YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.18 (4.70%)

3.61 - 3.79

46 people like this.

32,115 comment(s). Last comment by JeffreyFamilyHsitory 1 hour ago

Posted by HumptyDumpty > 2024-01-03 15:15 | Report Abuse

Humpty Dumpty, counting shares on high,
Prospects in the sky, to sell or to buy.
As the market dances, its rhythm so fraught,
Wondering if now's the time, for profit sought.
(generated by an AI center in Malaysia soon)

KLV868

242 posts

Posted by KLV868 > 2024-01-03 15:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks for all the positive comments . We having sovereign AI soon . So more profit for us .

Yezzy99108

404 posts

Posted by Yezzy99108 > 2024-01-03 15:16 | Report Abuse

wow really power

Posted by HumptyDumpty > 2024-01-03 15:31 | Report Abuse

荷蘭突然取消ASML DUV光刻機出口到中國許可
Holland block all ASML machine to China, mean China can't make it own chip (unless they make the ASML machine) , hence no AI chip. Malaysia seem like a good common ground?

myloh123

259 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2024-01-03 15:53 | Report Abuse

Each profit taking has been mopped up , surely has to b foreign funds...short sellers all mati liao if they frantically buy back to cover their positions now.

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2024-01-03 15:54 | Report Abuse

that's y i say thia stock is not HumptyDumpty
haha

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2024-01-03 15:59 |

Ran271221

89 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2024-01-03 16:07 | Report Abuse

Terima kasih. Terlalu good luck, HLIB akaun, YTLP dan YTL sudah untung lebih 200%.

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2024-01-03 16:08 | Report Abuse

@Ran271221 how much you earn? 6 figures?

Ran271221

89 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2024-01-03 16:13 | Report Abuse

Tak berani bgtau, Tuan. Mimpi pun tak percaya.

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2024-01-03 16:15 | Report Abuse

that means 1 million+ la

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2024-01-03 16:16 | Report Abuse

YTLPower a lot of people earned more than millions. The hard part is making sure you don't lose on another investment. Better invest the profits in something tangible like property

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2024-01-03 16:16 | Report Abuse

Don't put your profits into another stock. Not every stock in the future will be like YTL. YTL is a once-in-a-decade opportunity

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2024-01-03 16:17 | Report Abuse

YTLPower is the EASIEST stock to trade. If you lose money on this stock, I can say you should quit the stock market forever. Is there anyone who lost money on this stock? Haha

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by MrFox > 2024-01-03 16:19 | Report Abuse

More to Come!!!!!!!!!!!
you dun believe words of wisdom???!!!!!
haha

Ran271221

89 posts

Posted by Ran271221 > 2024-01-03 16:21 | Report Abuse

Terima kasih tunjukkan ajar wallstreetrookieNew. Saya sangat setuju. Thanks.

11,477 posts

Posted by OTB > 2024-01-03 16:22 | Report Abuse

EPS for FY 2024 is 0.42.
EPS for FY 2025 is 0.50.
Hope YTLPower made many readers here millionaire in 2024.
Good luck in 2024.

myloh123

259 posts

Posted by myloh123 > 2024-01-03 16:34 | Report Abuse

Dun play contra...worrisome stressful n time consuming n cannot reap much profits

Posted by HumptyDumpty > 2024-01-03 16:41 | Report Abuse

UEMS is more crazy , confirm foreign influx.. utilities and property ..

ChloeTai

1,443 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2024-01-03 17:47 | Report Abuse

Really hope that this is the beginning of a real bull run, as hoped by Mr Ooi Teik Bee.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2024-01-03 19:25 | Report Abuse

A famous US iot factory will ship to johor !

Plantermen

2,224 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2024-01-03 20:22 | Report Abuse

YTLP nett profit ending 30 June for FY 2023 surged to a record profit of MYR 2.03billon vs 1.48 Billion recorded in FY 2022. What's interesting 74% of the revenue comes from their Singapore operations, 20% from their UK and only 3% from their Malaysian and other countries. Which indirectly means the weakening ringgit in the 2half of 2023 is positive for YTLP bottom line.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2024-01-03 21:19 | Report Abuse

Few points taken from 1QFY24
1. The PAT by PowerSeraya is much more beyond my expectation reaching 850m. This will be the key reference for coming quarter.

