YTL CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTL (4677)

-0.13 (3.85%)

3.22 - 3.36

27 people like this.

15,456 comment(s). Last comment by Whiteytey 1 hour ago

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 10:56 | Report Abuse

The one who wants to do short-selling will have to borrow shares from someone who have it in large numbers and later will have to buyback after pushed down to return them to the lender. Yesterday transacted volume was about 92 millions but of course I can just guess and estimate roughly only. So if short-selling is about done then we can expect a rebound on the way. Sorry if I said anything wrong and please correct me if any. Just exchange views.

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2018-05-31 11:08 | Report Abuse

Prosushi... in Malaysia... short selling is illegal. No trading firm doing it for retail trader. Are u sure you pro?

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 11:13 | Report Abuse

The lender receives fees, the borrower earns shorting it, and the lender can even buy at low when the borrower pushed it down. So if the lender knows what the borrower intend to short it then naturally the lender would be ready to buy at low. Lender will be bigger winner. In the case if borrower couldn't buyback enough shares to be returned to lender then easily the share price is being pushed back up steeply as a sharp rebound. Logical?

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 11:13 | Report Abuse

Short selling has been going on legally in Malaysia for many years already (only for institutional traders), not to be confused with IDSS recently available for retail traders.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 11:16 | Report Abuse

Thanks propsushi for your reasoning on short selling. I was wondering why they transferred 154 million shares a few days ago.... I never thought of it for short selling purpose. I think I can agree with u on this.... it must b for short selling purpose.

steven_c

112 posts

Posted by steven_c > 2018-05-31 11:16 | Report Abuse

Short selling is now legal. However, it is only limited to intra day.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 11:19 | Report Abuse

@ steven_c: u r referring to IDSS (Intra-day Short Selling) for retail traders but the real Short Selling has been legal & going on for many years already in Malaysia.

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 11:25 | Report Abuse

For a large cap company like ytl, the borrower has to borrow big amount of shares to do it. If u noticed that the transfer of 154 million shares was dated 24-May just 2-3 days before Tun M announced the confirmation of cancelling the HSR project. The borrower must have known it in advance and quickly borrowed to be ready for a shorting while the borrower still have time to acquire more shares in the open market before start the shorting with the additional borrowed shares.

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 11:27 | Report Abuse

Obviously entity who could borrow such huge amount is none other than institutional trader so I don't think it's IDSS in this case

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-05-31 11:28 | Report Abuse

Cheap you head.

YTL is still damn overvalued.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 11:30 | Report Abuse

Institutional traders have been using Regulated Short Selling (RSS) since 2007. IDSS (Intra-Day Short Selling) for retail traders just started in April 2018.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/04/28/confusion-over-intraday-short-selling/

Read the above article about the confusion between RSS and IDSS.

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 11:33 | Report Abuse

Precisely. Good share. Also note that the borrower doesn't necessarily have to use all borrowed shares to do it. As long can cover the cost of borrowing and made a decent profits by shorting it should be nice. It was a sentiment play.

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 11:35 | Report Abuse

@ Jon Choivo: If u think it is overvalued then don't buy! Go somewhere else to buy other stocks. Nobody asking u to buy YTL... no need to be rude here.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 11:40 | Report Abuse

Need spray some wd40 in brain also too rusty

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 11:42 | Report Abuse

Juicy meat on table also don't eat. Sozai better sell wd40 for life lol

bubu

91 posts

Posted by bubu > 2018-05-31 11:53 | Report Abuse

Just all in, don wait alr

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 12:17 | Report Abuse

Choivo is just angry boy still undergoing puberty. Before GE14 preached so loud but after it lose more capitals. Kesian bah haha

Lyo82

396 posts

Posted by Lyo82 > 2018-05-31 14:20 | Report Abuse

@risktransformer: Agree. It's either you invest or dont. No need to be rude or slandering.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 14:35 | Report Abuse

Where is Wd40? pi pi pi pu pu pu ...pi pu pi pu ambulance come take him away

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 14:38 | Report Abuse

Power up YTL oh!

