BUMI ARMADA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ARMADA (5210)

0.495 - 0.51

45 people like this.

72,271 comment(s). Last comment by Gabriel Khoo 11 hours ago

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-01-26 11:36 | Report Abuse

Always funny how Bumi Armada has a high beta (influenced by oil price fluctuations) when in reality, the business operations and profitability is not impacted by the day to day oil price swings.

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-01-26 12:09 | Report Abuse

I got tired of explaining: BAB independent of Brent. A few years wasted.
Let us follow the Brent Crude Oil Price and avoid arguing about it.

Brent up to $82 so Armada should be MYR 0.82.

Logical.

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-26 13:09 | Report Abuse

I agree with U Niki...but I think some say when Brent is high the chances of extension will be great and no issue of default by their clients.

also with new Akai can be a sweetener.

Gabriel Khoo

1,006 posts

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2024-01-26 13:35 | Report Abuse

Bcos the data the collect based on historical data...if u shortern the data collection period then armada beta is low

kmchua888

43 posts

Posted by kmchua888 > 2024-01-26 16:00 | Report Abuse

SP Energy is doing pretty well and may boost BA's future prospect as JV partner. BA has helped SP Energy built up their FPSO business and now they are helping back.

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-26 16:40 | Report Abuse

#kmchua, don't U think SP Energy may just acquire BA at some point. they have the means and plan to go big in FPSO.

RayLee

154 posts

Posted by RayLee > 2024-01-26 17:39 | Report Abuse

Go big by expanding the market in India? 😁

Gabriel Khoo

1,006 posts

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2024-01-26 17:58 | Report Abuse

Don under estimate india if US want to India to grow fast they will get enough support

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-27 10:19 | Report Abuse

Brent Oil closed very strongly. May see a good run in ALL O&G stocks.

Felix888999

1,642 posts

Posted by Felix888999 > 2024-01-27 12:19 | Report Abuse

Just in time for CNY goreng. 😊

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-01-27 21:54 | Report Abuse

Possible FSRU announcement due soon. Unsure about the details at this point in time.

Posted by ITreeinvestor > 2024-01-28 10:39 | Report Abuse

@niki, new tender for FSRU?

Posted by ITreeinvestor > 2024-01-28 10:44 | Report Abuse

or Mumbai JV started

BLee

883 posts

Posted by BLee > 2024-01-28 12:40 | Report Abuse

"nikicheong
Always funny how Bumi Armada has a high beta (influenced by oil price fluctuations) when in reality, the business operations and profitability is not impacted by the day to day oil price swings."

@nikicheong, partly agreed not to read so much on the direction of OnG price in the short term; but if OnG price stays high at longer terms above average production cost will have a good impact on all upstream and downstream counters, IMHO (in my humble opinion).
Points to ponder for FPSO operators:
- Most owners of FPSO built the facilities to 'lease' at daily rates 'inclusive' of full functioning of the facilities.
- Not all OnG fields require FPSO, only feasible for deep water and marginal fields.
- High risk for high return compared to a field with a Central Production Complex (CPC or CPP) with its own Satellites Platform (SP). The daily rates have to cater for this risk.
- Chances of reUse in other locations is not very feasible as each field has its own landing pressure and hydrocarbon composition and aging of equipment.
- Operation regulation. Example ESG, COP etc confirmation like Carbon Capture, Heat Recovery, Waste Water Treatment and Zero Flaring, etc
Just a few points to ponder for TradeAtYourOwnRisk..

TimCoke

189 posts

Posted by TimCoke > 2024-01-29 10:16 | Report Abuse

last boost for the CNY, grab it before its too late...

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-01-29 10:27 | Report Abuse

Yes. Good time to grab more.
The stock value just passed 200 day Moving Average.
Golden Cross is a 100% bullish indicator that many follow.

Also, Brent at 83.3 USD means that the short term target of BA is MYR 0.83.

😁

Posted by marlboroman2 > 2024-01-29 12:20 | Report Abuse

collect slowly and sleep soundly while waiting for O&G play, hopefully it is not a value trap counter. Just need some news to spark a rush up (hopefully not a rush down).

Posted by OrlandoOilWeb3AI > 2024-01-29 16:35 | Report Abuse

Fearless Houthi keeps wracking.. BA also no going up

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-29 17:15 | Report Abuse

consolidating at this level... once pick up steam will run.

Posted by ITreeinvestor > 2024-01-29 20:31 | Report Abuse

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/oilandnaturalgascorporation_india-ongc-indiaenergyweek2024-activity-7157227732655898624-d4ud?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_android

Embark on #India's journey to economic prosperity!

#ONGC's flagship KG-DWN-98/2 Block sails confidently into the Final phase, poised to achieve full oil and gas production by mid-2024.

A monumental leap towards a resilient and self-sustaining energy sector.

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-02 08:15 | Report Abuse

Hope you had a good holiday. Welcome back.

Today some bad news. Brent has dramatically fallen to 78 USD.
We shall see if it affects the price.
New target is now MYR 0.78 in 90 days (based on the futures).

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-02-02 09:24 | Report Abuse

finally it's not tracking Brent or Crude price based on today's market action.

