‘errant’ lawyers such as Ambiga Sreenevasan.

Outrageous his view may have been, it was clearly meant for the conservative segment of the Malay constituency. What makes it interesting to observe is that Mahathir appears to relish playing up the citizenship issue vis-a-vis non-Malays only.

For instance, he has never included Abdul Samad Said in his list of attack despite that the national laureate is a core leader of the Bersih movement, perhaps mindful that doing so would not go down well with the Malay community in view of Pak Samad’s high esteem.

Mahathir is acutely aware of his own mixed heritage, which explains partly why, throughout his six-decades long political career, he would not hesitate to portray himself as a ‘real’ Malay fighter. It is meant to compensate for his inferiority complext no doubt, but one should really question why on earth should one feel inadequate at having Indian blood.

Even with his nemesis Anwar Ibrahim, Mahathir has never questioned his citizenship, labelling the opposition leader as a ‘traitor to the Malays’ or ‘US stooge’ instead.

Unquote:

...to continue

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-03-05 02:31 | Report Abuse

that is why I like about the Opposition especially Penang gov ( good Cat :) )- when face with baseless accusations they actually reply but Umno and BN hmmn ...... u fill in the blanks :)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/penang-denies-gave-rm6b-job-to-rm2-firm/
and now this ah jib gor want to do investigation to see if the oppositions are involved in this incursion thingy instead of getting his priority first which is to expel the intruders - becareful as it seems that your people 'might' be involved in the first place :)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/i-was-adviser-to-real-sulu-sultan-says-umno-youth-exco-man/
so jibby get real and deal with the real threat even if you need to deploy your 3rd line of defence and when all threat is gone then we can investigate till the cows come home ( hmmn maybe not since they're pretty comfortable in those condos-kataks perhaps? )and charge them for treason be it Anwar or whoever the opposition IF they're indeed guilty! Please, must have concrete proof and not sodomee 3 or those ball carriers err matress carriers etc :) we are not Zimbabwe though we are suprisingly getting faster there :( aiyo it's late again I better see what shares to sell at Bursa tomollow otherwise my bapak again will make noise :(

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 02:32 | Report Abuse

Bingo, i am a bit confused. It is said that the perpetrators stopped, took a look at the incident, realised in their horror perhaps what they had done, removed their logos, stickers and what not, and fled. if you look at the Malaysiakini pix (http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222886), that's a bit silly to remove some of the things and not all and then leave the truck behind with other logos still intact! something's not right here!

anyway, the number plate is intact! so get to the bottom of it then!

just a stupid question. What if tomorrow it is reported that the same truck was a stolen or carjack case? possible?

i am not defending if its by UMNO or BN people if they hit the old lady. if it is true they are the one, by all means, show the full brunt of the law!

as for the hooligan case, well, that i dont agree also! we have not reached a mature level of politics, that much i know!

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:33 | Report Abuse

....continue

Quote:

Heightening the siege mentality

Every time when Mahathir comments on citizenship of non-Malays, he invariably heightens the siege mentality of his intended audience and reinforces the notion that this land belongs first and foremost to Malays. Being a non-Malay seems like an ‘original sin’ and we are only ‘tolerated’ thanks to Umno’s ‘generosity’ and ‘benevolence’.

On revocation of citizenship, Mahathir has been wrong to say the government would need a two-thirds majority. In fact, Chapter II of the current constitution of the federation of Malaysia already provides that one’s citizenship may be terminated if the government is satisfied that one ‘has shown himself by act or speech to be disloyal or disaffected towards the federation’. (Article 25(1)(a)).

In 1961, the Tunku-led government of the then-Malaya revoked the citizenship of Lim Lian Geok, a prominent educationist, under this Article because the latter had been opposed to the education policies at the time. Lim in turn argued that the government ought to list out the allegations of ‘disloyalty’ and ‘disaffection’ against him, and fought his case all the way to the Privy Council in London, only to be dismissed.

He died in 1985 a stateless man and the case still represents a major miscarriage of justice in Malaysia.

But Mahathir must be reminded that Malaysia is duty-bound to ensure any termination of citizenship would not result in statelessness, as set out under Article 26B(2) of the constitution.Article 15 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights also spells out that ‘everyone has the right to nationality’ and that ‘no-one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality’.