2. Water segment is improving, and I can expect next quarter to break even.
The higher revenue was contributed primarily from continued improvement in trading and new contract. (when the new contract become more and more, the profit will keep rising.)

3. Telecommunication segment, hope for the best next quarter. (maintain my own assumption, -50m for coming quarter)

4. Investment segment, hope Jordan side could do better. (if no surprise, 100m will be expected for coming quarter)

5. Total PAT of 900m for next quarter.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-01-03 21:26 | Report Abuse

@cgtan2020, do not expect many of the local analysts to raise the tp for YTL Power. You can see from the commentary from these analysts in the TheEdge article above.

Having missed out on the strong earnings rebound of YTL Power, these analysts will be reluctant to raise target prices much. You can see that the narrative from them is quite similar, more so like a collaborative effort to downplay the earnings growth of YTLP.

One said for 2-year retails contracts locked in early/mid 2022, PowerSeraya earnings may have peaked. What kind of bullshxt is this? The fact is that PowerSeraya earnings started showing strong rebound in early 2023 (remember PowerSeraya reported PBT of RM290m in Sept 2022 qtr, PBT of RM301m in Dec 2022 qtr, PBT of RM806m in Mar 2023 qtr, PBT of RM1067m in June 2023 qtr, PBT of RM1025m in Sept 2023 qtr), and not early 2022 as this analyst stated.

I guess this is how they try to justify a low valuation for YTLP by projecting that PowerSeraya earnings have peaked and will normalised down very soon. But they will get beaten down again next month when YTL Power announces the Q2 FY2024 results.

MrFox

1,265 posts

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2024-01-03 21:32 | Report Abuse

Interesting to note today's high of RM2-80 surpassed 6 of the 10 analysts' recommended target prices. And the closing price is no more than 8.5x the 4Q-rolling average PER. So can we expect another round of rising TP recommendations ? As dragon328 rightly pointed out earlier -
" .... 40 sen EPS for FY2024 and FY2025 still has not included any contribution from the new AI data centre, WTE plant, any profit from Yes and digital bank, MLFF if materialised, Brabazon project in the UK, equity account of any profit from Ranhill and subsequent phases of data centres in Kulai and potential RE export to Singapore."

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2024-01-03 21:40 | Report Abuse

2 of the 10 have already crossed the RM3 barrier; so who else is taking the big step up ?

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-01-03 21:42 | Report Abuse

One thing I don't quite understand how these local investment banks are thinking when they tried to push down the valuation of YTL Power. Could they earn more money by doing that?

They advised local funds like EPF to dispose off large positions in YTL and YTL Power in 2023 when the share prices were below RM1.00. Could they have earned a lot of commission or advisory fees in doing the selldown?

If they advise some foreign funds or clients to buy shares in YTL Power by getting the company to place out 1% or 2% blocks, wouldn't such deals earn them more advisory fees & commission?

Another thing is that some local investment banks issued call warrants on YTL Power but did not hedge 100% by buying enough mother shares, so they tried to push the mother share down before the expiry of the call warrants so that they didn't have to pay more for cash settlement of the call warrants. I just wonder how much they could save in doing that, and whether they would have made a loss in that issuance of the call warrants.

Why not just issue more new call warrants and hedge 100% with mother shares of YTL Power? Then the investment banks can safely pocket the 15% to 20% premium in call warrant issuance, rather than taking the risk of under hedging and the continued share price appreciation of the mother share upon expiry of the call warrants.

Just imagine, if an investment bank issues 100 million of new call warrants, and a 20% premium in issuance price (eg. 3 sen premium in a typical 15 sen new issuance price), the bank will earn easily RM10-12 million fee upon issuance of the call warrants immediately without risk. Why don't they do that?