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-02 10:34 | Report Abuse

It went down 1 sen. That is 2% or about the same % as the drop it Brent.
We need to give some time to adjust to the lower crude future.

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-02-02 12:16 | Report Abuse

@rohank71 you jinxed it brother!!!

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-02-02 15:50 | Report Abuse

Hahaha... sorry if I JINXED BA...

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-02 16:20 | Report Abuse

Yes, you did. And I was arguing that you needed to check financial figures, project prospects, etc in the past. But the overall O&G market still impacts us, like a low tide. I guess not much can be done today. Until next week.
Houthis will do their work for sure.

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-02-02 17:19 | Report Abuse

sorry, guys. let's hope for a better week next week. anyway, it's still on uptrend technically. so let's hold on tight. The ship will sail again. Better I stay quiet. have a good weekend.

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-02 18:37 | Report Abuse

No problem rohank. I think we are teasing you. In any case, today's action WAS a humbling experience.
MYR 0.535 at one time.
So low considering Kraken is OK and AS V is now online.
We did not predict this.

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-05 09:40 | Report Abuse

In case you wonder why Armada is down today, Brent Crude OIl is at $77 and going down.

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-02-05 12:25 | Report Abuse

I believe Bumi Armada participated in the bid for this FSO. So far, no official winner announced. Something to keep an eye out for perhaps.

https://theenergyyear.com/news/murphy-oil-takes-its-fid-on-vietnam-project/

Posted by eugenewong794 > 2024-02-05 17:58 | Report Abuse

sometimes market not logical as BA is a FPSO provider and mainly earns from charter rates which is negotiated and usually quite stable, oil prices shouldnt really affect BA profitability esp short term, hibiscus is more tied to oil price than FPSO like BA or yinson

Posted by Macgyver111 > 2024-02-05 21:11 | Report Abuse

Normally DCR paid based on oil price.

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-02-05 23:09 | Report Abuse

BAs contract DCR is not based on oil price.

Posted by ITreeinvestor > 2024-02-06 09:10 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffett-backed Occidental Petroleum is predicting an oil supply shortage by 2025 due to global failure to replace crude reserves at a fast enough pace.

https://oilprice.com/Latest-Energy-News/World-News/Buffett-Backed-Occidental-CEO-Says-Oil-Shortage-by-2025.html

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-06 10:34 | Report Abuse

Charter rates may or may not be based on oil price. But Armada surely is.
Oil price stabilized and even went up a bit to $78.
Armada counter stabilizes too. Soon to move up as well ?

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-02-07 16:09 | Report Abuse

Indonesia is the new focus area but not sure if there's going to be much if any profits there.

Also, Akia is a JV with Anada's private company, hope we're not subsidising his foray into upstream O&G.

rohank71

911 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-02-08 07:41 | Report Abuse

Brent, once above 80, will be on uptrend again.

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-02-08 09:51 | Report Abuse

Everyone here talking about trends, oil price etc. Okay yes they impact short term price fluctuations, but the baseline long term trend is informed by the underlying prospects of the business. For which, Bumi Armada has yet to deliver.

I wonder when will there start being an exodus of long-term investors.

Every other day, they post some nonsense initiative (that has zero bearing on their core business) on LinkedIn.

Hopefully there's more to come from them.

Posted by ageetkumar > 2024-02-08 10:48 | Report Abuse

The core business (FPSOs / FSOs /FSRU/ FLNG) is not easy to do anymore. Primarily due to lack of financing options. In fact there is an abundance of projects but very few takers as financing sources have dried up. The mainstream banks and financing institutions are reluctant to finance long term oil & gas projects. The new initiatives are there no out of the goodness of their hearts, but in hopes of making money from that. But the current management seems clueless on how to do this.

Felix888999

1,642 posts

Posted by Felix888999 > 2024-02-09 12:57 | Report Abuse

Wishing everyone Happy New Year! May the CNY bring you joy and prosperity!

Huat aaaaaaaaah!

nikicheong

2,506 posts

Posted by nikicheong > 2024-02-09 15:37 | Report Abuse

Happy New Year to all Bumi Armada shareholders, be it short-term traders or medium/long-term investors.

Here's to hoping in the Year of the Dragon, Bumi Armada fulfils it's potential. Looking forward to some concrete announcements with regards to green energy initiatives (FLNG, FSRU, FCSIU).

Posted by Mkt888888 > 2024-02-09 16:09 | Report Abuse

These days O&G are able to finance their projects via bond issue to funds/retails. All depends on the yield(risk v reward. Yinson is proposing to issue one. https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2024/02/09/the-lure-and-risks-of-perpetual-bonds

Posted by Robert Waters > 2024-02-09 16:40 | Report Abuse

Happy Chinese New Year everyone.
Let us have some enjoyment knowing the share price stabilized.
Also Brent is above 80 USD.

I know very, very well it has no bearing on Armada.
But many investors do not. And they affect the price.
I wish them happy CNY too.
🕺💃

MM78

604 posts

Posted by MM78 > 2024-02-10 21:09 | Report Abuse

Happy Chinese New Year to members in this chat group. May we all prosper in Dragon Year.