GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

+0.01 (0.21%)

4.81 - 4.83

43 people like this.

83,036 comment(s). Last comment by AngTayKor 11 hours ago

Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Boss Lim said that, besides the investment in the energy division revealed, there are a few other projects they are working on.
Hopefully, in time to come, they will share these with us, just as they did with the energy division. He emphasized that we should continue to watch this space, as the transformation of Genting is just beginning.

Guess what these projects that Boss Lim mentioned could be! I believe there could be more green projects in the pipeline. There might be a USA IPO, and of course we should not forget the potential approval of TauRx by the regulatory authorities soon.

kl_guy

1,437 posts

Posted by kl_guy > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/716215

Genting hopes 20% associate TauRx’s Alzheimer’s drug gets approval soon

Peaches L

873 posts

Posted by Peaches L > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Indeed, we’re into some exciting times to witness and be a part of its transformation journey as a shareholder. It’s for this very reason tht will motivate me to continue to remain invested in the company for the longer term. Cheers!!!

KooSan

404 posts

Posted by KooSan > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

When I read some of the posts here, some of these investors do not look at the substance of the company. Instead they evaluate the CEO hair la, dressing la, whether the Board has any whites just to be appear professional la, well manage la. Haizzz

Peaches L

873 posts

To be successful, LKT said to work hard to prove our meritocracy, be a leader not follower and keep up with current trends and developments. Excellent advise courtesy from a visionary biz leader.

Riaz1954

1,291 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Just a reminder to some who think we are very critical of LKT and Genting! Look at the facts, it has been in drown trend basically from 2011 onwards price peaked than. That is many years of under performance! Reason, is well publicised. We hope the worst is over. Countries do have generally have leaders for more to 10 years. Here we have ceo who has been head for many many years. I like to think new blood and vision is needed and good for company. Also famiky appointnents
Big issue. If you want US listing all this needs to change. Meanwhile we wait for TAuRX

Riaz1954

1,291 posts

Watch out for usual trick suspension of trades when announcing new projects!

hw0706

783 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Genting need to improve the corporate governance, related party transaction. if this can be acheive than Genting will the company going forwwrd. With the larfe landbank in Johor is added advantage to the group.

KooSan

404 posts

To be fair, do not judge a Company solely based on its share price. Do you think our country and its political environment is all rosy? Don't have look any further, just look at the exchange rate for RM in 2011 against 2024.
That's why I said these people do not look at the substance of the Company. By the way, new blood doesn't necessary good. Probably these new blood will caused GB to bleed.

Peaches L

873 posts

It’s not a ‘usual trick’ but, a Bursa requirement prior to any material announcement by any plc. Tht’s very normal and not any form of trickery.

tkkiong

Posted by tkkiong > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Mr Peaches ... i hv been investing n holding GenB since 90's ,more than 20+ years and still in the negative territory, do u consider LKT is a visionary biz leader with that performance ?

A losing family owned Empire resort casino unable to be profit but to dispose to the public shareholders; it must b the higher power from above to advise him that !

Imagine u r the Genting HK small shareholders ,seeing the valuable cruisers cheaply changed hand back to the LKT; ethical for a humble boss ?

Remember the last time immediate after TauRx announced the good news? How father and son disposed millions of shares to make the quick buck ?

Peaches L

873 posts

Let’s be very clear here. Stock price under-performance is not LKT’s KPI. Biz under-performance is. You can’t compare Bursa-listed companies with those from overseas like USA. There, their CEOs’ remuneration and stock options are directly correlated to the stock price. They hv every incentive to ensure stock prices remain high if they wanna get fatter monthly paychecks and 401k retirement fund. LKT’s monthly paycheck is based on industry know-how and work experiences which directly correlates to biz performance. So, if GenT isn’t performing well biz-wise, then u hv every reason to reprimand LKT but, definitely not for stock price under-performance.

Peaches L

873 posts

@tkkiong: Remember the last time immediate after TauRx announced the good news? How father and son disposed millions of shares to make the quick buck ?

If they can do it, anyone else can also. There’s no stopping others from doin so.

Peaches L

873 posts

So, are u blaming them for selling at d expense of others who didn’t?

Jack Khan

1,255 posts

Posted by Jack Khan > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

No matter how save a share it is still casino. Like you bet all the number in roulette but still loss money

KooSan

404 posts

Cheer up GB shareholders. I believe our patience will bear fruit very soon. To be fair, LKT has been able to steer the Company to greater heights. The fact that GB secure a license out of the 2 casino licences in Singapore and establish its presence in Las Vegas is no small feat.

Peaches L

873 posts

I’m just trying to be fair and objective in my viewpoint. Credit shud b given to those when due and, we shouldn’t simply find a scapegoat to blame if things aren’t goin our way.

Peaches L

873 posts

@tkkiong: A losing family owned Empire resort casino unable to be profit but to dispose to the public shareholders; it must b the higher power from above to advise him that !

