14 people like this.

2,651 comment(s). Last comment by Philip ( buy what you understand) 5 days ago

Posted by (Clark GKent) Philip > 2019-04-05 08:19 | Report Abuse

Topglove seems to have a discount month of 15%, especially since it's business has not eroded, and is as string as ever with record growth.

Posted by (Clark GKent) Philip > 2019-04-05 08:20 | Report Abuse

Time to average down on topglov

Posted by MrPotato88 > 2019-04-23 12:20 | Report Abuse

Philip, why Top Glove but not Harta ?

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-04-23 12:23 | Report Abuse

Erm... Because it's a legacy stock that I bought since 2010 and I know it will enough to know how many lines it has, where all the factories are, I am comfortable with the management and most of all it is still very very profitable and growing over a long time.

Posted by MrPotato88 > 2019-04-23 13:19 | Report Abuse

I see..will you consider Harta as well? If you have the chance ?

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-04-23 13:26 | Report Abuse

I think I have had the chance for quite a while, I already have a big position (in my portfolio) in the biggest glove manufacturer in the world, topglov.i don't think HARTA is very much different from TOPGLOV in terms of competitive advantage, and currently I also have other stocks in my portfolio in different industry. I try not to clash and just concentrate on the best in each industry:

YINSON : FPSO charter
Ql. : daily consumables
TOPGLOV: glove manufacturing
PCHEM. : Petrochemicals
STNE (NASDAQ) : fintech
Gkent. : Specialty Construction

I think the cost of selling topglove just to buy harta would probably not be worth it for me in this stage, and I am mostly using my dividends from TOPGLOV these days to buy more TOPGLOV shares

13,035 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-04-23 13:32 |

13,035 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-04-23 13:33 | Report Abuse

My advice (and also my primary approach) is to treat the stock market as one big marketplace to buy wonderful companies for the long term and not to make money from trades.

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-04-23 15:11 | Report Abuse

I do the same way, however with the added caveat of buying and planning for the long term, but monitoring on a quarterly basis the performance. Active management, but not too active. Meaning I don't do trades, I don't buy into warrants, I like dividend paying companies that grow their dividend over time, I don't buy into hope ( turnaround, white knight, distressed debt etc).

I like my companies clean and predictable.

Posted by Why Karr Junn > 2019-05-08 19:48 | Report Abuse

Philip i hope this is not a long shot but is there a way i can contact u, you see i just started to pick up investment in college and thw lecturers there are just meh they teach from books instead of real life point of view and experience . im 19 and currently invested in maybank just 1 lot oops wanted to seek advice and knowledge from you as ive been reading your comments and portfolio its really an eye opening.

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-05-08 21:21 | Report Abuse

I'm sorry law Jun, as I am not doing any teaching or investment classes or investing trading or things like that, I don't believe I will be much help. Especially on the basics. Most of the investment ideas I have are very simple and direct and conservative, you just need to learn patience and consistency and most importantly discipline. I won't be able to help you much there as well, as those are things which you get from experience ( in my case bad experience).

I can however point you in the right way. I would advise you to look up Kcchongz as he has better documentation and learning materials, plus that some free ebooks he can email to you.

Real life experience can only be gained from real life. I would advise you to start your investing journey early, and keep a portion of your income as I do every quarter to invest. Refine your stock picks, and think very very hard before you buy any stock.

Treat your stock picking as if you can only buy a few stocks in your life.

It's weird but true, investing is the only activity where you can second guess(and triple guess) yourself many times, don't buy any stock at all and you won't be wrong at all. Over activity is the bane of the intelligent investor.

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-05-08 21:24 | Report Abuse

In either case Maybank is a good stock for you to continuously buy, as if you bought it at 9.32 you would have enjoyed 32 cents dividends. My advice is if you can continue to just keep and don't sell ( and continue to buy every quarter) for the next 20 years, you will do well.

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-05-08 21:37 | Report Abuse

One mental model to learn is the rule of 72. 72 divided by the interest rate is how many years it takes for your money to double. In Maybank case if you bought it now, at it's current dividend yield of 6.3%, in slightly over 11 and 1/2 years, you would have doubled your money. You double it faster if you reinvest your dividends into the stock and continuously buy and hold for the long term.

