REDTONE DIGITAL BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): REDTONE (0032)

-0.02 (2.13%)

0.91 - 0.94

25 people like this.

14,228 comment(s). Last comment by ryoyagod 2 weeks ago

KC loh

30 posts

Posted by KC loh > 2014-01-13 04:43 | Report Abuse

This red thing is a small Telco only. Can buy to speculate only. I will never buy it for long term. Because Digi, maxis, celcom dominate our mobile business.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-13 09:19 | Report Abuse

I am not agreed that buying big Telco shares is better this counter. I also bought Digi half year back and still holding it. It doesn't seen to be better than this counter. If you compare the same entry price (1 unit Digi = 8 unit Redtone), Redtone will give you better return than Digi (including the dividend). I will buy Redtone for long term as they have room to grow compare to those big Telcon share which having big amount of debts.

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-13 09:22 | Report Abuse

Share buy back since Nov/2013. The last annoucement was last Friday, bought back 770500 shares, appetite is getting bigger and bigger? What is going on....

daz3no

158 posts

Posted by daz3no > 2014-01-13 12:27 | Report Abuse

REDTONE, on the other hand, was also in the limelight where the group had failed to secure the Digital Terrestrial Television Broadcast (DTTB) infrastructure project. This, however, is not a major negative to the group given that some of the key criteria have come in at the lower end which may affect the project’s ROI. These include (i) non-inclusion of the vital 700Mhz spectrum band, which has a strong in-building mobile signal penetration capability and thus eyed by all the major celcos and (ii) longer-than-expected gestation period given the country’s analogue switch off data has been deferred, thus making the ROI a big challenge under the project deferment. There are no changes to our REDTONE FY14-FY15 earnings estimates as we did not assume any DTTB earnings contribution in our financial model. We maintain our OUTPERFORM call on REDTONE with an unchanged target price of RM0.80 and implied a RM0.56 target price to REDTONE-WA.

source : Kenanga

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kenangaresearch/44795.jsp

KC loh

30 posts

Posted by KC loh > 2014-01-14 14:37 | Report Abuse

If we believe IB analyst TP, then all of us will be wealthy. play shares all day long. LoL

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-15 09:12 | Report Abuse

I think the most important thing is not to just look at the IB analyst TP but read the detail report that made. See based on what points they set the TP. Then, ask yourself whether it makes sense.

