YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

+0.01 (0.27%)

3.60 - 3.70

46 people like this.

32,191 comment(s). Last comment by darrenliew 21 minutes ago

Posted by Lee Szed Kee > 2012-11-04 21:38 | Report Abuse

The issue is this counter is a dividend stock but the dividend has been decreasing thet is why it price is decreasing? The stock is disappointing maybe for the major shareholder to privatize on the cheap.

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2012-11-04 22:11 | Report Abuse

heard that they reduce their dividend payout recently because of the introduction of the YES 4G business

Kl Vin

1,547 posts

Posted by Kl Vin > 2012-11-04 22:14 | Report Abuse

Hard to earn YTL counter...Is probably like BJCORP !!
Have to patient all the way !!

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-11-05 16:20 | Report Abuse

yes 4g making lost so dividend payout less lor..hopefully next year recover

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2012-11-06 21:50 | Report Abuse

Pick up some more at 1.57 today. Hope I make a decision.

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2012-11-11 17:55 | Report Abuse

ytlp proposed renewal of share buy-back authority for coming agm on 27 nov. Price should stop going down? quite some times ytlp does not exercise any share buy-back...

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-11 19:39 | Report Abuse

lol, every year also same de la, renewal authority to buy back own share, bonus issue bla bla bla... but did they ever do it??/

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-12 17:08 | Report Abuse

The movement seems like its going to shoot soon, hope im right. Put this under your watchlist..

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-11-13 00:22 | Report Abuse

This counter got few advantages..now price is good..might kena privatise..and hopefully nex year dividend dun so sux

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-13 00:41 | Report Abuse

if privatised, not good news leh... i dont hope so.. I just see the trading movement, and feel that it maybe coming soon. So bought in some... :D

ejtic

256 posts

Posted by ejtic > 2012-11-14 15:54 | Report Abuse

Based on what Francis said in the Star a few weeks ago, privatization is imminent. It could be a good news for all both YTL & YTLP.

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-14 16:02 | Report Abuse

not good for ytlp, good for ytl. Cause it surely be done by share swap, now ytlp share is undervalued and ytl share are overvalued. mean 1 ytlp share can't even get 1 ytl share.. but i dont think it can be done within these 1 or 2 years. cause ytl just eat the cemment company, if they eat ytlp again. Mean they need to issue more share and their shareholding will be dilluted :D

Posted by csinvest > 2012-11-16 10:19 | Report Abuse

i think they will push up ytl shares price and pull down ytlp shares price first before announcing the privatization. Buyers of ytlp beware :D

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-16 21:39 | Report Abuse

im one of the stupid man buy this fucking yeoh counter :(

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-16 21:41 | Report Abuse

keep on holding ytl price but never even buy back own share at ytlpower... its obvious that they are doing what they wanna do... hopefully they offer 1:1 share swap.. otherwise, i will lose money again..

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-11-17 18:36 | Report Abuse

This is another one of those companies that are fundamentally good but whose share prices have been slowly sliding. It was doing well from the middle of June 2012; slowly but steadily going on an uptrend from 1.60. Had felt it had the strength to go back up past 2.00. Unfortunately this halted towards the end of July when it couldn't get past 1.85 and it has gone on a slide ever since with the occasional mild rebounds.

Will have to see whether the support at 1.52 is strong - if it goes below this point, then the slide will likely continue. With so many shares issued, YTLP won't be going anywhere without the active participation of the big funds like EPF and the foreign investors. Have to wait for the volume to increase and the technical readings to improve first before even considering buying this one again.

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-11-17 18:39 | Report Abuse

The moral of the story-don't involved in downtrend stock until correction end. smile--)

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-11-17 19:36 | Report Abuse

That's very true. I learned this lesson with YTLP itself last April. Didn't know much about technical analysis at that time and I bought it way too early. Worse, I shouldn't have done so because it was undergoing a downtrend where "cheap" inevitably becomes "cheaper". I had done my homework by researching the fundamentals of this company and it is a good company. However, TA would have helped me buy at a better price and time.