If a bank issues 3 batches of call warrants on a stock like YTL Power, it can earn a handsome, risk-free gain of RM30-40 million over a period of 6-9 months.

Of course they will need big capital to hold some mother shares for hedging.

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-01-03 21:44 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen, what I have in mind for the projected EPS of 40 sen for FY2024 is largely inline with what you projected above, i.e. RM850-900m net profit every quarter for next 2 years to 2026.

iswara

896 posts

Posted by iswara > 2024-01-03 21:48 | Report Abuse

maybe Q result ( 9-12) EPS close to 15sen

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2024-01-03 21:51 | Report Abuse

Analysts' recommendations on page 2 -
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/696034

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2024-01-03 21:54 | Report Abuse

.... and dragon328 has just offered some interesting insights regarding target-price setting ..

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2024-01-03 22:02 | Report Abuse

This particular group of analysts covering the energy sector have missed out on YTLP earnings upgrade. YTLp was not their hot favourite pick in the energy sector which indirectly link to the low PER assigned to YTLP. With the earnings and revenue denominated in Sing dollar and other foreign currency. Imagine YTLP earnings surpassed 2 billion last year. They will revise & upgrade YTLP once the coming December qtr result comes in

Posted by Dominik717 > 2024-01-03 22:24 | Report Abuse

“VIRTUAL HACK NET RECOVERY FIRM “ PROFESSIONAL HACKING . Happy New year to y’all , I’m here to share my story with you guys . It is important to regularly check in on your loved ones, as people often go through difficult times silently. Today marks it exactly one year that we successfully Recovered my cousin’s proceeds , this was the case with my cousin brother who lived in Southampton. He fell victim to a scam trading company that he initially believed to be legitimate. After investing his life savings, he was unable to withdraw his profits as promised. Despite my warning about online investments, he continued with the scheme. According to him ,he made a few successful withdrawals initially, which convinced him to invest everything he had worked for. However, when it came time to withdraw his profits, the company made excuses and demanded additional ACCESS fees. This led to my cousin falling into depression upon realizing he had been scammed. Worried about his well-being, I traveled to Southampton to check on him. I found him in a state of regret and despair. Determined to help him, I contacted VIRTUAL HACK NET RECOVERY FIRM to recover his lost funds. Thankfully, they were able to successfully retrieve the money after a few days of working on the case. I initially reached out to them via email at V I R T U A L H A C K N E T @ G MAIL dot COM, but they can also be contacted on Telegram at VIRTUALHACKNET. I am grateful for their assistance during our time of need, and I hope my cousin has learned a valuable lesson from this experience.

PureBULL ...

2,539 posts

Posted by PureBULL ... > 2024-01-04 04:39 | Report Abuse

Stock mkt is a moving target.

n constantly changing at speed dictated n controlled by mr mkt.
when mr mkt chooses to play an asset class, that becomes the theme play.

The theme last yr was
JB DC & PROPERTY PLAY
as round 1.

Yesterday, the 2nd mkt day showed mr mkt is v aggressive again on
JB DC & PROPERTY PLAY
as round 2,
pretty much like glove bull run 2, on July 1st to euphoric peak on August 7th, 2020.

these stocks fly high so easily.
its like using monopoly money with zero risk n fear, to hoot.9.leow n loot.9.e to the max.

JB DC: ytlpowr, cresndo

JB PROPERTY: uems, sunway, ecowld etc.

round 2 could bull run to CNY...

https://www.tradingview.com/x/pj3jsRJw/
https://www.tradingview.com/x/HJmUSW7o/

https://www.tradingview.com/x/TyB7VvpL/
https://www.tradingview.com/x/k8kRXoi9/

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2024-01-04 08:13 | Report Abuse

Today is interesting. Yesterday YTL push is very broad based. Is foreign buyers seen something we have missed out. Our southern neighbours are hawk eye. eyeing on YTL low valuations vs their own energy providers .time for our local analyst to upgrade and re rate YTL

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2024-01-04 08:15 | Report Abuse

@Drogon328, It is reasonable and achievable to predict 10 cents per share for coming quarter. Furthermore, the CEO of YTL said before, the profit of PowerSeraya will last for a least until the end of FY2025. So, HLB prediction will be more accurate if compare to others.

