MALAYSIA STEEL WORKS (KL)BHD

KLSE (MYR): MASTEEL (5098)

+0.005 (1.54%)

0.315 - 0.33

18 people like this.

14,813 comment(s). Last comment by rizal2020 1 day ago

HuatRex

2,617 posts

Posted by HuatRex > 2018-03-02 12:39 | Report Abuse

SuperPanda, I thought I sold off your masteel?

ooihk899

2,057 posts

Posted by ooihk899 > 2018-03-02 12:46 | Report Abuse

KYY have been mentioning the same story(over supply) over n over again, starting with Choo Bee(1yr++ ago). But most steel counters and their investor made a lot of money since then.
Still remember he dare ppl to buy HengYuan when it is 17?

godhand

1,944 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-03-02 12:49 | Report Abuse

Yes the tonnage for all tunnel and bridges is very high. but the machine cost is also very high especially for tunnel. Does this dude comes from builders background ah? U need to take into account machine and the fuel cost drilling so many kilometres underground and not only the material cost. 25% is unrealistic. For normal highway steel percentage is very very low. Mostly only used on haunching and dividers

vinc3nt

407 posts

Posted by vinc3nt > 2018-03-02 12:54 | Report Abuse

hope bear come faster

HuatRex

2,617 posts

Posted by HuatRex > 2018-03-02 13:00 | Report Abuse

Buy when ppl are in fear. Do ur study and be confident

tehka

1,928 posts

Posted by tehka > 2018-03-02 13:04 | Report Abuse

My sifu say that fear is the biggest enemy in share market. Please be relax and don't worry so much.

I am going to turn off my share market and come back next week so that I do not worry about my Hengyuan and Fajarbaru.
Give masteel 6 months and you will see a good result.

Cheers

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 13:05 | Report Abuse

With imposition of 25% steel product in US, the global steel price is expected to increase further. These is because, US own production steel will be cost even higher for their local infrastructural. Many steel end user in US will suffering due to hike in steel price. Globally, the demand of steel is increasing as many county are now focusing on infrastructure development to boost their own economy. US itself have multi billion infra work project, highway, railway which generally require as much as 20% to up to 25% cost in steel requirement. These together with clamp down in China own steel production, will continue to support global steel price.

Lets look back before Malaysia impose steel import safeguard duty 12% to protect local steel maker last year, what has happening? local steel price gradually recover from RM 1500 to current RM 2700; and at the same time, due to safeguard duty, import steel from china is decreasing and together with China gov to clamp down its own steel production to protect their own environmental and close down unproductive; noncompetitive steel factory, global steel glut is eliminated and global steel price is recovering.

The steel,content in building highway and railway is very high due to need of support beam in elevated and paveway to laid along the highway and railway. The additional steel content is further needed if tunnel is build , bear in mind, MRT2, SUKE, DASH highway are mostly are elevated and 40% of MRT2 is underground in which tunnel is build.

The 20-25% steel content of cost is needed in building elevated highway especially if tunnel is require. These information is openly inform by Annjoo MD in Annjoo AGM.

godhand

1,944 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-03-02 13:12 | Report Abuse

annjoo md study economic and finance la. what he know about construction cost. koon yew yin is a legitimate builder as much as i dont like him.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-03-02 13:13 | Report Abuse

my friend is considering jumping from the cliff already. His sifu told him to continue hold. I told him dun turn turn on tv or computer until i tell him.

bgt9963

572 posts

Posted by bgt9963 > 2018-03-02 13:17 | Report Abuse

buy at your own risk.....!

sklim

136 posts

Posted by sklim > 2018-03-02 13:18 | Report Abuse

Just hold ~ compare to Annjoo lionind hiaptek all stable here ~ I believe masteel will back ~just need time only~

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 13:24 | Report Abuse

No doubt kyy is experience builder, founder of many listed company, but he has retire long long time ago. The 20-25% of steel content is needed in building elevated highway especially if tunnel is require is information given by Annjoo MD is 2017 AGM. Bear in mind, even Kyy have never question about the steel content in building infra work, but, kyy did shown that slow down in property demand will decrease demand for steel, but kyy seem forgot that there are also many NEW multibillion infra work is already commencing MRT2; LRT3; ECRL, consuming large amount of steel

lala23

152 posts

Posted by lala23 > 2018-03-02 13:24 | Report Abuse

does anyone know where to check the steel ASP? any links?

aslm

379 posts

Posted by aslm > 2018-03-02 13:27 | Report Abuse

@lala23

http://www.miti.gov.my/index.php/pages/view/3060?mid=73
You can select each volume for every month, then go page9

lala23

152 posts

Posted by lala23 > 2018-03-02 13:27 | Report Abuse

hng23.. in your statement "With imposition of 25% steel product in US, the global steel price is expected to increase further. "

i genuinely dont understand why global steel price will increase because US put 25% tariff. can pls help explain

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2018-03-02 13:29 | Report Abuse

This looks good.. can goreng goreng

naik23

160 posts

Posted by naik23 > 2018-03-02 13:33 | Report Abuse

Wow.......here many sifu with positive energy
Very nice guy.....thx

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 13:33 | Report Abuse

The main purpose for traffic impose by US is to prioritize US and to incentivize US steel maker to build more local manufacturing steel plant to increase US occupancy, increase capacity and production steel to meet US upcoming NEW mega infrastructure project.

