PETRONAS CHEMICALS GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): PCHEM (5183)

+0.03 (0.52%)

5.70 - 5.84

10 people like this.

4,266 comment(s). Last comment by Plantermen 6 hours ago

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-08-28 11:09 | Report Abuse

good one titus

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-08-28 12:10 | Report Abuse

Oversupply and reduce on demand is silly if we take PCHEM entire business in view.

Take a look at the profit margins and demand of pchem urea fertilizer and tell me how oversupply is possible given the high profit margins.

Take a look at acquisition of da Vinci and the application of aromatics in beauty products industry. Look at the demand and profit margins there.

When you say plastic usages, you need to define what form of olefin you are talking about.

When you look at sunset industry, it is usually marked by low margins and bigger commodities volumes.

PCHEM has 25% net profit margins. This is higher than many technology industries, so called sunrise industry, which I deem unstable and very easily affected by change.

>>>>>>>>>>>

titus Philip, but the most worrisome part is the oversupply and reduce in demand. With the oversupply problem, ie; US & China petrochemical plant coming online, the output will be high. Also, the reduction of plastic usage will add salt to the wound. It might take many years to the demand to catch up. Is just like the steel counter. Local steel counter is suffering due to poor demand and over supply. Furthermore, with the Anta steel in production, it makes this worst. Hope you can share your opinion on this. Thanks.
28/08/2019 8:35 AM

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-08-28 12:16 | Report Abuse

P Chem ok but my money is in Serba and doing well.......Serba is 20% of my shares and doing well............Goodies coming.....

Chewchear

11 posts

Posted by Chewchear > 2019-08-28 12:20 | Report Abuse

With supply/demand issue will drag to end of 2019, I see this a not a temporary drop in price but prices are about to go much lower in few more months as trade war going on.

For a protracted decline is never bear raiding. When a stock keeps on going down you can bet there is something wrong with it, either with the market for it or change in prospects. I will not catch bottom but will enter when ample supply weak demand is over, don't mind enter at higher price. This is risk free compare to average down in down cycle.

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-08-28 12:20 | Report Abuse

Waaa got do homework wan wo, thought just a normal forumner hoot when price going down, good to test . Ur choice of share is right, but the price at the moment is not favourable. however it will still be downtrend, when global economy slow down, supply will be more than demand which we can see now , its just a matter of time. The way China played by lowering their currency is a smart move to clear off their excess inventories and get back their money.

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-08-29 12:31 | Report Abuse

Oi all dead ?

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-29 12:34 | Report Abuse

Continue downtrend. Dividend received also given back many folds.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-29 12:43 | Report Abuse

AhHuat...don't shout so loud la......if Philips run ah......tomolo Pchem RM5.00

Chokhmah

256 posts

Posted by Chokhmah > 2019-08-29 13:01 | Report Abuse

shit... it is okay, first time in my life experiencing bearish power

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-29 13:48 | Report Abuse

aik....ah huat delete comment ah????

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-08-29 13:50 | Report Abuse

Haha bought abit more.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-29 14:05 | Report Abuse

1st Sept tariff tax kick in. Which is Sunday. Monday bursa close. Guess that is a good thing where is spares KLCI the volatility. So, on tuesday will be exciting especially the night US market business as usual.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-08-29 14:06 | Report Abuse

Choivo, i park 6.50....lol.....i need to wait longer till it reaches my turn. No choice. Poor ppl need to Q. cannot jump in and buy straight.

Chokhmah

256 posts

Posted by Chokhmah > 2019-08-29 14:28 | Report Abuse

Roger when it is time to average down. thanks.

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-08-29 22:24 | Report Abuse

Very interesting scenario now.

Fear of missing out at cheap price RM6.77?

Or bear the risk of loss as price gets lower and lower?

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-08-29 22:25 | Report Abuse

Alrdy broke my downtrend chart.. is like going into limbo, today dji green, pchem may rebound tomorrow

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-08-30 15:28 | Report Abuse

@Ncm88, well.... at least your 1 day up 7 days down rule is no longer true now. So far, 2 days up, 1 day down & 1 day up (probably next week also up).

