PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

-0.03 (0.65%)

4.53 - 4.57

20 people like this.

15,490 comment(s). Last comment by Hachi Hachi 16 minutes ago

50,946 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2020-12-10 13:07 | Report Abuse

Can't compare pbb to TG..

PBB will continue to growth even after bonus.. Whereas TG will not growth anymore for certain years..

Posted by SpartanXoXo > 2020-12-10 13:13 | Report Abuse

Public bank..u've been very kind to me haha

Roy 8

340 posts

Posted by Roy 8 > 2020-12-10 13:53 | Report Abuse

For PBBank, the future is bright and will get better. For Top Glove, the future looks dimmed due to reduced demand of gloves with the success of covid vaccine and also due to new competition from new glove manufacturers as well as potential increase in production capacities from current glove manufacturers. Supply situation will eventually far exceed demand.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 14:47 | Report Abuse

Top management gives green light to buy public bank...

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2020-12-10 14:47 | Report Abuse

After bonus, no dividend, old uncle can sell one lots and declare dividend for himself.... Haha aha..

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 16:04 | Report Abuse

Who is the one keep fighting with us buying...

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 16:10 | Report Abuse

Ok, 20.30... that’s for us... don’t fight

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 16:17 | Report Abuse

Nice, throw cheap for us to collect

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 16:39 | Report Abuse

Almost there... go go go...

neohts

2,339 posts

Posted by neohts > 2020-12-10 16:44 | Report Abuse

Normally how long does it get Bonus approval ? few months ?

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2020-12-10 16:51 | Report Abuse

Expecting 1st quarter financial year 2021

wopsron8

91 posts

Posted by wopsron8 > 2020-12-10 17:09 | Report Abuse

if you have 100 share value now is rm2000. If after bonus you will have 500 shares(100 + bonus 400) at rm2000.your price will be rm4 per share. after ex date the price may be go up to rm5 per share. This is my calculation. May be got expert here got better calculation

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2020-12-10 17:53 | Report Abuse

Haha public bank is really like a a big giant tortoise now.

Guess not much difference after bonus issue.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-10 17:55 | Report Abuse

There's no difference for the regular shareholders.

For a regular listed company, many won't be able to easily provide 4:1 bonus share, unless they've been listed for many many years. The significance is probably only to brag that PBB has had good profits in the past to have the large amount in retained profit.

So there's basically no cost to issue bonus share aside from administrative.
And yes it will dilute the future dividend per share, but assuming div payout is the same, your net dividend will remain the same unless you sell partial after the bonus issue ex-date.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-10 18:04 | Report Abuse

Fundamentally not much difference after bonus ex-date.

But more importantly is the timing of bonus issue usually mean the operator is either expecting big things ahead to propel the profits, and/or just wants to invite more investors (mostly retailers).

My bet is on both.

50,946 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2020-12-10 18:05 | Report Abuse

The best stock in bursa tat nobody criticism!!

Peace of mind to invest in PBB which givi g high capital growth for covid recovery!!

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-10 19:25 | Report Abuse

@supersinginvestor Yes, sifu! I hope you are right!! Keep the faith!

emsvsi

3,517 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2020-12-10 20:13 | Report Abuse

All sophisticated bank investors should sincerely think of diversifying your portfolio as a hedge

The top pick is Genting Berhad

Catalysts:

Vaccine FDA EUA (emergency use authorisation) and Full Approval
Vaccine roll outs (UK; imminent US etc)
Year end / CNY rally and Super Cycle
Vaccine Malaysia approval / supply agreement / delivery / administering
Resorts World Las Vegas & Resorts World Genting Theme Park
US & Bahamas and UK & Egypt revival
WHO / COVAX approves and distributes vaccines
WHO declares pandemic over
Border opening / international visitors
Genting Plantations (CPO record high)
Genting Power, Property, Oil & Gas (cyclical sector in an upcycle)

Sincerely,
EMSVSI

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-10 21:09 | Report Abuse

As long as PAS is in government, GENTING will have challenges.

jeffchan1901

1,402 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2020-12-10 22:05 | Report Abuse

Stock Splits and Bonus Shares

When a stock is split, there is no increase or decrease in the company's cash reserves. In contrast, when a company issues bonus shares, the shares are paid for out of the cash reserves, and the reserves depleted.

What is a Bonus Issue?

A bonus issue is an offer of free additional shares to existing shareholders. They’re basically gifts to shareholders of the company, rewarding you and me with additional shares at no cost.

The bonus shares are issued and paid out of the retained profits of a company. They’re issued as a ratio, based on the number of shares held by the shareholder.

Why are Bonus Shares Issued?

To reward shareholders
Boost investor sentiment and market confidence
Increase liquidity
Adjust the stock price to a reasonable range

As an existing shareholder, you may immediately sell the bonus shares the moment they are issued. This is why companies sometimes issue bonus shares in lieu of cash dividends. Or if you’re investing in the company for the long term and do not have immediate liquidity needs, you keep your increased shareholding.

It is however important to note that a share bonus issue does not involve cash flow. It increases the company’s share capital but not its net assets. It does not impact you as a shareholder materially.

Difference Between a Bonus Issue and Stock Split

Both have many similarities as well as differences. Stock splits only serves one purpose – To increase the number of shares. Ie. To adjust the share price of the company to a lower level.

Many Malaysian investors still believe a company like Nestle whose share price is RM145 per share is “expensive”. Investing RM10,000 into Nestle or a low price share is the same thing. You’re investing RM10,000. End of story.

When a stock is split, there is no change in the company’s cash reserves. In contrast, when a company declares a bonus issue of shares, the bonus shares are paid for out of the accumulated profits of the company, depleting reserves.