There still some huge investment is occurring, still not sure will these investments drag down the total EPS or not.
1. PowerSeraya is building another 4mw solar power in Singapore.
SINGAPORE: YTL PowerSeraya (YTLPS) will invest more than S$5mil to expand the amount of solar power generated at its Pulau Seraya Power Station to 5MWp (megawatt-peak) by September 2024, up from the existing 1MWp.

2. YES is taking up it's stack in DNB.

3. DC in Kulai still under construction.

4. Supercomputer in Kulai should be under construction.

5. Noe sure YTLP do make some provision for starting up its digital banking business or not.

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2024-01-04 08:25 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen

i didnt get what you mean by dragging down the EPS

if you have a significant capex / investment for future return, wouldnt the depreciation only take place when the investment is completed and it started to commercially produce revenue?

In such a case, the EPS would not be affected significantly

Plantermen

2,224 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2024-01-04 08:28 | Report Abuse

Valuation of data centre in the past is based or calculated on income capitalisation. In addition other source income is generated by renting out any excess space as a fixed percentage of the data space to third parties. Al generative data centres is highly sought by tech providers { Nvidia or AMD}. YTLP is in a sweet spot. 5G telco, power generation, water services provider, digital bank and not forgetting their Jordan JV shale oil mining

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2024-01-04 08:37 | Report Abuse

I'm guessing, the AI in Kulai, is build for our government, especially phase one.
PMX will use this AI to generate all info needed to launch his "precision subsidy".

With the help of AI, all assets, cash, dividend received, rental, etc hold or earn by someone will list down completely if AI can access to all related data base. AI is very capable to sort these things out.

With the launching of “centralize of all invoice or receipt”, AI will know or even predict how much you can earn in a year.

With the help of cashless transaction, every transaction will be transparent.

Conclusion, no way to hide, black economy will be reduced.

By using this supercomputer, the government will save money through "precision subsidy".
Hope by providing supercomputer service, YTLP could generate decent profit.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2024-01-04 08:40 | Report Abuse

@probability, thanks for explanation, really appreciate that.

Posted by moncmondo87 > 2024-01-04 09:08 | Report Abuse

xiaochen, probability highlights the impact on nearterm cashflows when capital investments are significant - data centre devt with nvidia etc, WTE, prospect for new 600MW in Singapore, further M&A opportunities. But cap invs have little or no effect on eps in the meantime. And a study of Note 27 in the Annual Report points to adequate domestic credit lines (don't forget there's still cash in the kitty) to fund these upcoming developments.

If anything, debt-gearing MAY be challenged, but let's not forget more net operating cashflows to come in the next 2-3 years; see AR's Cashflow Statement..

So focus on big picture; management is set to deliver. No worries, mate !

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2024-01-04 09:11 |

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2024-01-04 09:12 |

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2024-01-04 09:19 | Report Abuse

Edge already want to help sell power, oil and gas and construction sector hahaha

Jerichomy

4,346 posts

Posted by Jerichomy > 2024-01-04 09:20 |

Ravi Kumar

3,630 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2024-01-04 09:21 | Report Abuse

FLY FLY coming coming

dragon328

2,487 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2024-01-04 09:27 | Report Abuse

@xiaochen, the investments that you mentioned above will be more of capex nature, i.e. these will be capitalised in the balance sheet when the investments are made, instead of being expensed off in the P&L. So these investments will not affect earnings per share or drag down EPS.

Only after the investment capex is completed, then depreciation charges related to the new investment capex will kick in and reduce profits before tax, then only it will reduce EPS. But if the new investment is earnings accretive, then the new income stream will be more than the depreciation charges and interest expenses related to borrowings made to fund the new investment, hence EPS should rise further.

xiaochen

523 posts

Posted by xiaochen > 2024-01-04 09:29 | Report Abuse

@moncmondo87, thanks for further explanation.
@dragon328, agreed.