TA isn't 100% perfect or correct all the time, of course. But with counters like YTLP, in retrospect, its up and down trends are very accurately depicted by the charts. I first bought it at 1.77, feeling that it's "a good price when compared to 2.00-plus it previously was at". Basic knowledge of TA would have helped me from doing so - its MACD and RSI clearly showed that definitely wasn't the right time to buy. It then went down to 1.54. The middle of June at 1.63 would have been a good time to buy when the various signals were positive.

This is the lesson - trying to catch something "at its lowest" is a dangerous strategy (although I still do this, depending on the counter and situation). Sometimes we might be lucky; sometimes not. For longer-term investing/trading, I feel it's better to buy when it's going up and likely to continue that way in the near term. We may have to pay a few sen more but consider that as "insurance premium" - a smaller profit is ALWAYS better than a loss.

With YTLP, I will likely buy it again but only when the technical readings turn positive.

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-17 20:14 | Report Abuse

It price slide because of few causes, Net profit Drop, Fail in getting the Power supply contract and Dividend paid. Im sure it will break Rm2 instantly if the dividend paid restored to Rm0.035. But i dont see the sign they are going to restore it. Sad... But its fundamental was good, so i wont be so scare to keep longer, the only thing i scare is being privatised by YTL. I guess it wont be privatised so soon, thats why i jump in :D

Posted by moneyking96 > 2012-11-17 21:02 | Report Abuse

really useless of this stock..

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-11-17 23:14 | Report Abuse

I don't think it's fair to describe YTLP as that. I'd say it's a good company and counter whose time is presently out of sync. But this will change. "When" is the issue.

esegaban

1,311 posts

Posted by esegaban > 2012-11-17 23:27 | Report Abuse

wah....TA looks not so good ....keep sliding n mayb will slide more...4 me dont buy yet, wait the rite time 2 buy...

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-18 07:18 | Report Abuse

good or not depends on how you view it. If you want fast profit from it, probably it wont be good counter for you. But if you judge it from its FA. It good :D

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-11-20 11:46 | Report Abuse

after selling the power plant land..maybe can give 0.035 dividend..lol..u wait 2 year more la.

Posted by James Woon > 2012-11-23 10:45 | Report Abuse

start to rebound...will it rise to RM 1.58, its the fibonacci support?

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-11-23 12:24 | Report Abuse

CIMB and Affin both came up with "Buy" calls today. YTLP no doubt is a quality counter. The only question is, has the bottom been reached and that this is a genuine rebound?

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2012-11-23 15:14 | Report Abuse

HWANGDBS 2DAY

YTL POWER

MORE CHALLENGING OUTLOOK

Weaker performance at key divisions. PBT contribution from
PowerSeraya and Wessex Water fell 6% and 18% y-o-y due to
higher fuel costs at PowerSeraya and larger depreciation charge
at Wessex. Malaysian power division PBT fell 41% due to
scheduled plant maintenance shutdown. Overall, 1QFY13 PBT
grew 6% yoy due to smaller losses at YES’ WIMAX operation.
Result in line. 1QFY13 earnings account for 22% and 20% of our
and market estimates; that is within expectations as YTLP
normally records higher earnings in 2H. It declared 0.94 sen DPS,
in line with previous quarters and within our expectation.

Our View
Limited impact from non-renewal of Malaysian PPAs. YTLP’s
first gen PPA in Malaysia was not renewed by the government in
October. But this has no impact on our forecast earnings as we
have not imputed any contribution beyond the expiry of first gen
PPAs and PPA contribution is only c.10% of FY14F PBT. YTLP will
likely continue to bid for new power plants given Malaysia’s plan
to develop 4,500MW of new capacity in the country.
More challenging outlook. Earnings from PowerSeraya and
Wessex Water will remain resilient in FY13, but the following two
years will be challenging as capacity increase in Singapore’s
electricity market will eventually pressure margins and sales
volume, and the lingering European crisis could limit returns from
Wessex upon the expiry of the current regulatory regime in 2015.
We expect YTLP to continue to bid for regulated assets overseas
given its RM10b cash hoard at end 1QFY13, to compensate for
potentially lower earnings from PowerSeraya and Wessex Water.