Therefore, the NEW increase capacity production in US is to meet NEW increase US local steel demand from NEW US mega infra structure project mainly highway, railway which consume a lot of steel content. So, the higher production is absorb by Higher consumption. But, to localize steel marking in US, the cost is much higher, so that it pompted Trump to impose safeguard duty to import steel so that to make increase local steel cost to be competievte compared to import steel after hike duty.

mike90

203 posts

Posted by mike90 > 2018-03-02 13:40 | Report Abuse

Sell !!!

Chong18

Posted by Chong18 > 2018-03-02 13:52 | Report Abuse

If u want to sell should sell early, is not until now is standby for rebound then shout for sell...

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-02 13:54 | Report Abuse

so now after the tariff is imposed, would the US steel price be cheaper or same price as those from outside US wanting to sell to US?

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-03-02 13:57 | Report Abuse

Wah lau eh. Just read KYY article on masteel. Ouch!!!! and no wonder the share plunge....
I believed my friend is one of sifu OTB subscribers but too bad i think he probably bought it recently when his sifu keep on saying masteel is good. So i guess he bought it at a quite high price with the expectation it will go higher as projected by his sifu and he must be those at the bottom of the pyramid. die hard liao.....

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 14:03 | Report Abuse

Major US steel mills raising rebar prices by $25/st
Pittsburgh (platts)--13 Feb 2018 651 am EST/1151 GMT

Major steel mills are hiking rebar prices by $25/st in the US market, according to letters sent to customers first by Commercial Metals Co on Friday, followed by Nucor, Gerdau Long Steel North America and Steel Dynamics Inc. on Monday.

Many in the market believe this move will stick due to tight supply.

"Even though scrap is flat, the lack of availability at the mills with floor stock and import bar not being plentiful at the ports will help drive things," one buyer said.

Another buyer expressed a similar outlook.

"February production has been sold out for a while," he said. "I think supply is likely to be more of a challenge for March than folks are aware."

"I don't see any issue with this sticking, as the mills are overwhelmed by 20-foot [rebar] orders due to the shift from import to domestic in the second half of 2017," a third buyer said.

According to the companies' letters, all increases are effective immediately. SDI will price-protect confirmed orders if shipped by March 8, Gerdau and CMC will price-protect orders shipped before March 9, and Nucor will do the same on orders shipped before March 10.

--Joe Eckelman, joe.eckelman@spglobal.com
--Edited by Geetha Narayanasamy, geetha.narayanasamy@spglobal.com

Posted by agent388 > 2018-03-02 14:03 | Report Abuse

who is that sifu? is that recently so famous in fb? drinking wine smoking with cigar?

4,135 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2018-03-02 14:05 | Report Abuse

Donald Duck is a joke!
Minimum wage in China is RMB 13 per hour
Minimum wage in US is USD 13 per hour
Selling price in China is RMB 2000 per ton
Selling price in US must be USD 2000 per ton also

If US customer can buy at USD 1000 per ton, it is to the advantage of the US industries.
If US producers can't produce at USD 800, Donald Duck was expecting China exporter to pay USD 800 to subsidize US producer?
Why can't Donald Duck reduce minimum wage to USD 5 per hour, that is still RMB 30 per hour wage. Still earning 2.3x more than the Chinese worker in China.............

Posted by agent388 > 2018-03-02 14:05 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/illegalbuysellorder/148960.jsp

Kindly refer to this post.

This is how they made a lot of money, by asking newbie come in and buy at higher price.

What we can do is just let Securities Commission to investigate whether these SIFU got license or not.

Kindly email to me with any proof of buying call.

Thanks.

Posted by Tom > 2018-03-02 14:08 |

lextcs

1,961 posts

Posted by lextcs > 2018-03-02 14:09 | Report Abuse

I think all of the so called gurus here are having "war of the EGOs".

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-02 14:11 | Report Abuse

hng33, after the tariff is imposed on those outside US wanting to sell to US, will those outside US(selling to US) be more expensive or same price as those local US steel?

GG_Liang

1,008 posts

Posted by GG_Liang > 2018-03-02 14:13 | Report Abuse

By I3 standard. Medium term = a few hours. Long term = a few days. 呵呵

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2018-03-02 14:14 | Report Abuse

The same scenario happen in Malaysia will happen in US after tariff imposed. In Malaysia 15%, US 25% so all the steel mills in US will increase the steel price. Some even will start to built new factory.

STC1136

977 posts

Posted by STC1136 > 2018-03-02 14:15 | Report Abuse

Steel products is covering very wide industries, automotive, infrastructural, railway, building construction, hardware, semi-conductor, aerospace and many many more.