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-08-30 16:34 | Report Abuse

RM6.96 now, up 19 sen! very good!!

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-08-30 17:00 | Report Abuse

Closed green at RM6.93, up 16 sen (+2.36%).... very good show today! Have a nice weekend everyone! Merdeka!! Merdeka!!!

freddiehero

16,721 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2019-09-03 19:27 | Report Abuse

lets it fall deap.deap..

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2019-09-03 19:44 | Report Abuse

continue adding at RM6.80 yummy

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-09-03 20:33 | Report Abuse

Jiak lat. Epf keep on disposing oh.....
Will we see 6.50???..Haiyoh!!!! Oversupply, low average selling price. Very soon margin drop below 20% n down to single digit? Hopefuly no la...

KKH

21 posts

Posted by KKH > 2019-09-03 20:42 | Report Abuse

HDPE prices tumble in Asia
This week, HDPE prices witnessed a sharp drop, in Asia. Prices dipped, as demand trends continued to remain bearish. The buying mood was extremely sluggish in major markets like China, owing to the ongoing U.S.- China trade tussle.

Reports of plentiful product availability, further pressured HDPE prices lower, in Asia.

In Far East Asia, HDPE film prices were at the USD 920/mt levels, while HDPE blow moulding prices, were at the USD 900/mt levels, both down USD 30/mt from the previous week. HDPE injection prices, were assessed lower at the USD 840/mt levels, a sharp week on week drop of USD 30/mt. HDPE yarn prices were at the USD 880/mt levels, a week on week plunge of USD 60/mt.

In South East Asia, HDPE film prices were assessed lower, at the USD 940/mt CFR levels, a week on week decline of USD 20/mt. HDPE BM prices were assessed, at the USD 910/mt levels, down USD 30/mt from the last week. HDPE Injection prices, were assessed lower, at the USD 880/mt levels, a week on week fall of USD 20/mt. HDPE yarn prices were assessed, at the USD 900/mt levels, a steep drop of USD 60/mt from the previous week.

https://www.polymerupdate.com/news/breaking/29Aug2019/67902/hdpe-prices-tumble-in-asia

KKH

21 posts

Posted by KKH > 2019-09-03 20:43 | Report Abuse

Petronas will be entering the polymer market during a likely period of oversupply with new capacity scheduled to come on stream in South Korea, Oman and US in the coming year.

https://www.argusmedia.com/en/news/1967552-petronas-targets-pengerang-lldpe-production

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-09-04 11:20 | Report Abuse

Wow, so much of pessimism. Now drop to 6.50 also dunno buy o not. change to 6.15......lol....keep dreaming???? you never know where is the bottom.

Chokhmah

256 posts

Posted by Chokhmah > 2019-09-04 13:04 | Report Abuse

sigh, later on cut loss.

56,156 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-09-04 13:26 | Report Abuse

These are the fundamental reasons why pchem will underperform

1. Export of petrol chemical by Spore to greater China dropped 30%
This shows consumers and exports slow down due to trade war. Pchemicals are used to make a million products raging from plastic, polymer, fertiliser and others. Now hit badly.

2. Pchem has reexported 2 shipments of imported napta at a loss. This could mean that Rapid refinery after recent fire still under improvement

3. EPF selling ahead of next poor quarter reports will be expected

4. Pchem is in down cycle now. Can get out and buy back cheaper at lower prices later

signalmw

3,314 posts

Posted by signalmw > 2019-09-04 13:33 | Report Abuse

Sell

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-09-04 13:33 | Report Abuse

Like that Pchem drop another 30%. Wait for Durian runtuh loh.....lol.......RM5, dive in kaw kaw ah.....

Ncm88

1,219 posts

Posted by Ncm88 > 2019-09-04 13:56 | Report Abuse

There was a person saying going 8... he is still staying there lol....... jokes

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2019-09-04 14:34 | Report Abuse

which person???