Hence, not only are Mahathir’s remarks on Ambiga’s citizenship belittling and irresponsible, they are also against the rule of law.
Now that Najib is counting on this hateful man to revive his dwindling political fortunes, there is a high probability that, should Umno be returned to power with increased support, Mahathirism, too, would make a full comeback. It does send chills down my spine as there is no scenario more nightmarish and catastrophic than this.

----------------------------------------------------
JOSH HONG studied politics at London Metropolitan University and the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. A keen watcher of domestic and international politics, he longs for a day when Malaysians will learn and master the art of self-mockery, and enjoy life to the full in spite of politicians.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/columns/222057

Unquote:

...a section of what readers say..

Senior He is nor a real Malay....only technically a Malay ( his own admission on CNN)......if not for TAR his father would not have been a citizen......and therefore him....so he then cannot be technically a Malay to read medicine to be a Doc. UMNO is no longer a party to assist the Malays ....but UMNO puteras mostly technically Malays

Pink Floyd Najis is carrying too much baggage ie. his father's rotten legacy and his self-inflicted crimes i.e corruption, altantuya blasted to smithereens etc. His position is hence shaky from the outset. He's thus standing on thin ice and is exploited/vulnerable to the umno warlords i.e. mamakthir, cowmoodin etc. These evil and sinister rogues are using Najis for their ulterior motives. Mammakthir is going all out hoping on the ub (umno/bn) continuance on the reins of the government to prevent the exposes/indictment of his various crimes against the msian humanity i.e. squandering of and siphoning off billions, project ic etc. Please take note that he's planning for his botak son mukriz for the premiership. Shame on this dirty and heinous top most msian crook/criminal.

clongviews Najib's position as UMNO president and PM is at the will of Mahathir. As he has no confidence of leading and winning in the GE13 he has to beg Mahathir the master of playing racial cards for help. Badawi refuse to kow tow to him and hence Mahathirism was stuck and put in cold storage. Mahathir attacked him and spoke against his son in law, Khairy also. But the good gentleman never retaliated. Now, Najib has opened opportunities for Mahathir to revive Mahathirism and also realise his dream of a dynasty. So, inspite of his age he is even working doubly hard sowing seeds of disunity and poking at racial/religious sensitivities to shore up support for Najib. Nambikei, Najib, you help me I help you!!!!!!!!

jk7462000 Mahathir belongs in jail... period

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 02:57 | Report Abuse

brother KCLoh, here's what PANIC is define...

Panic is a sudden sensation of fear which is so strong as to dominate or prevent reason and logical thinking, replacing it with overwhelming feelings of anxiety and frantic agitation consistent with an animalistic fight-or-flight reaction. Panic may occur singularly in individuals or manifest suddenly in large groups as mass panic (closely related to herd behavior).

..so no logic thinking as it flew out of the windows and these UMNO can still TINK SO WISELY & CLEVERLY to remove the UMNO logos & !Malaysia logos stickers?

..PERIOD

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-03-05 03:00 | Report Abuse

ok. i can accept your explanation! :)

i would have drove off the vehicle and dump it somewhere, if thinking sanely at that time!

time to find the culprits!

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-03-05 04:02 | Report Abuse

hehe tony the tiger is a smart fella :)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/time-to-unite-to-fight-a-common-enemy-not-bicker
wonder why AA is carrying our soldiers - what happened to the Airforce - sukhoi? or even MAS? Is AA govt owned? how much have to pay AA? should I buy AA shares now bullbear if AA indeed charge the gov :)

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 06:23 | Report Abuse

Brother Frank Soweto, it's Malaysia Boleh, haaa haa haa

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/9915/airforce.png

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-03-05 06:30 | Report Abuse

...and YB Anwar.... hah. Anwar Agen semua benda. puas hati aku hahahahahaha

http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/1913/anwar.png

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-03-05 09:59 | Report Abuse

air strike initiated this morning, sulu must surrender or be swipe out all

a precious lesson learnt for sabah (or the whole of m'sia) on foreign illegal migrant, this is one great opportunity to clean up the state ... hope gov will not let go this golden chance!