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2018-05-31 14:44 | Report Abuse

@risktransformer and propsushi : what you are saying makes a lot of sense. Big time shortsellers must have anticipated the downward price move when Tun M announce cancellation of HSR and they were "blessed" with the ".... bad sentiment provoked by uncertainty over Italian’s elections." ....... are they done with their shorting ? That's the question. What we neeed is some good news on YTL (I still think company share buybacks in ernest up to the 10% limit will do the job of "killing" the shorties ) that will send them scurrying to cover their shorts and price will easily cross 1.00 if not more ! Let's wait...

Posted by Enemiemannan > 2018-05-31 14:52 | Report Abuse

ytl earn alot.. see their kids all travelling in private jet......tq to all investor here

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 14:52 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha!! Even EPF started buying back the YTL shares they sold earlier on!

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5810289

EPF buying + Yeoh family buying = ??

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 14:57 | Report Abuse

Calling for WD40....where are u?

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 15:46 | Report Abuse

Told WD40 to buy YTL instead he go buy a bankrupting company like Sapnrg. How stupid can he be?

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 15:50 | Report Abuse

Hi brisket you made a good call

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 15:51 | Report Abuse

Whoah!! 0.955 now.... hope can reach 0.970!

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 15:51 | Report Abuse

I think the short selling is fading and it may be heading for a stronger rebound. Congrats!

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 15:56 | Report Abuse

Borrowers buying back shares to be returned to lender :)

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 15:57 | Report Abuse

Hooray! Here we go nah

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 15:57 | Report Abuse

Calling for WD40....where are u?

propsushi

111 posts

Posted by propsushi > 2018-05-31 16:14 | Report Abuse

Yesterday MISC was worst performer under index while YTL was second worst. Now look at how MISC going through a super rebound. Amazing... let's hope YTL going for the same

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2018-05-31 16:14 | Report Abuse

show time now..

Posted by risktransformer > 2018-05-31 16:14 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha!! Already 0.970 now! RM1.00 coming soon.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:21 | Report Abuse

Champion now. Will be going higher tomorrow!

timss

565 posts

Posted by timss > 2018-05-31 16:21 | Report Abuse

Wel, we shall see at which price YTL close today.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:30 | Report Abuse

How u see also YTL is grossly oversold lahh. Time for rebound king!!!

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:31 | Report Abuse

Hear YTL brand name also huat lahh

timss

565 posts

Posted by timss > 2018-05-31 16:35 | Report Abuse

Well, the YTL family and company itself are cash-rich enough, they could simply buy back if the price is low enough to do so.. Well, we shall wait and see lol..

GstZero

8 posts

Posted by GstZero > 2018-05-31 16:35 | Report Abuse

YTL bankrupt. HSR cancel will not return back.

GstZero

8 posts

Posted by GstZero > 2018-05-31 16:37 | Report Abuse

Sold all 98 sen. Tomorrow no GST all construction works stop. If do no payment.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:37 | Report Abuse

The only time u heard YTL under RM 1.00 per share was 6 years ago in year 2012. Still don't know what I'm trying to tell u ahh?

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:38 | Report Abuse

Wahh finish stocks lahh why so fast snapped up

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:39 | Report Abuse

Ask WD40 spray some lubricant to ur Sapnrg lahh

GstZero

8 posts

Posted by GstZero > 2018-05-31 16:40 | Report Abuse

HSR, MRT3 cancel you all blind kah?

GstZero

8 posts

Posted by GstZero > 2018-05-31 16:41 | Report Abuse

Cement div go bankrupt soon.

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:42 | Report Abuse

U got do homework or not? YTL has stable earnings more than 70% from overseas lehh

brisket

176 posts

Posted by brisket > 2018-05-31 16:48 | Report Abuse

This is lost & found department. Calling for WD40....where are u?

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2018-05-31 16:49 | Report Abuse

Elephants fighting !