That is another mental model you can learn: compounding is the 8th wonder of the world. If you choose discipline and put more money continually into Maybank instead of buying that PS4 or watching that movie or eating that burger, in 10 years you would be able to buy 10 PS4, buy a movie theater system or own that burger franchise instead.

The secret is discipline: do you buy that PS4 now, or later?

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-08 21:46 | Report Abuse

Unker eating that burger and going for that movie is quite reasonable lah... No need to live life so sadly.... Haha of course PS4 you buy it later.

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-08 22:29 | Report Abuse

ita true my friends all buy gucci belt and some other branded stuff i was nearly influenced to get all of those like IB said hahahaha i buy a belt can use can d no need so luxurious first still young so i choose to invest . truely thank u for taling your time to reply back i dind really know who to ask in the platform as maybe some advance investor maybe wouldnt want to talk to beginners as its a waste of time. but overall thank u

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-08 22:36 | Report Abuse

its okie if u arent teaching or investment classes i just wanted people to talk to or ask hahaha but overall thankful. also want to make buddies along the way hahaha glad to u two people you are funny and wise and also kind

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-08 22:38 | Report Abuse

quite scared cause OPR and maybank price falling so hard and get dividend is like " waiting 1 year to eat chicken rice" xD like curious if i should sell maybank and day trading like invest in volatile stocks not sure need some experience respond and like opinions if i should sell maybank and change hahahaha . -kj

zhen wei & JP

1,172 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2019-05-08 22:53 | Report Abuse

You don't rely on stock to eat chicken rice.
If you sell now you were in the losses.
If you plan to sell, transfer it to me avoid charges.

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-08 23:04 | Report Abuse

no is like a joke my friend made like wait half a year to afford one chicken rice aka dividend

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-05-09 08:08 | Report Abuse

My advice since you are young, treat stock investing like buying a house. Since you don't simply but and sell your house every few days or check the price every few weeks you should treat buying stocks the same way. Also since you plan to stay in your house for a long time it makes sense to find out as much as you can (location, price, rental yield how many rooms, who is the developer etc) before you take the plunge.

If you buy and sell your stock every month, I can almost guarantee you will lose money in the long run. I know I did.

Posted by (2.6m shares buyback April ) Philip > 2019-05-09 08:13 | Report Abuse

An analogy, and a mental model for you to remember, delayed gratification. You should read up about it, it is pretty interesting and useful, especially in investing.

Why go out to buy burger when you can learn to make one at home? I learnt to be pretty good at making ramli burgers in my day. Movies you have free these days ( my daughter introduced me to fmovies and Netflix). For the price of 3 movie I can basically watch Netflix for a month. Why do you need to watch the latest movies anyway? ( And paying rm60 for that latest imax custom VIP seat. It's still the same movie). You can watch it a month later on a discount Wednesday at rm5.

Anyway it's things like that that make a bigger difference in your investing life than what stocks you buy.

Attitude, patience and consistency.

>>>>>>>
Heavenly PUNTER Research IB Unker eating that burger and going for that movie is quite reasonable lah... No need to live life so sadly.... Haha of course PS4 you buy it later

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-09 08:26 | Report Abuse

I did mine this way, I put 200k into QL back in 2009. Then every quarter report I read up on it. If the business is still doing well and continue to do well I put my 3 month savings into QL. So I did it for 10 years straight. That chicken rice dividend? I get almost 150k dividend every year now. But that is probably just lucky. Anyhow, invests in a growing hardworking company, it will do well for you.

>>>>>>
Law Jun no is like a joke my friend made like wait half a year to afford one chicken rice aka dividend

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-09 09:12 | Report Abuse

You sir, taking your time to share knowledge and wisdom to me im actually so touched "gamdong" yeah at my age rigjt now i think its bwat to see stocks in a limited point of view as im not as rich right now and holding on to a good stock is worth it etc maybank. Mr Philip i sincerely pray for more success to rain upon your family and yourself as youre a wonderful person for sharing this knowledge with me. God bless u

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-05-09 09:17 | Report Abuse

Phillip practices dollar cost averaging. Portfolio rebalancing is an alien concept to him, i assumed.