56,156 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-09-04 22:51 | Report Abuse

That person is Philip the vagabond

He now busybody disturbing others

Tell him to mind his own business

Emperor Nero played the flute or play the fool while Rome was burning

This Philip too busy minding and criticising other people business while his Petchem now collapsing

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > 2019-09-05 00:06 | Report Abuse

Pchem collapsing? Don't make me laugh. 50 billion dollar company with 4.3 billion in revenue and 1.1 billion in profit AFTER TAX and a horde of cash behind it.

I am just enjoying collecting my 11 +18 cents dividend since February when I started buying at 8.15 and using it to buy more at cheap discounts.

What did your stock do? Oh wait, here is your track record.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp

56,156 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-09-05 00:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by (HK1997 again) Philip > Sep 5, 2019 12:06 AM | Report Abuse

Pchem collapsing? Don't make me laugh. 50 billion dollar company with 4.3 billion in revenue and 1.1 billion in profit AFTER TAX and a horde of cash behind it.

I am just enjoying collecting my 11 +18 cents dividend since February when I started buying at 8.15 collecting my 11 +18 cents dividend

SO?

COST OF PURCHASE Rm8.15

Less 29 sen dividend = Rm7.86

Price now Rm6.83

SO REAL LOST OF Rm1.03 PER SHARE

IS THIS PHILIP IN HIS RIGHT MIND?

YOU BETTER DON'T LEAD SORCHAI TO HOLLAND HOR!

Titan

4,159 posts

Posted by Titan > 2019-09-05 13:15 | Report Abuse

Monetary....i think u r already a sifu leh.... ur above statement is spot on.... really words of wisdom.

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-09-06 12:42 | Report Abuse

Hehehe..... already broken above RM7.00 (briefly) as I've predicted.

freddiehero

16,721 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2019-09-06 12:49 | Report Abuse

stay tune.. enjoy rollee coaster!

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-06 12:57 | Report Abuse

break 7.00 soon??

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-06 12:58 | Report Abuse

I thought that coming qtr will be bad due to heavy turnaround activities

mana tau, so fast want reverse trend already to break 7.00

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2019-09-06 16:23 | Report Abuse

Phillip
Let them say what they want about this share
In my opinion it will go to about 8.5 long term

Posted by Wong Kahcheng > 2019-09-06 17:00 | Report Abuse

my indicator is very simple, when many peepo say gogogo it means the price is gonna drop....and when many peepo say will drop lower it means the price is gonna rebound soon...i think it works again in PCHEM LOL

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-09-06 18:28 | Report Abuse

You know why trend reversal happened? Bcause when calvintan talks bad about a stock, it's a signal to buy.

On a serious note, when you have hit ROCK BOTTOM, the only way is UP.

But if Trump pattern banyak nxt week, PCHEM will drop back to <RM7.00 levels again.

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2019-09-07 10:43 | Report Abuse

Phillip
This share is more reliable then Calvin’s predictions ever was

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2019-09-10 16:02 | Report Abuse

it's balance sheet is simple

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2019-09-11 10:02 | Report Abuse

Phillip
What Calvin say now ?

Chokhmah

256 posts

Posted by Chokhmah > 2019-09-11 10:10 | Report Abuse

after i cut loss, now up so much, so sad

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-09-11 10:19 | Report Abuse

share market is always like that

the moment we cut loss, next day start up and up to peak

or the moment we buy, it start to drop until rock bottom

that is share market and how to we manage it

get more experiences and analyst previous mistakes and develope a own trading plan that suit own style so that know when to go in or get out

Posted by cooldownguy86 > 2019-09-11 11:01 | Report Abuse

Hope today close green

Posted by risktransformer > 2019-09-11 13:31 | Report Abuse

Hehehe.... fantastic!!

@Chokhmah, sorry for u..... I already said don't cut loss at historically low price; if cut loss when the price moved higher to RM7.30+ then o.k. loh.

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2019-09-11 15:20 | Report Abuse

1 way ticket. up.