I do not have information on HRC refining margin hedge position nor the duration of hedged nor whether HRC overhedged or underhedged. But be objective and look into Q2 result: figures and form your own facts based on your own understanding or imagination.
The changes in the cost of hedging is initially recognised in other comprehensive income and will be removed from equity and recognised in profit or loss in the same period that the hedged cash flows affect profit or loss.
So tell me if you hedge the refining margin at USD 12 - 20 per barrel from month july onward till maybe beyond 2022 up to 2023
So when Q2 end 30/06/2022 the spot month and future month refining margin is now at USD 30 - 25 per barrel.
How you going to capture this unrealised loss in your Q2 account?
Posted by Sslee > 57 seconds ago | Report Abuse How you going to capture this unrealised loss in your Q2 account? Is this unrealised loss a great concerned? -------------- To me this unrealised loss is none of my concerned. When mature, the loss is deducted from the gross profit. The gross profit earns less profit only after deducting the realised refined losses. The big profit is already captured in the spot price as long as the current crack spread is higher than the hedged crack spread.
@sslee, i did not really understand your query above.
I am perfectly inline with Zhuge's statement above.
Does the below simplified statement not answer your query?
The Cash Flow Hedge (CFH) in OCI shows the hedging gain / loss for the hedged position which are closed, but the corresponding physical market transaction (change in ownership of the goods) is yet to take place to deliver the available market gross profit which is then offset by this hedging gain / loss on CFH to give the P&L exactly as it has been hedged initially.
The Cost of Hedging Reserve (COHR) on the other hand shows the hedging gain / loss for all the balance hedged position (yet to be closed) from the notional amount (refining margin swap contract RMSC), where the corresponding physical market transaction will take place within the maturity period (next 24 months) assuming the hedging positions are closed as per current spot rate.
As such, COHR is a highly hypothetical figure that changes significantly as per the market spot price of the commodity (mark-to-market) when the financial reporting period is closed.
HY Q2 is unusual in treatment of hedging losses hedging losses are adjusted directly in Shareholders Reserves
IN ACCOUNTING, Under the prudence concept, do not overestimate the amount of revenues recognized or underestimate the amount of expenses
WHEN there is a loss what so ever, it should be recognized immediately
HY releasse Q2 somewhere in Aug 2022 Did HY dislclose any info by way of notes to accounts what the status and details of hedging from 01/07/2022 up to date of Q2 release?
By sslee's way of query, i was thinking he was stressing the point that COHR is not of any concern till the time the actual physical market transaction takes place along with the hedge crack closure in futures..
@sslee was that the message? or is it a sincere query?
Probability, The two questions is for those cannot understand your too technical explanation on: The Cash Flow Hedge and Cost of Hedging Reserve to think for themselve what they going to do when facing with:
If you hedge the refining margin at USD 12 - 20 per barrel from month july onward till maybe beyond 2022 up to 2023
So when Q2 end 30/06/2022 the spot month and future month refining margin is now at USD 30 - 25 per barrel.
How you going to capture this unrealised loss in your Q2 account?
Why post removed why qqq333. Why so fast. Ular belum baca apa dia cakap sudah post removed why leh. Why HY cannot have opposition kah. All must be promoters one kah. Luckily Ular now is part time promoter leh. Haiyoh. Correct?
Posted by tehka > 50 seconds ago | Report Abuse Dear zhuge if you are right we will see ATH again ---------- I hope so. If ATH, my sifu will not be attacked by naysayers again. I cannot tell you what is our expected target price.
Posted by probability > 19 seconds ago | Report Abuse @ular..ask him to repost..we are here to listen all naysayers...loud and clear ------------- No point, he talks nonsense here.
qqq3, Knowing your hatred for OTB, I am not going to argue with you. Wait for q3 result out in end Nov and then we can debate who is right, who is wrong.
If you are wrong then hope you keep your promise of never come to disturb HRC forum again.
Even Ular ask him to repost pun kena post removed why before Ular manage to read lah. Understandable lah. Ada Cafe Boss punya workers can do such thing leh. Like this very unfair to all those want more open views from penkritik leh. Penkritik acts like check and balance leh. Like opposition in the parlimen ini macam leh. Haiyoh. Correct?
@ular..ask him to repost..we are here to listen all naysayers...loud and clear
Check slightly below top left in this wet market website, you will see the current share price. One ought to be cautious when you start seeing bunch of commenters who have caused so much damage start complimenting each others and continue disregard the potential downside. Let's wait patiently and squeeze harder for any windows opportunity in this tiny volume trading. The only way to make some decent profits from the little fake men.