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-09 09:21 | Report Abuse

i think its alright no practicing dollar cost average , he saves more and lowers the risk imo might be wrong here sorry

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-09 09:37 | Report Abuse

What does portfolio rebalancing? If you mean sell for the sake of selling, no I don't do that. For me my portfolio rebalancing is based on a change in business fundamentals and new economic challenges that change my view on the long term economic returns of my investment. If it changes, I drop the stock.

One major example is my "portfolio rebalancing" of Public bank into petronas chemicals.

I regretfully sell something that is good, for something that is much better.

I don't agree with the idea of selling for the sake of selling.

I also don't do dollar cost averaging. I review my investments every quarter report instead to see if things have changed. If they haven't and the business is still strong, I buy more. Dollar cost averaging is just buying without understanding as the price drops it goes up.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER Research IB > 2019-05-09 09:48 | Report Abuse

Unker Philip, will appreciate your thoughts processes and how you analyse the quarterly report to determine whether the business is doing well, fundamentals remains intact. Could you enlighten us on this?

For instance, Hartalega recent QR dropped 22% QoQ, but I see the revenue is growing, just that the Costs have increased more attributed to sharp rise in MYR, increased electricity costs, labour costs and etc. In my opinion, I strongly think that the fundamentals remain intact. What do you think?

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-05-09 11:06 | Report Abuse

To me, portfolio rebalancing involves reviewing and recalibrates your investments and weigh against better alternatives/opportunities to maximise portfolio return.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-09 15:06 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter)

.........well, it does matter.

for quality companies not much.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-09 17:24 | Report Abuse

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter)

There's the effect on company and there's the effect on share price......not same, so how?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-09 17:29 | Report Abuse

Exactly, if the company fundamentals do not change, and the price goes down, then it just gives you more if an opportunity to buy more.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-09 17:36 | Report Abuse

they say trade war lose lose......

everybody lose.....people got less money....pricings and valuation adjusted. ......company fundamentals do not change, pricings change.

what is worth $ 100 before suddenly worth $ 90 next.

got to recalibrate......come Friday.....tarif hike is a sure thing.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-10 17:46 | Report Abuse

Their main argument was that the reduction in profit was due to sudden rise in MYR in a short term combined with their inability to pass the costs down to customers in time for the orders impacting their profit loss this quarter. So do you think they will be able to pass the costs down in future? If the answer is yes, then it is a good opportunity to buy more, if you think no, then not. For me personally I don't know HARTA that well, but the manufacturing lines are still growing and more products are being used ( increased revenues) so in the future I believe they will continue to do well 5-10 years on
>>>>>>

For instance, Hartalega recent QR dropped 22% QoQ, but I see the revenue is growing, just that the Costs have increased more attributed to sharp rise in MYR, increased electricity costs, labour costs and etc. In my opinion, I strongly think that the fundamentals remain intact. What do you think?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-10 17:48 | Report Abuse

I really don't think HARTA will change much in their pricings. Valuation adjust? In the short term anything can happen, in the mid and long term in Malaysia it matters little.

If they go to full on world war 3 different story la. Trade war and real war different.

>>>>>
everybody lose.....people got less money....pricings and valuation adjusted. ......company fundamentals do not change, pricings change.

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-11 01:16 | Report Abuse

philip gor gor i have a thing to ask is it worth putting 1k into gkent right now sorry noob question

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-11 01:27 | Report Abuse

another question is should i enter the market now when its under trade war us/china.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-11 05:39 | Report Abuse

It depends. Can you hold it for 5 years and reinvest your dividends? If you can't then it's not good. If you can then it's good.
>>>>>
1k into gkent right now

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-11 06:00 | Report Abuse

Gkent is just a contractor

It got no moat

Thought you only buy stocks with moat ?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-11 06:15 | Report Abuse

Name me how many Malaysian companies make water meter in Malaysia and have the manufacturing and capability to win big contract in Hong Kong, Thailand and Singapore?

Name me how many Malaysian companies have done and completed mrt/lrt train cars and have the capability to manage control systems for trains?

How many companies were awarded lrt contract ( for m&e) in Malaysia this year?

