YTL POWER INTERNATIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): YTLPOWR (6742)

-0.18 (4.70%)

3.61 - 3.79

46 people like this.

32,063 comment(s). Last comment by Jeffrey 3 minutes ago

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-16 11:40 | Report Abuse

nevertheless, my trades are all profits trades on ytlp, wb & ytl. just that profit not maximise. biggest profits are from wb. :)

kmchua888

43 posts

Posted by kmchua888 > 2014-05-16 17:15 | Report Abuse

accumulate more today at 1.57

Posted by happylife > 2014-05-19 09:08 | Report Abuse

YTL Power International | PDF
The Fantastic Four(A)
YTLP MK / YTLP.KL | ADD - Maintained | RM1.58 - TP: RM2.55
Mkt.Cap: US$3,327.00m | Avg.Daily Vol: US$1.52m | Free Float: 39.90%
IPP | Author(s): Mohd Faisal SYED AHMAD +60 (3) 2261 9093,

▊ Industry sources indicate that Track 4A has been awarded last week through direct negotiations. We think that it could actually be YTL Power that won the project due to its technical experience with gas fired power plants. However, assuming Track 4A is awarded to another party, Track 4B could be next on the cards. If that doesn't pan out for YTL Power, we then believe that the next move could be privatisation by its parent company. Either way, we expect interest on the stock to increase in the near-term. We maintain our Add call on the stock with an unchanged target price of RM2.55.

What Happened

The Edge Financial Daily reported that the government has awarded the gas fired power plant under Track 4A through direct negotiations instead of an open tender last week, citing industry sources. The article highlighted that the government is accelerating the nation's planting up to avoid power disruptions, thus the direct negotiations for the award of Track 4A. It remains unclear to whom the project was awarded to, although the size of the project is touted to be c.1,400MW. Assuming it is true, this will be the second power plant that is awarded under direct negotiation, with the first being the recently awarded 50MW solar plant to 1MDB.

What We Think

We believe YTL Power is the likely winner for Track 4A. Our belief stems from the fact that YTL Power remains one of the most capable to build and operate the gas fired power plant given its previous experience. Furthermore, YTL Power's Power Seraya in Singapore also gives it an advantage as it has experience in an LNG and non-subsidised fuel market, which the Malaysian power and utilities sector are gradually shifting to. Given both factors, combined with the government's acceleration plans, we strongly believe that YTL Power was the one that was awarded the Track 4A.

What You Should Do

We maintain our Add call on YTL Power with the catalyst being it winning Track 4A, assuming the rumours of a directly negotiated agreement is true. If YTL Power does lose out on Track 4A, we believe there is still Track 4B, which could be another 1,000MW gas fired power plant that would be up for tender. Assuming that doesn't come through as well, we believe privatisation by its parent company, YTL Corp, could be on the cards.

Posted by happylife > 2014-05-19 09:12 | Report Abuse

Power | PDF
Opportunities despite shocks in the system
OVERWEIGHT - Maintained

Power | Author(s): Mohd Faisal SYED AHMAD +60 (3) 2261 9093,

▊ The Edge Weekly’s report on the blackouts in five states due to the unscheduled outages in the coal power plants, Jimah and Tanjung Bin (owned by 1MDB and Malakoff, respectively), calls into question the viability of Malaysia’s national grid reserve margin of 31%. The outages raised Tenaga’s costs as more LNG was used. These appear to be negative developments for the sector but we disagree as: 1) there could be more plant-ups due to the need for greater generation capacity in the near term, and 2) the higher costs due to the power plant outages may be a key test for the FCPT. These are potential catalysts for the sector (Overweight) and Tenaga remains our top pick.

What Happened

The Edge Weekly published an article on the recent blackouts in five states due to unscheduled outages by two coal power plants. The article implies that there is a correlation between the recent blackouts and the speculation that the government has awarded the Track 4A gas-fired power plant via direct negotiations, instead of an open tender. In a separate The Edge article published last week, the Prime Minister indicated that the next electricity tariff hike is imminent. The article focused on the impact of the outages on Tenaga (higher cost due to more LNG required) and the burden on consumers.

What We Think

More plant-ups. Given the rising risk of outages, we think that there will be more plant-up tenders by the Energy Commission (EC). This will provide more opportunities for IPPs such as YTL Power. Fuel Cost Pass Through (FCPT) is likely. The Prime Minister's statement gives us confidence that the electricity tariff hike will be implemented so that Tenaga will be able to pass on the higher cost of burning more expensive fuels to consumers.

What You Should Do

We remain Overweight on the sector as we view these issues as opportunities for the players such as Tenaga and YTL Power. Tenaga remains our top pick.

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-19 16:09 | Report Abuse

With recent TNB electricity blackout, Gov decided to opt direct negotiation to award next 4A and 4B to speed up energy reserve build up. YTLP being the first IPP gas power fire power player very likely to secure at least one of the 4A or 4B gas power. In addition, YTLP existing power plant expire next year also likely to grant further extension at least another 5 year while waiting for new power plant.

chongbh2

63 posts

Posted by chongbh2 > 2014-05-20 14:50 | Report Abuse

boring market boring share ytlpower

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 15:00 | Report Abuse

need lots of patient dealing with this.
grandma/grandpa stock. :p

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-20 15:39 | Report Abuse

Buy when it is quiet.... hehe

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 16:19 | Report Abuse

sapu......