Imagine u r the Genting HK small shareholders ,seeing the valuable cruisers cheaply changed hand back to the LKT; ethical for a humble boss ?

These are biz decisions where most of us do not hv privy into its basis and rationale for such actions. On the surface of things, they may seemed unfair. However, I reserve my judgment and comments on them.

AngTayKor

1,789 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Seems like already facing chapter 11 before GenM's rescue. Who becomes the sucker?

https://news.worldcasinodirectory.com/empire-resorts-considering-chapter-11-bankruptcy-69859

AngTayKor

1,789 posts

Lim family bought cruise biz from listcos at lowest allowable price. Average cost usd0.42/share, sold to Lim family at usd0.29/share. LKT ah LKT....

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/09/30/genting-malaysia-unit-sells-genting-hk-stake-at-lowest-sanctioned-price

Save

806 posts

Posted by Save > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Thailand Casino saga starts: PRIME Minister Srettha Thavisin used his first monthly television address as the country’s leader to promote plans for legalising casinos and building a nuclear power plant to curb illegal gambling and reduce electricity costs.
https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/aseanplus-news/2024/06/23/thai-pm-touts-plans-for-casinos#:~:text=PRIME%20Minister%20Srettha%20Thavisin%20used,gambling%20and%20reduce%20electricity%20costs.

sonyx123

655 posts

Posted by sonyx123 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

why resurfacing all old news?

KooSan

404 posts

Scared all GenM shareholders....ATK, please post in GenM and see if you will be f.ark left right centre.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2024/05/29/ytl-power-unit-raises-stake-in-ranhill-triggers-mto

The proposed acquisition by YTL Power and SIPP Power raises concerns due to the substantial 36.62% discount over the last traded price of Ranhill. This significant undervaluation could indicate underlying issues with Ranhill's financial health or market perception.

Vs

Genting M'sia unit sells Genting HK stake at lowest allowable price

Comparing the two scenarios, it's evident that both YTL Power and the Lim family have engaged in strategic acquisitions at discounted prices. Inilah business talk ... let the shareholders decide lor

AngTayKor

1,789 posts

Yes its old news on previous RPTs, sorry for opening old wounds since ER & GHK RPT episodes still being discussed here on i3.

eagleye

73 posts

Posted by eagleye > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

PLEASE read what the EXPERT - @AngTayKor shares with YOU.
----‐-------‐---‐----------------------------------------------

Seems like already facing chapter 11 before GenM's rescue. Who becomes the sucker?

https://news.worldcasinodirectory.com/empire-resorts-considering-chapter-11-bankruptcy-69859
---------------------------------------------------------------

Lim family bought cruise biz from listcos at lowest allowable price. Average cost usd0.42/share, sold to Lim family at usd0.29/share. LKT ah LKT....

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/09/30/genting-malaysia-unit-sells-genting-hk-stake-at-lowest-sanctioned-price

AngTayKor

1,789 posts

Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 5 minutes ago | Report Abuse
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2024/05/29/ytl-power-unit-raises-stake-in-ranhill-triggers-mto
The proposed acquisition by YTL Power and SIPP Power raises concerns due to the substantial 36.62% discount over the last traded price of Ranhill. This significant undervaluation could indicate underlying issues with Ranhill's financial health or market perception.
--------------

"KUALA LUMPUR: YTL Power International Bhd’s 70%-owned subsidiary SIPP Power Sdn Bhd has agreed to a RM405.18mil deal for about 31.42% equity in Ranhill Utilities Bhd from Tan Sri Hamdan Mohamad and related entities Hamdan (L) Foundation and Hamdan Inc (Labuan) Pte Ltd."

@Michael, was the YTL and Tan Sri Hamdan Mohamad's deal a related party transaction? Seems like YTL's corporate action of buying assets at discounted price benefiting fellow shareholders of their own YTL listco.

Investors are well informed and can make their own decisions. Let’s focus on forward looking initiatives like green energy investments and let Genting investors decide for themselves. GenB boleh! Cheers!

https://youtu.be/Wu5UZyX1LT4?si=-j3so7PH6fIBXbzg
Good. 12,000 investors have watched the Transformation of Genting is just starting on YouTube.

https://youtu.be/Koz1Gq6g73M?si=yN1qenR4WRjDy_5r
10,000 watched 'Genting gives update on Alzheimer drug'

Let's recap what Boss Lim has said:
The energy business has been transformed due to environmental sensitivity. He mentioned blue energy and green energy, and how they are being combined to take it to the next level.

He said the world is different now; it has changed. Companies that can keep pace with this change and have the will to face the challenge will be the companies of the future. We certainly hope Genting will be one of those companies, not just in Malaysia but globally. Boss Lim said, "As you can see, we have been successful in Indonesia, and step by step, through our own meritocracy, we will be invited to participate in the new world business."