Those who don't know contracting only think it means one thing. Those who know contracting know there are many parts to a contract, civil, m&e, elv, control systems.

Gkent is a SPECIALIST contractor. They don't do housing. They don't do condominium. They build water treatment plants, hospitals, sewage treatment plants, complex projects, critical infrastructure. High value, difficult to quote, hard to execute.

That is a moat.

Unless you think any contractor in Malaysia can do lrt? In a tender process, there is a requirement for Malaysian companies preferred with good financials and good past project experience. That is why they got the 1.89b project from pakatan. Not because they are golfing buddies with najib. All those projects they have gotten are high value, high profit, and guaranteed collection if they complete in time. I am one of their subcontractors, I know they can.

Not all contractors are the same. United technologies is also a contractor (specialist defense contractor). Honeywell is also a contractor (specialist HVAC contractor). Siemens is also a contractor ( automation and control). Do they have moat?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-11 06:37 | Report Abuse

Sorry 16.6 billion contract. I believe gkent will not sign if it is not profitable long term. In either case there are many large civil contractors, but not many large mechanical & electrical specialist contractors around. Those who do contracts also know that m&e are generally smaller but are far more profitable than civil contracts which are bigger but less profit margins.

More importantly gkent is smart enough to work together with a financial partner to take the brunt of financial portion while they handle the technical portion. The normal margins for proper contracts are 20-30% for normal projects, for specialized projects are as high as 40%. This would be the renegotiated prices, which luckily gkent as PDP did not have to give any kickbacks to najib previously ( other NSC do that) using latest China estimates of their track and rail and system costs, the entire project should cost around 10-12 billion for that 37km work. I believe gkent should be able to share the 5 billion profit between them and mrcb. Which is a very good deal on the next few years for the parties involved.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-11 06:44 | Report Abuse

From signed contracts by China companies and other countries:

Kenya last month launched the construction of the 120km Phase 2A of the 489km standard-gauge railway line that will link Mombasa to the Ugandan border at a cost of US$1.76 billion (RM7.37 billion). This means it will cost about RM61.42 million per kilometre. There is no indication of the number of bridges that will be built or if there will be any tunnelling works involved.

In Bangladesh, China Railway Construction Corp signed a US$3.5 billion (RM14.65 billion) contract in August to build the 215km Padma rail line linking Dhaka to Jessore, which includes the construction of 66 major bridges, 244 minor bridges, 14 new stations and the procurement of 100 passenger coaches. And the project works out to RM68.14 million per kilometre.

For lrt3, at the latest meeting I attended, finalized is just 25 stations, no underground, and reduction from 6 box cars to 4 cars currently. If using China estimates, the estimated cost for this should be around 8-9 billion for 37 km. Why they renegotiated to 16.63 and awarded to Malaysian company and not directly dealing with China railway construction corp ( that is a 6.63 billion "moat") like ecrl? That is the investment part.

In either case my company is one of the subcons for gkent, and I continue to monitor closely. Although I may retire early before completion.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-05-11 06:49 | Report Abuse

Will response later

Got something to do now

Will Have a civilised discussion with you

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-11 12:46 | Report Abuse

i feel so happy like even if im not earning much :') im earning knowledge grom philip gor gor and others truely blessed

Law Jun

44 posts

Posted by Law Jun > 2019-05-12 01:41 | Report Abuse

philip gor gor your icon gkent de hehe u work for the company or have u invested into the company aswell to keep in touch! laoban

8888_

2,919 posts

Posted by 8888_ > 2019-05-12 05:16 | Report Abuse

So your RM 41.15 million portfolio is not real? Wonder why you still not retire?

(US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip From signed contracts by China companies and other countries:

Kenya last month launched the construction of the 120km Phase 2A of the 489km standard-gauge railway line that will link Mombasa to the Ugandan border at a cost of US$1.76 billion (RM7.37 billion). This means it will cost about RM61.42 million per kilometre. There is no indication of the number of bridges that will be built or if there will be any tunnelling works involved.