Steel price in US definitely up a lot if impose import duty.

How about all these US end product? of course all will increase price.

US end products some is for local sales, need to compete with international price as customer has choice example Japan car and US car....this is just one sample.

US end product if for export more worse, u though those customer to import from US is because the whole world only US can produce? This will impact their export sales definitely.

Therefore, to impose duty from all these cheaper steel materials to US whether is benefit the US economy or vice versa, need to really think not twice, is many many times, the US president should also listen to those End user of import all these steel materials/steel products, what is their impact? how big of these industries invloved? how many workers has been hired? why? If US factory can not sustain and closed down it should blame the stupid policy which made this even worse.

How about those big country like China?
You impose duty, u though china government quietly sitting there for u to bully....No....example Iphone can import china, china can impose tax to Iphone as claim that this iphone can create threat to their safety.....and many more....

US impose tax to protect small portion of their steel industries may exchange to get disaster to have impact on other industries who are even bigger.....

The above is my logic, hope you all share your thought.

Ramada

655 posts

Posted by Ramada > 2018-03-02 14:15 | Report Abuse

I think we should give support to OTB. KYY is too over.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-02 14:15 | Report Abuse

yeah, the local US steel price will increase, BUT what about those outside US that normally sell to US?

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-02 14:16 | Report Abuse

there's a tariff imposed on them

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-02 14:18 | Report Abuse

somehow i have a feeling that donald duck want to pump up properties in US. He be a big gainer since new houses or buildings will cost higher and of course the old ones price will increase too

STC1136

977 posts

Posted by STC1136 > 2018-03-02 14:26 | Report Abuse

US impose or not impose tax does not affect the whole world steel demand. It will only impact US economy to get lesser trade in future.

Import reduce......export also reduce......total amount trade reduce......factory closed down.....unemployment rate hike.........

Bring US to more stronger???? Doubtful........

Can say that Someone is throw the big stone to hit his own foot....after that voice loudly "very pain"..............

lextcs

1,961 posts

Posted by lextcs > 2018-03-02 14:26 | Report Abuse

2 big mills - eastern mill (china co jv with hiapteck) and alliance steel (china co jv with state govt). Operations ongoing to meet the infrastructural demands like ecrl, LRT klang-dsara, etc etc... steel demand will continue despite slow down in housing. To say soft housing market will dampen the steel sector is not telling the whole truth.

lextcs

1,961 posts

Posted by lextcs > 2018-03-02 14:28 | Report Abuse

today bcoz of the hu ha between OTB and KYY, I decided to buy n speculate MSW @ 1.08

aslm

379 posts

Posted by aslm > 2018-03-02 14:31 | Report Abuse

just simply because Mr. OTB do not want to recommend Jaks to his subscribers, now get revenged by KYY.
I still believe Mr. OTB's strategies of FA + TA on growth stocks, instead of business sense. Superinvestors bough so much of xinquan, jtiasa, mudajaya, cscsteel and etc and what was the price now?
Now he even invested on pipe maker Jaks to build power plant? What is this business sense means?

lextcs

1,961 posts

Posted by lextcs > 2018-03-02 14:34 | Report Abuse

the only place I see cinaman together and united is @ the baccarat table...all shouting for picture card to come out.

Posted by Noel Chong > 2018-03-02 14:50 | Report Abuse

buy buy

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2018-03-02 14:52 | Report Abuse

hng33:swap all free up capital from Annjoo to Masteel at 1.36

26/02/2018 16:06

kah kah kah

amet2017

3,150 posts

Posted by amet2017 > 2018-03-02 14:57 | Report Abuse

Macam macam cerita..

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2018-03-02 14:58 | Report Abuse

super sifu Hng33 !!!

ccheinn

188 posts

Posted by ccheinn > 2018-03-02 15:04 | Report Abuse

try to think about it, it you hold from 1.4 to 1.2 to 1, what if you throw at 1.2 and pick up at 1.. you gain more share.... when the trend is down.. mean down.. just dumb and buy back later at lower price with more quantity.. now hold with more loses

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2018-03-02 15:04 | Report Abuse

wait till 1.01 before entering.... :)

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 15:10 | Report Abuse

All portfolio capital already fully invested, bought back Annjoo at 3.58 and 3.61, average holding cost about RM 3.60, Annjoo have resume back as portfolio largest stake follow by Masteel, bought back all at 1.08.

hng33

20,351 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2018-03-02 15:11 | Report Abuse

Rather than thinking US impose 25% on import steel will affect global steel price, now, US local steel maker already in progress to hike their steel price by 25% to essentially neutralize the impact and indirectly push up global steel price to match hike in US market

It is evidence shout by US steel maker soar for windfall profit on their old stockpile, but US end user such as auto already facing hike in their cost production. But, US upcoming new 1.5 trillion into infrastructure will consume any increase in local steel production and increase demand for global steel product if local manufacturing cannot meet their own demand