Nah, many of you pumped all the nonsenses and unfounded factual from the peak and disregarding the stock market fundamental flow and rules, causing so much damages, yet you trying to be act tough here ? It's 4.60 and not 7 above. We are here to expose and a few newbies ought to find out. You had your moment but roasted and roasting.
also, you realized or not these low IQ naysayers think just by using some professional english words they think readers may value their toilet paper worth opinions...really taking a lot of forum space right! haiyo, correct?
Nah, many of you pumped all the nonsenses and unfounded factual from the peak and disregarding the stock market fundamental flow and rules, causing so much damages, yet you trying to be act tough here ? It's 4.60 and not 7 above. We are here to expose and a few newbies ought to find out. You had your moment but roasted and roasting.
no calculations required unless you are Dragon who ngam ngam passed maths at UPSR level [Govt terminated this exam so that future Dragons no need embarassment]
Brent at zero, HRC is liquidated, banklap [Dragon hear this is very excited]
no need zero for long period of time if Brent reaches zero for 1 microsecond, and then goes back up to 90.00 all those swaps are terminated and HRC will owe billions to sex firm thats how the swap market works
Dude you caused so much damages in gloves forum and should stop talking for a while when the share price failed miserably with all your nonsenses. Again it's 4.60 and not 7. I am speaking judging the current share price.
Am taunting dudes. Need not to be taught I supposed. Bunch of whinners in the room. You brought yourselves into this state and not us. Keep crying like baby wont help the share price back to where it belongs.
Wei Ular Spm ada ngam ngam passed leh. Last time primary school hisab ular also passed leh. Baru ada boleh continue to take spm hisab leh. You looked down ular kah. Takda passed primary school hisab kah. Ular testing hisab primary school question. 1 + 2 = 3 correct?
no calculations required unless you are Dragon who ngam ngam passed maths at UPSR level [Govt terminated this exam so that future Dragons no need embarassment]
Brent at zero, HRC is liquidated, banklap [Dragon hear this is very excited]
no need zero for long period of time if Brent reaches zero for 1 microsecond, and then goes back up to 90.00 all those swaps are terminated and HRC will owe billions to sex firm thats how the swap market works
@upshare, as per the maturity date of respective barrels hedged
if you see the RMSC, they are able to hedge even up to 2 years (maturity) in advance..subject to availability of counterparty to provide the hedging contract.
Sometime ular see penkritik pun sedih leh. Be considerate abit leh. Ppl already suffering paperloss leh. You dont add salt into their wounds leh. Haiyoh. Correct?
sharemarket21
Am taunting dudes. Need not to be taught I supposed. Bunch of whinners in the room. You brought yourselves into this state and not us. Keep crying like baby wont help the share price back to where it belongs.
You sound like professional in swap market hedging leh. But cannot suka suka cakap HY will banklap like Taikor leh. You like this cakap also very unfair leh. Haiyoh. Correct?
most people have zero knowledge of swap markets, including some monsters too. thats why monsters can lie, cheat and Macau Scam with impunity and claim zero knowledge.
swap markets use dynamic capital calls. once Brent reaches zero, margin call is dynamic and executed immediately. all securities/swaps/hedges are closed with owings of Billions [exceeding HRC shareholders funds] to be paid to sex firm immediately.
I see CharlesT evolving from respect to utter contempt for monsters.
I also only have utter contempt for monsters too.
frankly money is very easy to make. money pours into my bank accounts everyday => from swaps.
:)
I would not suggest that you take any position in any company that is already having swap losses. Problem belong you.
Public wet market forum my friend. Should have understand and preach silent is golden if that's the case. Everyone have their chance to show their market investment skill and intelligent here. The share price will determine if ones have investment low IQ or bugs brain. Fair and equal..
You meant those made millions from gloves kah. Haiyoh. Correct?
sharemarket21
Dude you caused so much damages in gloves forum and should stop talking for a while when the share price failed miserably with all your nonsenses. Again it's 4.60 and not 7. I am speaking judging the current share price.
This one can agree with you lah. You talk logically and want to share your views. You can carry on doing it in public forum. This is not a pvt forum. All are welcome to share their views. Haiyoh. Correct?
sharemarket21
Public wet market forum my friend. Should have understand and preach silent is golden if that's the case. Everyone have their chance to show their market investment skill and intelligent here. The share price will determine if ones have investment low IQ or bugs brain. Fair and equal..
You sound like you never judi one leh. Can swear in front of everyone at here kah. If you dare lah. Talk is easy cakap you are investor. Haiyoh. Correct?
HRC is just Gambling
make money no need to be proud loss money no need to be embarassed, 10 Gamble 9 lose
4 minutes ago
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
harold8990
349 posts
Posted by harold8990 > 2022-09-09 18:48 | Report Abuse
Waiting at rm3.8-rm4 to recollect tickets..