In Bangladesh, China Railway Construction Corp signed a US$3.5 billion (RM14.65 billion) contract in August to build the 215km Padma rail line linking Dhaka to Jessore, which includes the construction of 66 major bridges, 244 minor bridges, 14 new stations and the procurement of 100 passenger coaches. And the project works out to RM68.14 million per kilometre.

For lrt3, at the latest meeting I attended, finalized is just 25 stations, no underground, and reduction from 6 box cars to 4 cars currently. If using China estimates, the estimated cost for this should be around 8-9 billion for 37 km. Why they renegotiated to 16.63 and awarded to Malaysian company and not directly dealing with China railway construction corp ( that is a 6.63 billion "moat") like ecrl? That is the investment part.

In either case my company is one of the subcons for gkent, and I continue to monitor closely. Although I may retire early before completion.
11/05/2019 6:44 AM

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-12 06:44 | Report Abuse

Because I actually like what I am doing? There are many millionaires around who still work into their 70s and 80s because for them this is fun. For me I stock investing is a habit, a discipline.

If I find it fun to do investing and work in a company where I have fun and no stress, wouldn't it be good?

4444, it may be a difficult concept, imagine if you no longer have to work hard to survive, and you already have been to all the places you wanted to go, what would you do?

Wouldn't you rather work for fun? Learn new things everyday, meet new people? Leave all the stress to the company owner, while you get to manage your own engineering team (leave the stress to them) and just do the best you can? Be in a situation where people need you, trust you, respect you and listen to your opinions?

Money is not the answer. Its good for keeping track though.

Chia song kun ( ql boss is 69)
Warren buffet ( Berkshire boss is 90)
Lee choon chin ( weida boss is 65)
Lee wee Yong ( hap Seng executive director is 72)

These are all people that I have personally met and have a great respect for, all of them many times richer than you or me.

Asking them to retire is like asking them to stop breathing and just die of boredom.

I hope you learned something today.

THE MEANING OF LIFE IS TO GIVE LIFE A MEANING.

5,918 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-05-12 08:04 | Report Abuse

Dear i3 community,
Beware:
https://www.sc.com.my/api/documentms/download.ashx?id=2093f82c-7929-47e8-9279-f88e3b85dbbf

Subdivision 1 – Offences relating to false trading and market rigging, stock market manipulation, etc.
A person who contravenes section 175, 176, 177, 178, 179 or 181 commits an
offence and shall be punished on conviction to imprisonment for a term not exceeding ten years and to a fine of not less than one million ringgit.

Subdivision 2 – Insider trading
Section 183-188
A person who contravenes subsection (2) or (3) commits an offence and shall be punished on conviction to imprisonment for a term not exceeding ten years and to a fine of not less than one million ringgit.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-13 09:19 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the misguided information. Please be advised on the difference of scuttlebutt and insider trading. If your wife works in public Bank as a bank manager and she sees the loan portfolio of pbb Vs CB,rhb etc that is scuttlebutt. If your good friend works in ql as a plant maintainence manager and pays you promptly before due date every month, that is scuttlebutt. If you are the subcon of a well paying company in a major project, that is scuttlebutt.

If you have access to information that is not publicly available, that is INSIDER TRADING.

Understand what is stock manipulation and not.

Posted by MrPotato88 > 2019-05-19 11:50 | Report Abuse

Philip, what do you think of Gadang?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-19 15:35 | Report Abuse

I abhor any companies that do private placements when share price is low and market is not doing so well. Companies which can't operate on its own velocity I try to avoid usually, unless they have a particularly strong competitive advantage. I also usually don't invest in property developers as these days there is a huge glut in the market, and property development take a longer gestation time (2-4 years), meaning by the next few years, there will be even more unsold properties in Malaysia that people cannot afford to buy. This does not bode well for companies that do property development. If there was a barrier to be a developer I would consider (build before sell, minimum financial capacity, quota etc). However in Malaysia, it appears any company with a little money diversifies into property development. Not a good sign.
Of course for Gadang, property development is 25% of its business, with more on construction and infrastructure works. But I find it exceedingly difficult to project profits and business growth 5-10 years from now for gadang.
I just don't find any form of moat or competitive advantage compared to other players like mudajaya, gamuda, etc etc. I don't know who will do well in the future, therefore I put it in the too hard pile.