Posted by alex_theking > 2014-01-15 13:35 | Report Abuse

Redtone International OUTPERFORM ↔
Moving On Price: RM0.640 Target Price: RM0.810 ↔
The failure to secure the DTTB infrastructure contract by Redtone
Network S/B (49% owned by Redtone International) may not
necessarily be a major negative to the group given that some of
the key criteria have come in at the lower end which may affect
the project’s ROI. These include: (i) non-inclusion of the vital
695Mhz-742Mhz frequency band and (ii) longer-than-expected
gestation period. We also notice that of late, Redtone
International (Redtone) has been executing share buy-back which
lend credence to the stock’s prospects. Meanwhile, the group is
confident of achieving a 50% QoQ jump in PBT for 2Q14 results,
scheduled to be released late-January. There are no changes to
our FY14 and FY15 earnings estimates as we did not assume any
DTTB earnings contribution in our financial model. We maintain
our OUTPERFORM call on Redtone with an unchanged target price
of RM0.81, based on targeted FY14 PER of 14.5x.
Failed to secure DTTB infrastructure project but… Puncak Semangat S/B
(PS), controlled by tycoon Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary, has been named
as the successful bidder (edging out two other bidders namely Redtone Network
S/B and i-Media broadcasting Solutions S/B) by the Malaysian Communications
and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) to build, operate and manage the
infrastructure for Digital Terrestrial Television Broadcast (DTTB) service in
Malaysia yesterday. The concession is for a period of 15 years (from the date of
award) including simulcast and implementation period. (Please refer to our
Media sector report dated 24 Oct. 2013 for the detailed information on DTTB).
…could be better-off. While the news appears to be unfavourable to Redtone
at first glance, the group could be better-off by not securing the DTTB contract
given that some of the key criteria (as set out in the earlier tender documents)
have come in at the lower end. These include: (i) non-inclusion of the vital
695Mhz – 742Mhz band, where PS will only have right to use the frequency of
470MHz-694MHz before and after the analogue switch off (ASO) instead of both
frequency bands. The 48MHz lesser band frequency implied fewer digital TV
channels which could be introduced in the future. Note that MCMC has allocated
the 695MHz-742MHz band, which have a strong in-building mobile signal
penetration capability, for high speed mobile broadband services post ASO and
(ii) longer-than-expected gestation period. While the first roll-out of DTTB
services is projected to be in 3QCY14, for a start in a few test areas, the full
nationwide coverage is only expected to be completed by 2017 in contrast to the
previous target of end-CY15. Meanwhile, the Communication and Multimedia
Minister was also recently being quoted by the press that the government will
only decide to end analogue TV broadcast services by 2020. Based on our
earlier understanding, the successful bidder can only commence billing charges
post the ASO, thus making the ROI a big challenge under the project deferment.
Executing share buy-back account. Following the renewed approval received
from its shareholders, Redtone has started to execute its share buy-back
account to re-accumulate its shares since last November. The group has, thus
far, accumulated a total of 1.67m shares with an estimated average price of
RM0.67/share as of 9th January.
Divestment gain. The recent disposal of the remaining 35% shareholding held
in its associate, Redtone Mobile S/B (RMSB) to Theo Networks S/B is expected
to generate RM5m divestment gain for Redtone Group in FY14. Note that the
group had earlier on 3 January 2012 divested its 65% stake in RMSB, which
principal activity is the operating of a mobile virtual network and research,
design, develop and commercialise the VOIP customer premise equipment. The
rational of the disposal is to enable the group to focus on its core business
offerings as a total service solution provider to corporate/SME/government
segments as well as the management and building of WiFi network.
Confidence to achieve 50% QoQ growth in PBT in 2Q14, where Redtone is
scheduled to release its report card by late January, underpinned by the healthy
growth of its core businesses, on-going various government projects as well as
the synergic benefits created under the NSA agreement with Maxis.
Share Price Performance
Jan-13 Apr-13 Jul -13 Oct-13 Jan-14
KLCI 1828.2
YTD KLCI chg -2.1%
YTD stock price chg -5.9%
Stock Information
Bloomberg Ticker RIB MK Equity
Market Cap (RM m) 323.45
Issued shares 505.39
52-week range (H) 0.86
52-week range (L) 0.37
3-mth avg daily vol: 761,140
Free Float 49.2%
Beta 1.2
Major Shareholders
INDAH PUSAKA S/B 30.9%
BERJAYA GROUP BHD 12.4%
WARISAN JUTAMAS 7.5%
Summary Earnings Table
FY May (RM’m) 2013A 2014E 2015E
Turnover 142.0 170.4 181.6
EBIT 34.7 32.0 33.0
PBT 33.7 31.9 32.9
Net Profit (NP) 25.2 26.9 27.8
Core NP 25.2 26.9 27.8
Consensus (NP) 26.9 27.

WDragon

135 posts

Posted by WDragon > 2014-01-15 14:19 | Report Abuse

looks like REDTONE going to fly high again....

Windrunner

237 posts

Posted by Windrunner > 2014-01-15 17:18 | Report Abuse

despite all the good prospect, the share price just droppping..

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2014-01-15 19:59 | Report Abuse

results will be out by end of jan'14. we'll see by then. holders keep holding, sellers keep selling as we only want firm holders to be in this counter.

tom88

21 posts

Posted by tom88 > 2014-01-16 12:01 | Report Abuse

VT is loosing his focus. Redtone is no longer under his radar. 7-Eleven IPO is on the way. BJAuto, Caring Pharmacy doing good. Redtone is temporary doing bad especially loosing RM1 Billion DTTB Project. Can't imagine they will lose this project even tie-up with Hua Wei and Johor Royal Family. Look like this counter will continue to drop and then stagnat for few Quarter especially when they had sell Redtone Mobile for RM5 million.