The days of repeating the same things and surviving are over. This new philosophy is what Genting has cultivated for the last 50 years. Now is the time to prove that we are, and can be, a global player.

Riaz54

157 posts

Posted by Riaz54 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Koosan@ sorry as an investor my objective is invest in companies to generate total returns (capital growth+ Dividend income) from my investments! I am not investing in for charitable cause. There is no other way to judge successful investment than capital,growth! Absurd statement to say don’t just judge company based on their share performance. I am not too worried about short term underperformance but we are talking about underperformance since 2011. Blaming the exchange rate is also ridiculous! It all to do with governance I am afraid.

mushimushi

281 posts

Posted by mushimushi > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

This website no monitoring of scamming posts? The message above clearly scamming. Kindly remove please. @moderator

Obviously, the news "Genting M'sia unit sells Genting HK stake at lowest allowable price" on 30 Sep 2016 didn't affect Genting's share prices. In fact, the share prices of GenM and GenB moved up after 30 Sep. Other events caused the share price to drop at the end of 2017 and in the year 2018. Investors are fully aware of what happened in 2018 and 2019.

A stock with over 40 billion outstanding shares may not be seen as particularly attractive, so investors might be pleased to see it offloaded.. 😀

Comparing the two scenarios, it's evident that both YTL Power and the Lim family have engaged in strategic acquisitions at discounted prices. This is typical business strategy, as buyers always aim to purchase assets at the lowest possible prices. Of course, you can argue who has benefited from the acquisition and carry on discussing related party transactions, but as buyers, we all want to buy at the lowest possible prices..

Unfortunately, this time Boss Lim is on the opposite side of the shareholders..

pharker

1,089 posts

Posted by pharker > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Ya, its hard for shareholders to erase the memory of once you screw them over one big time, now you do many little good things hoping to them to forget

Just like I stole Rm 1 million from you years ago, but now i bit by bit give you back small amounts, couple of hundreds at a time...so its ok and let's move on ?? KNN mentality

tkkiong

Peaches L @tkkiong: Remember the last time immediate after TauRx announced the good news? How father and son disposed millions of shares to make the quick buck ?

If they can do it, anyone else can also. There’s no stopping others from doin so.

if this is not insider trading i dont know what is !?

Daim88

98 posts

Posted by Daim88 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Weird, why AngTayKor digging up all old news to scare people, to make people terrified? or he is already terrified Genting's stock prices about to rocket?

Daim88

98 posts

Maybe AngTayKor short sold a lot of Genting's shares.

tkkiong

Peaches L @tkkiong: A losing family owned Empire resort casino unable to be profit but to dispose to the public shareholders; it must b the higher power from above to advise him that !

These are biz decisions where most of us do not hv privy into its basis and rationale for such actions. On the surface of things, they may seemed unfair. However, I reserve my judgment and comments on them. <<<

I agree these r all biz decisions and we are all here in this forum for money, so no need to belaud him as a saint ,especially he is in the gambling industry !

Daim88

98 posts

ATK about to buy back? Genting going to RM 5 very soon..

bullrun168

392 posts

Posted by bullrun168 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Walaoeh, what happend ?
Super damn hot man Genting today !
Now Genting was traded at @RM4.81 (+0.04) (+0.84 %)
Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

Riaz1954

1,291 posts

Need to see 5.20 plus to be on uptrend!

Go go.. GenB.

🔥 all the shortists ..

Riaz1954

1,291 posts

We need to see new year high to be on up trend, then only, can we be confident of sentiment change. As to Taurus, definitely we should hear something during the 3rd or early 4th qtr of this year particularly from U.K. regulatory body.

dragon328

2,164 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

UOB Kay Hian Research reported that "Assuming pre-pandemic's five-year average LNG price of US$9 per mmbtu and Genting's FLNG is able to operate at its capacity of 1.2 mtps, potential revenue accretion for Genting is as high as RM2.64bil annually (8% of our 2026-2027 revenue forecasts)."

This is not too far off from my earlier estimate of S$745m revenue a year at LNG price of S$12/mmbtu. Hence, potential earnings from this FLNG project to Genting may top S$100 million from 2026.

Posted by dragon328 > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

The second news is for a development of a floating LNG facility at Papua Indonesia with a capacity of 1.2 mtpa of LNG output.

Given that LNG contains energy of 51.7 mmbtu/ton, so this project will generate output of 1.2 mtpa x 51.7 mmbtu/ton = 62 million mmbtu of LNG a year.

Using the current spot price of S$12/mmbtu for LNG in Singapore, this project may generate revenue of S$745 million a year.

Assuming a profit margin of 10%, this project may generate profits of S$75 million a year to Genting. At 15% margin, the profit contribution may top S$100 million a year.

I presume this project may have potential synergy with the 1st news, as this LNG output may be exported to China for use in the newly acquired gas-fired power plant.