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-20 16:33 | Report Abuse

The average TP is 1.97.... wonder how much ytl-wb will be when its mum hits 1.97... ;) ;)

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 16:56 | Report Abuse

back to 1.9 enough. wb is 80c then.

Posted by WilliamPJ > 2014-05-20 17:07 | Report Abuse

CIMB has TP 2.00 for YTL Corp. TP 2.55 for YTL Power.

Why?

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-20 17:10 | Report Abuse

Ytl is mum.... ytlp is cash cow... that explains why lo...

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 17:22 | Report Abuse

when 4A & 4B projects on hand, TP = RM3. :)

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-20 17:49 | Report Abuse

4.00 maybe

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:27 | Report Abuse

ytl declares 1sen dividend.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:30 | Report Abuse

ytlp profit fell 1.2%

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:33 | Report Abuse

"Yes" mobile continue to growth in subscription.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:35 | Report Abuse

a. loss in unrealised foreign exchange.
b. lower units of electricity sold.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:36 | Report Abuse

tomorrow....
ytl - up
ytlp - down

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-20 18:38 | Report Abuse

ytl - up till 1.80
ytlp - down till 1.55

Peter5151

245 posts

Posted by Peter5151 > 2014-05-20 18:59 | Report Abuse

4A, 4B or 4...all will go to 1MDB, if you have a little bit understanding of msia unique culture..

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-05-20 20:50 | Report Abuse

yes, agree with you Peter5151 for now YTLP got no chance even if their bid is the most competetive ....... it's only and after 1MDB cock-it-up big time, then "they" will give it back to YTLP.

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-21 04:15 | Report Abuse

YTL should reflect its fair value after privatised YTL CEMENT, it should stands at 1.90-2.20... YTLP is not end yet if you know who they partner with to get the power and high speed train projects... without new project, YTLP should turn green in next quarter due to YES receive payments from Putrajaya....

However if you don't believe in this stock... please sell... I want to collect at low price... need your help... lolz

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-21 09:08 | Report Abuse

sold off all YTLP at 1.59, realize contra profit

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-21 10:06 | Report Abuse

The main reason for selloff is Yes incur even higher loss in Q3 -RM 40m vs. Q2 -RM 19m...seem worsening back again.....disappointed....1besterinet still yet to contributing at all......

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-21 11:18 | Report Abuse

Because they haven't factor the payments from putrajaya in last quarter... but yes... please sell it.... haha

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-21 12:18 | Report Abuse

Ytl profit up so much also only increase 1c.... lolz.... if ytl's price too high... very hard to review the last card.... which is privatise ytlp....

Posted by armadasaxon > 2014-05-21 12:20 | Report Abuse

dreamer

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-21 13:07 | Report Abuse

;)

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-21 14:13 | Report Abuse

sapu....

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-21 14:37 | Report Abuse

I dun buy ytlp... only buy ytlpwb and ytl... hehe

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-21 15:19 | Report Abuse

sapu....

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-21 16:09 | Report Abuse

Temporary pull out from YTLP/wb from radar, focus on water theme....Puncak and KPS

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2014-05-21 18:22 | Report Abuse

@hng33 agree with you, unloaded 260,000 ytlpowr shares first thing thing morning @ RM1.58, extremely disappointed with the result of Yes! Thank God, i thought i would have to unload at RM1.50 with such disappointing result. Will look into ytlpowr again when touch RM1.30.

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-21 19:11 | Report Abuse

Will look back YTKP/wb if

1. Share buyback resume back
2. Privatize via share swap with YTL
3. Yes turnaround or at least show narrowing loss.

Remark: Latest Q3 result indeed disappointed, not only can't narrow loss but worsening further....Q3 record -RM 40m vs Q2 -RM 19m

4. Secure at least 4A or 4B gas fire power plant
5. Grant extension of its expire IPP
6. Share price slump below RM 1.50 or about YTLP NTA 1.47

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-22 06:10 | Report Abuse

Sbb on ytlp is coming back soon...

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-22 11:47 | Report Abuse

sapu....then

hng33

20,311 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2014-05-22 15:09 | Report Abuse

selling pressure continue....i think also indeed disappointed with YTLP Yes broadband result....Wonder why YTLP still yet to deliver positive result despite completion 1BestariNet last year (East Msia).....CEO keep promising growth in subscriber and yet not reflect in the financial result :(

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-22 15:18 | Report Abuse

sapu.... :)

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-22 15:35 | Report Abuse

Preparing.... :)

leek

3,617 posts

Posted by leek > 2014-05-22 15:38 | Report Abuse

Need to wait n catch at 0.50...

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-22 15:44 | Report Abuse

sapu bits by bits.

Andre Kua

421 posts

Posted by Andre Kua > 2014-05-22 16:14 | Report Abuse

Looks like YTLP is coming down to greet you all... not in your dreams... hehehehe

Expecting 1.4x soon... also need to consider the warrant would further dilute the earning by more than 10%.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-05-23 10:26 | Report Abuse

Andre Kua, wb dilute earnings > 10% ? how you derive this ? you mean there will be > 10% wb convert to mother shares ?

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-05-24 08:58 | Report Abuse

'Competitive bidding cuts costs by RM4b'
http://www.nst.com.my/business/todayspaper/competitive-bidding-cuts-costs-by-rm4b-1.603934
Can continue IPP after 2015?