Posted by xmonsterz01x > 2014-01-16 13:12 | Report Abuse

@tom88 "Redtone is temporary doing bad“ <-- can you please further elaborate and any evidences to support your opinion? Thanks

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-16 15:06 | Report Abuse

Please understand that with or without VT focus, it will not affected the business of Redtone. VT is only one of the big investor who holding the shares. He is not eh board of directors who decide how the company grow. For DDTB project, i think for the past weeks, a lot of people has been taking about that (positive and negative point of view). So, the effect of this issue already reflected on the following 2 days trading after the annoucement (drop from 0.68 to 0.645). For selling the Redtone Mobile, no one will know whether it is good or bad. It might be a good news as well at least they do not need to fright with those big telcon company like Digi, Maxis, U Mobile etc.

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-01-16 23:01 | Report Abuse

If someday Umobile and Redtone merge, you think Redtone still <RM1?

Posted by n00bpelabur > 2014-01-16 23:07 | Report Abuse

Umobile and redtone merger surely increase to RM1. No need to see to see that.

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-01-16 23:14 | Report Abuse

I think it will happen someday, but only after Redtone move to Main Baord, which is very likely this year 2H or next year.

26,851 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-01-16 23:15 | Report Abuse

u dont know VT. VT like to list all his companys himself. no need mergers.

Bigboy

243 posts

Posted by Bigboy > 2014-01-20 11:27 | Report Abuse

Hi gimmy2u and all investor,

last time i inform to u all sell in price 0.68-0.71 but u all refuse...u all said back support frm sultan and vt
c today wat happen price is going below 0.64...
better sell now before it go to 0.40 mother and wa 0.15...
now they don't any new project in their hand and their fiber is not good sell in the market...
good luck to very one

Bigboy

243 posts

Posted by Bigboy > 2014-01-20 11:28 | Report Abuse

every day drop 1 sen...

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-20 12:35 | Report Abuse

Lets look at the financial report that is going to be out in 2 days time. The report will tell whether the company is doing well or not. Personally, I don't see any negative side on Redtone. Share is always up and down. Even during the time Redtone was making lost, the share price also around 0.40. So, if a company keep on the current business (even without new business), do you think the price will drop back to 0.40? Just make your own judgement. I am (and I will) not asking you to sell or buy. :)

Bigboy

243 posts

Posted by Bigboy > 2014-01-20 16:41 | Report Abuse

hi invester....

wat is my advice.... sell in high price around 0.68-0.71 n buy in low price maybe today or later in 0.63 until 0.40...
tat is way make profit...
their q report not good at tis time...
later wait and c

ch741001

89 posts

Posted by ch741001 > 2014-01-20 17:29 | Report Abuse

It always buy back share means value on there

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2014-01-21 08:10 | Report Abuse

gimmy2u: I totally agree with you, why should we follow Bigboy decision to buy or sell REDTone shares!!! Is he really a bigboy enough already? Until can control the share price? LOL !!!

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2014-01-21 08:12 | Report Abuse

Don't misuse this forum to show off your 'talents' in stock market, nobody is right or wrong in share investments, simply because the price is always UP & DOWN!!!

Bigboy

243 posts

Posted by Bigboy > 2014-01-21 09:30 | Report Abuse

hi... i only can advice ...
later slow ...slow their price will down

Bigboy

243 posts

Posted by Bigboy > 2014-01-21 09:32 | Report Abuse

c today already 0.63 ...

kenlfo

441 posts

Posted by kenlfo > 2014-01-21 11:02 | Report Abuse

bigboy, thanks for your advice. We had listend enough to your comment and feedback.
Please let investor to make their own decision.

setia2u

971 posts

Posted by setia2u > 2014-01-21 11:02 | Report Abuse

So what!!! It is just a figure.... only until when you can turn all these figures as profits to yourself.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-21 13:29 | Report Abuse

gummy2u, thanks for the sharing.

