YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

+0.03 (0.82%)

3.60 - 3.70

46 people like this.

32,187 comment(s). Last comment by darrenliew 41 minutes ago

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 10:57 | Report Abuse

Some stock have very high correlation with index, if index indeed rebound or pare down loss, some individual stock will closely follow. So, can trade based on index movement as indicator to at least reduce paper loss through scalp trade

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 10:59 | Report Abuse

if u only have lot of bullet like fund manager . if not , cut loss then situation stablise n confirm uptrend , buy back

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 11:24 | Report Abuse

This is a strategy i learn from past experience. If we sold off all our stock holding in tumbling market, we are just no turning back but realize one off excessive loss. it could write off earlier loss or even affect capital.

Furthermore, the most important is it impaired our confident in stock market. It make us very hard to re-enter into market later if there is technical rebound. We may later give up all hope in stock market and pull ourselves out.

No matter bear market or bull market, there is always some trading strategy we can use to mitigate the impact and most important thing is especially for those full timer, trading/investing is our career, never give up and keep learning to master these art of trading.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 11:27 | Report Abuse

u need a entry n exit strategies. do u attend technical course ? if not u need one . by the way ? emotion n mentality is important .

said u nuy rm1 .. loss 8% . with remaining capital u can recoup back the loss by making profit 8.7%

what if ur loss is 50% ... u need 100% profit from the remaining capital

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 11:42 | Report Abuse

Off course we need entry and exit strategy, like cut loss at 15%. Both technical and fundamental is important and act as guidance to increase odds if there is technical rebound later.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 11:45 | Report Abuse

15% is too much liao la. with capital 10k as example loss 15% = 1500

capital left 8500. to recoup back 1500 u need 17.65% profit . that a lot

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 12:02 | Report Abuse

That why we need strategy to prepare for needing day. Temporary inject fresh cash from FD. The purpose on my FD is no to earn interest but as a strategy to diversify risk in stock market by no put all eggs in one basket. FD is my standby capital and act as my last strategy to pare down portfolio loss. This is just short term solution to temporary boost capital and recoup loss from technical rebound and must bank in back later once the stock is sell.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:09 | Report Abuse

yes. i jz askingwhat if u inject in n the counter keep on downtrend n become lower then ur second buy ? inject again ?

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 12:15 | Report Abuse

As this is last strategy to recoup loss, must pay extra caution. Fresh capital must first testify if the rebound indeed working. Once have confident the strategy work, then only gradually fully utilize to recoup maximum return.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:20 | Report Abuse

huh ... really dont know why many like to put gambling on choas market ?

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 12:23 | Report Abuse

If feel uneasy, just wait after GE.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:24 | Report Abuse

haha ... dont have any faith bursa will recover soon . maybe for mild recovery but tml maybe another big drop

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 12:34 | Report Abuse

If we know there is mild recovery, we can exploit it and pare down portfolio loss. Again, must stress here, in anticipate market uncertainty , the purpose here is reduce stock holding while limit paper loss by injecting fresh capital from FD. The ultimate purpose is finally pull out of gradually market till GE is out without hurting capital.

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 12:38 | Report Abuse

Everybody know, the rules no 1 in investing is to protect capital, and rule no 2 is never forget rules no 1. Right!

But in reality, how to implement is difficult task. If damage have done due to market marked down, we should at least have strategy to mitigate the impact to at least lessen loss to capital.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:44 | Report Abuse

yup . jz have a entry n exit strategies . set a % of loss . n diversified investing to 8 conters

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:44 | Report Abuse

without capital when in bull market no chance

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 12:46 | Report Abuse

rule no1 never lose money . rule no 2 folow the rule no 1

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 13:31 | Report Abuse

'rule no1 never lose money . rule no 2 folow the rule no 1'

It is almost impossible to no lose money in stock market. We must accept no every stock we invest is wining stock. Unless, off course we opt for very long term, losing stock will ultimately turnaround in long term provided it have good fundamental.

We can increase our odds to beat market only, maybe 6 out of 10 stock or increase to 7/10 chance to profiting from invest in stock market.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 13:33 | Report Abuse

ya turn around but how long . what i saying minimize lose n maximize profit by selecting the rite conuter + buying size + rules ( entry n exit )so u wont lose so much but gain more

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 13:46 | Report Abuse

That why i say, these rule to never lose money only applicable to unit trust manage by fund manager. It have large pool of fund and have enough capital to stay on despite siting on paper loss. Fund manager no rush to cut all losing stock, but can reduce it as their investment strategy is for long term and unit holder have no authority to question fund manger if their unit trust record loss in year 1, 2 or 5. What they can advice unit holder is keep for long term or even ask to treat it as retirement fund in 10-20year, which is real, as past history did show equity in long term show positive return.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 13:50 | Report Abuse

aiyoyo ... seem like u cant get my points. okay ba

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 13:53 | Report Abuse

As retail investor, we have absolutely power to either actively or passively manage our own capital. Time horizon depending on individual risk profile. If we have spare capital, it can afford to absorb short term paper loss, just ignore current volatile market and keep for 1-2 year time if stock have good fundamental. If one is active trader, can adopt strategy to limit portfolio loss with possible make turnaround in short term.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:04 | Report Abuse

If one is active trader, can adopt strategy to limit portfolio loss with possible make turnaround in short term. yup that what i said with certain rules n strategies

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:15 | Report Abuse

So, your think YTLP or YTLP-WB is right stock? and what is your rules ( entry n exit ) on it?