Similar to a bonus issue, if you do not have immediate liquidity needs, you should just hold on to your split stocks to maintain the status quo in terms of your percentage holdings in the company.

https://dividendmagic.com.my/bonus-issues-and-stock-splits-good-or-bad/

Vanbasten

1,266 posts

Posted by Vanbasten > 2020-12-10 22:36 | Report Abuse

Hail sifu sifut

Vanbasten

1,266 posts

HLbank RM 22 by cny

Vanbasten

1,266 posts

Buy hlb cw

kfbusjd

666 posts

Posted by kfbusjd > 2020-12-10 22:43 | Report Abuse

i expect price can go futher to around 23 by the ex date of bonus issue. However buy at your own risk as covid casses rise to record high today. Still a lot of uncertaincy like the effectiveness of vacine, china and us relationship and also Malaysia political issues itself,
10/12/2020 10:42 PM

iknownuts

29 posts

Posted by iknownuts > 2020-12-10 23:46 | Report Abuse

Dividendmagic’s blog is wrong on the info for bonus shares. This info is true many years ago but no longer relevant now. Nowadays there is no longer par value for a companies’ shares, when a company issue bonus shares there is no payment from retained profits. So whoever that said no dividend from PBB next quarter (because of this) is not correct.

hhc8

102 posts

Posted by hhc8 > 2020-12-11 00:19 | Report Abuse

why paid up doesnt increase when there is bonus?

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-11 08:33 | Report Abuse

Good morning all!

Posted by daytripper > 2020-12-11 09:09 | Report Abuse

Can someone teach me the calculation formula for bonus and dividend?

50,946 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2020-12-11 09:54 | Report Abuse

......... Rally nonstopped...

.... The Greatest PBB repeat again after many years...

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-11 10:07 | Report Abuse

hhc8, paid up will increase, but only after ex-date

@iknownuts, your name really a good match for your knowledge lol

50,946 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2020-12-11 10:11 | Report Abuse

PBB beats all target price..20.5 midf

What next?

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-12-11 10:15 | Report Abuse

Pbbank at all time high for these 2 years plus, buy buy buy , bonus issue will make it to be RM4 after bonus issue ... buy buy ... hehe l

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-12-11 10:18 | Report Abuse

Maybank also at one year plus , all time high ... buy buy buy .... Malaysia is going to have wonderful economy n economic growth next year even we have below average government, politic infighting , below average racial relationships, high unemployment rate.... buy buy buy ... Banking counters going to earn big money next year...

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:22 | Report Abuse

HUAT AHHHH TONIGHT EAT LOBSTER LEAVE PHONE NUMBER I INVITE YOU A

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:22 | Report Abuse

If you see @pang72 and @supersinginvestor and @wallstreetrookie in the same forum, BUY

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:23 | Report Abuse

Let’s goreng back up to RM25 TP RM25++

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-12-11 10:23 | Report Abuse

Supersing investors, most probably U r wrong n your prediction of PBbank can go up to 24-25 also wrong ; u r insane to think PBB can get RM6 after bonus issue , it will be larger than Maybank if PBB worth more than 5.50-6.00 after bonus issue ... must be hardcore fan of Public bank...:)

Posted by GorengHealthcare > 2020-12-11 10:23 | Report Abuse

PBB will be the darling of retail investors again.

Day2 steady day2 up; no sleepless night day2 green2 counting cash.

Auntie uncle that kept it down generations; everyone is multi-millionaires.

took profit gloves took profit vaccines let's push up banking stocks as first liner of recovery!!

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:24 | Report Abuse

Let me ask you. Glove oversupply. Banks oversupply? Will money be oversupplied? Hahahaha answer is no

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:26 | Report Abuse

Hengyuan and PBBank will the last winner of 2020. Buy now confirm you’ll be rich and you can celebrate Christmas and New Year with MORE THAN 1 WIFE haha

Posted by sink or swim .. > 2020-12-11 10:30 | Report Abuse

Does this bonus issue mean that you will get 4 times of your existing share at a price after dilution , on top of the what your have initially invested ?

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-12-11 10:36 | Report Abuse

Public bank is even worse choice than HL bank or Maybank for the price of 20.50-21.00; it is slow in profit growth since 2016-17, those inexperienced investors only think bonus issue a big boost for public bank... but it did go up from 18 to Rm21.... mean many still think bonus issues is good, in reality , only mean from share price Rm 20 being adjusted to RM 4 n earning per shares still same with pre bonus issue Level ...

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:38 | Report Abuse

Who is inexperienced? Maybank has higher market cap and more growth? Seriously? Hong Leong bank does have higher growth potential though with increasing profits

Posted by GorengHealthcare > 2020-12-11 10:47 | Report Abuse

pbb is first choice of auntie uncle be it T20 or M40; be it kampung or city; be it pasar chicken seller or rich entrepreneur.

1Malaysia will support PBB it represents a legacy; a tradition that put a strong grip in market throughout years.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2020-12-11 10:50 | Report Abuse

1. PBB 2. Hong Leong 3. Maybank PBB market caps will overtake Maybank soon

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2020-12-11 10:50 | Report Abuse

Just amazing...

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-11 10:51 | Report Abuse

Sure touch 22 today

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-11 10:54 | Report Abuse

Hahaha short of 2 cents

Posted by GorengHealthcare > 2020-12-11 10:55 | Report Abuse

You guys hoot too ganas already; today EPF sure will take profit.

Anyway seafood restaurant this weekend full people enjoy lobster abalone open champagne celebrate