Posted by millionhair > 2014-01-21 15:10 | Report Abuse

hey Bigboy, i remember in October you mentioned to buy back Redtone when the price goes down to 0.65, and after the Quarterly report is out the price went up to 0.76. During that time you kept quiet and when the price keeps dropping you asking ppl to sell. I don't understand what is your basis or you asking some Sifu's for prediction. Please provide some facts for your generous advice here. Are you looking at some charts, support/resistant or some other method or sifu's advice;). Else you are just a joker without any basis who don't understand the theory to buy shares when people are in fear. Worse case you bought Redtone at the peak price >0.8 and become very frustrated with uncle VT;)

26,851 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-01-21 15:13 | Report Abuse

maybe already cut-loss

Posted by millionhair > 2014-01-21 15:24 | Report Abuse

Sometimes its funny when some jokers says share prices is going up/down without any basis.

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-21 18:03 | Report Abuse

Latest share buy back retained in treasury:

09/01/2014-10/01/2014 bought 326,500 shares, total retained 1,736,500
20/01/2014-20/01/2014 bought 235,200 shares, total retained 2,081,700 (0.41%)

Posted by millionhair > 2014-01-21 18:52 | Report Abuse

guys, any idea why they keep buying back their shares? what could be the reason.....

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-21 19:10 | Report Abuse

the management may considers the company is undervalued, buying back shares increases the value as more profit can be distributed among the remaining shares, this can be a positive signal

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-21 19:16 | Report Abuse

It can also then be distributed as a form of dividend

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-21 19:22 | Report Abuse

Treasury continue to collect buy back shares when next quater result just around the corner. If result no good, the company will rather collect later when price drop further, but it continue to collect now now now

cosway

81 posts

Posted by cosway > 2014-01-21 19:27 | Report Abuse

No big deal. Total bought to date 1,736,500 shares,only 0.41% of total paid up of 506.95 mil. Revenue & profit improve but not that impressive. Can buy if drop further to 0.60

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-21 19:44 | Report Abuse

If anybody can predict the price correctly, I don't thin it shall wasting time here, shall be sitting in big investment office oredi. I feel disgusted people continue to predict tp like he very sure

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-21 20:20 | Report Abuse

One of the possibility after share buy back is to dispose the share to reduce the floating shares in market. If I remembered correctly, tt has been done before by other company. If this is truth, then the per value share will be increase. Please correct me if I am wrong.

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2014-01-21 21:19 | Report Abuse

i'm holding this counter until it's listed into mainboard, which is around the corner (ard q1). now its' only end of jan. im giving this counter 11 more months to proof to me it's worth and earnings performance.

Invest_168

549 posts

Posted by Invest_168 > 2014-01-21 23:12 | Report Abuse

Qtr2 results going to release ya.

Posted by millionhair > 2014-01-21 23:17 | Report Abuse

Hope the share buy back by Redtone is a positive sign and their quarterly report also will be in good shape..

Posted by alex_theking > 2014-01-22 09:24 | Report Abuse

Do not worry, strongly believe they will push. Have faith, this is the trough already.

stockhth

64 posts

Posted by stockhth > 2014-01-22 11:46 | Report Abuse

Hope you are right alex_theking

temuai

57 posts

Posted by temuai > 2014-01-22 14:51 | Report Abuse

I hold almost 9 month, still lost hu hu..

pslkft

133 posts

Posted by pslkft > 2014-01-22 18:14 | Report Abuse

Latest share buy back retained in treasury:

22/01/2014-22/01/2014 bought 417,800 shares, total retained 2,499,500(0.49%)

417,800 shares represent 60.8% of todays volumn.

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2014-01-23 00:03 | Report Abuse

the company can purchase up to 50mil shares (10% of its outstanding shares). right now its, only 0.49%. i like companies tat buyback their shares, as a way to reward the shareholders.

invester

265 posts

Posted by invester > 2014-01-23 09:25 | Report Abuse

One of the good thing about share buy back is to stable/support the share price. I am holding YTLPower as well and they also having the share buy back activities almost daily (allow to up to 10%). The price has been picking up from 1.53 to 1.90 mainly due to share buy back support. If any investors throw out their share, this share back back activities will helps to stable the price.

tom88

21 posts

Posted by tom88 > 2014-01-23 18:17 | Report Abuse

When their Quarterly earnings will be announce?