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:18 | Report Abuse

ytl n ytlp_wb got some wind asking investor buy as some one want to pushing price price up . current no comment as reserved for myself

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:22 | Report Abuse

That ok, its your choice

To me, I believe YTLP is in the midst to divest off its local power plant to 1MDB, with possible realize one off windfall gain.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:24 | Report Abuse

ya . that why i said jz heard people asking to buy . so i have no comment on this counter yet . still doing research

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:31 | Report Abuse

Whatever it is, YTLP and WB should have limited downside risk. IMDB have so far acquire 2 out of 4 first IPP (Powertek, Genting sanyen, YTLP, Malakroff), Thus it is highly possible to buy YTLP, which could latter seek for concessionaire extension together with Powertek.

Remark: Genting sanyen and Malakof already secure further 10yera extension

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:34 | Report Abuse

okay lah . by the way investing is individual . it ur money . u decide ba . nothing wrong nothing rite

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:39 | Report Abuse

Agree, whether or not it make sense, all depend on individual judgment. Can either treat it as rumor or investing idea.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:41 | Report Abuse

yup... but rumor make sure is become real . or else get slaughted . by the way happy investing as i sell all my stocks already bye bye bursa

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:46 | Report Abuse

Good to you, get rid of all hassle and now immune already :)

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:47 | Report Abuse

haha ... me temporary dont want to touch bursa. but will monitor for potential counter . time for relax

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 14:56 | Report Abuse

Can just park all your capital in online FD as standby credit to earn some interest income while waiting for re-enter timing. Have to fully make use of cash to work for you.

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 14:59 | Report Abuse

aiyo ... i did not said park all in fd. investing based on time n strategies . i dont think this is the time . for me cash is king . opportunity will always b ur side if u know how to use it when it appear . now nono for me . take it i dont have ball . hahahah

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 15:42 | Report Abuse

RAM Ratings reaffirms YTL Power's notes AA1 and AA1/p1

KUALA LUMPUR: RAM Ratings Services has reaffirmed YTL Power International Bhd (YTLPI) commercial papers with a long term stable outlook.

RAM Rating Services had on Monday, reaffirmed the AA1 long-term rating of medium-term notes programme of up to RM5 billion (2011/2036), as well as the AA1/P1 ratings of its RM2 billion commercial papers or medium-term notes programme (2007/2014).

It said in a statement that the ratings reflect YTLPI's robust business profile that is underpinned by its base of regulated assets, particularly its investments in power and water-sewerage services via wholly owned YTL Power Generation Sdn Bhd (“YTLPG”) in Malaysia and YTL PowerSeraya Pte Limited (“YTL PowerSeraya”) in Singapore.

However, it said the group capital structure remained constrained by its hefty debt burden of RM22.99 billion as at end-June 2012, with a corresponding adjusted gearing ratio of 2.38 times.

“Taking into account its RM9.63 billion of cash reserves, of which RM8.09 billion is free from encumbrances and will be readily available for the company if required, its adjusted net gearing ratio works out to 1.40 times,” it said.

It said nonetheless, more than 80% of the Group's debts reside with subsidiaries that are viewed to be self-sufficient; we note that these debts are concession-related, ring-fenced and non-recourse to YTLPI

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 15:47 | Report Abuse

haha .. hope u make more money ..for cny

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 15:51 | Report Abuse

Hope so, today stake already in contra profit, but likely will wait bit longer but within T+3.

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-22 15:52 | Report Abuse

Beside, YTLP, today also bought CCM at 88sen, and CYPark at 1.64-1.65

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2013-01-22 19:59 | Report Abuse

under normal circumstances, i won't sell but will buy more. But stock market is very sensitive to the political issues and news, so i choose to get out. I believe i can buy it even cheaper later on, why? Cause foreign fund has been slowly getting out from Bursa, and they are only expected to get in after GE, so i pick to wait after GE and see if BN able to make a 2/3 or the wise verse or any other cases out of my expectation and a careful choice to be made. There are so many stocks here, if i really miss this boat i can join another, so why should i take so much risk? Yesterday drop is just an warning, when the real comes... God i can't imagine. I love YTLP, because im using the same strategy as they are practicing now.. KEEP THE BULLET AND WAIT FOR THE RIGHT TIME TO SHOOT, DON'T SCARE THERE IS NOTHING FOR YOU TO SHOOT AS LONG AS YOU HAVE THE BULLET :D

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 20:02 | Report Abuse

yes... buy as much as u can . hold for 3 yrs . sure make huge profits

yewkhian

197 posts

Posted by yewkhian > 2013-01-22 23:43 | Report Abuse

hng33, mind to share wat so great of CCM? thanks

JASON80

1,027 posts

Posted by JASON80 > 2013-01-22 23:45 | Report Abuse

ccm ? nothing great about ... jz another downtrend stock . see which moron going in n buy n get stuck n be slaughted

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2013-01-31 10:24 | Report Abuse

Yeah drop more pls, i ll buy back after ge :)

hng33

20,318 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-01-31 15:37 | Report Abuse

YTLP trying hard to stay above positive territory. Need more time awaiting for its possible corporate development either is divestment of its power plant to IMDB or privatization through share swap by YTL

Posted by armadasaxon > 2013-02-25 16:35 | Report Abuse

This is a goner oredi..lol..rm9 oso cannot give me yumcha..

Ali Baba

163 posts

Posted by Ali Baba > 2013-02-25 20:25 | Report Abuse

what do you mean ?

sephiroth

14,143 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-02-25 23:04 | Report Abuse

He means this co did not even declare 0.9 sen dividend equivalent to RM9 for 1000 shares

Posted by armadasaxon > 2013-02-26 12:24 | Report Abuse

yes..hehe

Posted by chong hing > 2013-03-01 21:38 | Report Abuse

sayonara ytlp