Recommendation
Maintain HOLD. This is premised on reasonable valuations and
longer term upside from new acquisitions, but our DCF-derived
TP is reduced to RM1.70 after imputing higher risk premium.

twobits

3,456 posts

Posted by twobits > 2012-11-23 19:15 | Report Abuse

morning star after doji. should be uptrend for the moment. YTL is moving upward too after consolidating last two months.

Posted by maxtew01 > 2012-11-26 11:32 | Report Abuse

HI! What is the impact to Warrants holder if YTLP proceed for privitisation?

ejtic

256 posts

Posted by ejtic > 2012-11-26 17:16 | Report Abuse

Based on what Francis said in the recent interview, privatization is imminent.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-11-28 09:20 | Report Abuse

@maxtew01, Normally they'd also buy back the warrants - the conventional one (with "W" as the prefix) since these are issued by the company concerned. Not the call or put warrants though ("C" and "H").

YTLP looks promising today with this strong start including having the volume. This is especially so given the rest of the market. Just wondering whether it will last.

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-11-30 16:58 | Report Abuse

Now is turn for it to go up. I believe this is a good start and expect more to come :D

SJSOON

2,576 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2012-12-02 23:34 | Report Abuse

Be careful. It is not the time to be aggressive now but be patient and wait for the outcome of GE. You may say I am very conservative. However, who knows if BN steps down, then the IPP policy in electrical energy sector will be reviewed. YTLPOWR may be in bad position.

SJSOON

2,576 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2012-12-02 23:36 | Report Abuse

If I am not wrong, Najib would call for parliament dissolution around these two weeks, as spoken in the newspapers a few days ago.

SJSOON

2,576 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2012-12-02 23:37 | Report Abuse

You can see the ESP started dumping the shares at whatever cost. So, what is the rationale behind? I don't know whether it is coincident or not, but it seems like a signal to all.

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-12-03 12:15 | Report Abuse

i dun think they will call for GE this month,as its a holiday month.many ppl holiday overseas.BN trying to win more votes..how can they do that if they are all abroad?..so it will be pointless for them to call GE this month.

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-12-03 12:17 | Report Abuse

EPF throwing ... scary la.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-03 18:45 | Report Abuse

What a disappointment! YTLP was gaining momentum with its positive close over the previous few sessions last week. But now it has lost some steam after the heavy selling today.

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-12-03 18:50 | Report Abuse

maybe thats what they want it to be? Relax, a good fundamental counter doesnt really scary to keep for longer :D

Posted by armadasaxon > 2012-12-04 12:09 | Report Abuse

Most of income generated from overseas and cash pile of 10bil..nth to worry rite?

ejtic

256 posts

Posted by ejtic > 2012-12-06 18:03 | Report Abuse

Another lowest in record... Heading to south paw 1.40 with pathetic dividends yield...

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-12-06 18:19 | Report Abuse

Ya...dying now:(

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2012-12-06 19:33 | Report Abuse

never like YTLPower...

hsimwan

21 posts

Posted by hsimwan > 2012-12-06 19:51 | Report Abuse

Bet this counter to be kicked out from KLCI next year.

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2012-12-06 21:53 | Report Abuse

down all the way since July 23, down 19%. serious correction...

Posted by chong hing > 2012-12-06 23:15 | Report Abuse

strong buy so cheap la trust me next year rm2.50 no problem ytlp banyak cash francis yeohs top guys

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2012-12-07 08:38 | Report Abuse

u may take a ride when they push up the price....then they slowly sell while we carry their babies...

ejtic

256 posts

Posted by ejtic > 2012-12-07 16:56 | Report Abuse

hopeless and useless stock....shitty pathetic dividends...

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

The annual revenue for this counter is not bad,how come everybody seems like a bit disappointing?

ejtic

256 posts

Posted by ejtic > 2012-12-07 18:30 | Report Abuse

Oh my God! Where is Ah Chong? Hello, where are you? Please enlighten us...